Testimonials

Below are just some of the thousands of testimonials we have received from Mooncup
and MCUK users.

You can search for testimonials about a specific issue using the filter option on the right.
Please note testimonials are personal accounts of the experiences of individual Mooncup users, and may not be valid for everyone. They should not be substituted for professional advice (please see our FAQ section)

After seeing stickers for mooncup on the back of a toilet door I frequented visited in my uni library I decided to google it and find out what it was. I was amazed I'd never heard about it. I have now been using it for three months (during which I've spent about 7 weeks on my period). It's AMAZING! Some days I don't know if I'm going to bleed or not so I insert it anyway to save any accidents. I have always disliked the environmental footprint of normal sanitary wear so the mooncup has made me feel so much greener already. I can't feel it once its in, so if I have no cramps I forget I'm on my period. I used to worry about the smell of pads and didn't like wearing tampons all day. Mooncup has solved all that! I like how I can see how period blood looks and how it changes especially as I'm so irregular right now. I've told several of my friends and my mum has bought one too. Please mooncup guys advertise more so more people buy your amazing product!

Catherine - 29th June 2016

Amazing little product! I can't remember the last time I wrote a review, but I just had to for mooncup. Bought this little gem yesterday after my period came when I was at work. Quickly stormed out to whole foods and decided: I'm going to give this a go today, no more delay! It siimply feels right for you body: you don't feel it and inserting removing is super easy. Recommending this to every girl and woman out there!

Andreia - 29th June 2016

I've just tried the mooncup for the first time at 41years of age! It's great. Thank you.

Sinead - 21st June 2016

I have tried pads, tampons and recently started using the Mooncup. Pads leak and generate a discernible smell (on the more sweaty days). Tampons...well they're not uncomfortable but the string tends to get contaminated when passing urine or opening your bowels. Furthermore, on the lighter days, it feels like such a waste to be disposing of many lightly-stained tampons. My Mooncup has not leaked; there's only been faint traces of blood on my underwear (saying that, the cup was in for at least an 8hr period). It's amazingly comfortable (can't feel it in there at all!) and eco/finance-friendly. You're never too old to learn new tricks :)

Cindy - 16th June 2016

After debating with myself on whether I should invest in a Mooncup for the past month I finally took the plunge. It arrived the day of my period (great timing huh?!) so I got to work straight away. I found it was relatively easy to put in, and that it stayed in place flawlessly. It was actually so perfectly placed that after 6 hours of wearing it I couldn't get it out. After 3 hours of trying I eventually gave up and convinced myself to go to bed. I actually went to sleep crying because I thought this cup would be stuck inside me forever as I failed at yanking on the slippery stem. I searched Google to find advice and every single woman who had suffered the same fate as me were advised to "stay calm" as "it has to come out eventually" and that "it can't go anywhere". This advice settled me for a minute which persuaded me to have yet another pull but NOPE. I had finally convinced myself that my vagina was broken, that the cup had suctioned itself to my cervix, that the holes weren't punched through properly, that it wasn't in right, that a menstrual cup just wasn't meant for me... That I would have to head to the emergency room in the morning should I fail again at pulling this blasted thing out and that I would NEVER use it again. MAN WAS I WRONG. The next morning arrived, and after wearing this thing for longer than the recommended hours I realised it was now or never. I headed straight to the shower, squatted down and grabbed onto the stem, all it took was a firm pull and I was finally able to reach the bottom of the cup, I gave that a tight squeeze and I could feel the suction release itself. I WAS FREE. It's amazing what a relaxed vagina can do. I emptied the contents down the drain, and shoved that blasted thing back up there (despite my emotions previously, I had convinced myself it would not win. I CAN DO THIS AGAIN BECAUSE I HAVE ALREADY DONE IT. HA!) I must have changed it 3 times that day, I felt like a a menstrual cup PRO. I went to work the next day, Mooncup in vagina and I even changed it whilst at work, something I couldn't imagine doing on that first day. THE GIRL WHO CRIED HERSELF TO SLEEP DUE TO THE FEAR OF HAVING A MOONCUP STUCK INSIDE OF HER FOR ETERNITY CHANGED HER MOONCUP AT WORK, AND SHE LIKED IT. *fist bump* Ladies, I know a lot of you reading this review might be daunted at the prospect of this happening to you, or maybe it has already happened to you and you're in need of advice: well I'm here to say YOU CAN DO IT. If you're struggling to release the suction then beeeee calmmmmm. Pour yourself a nice glass of wine and run yourself a hot bath/shower. Hell masturbate if you have to, just doing something that relaxes you because pulling the cup out of a tense vagina is more hassle than it's worth. Trust yourself, trust your body, you can do this. Don't. Give. Up.

