Messy?

Messy?

WOW!!! SO wish I’d got one earlier as nearly 50!!! 🙁 As someone who’s always had heavy periods I’ve lost sleep being woken up by leaks even with towels and tampons. Always hated the way tampons absorb and end up tubular shape when I’m not like that inside! With mooncup I can see how heavy I am. I feel cleaner without all that icky leakage laying on the towel. So convenient and efficient. No problems swimming too!! Yay!!! Try it!!!

Denise – 13th June 2018

I bought a mooncup, wanting to not only save money on sanitary products, but also to be more environmentally friendly. I have also never gone through a period without a mishap, so really wanted to find a ‘leak-proof’ option.
I was quite nervous when I first saw the size of the cup, especially since I’m a virgin. It did take a while to figure out how best to insert it (my advice would be not to panic if you can’t do it at first, but try again a few days later – it took me a few times, but I’m glad I didn’t rush). As soon as I managed it for the first time, it felt so simple, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t been able to insert it before!
The first time I used it during a period, I felt no discomfort at all, and it was the first period (after 7 years!) that I didn’t leak a drop of blood onto my clothes! I slept completely soundly, not worried at all, and didn’t have to worry about finding time during a busy day to change it, since it could hold so much more blood than a tampon or pad. The first time I removed it, I did so in the shower worried about splattering everywhere, but once I figured out the easiest way to remove it, it was really simple and not messy at all.
I honestly couldn’t recommend the mooncup enough – give it a go to see for youself! Take your time, and it will be the best decision you could make 😀

Becca – 11th May 2018

I’ll admit I was a little skeptical when I first started using the Mooncup. As someone who’s always suffered with heavy periods I was worried this little cup simply couldn’t cope with what my body had to throw at it, so much so I used precautionary sanitary pads alongside it, such was my confidence. I need not bother! Not once have I leaked whilst using the Mooncup, even when i’ve gone running and swimming, it’s never let me down. It’s such a relief going to sleep and knowing I’ll wake up clean – I have far more restful nights now, which no doubt helps with the PMS!
I’ve saved money and worry on not having to buy a range of different products to get me through my period – this one cup covers me throughout! And it’s great that you can use it before you’ve actually started, unlike tampons, so you’re never caught short!
I would recommend anyone try the Mooncup if you’re looking to take control of your periods.

Alys – 1st March 2018

i am a full day into using a cup for the first time, it was an impulse buy i must admit. but instantly felt so much cleaner and comfy. it was so simple. cant believe after a day i never want to go back! thank you Mooncup xx

Emma – 29th January 2018

Back in 2007 I saw an advert for a mooncup on the back of a toilet door in a youth hostel in Canada, I was intrigued but didn’t go any further than that.

Last year I decided I had had enough of pads and tampons, firstly due to the crazy amount of waste they produce with chemical processes and plastics and secondly I always felt a bit dirty and uncomfortable.

WHY oh WHY did I not try this sooner. Yes its a bit of a faff and takes some time to get use to it but this small fry in comparison with the benefits, its blooming brilliant. Have a go its a game changer.

Rachel – 10th January 2018

Having had my mooncup for almost a year, I put it to the ultimate test last night when I went to a white themed party… I wore my mooncup and warned my girlfriends to keep a lookout for the slightest discolouration in my white jumpsuit. I checked a couple of times throughout the night to find absolutely nothing! Not even a leak. The mooncup is a lifesaver, I felt so comfortable and confident and by the end of the night had forgotten I was even on my period!

Carey – 17th January 2018

I am 41 and just started using a Mooncup 6 months ago. All I can say is wow what a difference! I suffer with heavy periods for a few days of my period and have never had a leak with it. I had cut the stem a bit too short since it was sticking in me originally but have worked out a way to still remove it. In the past I suffered with sores on my ‘bits’ from being sensitive to sanitary towels and dried out from tampons so always dreaded my periods. I didn’t realise this was another option until I saw someone recommend it on Facebook so thought it was worth a try.

I have just started Uni (slightly mature student) and surprised that it’s not advertised there better – and NUS are sending emails about tampons but not these. I guess people may think it’s a hippy thing that’s difficult to use but that’s completely wrong. All periods are messy but this is the most comfortable way to deal with them. My tip is to roll some toilet roll up before removing it to then slowly pour the contents in once you’ve removed it to avoid mess. I am now confident removing it in public toilets.

People find it hard to talk about their periods publicly but really think this should be part of school education to give all options at a young age. I wish I knew when I was younger!

Caroline – 12th October 2017

Hello! I always wanted to try this cup since I discovered it! I finally got one and loved since the first use! I was scared at the beginning and took a while to get use to put and take out, but now it’s perfection! No messy periods, no stress with clothes and a HUGE plus: no harm for the environment! 😉

Andréa – 8th September 2017

This product is absolutely fantastic. It’s comfortable, excellent for environment and reusable. You save money, dashing to the shops and emptying the oh-so-gross bathroom bin. I feel ‘cleaner’ and less guilt about adding to landfill ! I completely recommend – 100% – and I hope someone reading this makes the same right choice I did !!