Shelley - 16th June 2016

I have been using my mooncup for about six months and thought I would write an honest review of my findings. Overall I like it very much. I have never had any problems with fitting or leaking from day one and being a public sector worker who is out and about all day, like the fact that I can go longer without emptying if necessary - though I still try for every three hours or so like usual sanitary ware. The emptying is the trickiest bit, can be messy on occasion and does take longer than normal sanitary products. Without being too graphic I find that upon removal I tend to get a 'string' that remains attached to myself and the mooncup. whilst I wipe with paper, it can be messy if this gets on the toilet seat. I empty the cup down the sink (mostly)but you will also get pooling in the bottom of the toilet which flushing alone does not remove, so will require a brush nearby. Rinsing under the tap is no problem but you do need to use fingers to remove all content as it does stick to the sides. Thus I am somewhat sceptical about the use of a waterbottles in public toilets - I imagine this would earn some very curious comments and stares! once you get used to these querks, it is easy and 'green' to use. I tend to wear with a panyliner to allow for any residual mess after emptying but this is more paranoia than anything. A tip for when out and about - use cafes such as Costa and Starbucks who have self contained facilities..! overall I like the product, wouldn't go back, and once you are used to the slightly faffy emptying procedure, will love it like me.

beck - 15th June 2016

The mooncup has totally changed my life with periods. I immediately hated pads because of their bulk and also tampons for drying you out and that awkward string. All gone with mooncup. I only bought mine yesterday and already I'm going to go out because i have total faith in it. I even slept in it... More comfortable and absolutely no leaks. (I'm pretty sure it has made them shorter too). I haven't even mentioned the environmental positives with it. Change to mooncup!

May - 13th June 2016

I almost never write reviews but this just deserves one. I am 14 and started my periods 3 months ago. I despised that feeling of sitting in wet pads and I had unbelievably heavy first 2 periods. Pads just wouldn't work. I switched to tampons but I hated the fact I had to keep changing them every four hours and I couldn't sleep in them because I was sure I'd forget. That meant leaks every single night even with high absorbent pads. I was about to give up. Not to mention school. I hated pads for school because I felt like you could see even if you couldn't and got a bit sweaty. I also felt it would shift throughout the day and miss those all of a sudden downpours. Luckily, after researching period options I discovered the menstrual cup! What a life changer. My mum doesn't know I have one because she has no idea what they are and I felt embarrassed at how many pads I was going through. I got it in first time unbelievably and it worked a dream. I had to trim the stem as during my cycle I have a low cervix so it was just sticking out. I am confident in internal period options after using tampons without applicators for a while so the mooncup didn't phase me. Anyway, 6 hours later (there was no leakage but I felt to be on the safe side I better check it) and was shocked at how little blood there was. Usually by now I will have changed a tampon at least 3 times. I felt so confident in the mooncup that I slept in it and set an alarm so I'd empty it on time. 8 hours later and it still wasn't full. I'm so impressed and confident in the mooncup that I am going to use it to school which I usually hate especially when on my period. No more noisy wrappers. No more discreetly opening the bin. This is such a life changer! I often go out to things that are long events and I've even cancelled plans thinking... but what if there's no bin, what if people know, what If I make too much noise. Not anymore. Already I feel like a mooncup professional! I'm sorry for the long review but it just deserves one. I wish I had known about this and I am sad to know that not many people do. I am disappointed that these aren't mentioned in sex Ed lessons as that would greatly increase knowledge of them. I love my mooncup. So I guess this is goodbye for now. Till the next time I mooncup which will be far into the years to come.

Elisha - 12th June 2016

I recently bought my first Mooncup and my first thought after wearing it for an entire period is "where has this been all my life?", I am 30 ! It is far more comfortable than tampons and does not dry or irritate my vagina like tampons and pads do. there is minimal mess , no mess at all whilst inserting and removing and you forget it is even there seconds after insertion. there are no leaks on my heavy period days either !! ! am extremely happy with this product and I recommend it to every female I know !

Natalia - 8th June 2016

Why oh why did I take so long to buy one! I've been the very happy owner of a moon cup for exactly two days (mid menstruating) and once I had figured out how to use it and snipped the stem to size I am a complete convert! So, so easy to use and never a worry about forgetting to take fresh tampons with me. But the absolute best thing is the feeling of complete cleanness. Using tampons I would worry about leaking and generally felt a bit disgusting. The first night of using a Mooncup was a revelation - no more 'period pants'!

Emma - 6th June 2016

So happy to have found the mooncup. I had endometriosis removed through surgery recently and has researched a lot in terms of sanitary protection and possible links. I always used tampons, but after surgery decided to use towels. Absolutely hated them! Felt constantly yucky and uncomfortable. So pleased I found mooncup! Easy to use, hygienic, reusable, no worries about links from the bleach that's used in sanitary protection! Love it!!

Lisa - 5th June 2016

I bought the mooncup over 18 months ago, I struggled initially, and then stopped using it. But in the last six months I've been using it exclusively. I really love using it now, I feel no discomfort at all and sometimes even forget I'm using it. The biggest win I've had was a few weeks ago, I took part in my first triathlon on my period and using the mooncup! So that's open water swimming, cycling and running wearing the mooncup. The whole event was amazing and felt no discomfort, especially on the bike! I can't recommend the Mooncup enough. It's saving me money, time, hassle and I know I'm doing something amazing for my body and trying to make a dent in the waste production problem! Thank you Mooncup!

Rebecca - 4th June 2016

Brilliant! So pleased I decided to try this! Has taken a few months of using it until I have finally perfected it and managed to have no leaks at all. I go to the gym, trampolining and weight lifting and have managed to use this with no leaks at all. So much more comfortable than tampons. Which I'd switched to a Mooncup years ago.

Katrina - 29th May 2016

A million thank-yous :) One of my friends has been chirping on about mooncups every time the subject of periods comes up- but I thought she was just 'one of the lucky ones' who didn't have painful, heavy periods. Periods are truly agony for me so I never thought to try mooncup until the flooding got so bad that I really had nothing to lose. I was using tampons+towels and changing every 90mins. It's really changed my life because it takes all the guesswork out of things. What I love about them- 1) Brilliant at dealing with clots and sudden changes of flow at the start of your period. 2) No chemicals, and perfumes- I'm really sick of the way even supposedly unperfumed tampons smell so toxic these days from being next to perfumed pads in supermarkets. 3) Although I still throw up from the nausea, and feel generally awful, the crampy shocks of pain have stopped. I was sure that tampons were often pressing on a nerve which would go into spasm. 4) No dryness at the end. My tips- Watch all the youtube videos- they all have brilliant tips. It will make you feel more relaxed about trying, seeing how other women have learnt from their experiences. To find the length of stem- go for a walk- if you make it to the end of the road without rushing back to cut some more off, then you know it's right! Tilt it slightly sideways as you remove it. Cut your nails short. You can suck it up a little higher inside you by pretending to stop yourself peeing. I use C fold technique- I don't worry too much about angle of insertion, but I do try to keep finger and thumb in contact with the mooncup either side of the fold while guiding it as far up as possible...then let go, suck up with your muscles and swoosh a finger around the base to help it unfold. First time out and about? Try to find toilets which have hand basins in the cubicle, these are a godsend. To remove, *almost* sit down on toilet, hovering above. Bear down, grab and squeeze the end with thumb and middle finger, angle sideways and SLOWLY pull out. Lastly- it's normal to sit at home staring at the box feeling confused and a bit doubtful/worried before you try it for the first time! Just relax and have fun with the learning process, it really is worth it.

Kate - 27th May 2016

I have been using a mooncup for two years now, and admittedly it was not a love affair in the beginning but I now much prefer it over tampons and find it more comfortable. I find it also more convenient when I am using bathrooms at someone else's house and there is no need to worry about whether there is a bin or not... It did take a few months to get used to it, and the stem was super uncomfortable, after cutting off small pieces each time I decided to cut it off and that did the trick. It can leak a bit on heavy days, so it needs emptying a bit more often and it unfortunately does not make my period pain any less (which I read somewhere, but I have to read the first scientific article to convince me that it may influence pain perception). It takes longer to change than a tampon, but then you don't need to change it as many times. I am glad I persevered despite finding it uncomfortable the first few months and it's great not having to remember to buy tampons etc anymore!

Charlie - 22nd May 2016

I must say this is a fantastic idea. I love it was a bit worried at first encase it went wrong or something. but think it's the perfect thing for pmt. you can't even feel it. seriously amazing great idea if ur traveling or really long days out or sitting down for along time worrying you might leak. This little baby is just perfect for that. Girls I'm not one to write reviews but I had to on this great investment. LOVE MY MOONCUP.XXXX

andrea - 13th May 2016

This product is such a game changer! I am so happy that I heard about mooncup. If you follow the instructions correctly it is super simple to use. Such a practical thing, better for the environment and much healthier for your body than using tampons or pads! Thank you so much for this lovely product mooncup :)

Kristy - 13th May 2016

Wow. For so long, I have suffered heavy periods and feared the dreaded period where I would have to double up on tampons and pads. However, moon cup has changed my life. I have only used it for one cycle. But I will never go back. I feel clean and comfortable when I wear it (because I can't feel anything) and I would go as far to say I don't even feel like I am on my period for most parts of the day. Not only is it environmentally friendly but you don't have to literally throw money away for sanitary products, which is a key thing if you are struggling for money. There is a big thing that it's a bit messy, I would disagree. It's no worse than using a tampon. The only slight concern is the mega suction, as it can be uncomfortable during removal if you don't have the nack. But to be honest it's a good thing. You know its doing the job and stopping you having a leak. Fab product all in all. 100% recommend.

Briony - 11th May 2016

My younger sister persuaded me to try a Mooncup as I was complaining about the cost and waste involved with using tampons and sanitary towels. After contacting Mooncup regarding the size to buy (very helpful, thank you!) I took the plunge and got a Mooncup. Having read bits and bobs of advice about using it for the first time, such as: use panty liners, try lube for insertion, have a bottle of water handy etc etc, I decided to ignore all of that and try it out whilst hiking and climbing in the Atlas Mountains and had no other form of sanitary protection. I figured if I can use it in a place where I'm staying in a different location every night and doing pretty heavy physical activity, then it has to be a winner!! So off I went and my period arrived 2 days into the trip on a tough day of 25km hiking with limited opportunities to stop for the loo, yet alone empty and clean the cup. The first day of my period is lighter, so it wasn't too bad at all and I was able to empty and rinse the cup when we arrived at our mountain shelter in one of those squat style toilets with a bucket of water. To keep hygiene I was using hand sanitiser before taking it out. Squatting actually proved to be a really easy position to get it out and with a little wiggle back and forth it came out just fine. It was strange at first seeing the blood so vividly as with pads and tampons we get used to it all being kind of soaked up and a lighter colour. I was amazed at how dark and thick the blood actually is. Smilingly, I thought 'ah, so this is what my period actually should look like!', and I felt it was a healthy thing to be able to really see the amount, texture and colour. The first few times I emptied the cup, I got a little bit of blood hanging / trailing, so I think having a tissue or wipe handy to wipe yourself as soon as you remove the cup is a good idea. With regards to physical activity, I literally climbed mountains whilst wearing the cup and I did not even notice it at all! There was zero discomfort, no leakage and I really did forget it was inside me. I should be honest here, I am quite privileged with my period, it is only 4 days long and only heavy for 1 - 2 days, and even then I am aware it is not that bad as I don't need any pain killers or anything. I can't speak for women who suffer with very heavy and / or painful periods. For me, the Mooncup is perfect. It's easy to travel with, sustainable, discrete and comfortable. I would strongly recommend giving it a try. Thanks Mooncup for changing the way I manage my period! :)

Beth - 5th May 2016

I absolutely love the mooncup - it's by far the best product I have ever bought and I have even converted friends and family! It has endless benefits for my body and the planet and is helping me to feel more body positive and proud of myself for living in line with my environmentally friendly values. would recommend to anyone, I'll never go back to tampons!

Lauren - 2nd May 2016

When I read all the reviews I thought they were a bit over the top, but honestly after a bit of getting used to I can honestly say the mooncup has changed my life (well at least the period part ;)! ). I always used tampons with pads/pantiliners to back up on heavy days and pads at night as nonstop tampon use would make me feel dry and uncomfortable down there. Despite this I could never quite get the absorbency right and was always either leaking or drying out! Now with my mooncup I just pop it in the day I'm due, or when I start to feel period cramps and change it when I remember, no more leaks or drying out...ever! I can't feel it in, can lie in in the morning without rushing to change my pad/tampon, go swimming (no string to worry about!) do exactly what I want without worrying at all. It does take a bit of getting used to but once you get the hang of it it is 100% worth it! Normally I wouldn't need to change it out and about and can go to the toilet without changing it, but if you need to and want a sink to wash it out most places have a disabled toilet you can quickly use if necessary.

Katy - 2nd May 2016

I was concerned about the waste and environmental impact of disposables and also the cost to me on a monthly basis but I thought something reusable would be a bit gross! However, after reading into the mooncup I was amazed by the number of very positive reviews and lack of negative reviews and so I thought I would try it. I have been using it for a few months and I am really pleased I made the switch. After a little bit of getting used to it is now working brilliantly for me and I am so pleased that it is environmentally friendly and actually superior in function and comfort to tampons and pads. It has to be kept very clean between periods but this does not take much time at all and it takes a little longer to clean and reinsert but only slightly. There is no waste to dispose of which is great and it's very easy and discrete to carry in my handbag so I always feel prepared. I fully recommend it

Chloe - 24th April 2016

Hello! After purchasing the mooncup a few months ago I finally bit the bullet and sterilised it yesterday for use today! I can honestly say that a love it and feel a little proud about wearing it! I thought it would take me a few tries but after one or two goes I had it. I would recommend though a little bit of water or lune if you have it to get it in those first few times. And also trimming your Punic hair short so that any blood that comes out when you remove the cup doesn't linger! Praise the mooncup!

Emma - 23rd April 2016

Well how do I begin explaining how great the moon cup is?! I started my period when I was 9 years old, and am now 19. For a decade, I have loathed the 5 days a month filled with cramps, dry and itchy vaginas and messy and smelly leaks. I hated wearing pads (that's basically a nappy for adults, no thanks) and tampons dried me out. I hated how much it hurt to remove a dry tampon if it was inserted incorrectly or simply wasn't filled enough. I also started thinking a lot about what is used to make tampons so bright and white. Bleach!!! Not something you would ever want in your vagina. I ordered one immediately in anticipation for my next period. I was actually kind of excited to use it, I'd read so many rave reviews (I did A LOT of research). When my period came I first tried the twice fold technique which was kinda uncomfortable and I realised I definitely needed to trim the stem. So I attempted to remove it and holy moly did it hurt. But I stupidly just yanked the damn thing out without breaking the seal or pulling it out one side at a time. It hurt so bad I was honestly heart broken thinking this wasn't for me. But I persevered, googled some removal tips and voila, not an issue any longer. At first I had some messy removals but I was always taught practise makes perfect. By the second day of my period I was a pro. This product has changed my life, my student budget is thankful to be saved so much money a month and I feel good about cutting down the waste I create. I'm also no longer embarrassed by needing to change at a friends/boyfriends house and can go all day without worrying about leaking. Also TSS isn't as big of a concern as with using tampons. I've also become so much more educated by my body and period and that itself is fantastic. Also my cramps have all but disappeared, and I honestly believe it is due to the mooncup. I want to shout from the roof tops and tell young people like me how great it is. i will never use tampons again, this has honestly changed my life.

Nerys - 22nd April 2016

This is the best product I have ever bought! I feel genuinely happy every time I think about it! When I was younger I had quite light and none painful periods, but as I got older (and I now realise started using tampons more) they got heavier and I started getting worse and worse cramps, to the point where they wouldn't go away with exercise, painkillers etc. Now I have NO CRAMPS AT ALL! The difference is amazing! I don't know if my periods are lighter, but the pain is just completely gone. I used to feel completely miserable on my period with the cramps, but now I just feel so happy about how much better they are! My vagina also feels normal when using the mooncup, whereas it used to feel very dry with tampons. I found the cup pretty straightforward to use after the first couple of practice insertions, and certainly not as traumatic as the first time I used a tampon! I cut the stem as short as it would go and I can't feel a thing with the cup in during the day, I like to change it every 7/8 hours, it may start to smell a little if you leave it too long. One useful tip: When emptying the cup into the toilet, first put some toilet paper down the toilet and empty it onto that, that way you won't get the 'residue' at the bottom of the toilet which needs a few flushes. Also, to anyone who is worried about it being a little gross, it's certainly hands on and you need to be OK with putting your fingers in your vagina, but when using it I don't feel at all grossed out, and also I feel a lot cleaner than when I use a pad! I wish I had known about this years ago, the weeks when I am on my period (especially for holidays and special events) are so much more pleasant. My boyfriend and mum have noticed that I am much happier on my period. Thank you so much, this product has really, really helped me.

Lucy - 19th April 2016

Hi, I am a 36 year old woman and have been using tampons and pads for the last 25 years. I had always wanted an alternative, I have suffered with endometrosis for about 20 years now, and tampons made me feel a bit 'icky' I always wondered what kinds of chemicals were in them, pads were just messy, uncomfortable. I started to look for alternatives that were more environmentally friendly and safer, having read numerous articles about tampons and their dangers. I found the mooncup, I have used it this month for the first time and am happy so I have found it. I found it easy to insert and remove, not like the pain I felt removing a tampon. I don't know why more women aren't using these to be honest, but in my experience not many people know about them!

Jessica - 17th April 2016

Originally I was concerned about the switch from tampons and pads to the mooncup, but I have never made a better purchase! It took me far less time to get accustomed with it than I thought it would, and everything is very easy and comfortable now that I am used to it. I've only had one period with it so far but I can tell I will be using this for years to come!

Emily - 15th April 2016

Bought my mooncup yesterday and I'm already hooked. I had been using cloth pads (which are great too) but on my heaviest days I was bleeding so much I would have to get up in the night to change and would still wake up in the morning having soaked through, which is not a comfortable feeling, not to mention the amount of extra laundry generated! It took me a couple of attempts to insert the mooncup for the first time but I found using lubricant really helps with this. I was expecting to have some teething problems but had a completely problem-free first night - I wore it for 4 hours or so, emptied then wore it to bed and had no leaks at any point. I am thrilled! I have always been squeamish about tampons so wasn't sure how well I'd get on with the mooncup, but as it sits in a much lower position than a tampon I find it much more user-friendly. I wore pads to my ten-hour shift today as I'm not yet confident about emptying and reinserting outside the comfort of my own home but the first thing I did when I arrived home was to change back to my mooncup - I love it! I was really impressed too with all the information in instruction booklet too, really thorough and answered all of my questions.

Lani - 14th April 2016

I have used the mooncup for a few months now and I don't regret it one bit. It did take a little getting used to but after my second or third period I had no problems using it. I just wish I had found it sooner. Apart from my cramps I just don't feel like I'm on my period. I have two daughters and will be encouraging them to use this product when they are older. I will be telling as many women as possible to help save them money and the environment. Thank you MOONCUP

Amanda - 13th April 2016

I bought my Mooncup about 5 years ago to take to Japan, as I'd heard they didn't have a lot of sanitary options to choose from. I haven't looked back. My periods are lighter, I don't have to worry about being prepared on a trip or a long flight, I no longer have to run out to hurriedly buy supplies because I forgot, it's just the best thing ever. I'm telling all my friends to buy one because I really do think the Mooncup is something that has made my life one little bit easier.

Sally - 12th April 2016

Showing 1 - 30 of 1140 Articles | Page 1 of 38

Next >

Counter

Flash player missing

Get Adobe Flash playerGet Adobe Flash player

Read more »

Buy now

order online

Buy a Mooncup online or find your nearest stockist

Mooncup is available at Boots and independent shops everywhere
ethical Consumer best buy
Janey Loves 2012
YHL Best Toiletry 2013
Health Food Business
WEBA triodos bank
good shopping guide
vegan
BAHBA
ethical award
Your Healthy Living Best Eco Product
Ethical Living Award