Holly – 24th June 2017

Although I try to live my life as respectfully of the environment as possible, I am by no means an obsessive “eco warrior” type and the “green” aspect of the mooncup was not my main motivation for trying it. (It is, of course, a highly gratifying bonus!) For years I have absolutely dreaded my periods and the associated dryness and itchy irritation that comes with using tampons and pads, not to mention the foul odour and feeling of not being “clean,” no matter how often I wash to try and keep fresh. After careful research, I hoped that a menstrual cup could offer me a way to avoid all that misery. AND WOW, HAS IT EVER! The mooncup has completely transformed my experience of that time of the month. Fairly easy to insert and remove with practice and patience, it coped brilliantly with my heavy flow, needed less frequent changing and best of all- no more discomfort…and no more period “smell.” And because it’s reusable and lasts for years, lots of money saved too. Why on earth aren’t all women using these? Not only would it make periods easier (and cheaper) to live with but imagine wiping out all that noxious landfill! Just make the change and liberate yourself from the tyranny of the sanitary product industry forever. Environmental charities should be distributing these for free to women in third world countries as well.

Julie-2nd April 2017

My mooncup arrived last month, after umming about buying one for awhile… have to say I wish I had bought one sooner. It didn’t take me too long to get use to it, simply squatting I’m able to insert and remove it easily. It’s not messy and I’ve had no mishaps. Once fitted properly you don’t feel it at all.
Normally I’d have to wear tampons for a week, this time with the mooncup it was just 4 days – maybe a coincidence, but I hope not.
I really cannot praise the mooncup enough, I really wished I’d bought one sooner. I’m converted.

Victoria – 15th February 2017

I’ve been using a mooncup for 10 years now, since after the birth of my first son (I was using washable nappies, and saw the mooncup on the nappy webpage and thought I would give it a go). I have used it since then. I thought at times it was a bit messy and perhaps a bit inconvenient, but cheaper in the long run than tampons and towels and better for the environment so I kept going and kind of got to appreciate it.

THEN this period, I could not find my mooncup; but no worries, thought I, there’s a handful of tampons in the cupboard going spare, it’ll be an easy period. How wrong I was. Mooncups are far more easy than tampons, now I know that for sure!

1)I think have had more leaks in the last 7 days than in the last 10 years. I have been constantly worried about leaks all week!
2)It’s inconvenient to have to remember to take a tampon into the toilet at work every time, just in case, and to ferret in the cupboard at home before going there, and to remember to put enough into my bag for whilst I am out for the day, no such worries with a mooncup, it’s there, you take it out, empty it, clean it put it back, there is nothing to forget;
3)Using a tampon is really no less messy than using a mooncup, (probably much more so, if you consider the frequency of leaks)
4)Tampons do not absorb clotty bits (that’s something I don’t remember from previous tampon use, perhaps it’s a sign of getting old….
5)It’s really great to go swimming with a mooncup – tampons tend to get all bulked up with pool water, but mooncups don’t
6)Period end tends to be a bit uncomfortable because the tampon absorbs vaginal fluids so can be sore to insert/remove

Previously I was a mooncup user. Now I am an EVANGELICAL mooncup user. I cannot believe that anyone would be daft enough to want to use tampons or towels when such a great alternative exists.

I have already been out and bought a brand new mooncup in case my old one doesn’t turn up before my next period. (After 10 years, it is probably not a bad investment!)

P.s. for any long term mooncup users, I really recommend a one period mooncup holiday – you will never want to go back to tampons ever ever again!

Sarah – 14th December 2015

I bought one of these after seeing a few adverts online and was curious so i had a good look at thewebsite and faqs and it sounded great. My periods are very light of late and this has been super annoying as I don’t get on with sanitary towels, I get thrush, and I’m too light to use tampons for the recommended time at the moment. Anyway, the mooncup is easy to insert because it’s mega squishy and once it’s in I can’t feel it. I had a practice go after a bath a few days prior so I was familiar with it as well. Best part is feeling clean and fresh like I’d used a tampon but none of that horrible feeling removing it. Mooncup is no more difficult or messy than a non applicator tampon and far more comfortable! Wish I’d discovered it sooner!!

angela – 28th November 2015

I’m so sad, since I got my Mooncup I had to forget about all my favourite hobbies:
– worrying about leakage
– feeling unclean and worrying about odour
– spending money on sanitary products
– remembering to take them if I stay over somewhere
– finding ways to dispose of towels
– polluting the environment
– always half thinking about when/where the nearest bathroom will be
– feeling like I want to shower 5 times a day
– enjoying the physical discomfort of tampons and towels

Took less time to get the hang of it than I expected, and now I have, it’s like I don’t even notice my period has come and gone because it was so easy. You spend 2 minutes emptying it and then don’t feel like you’re on your period for the next 8 hours.

I am free!

I hope there is a campaign to get these out to women in need, I would support it 100%.

Kate – 12th November 2015

I’ve been using my Mooncup for about a year now and I would never, ever go back to using pads and tampons again.During this time I’ve found that my cramps aren’t anywhere near as bad (they were often quite debilitating and I had to take a lot of time off work in the past), I don’t spend any where near as much money, my pants are spot free (gross, yeah, but I haven’t leaked once using a Mooncup), AND my periods are shorter and much less complicated.
All this with the added bonus of knowing that some poor fish isn’t going to end up with the contents of my uterus all over its face.
Nice one Mooncup.

Laura – 27th October 2015

Dear Tampon There is no easy way to tell you this…it is over. I am breaking up with you. This can come as no surprise as I have been very distant for the last few months. You haven’t seen me for a while and probably miss me. I don’t miss you….At All.
You promised me horse back riding in white pants
You promised that I could run down the beach in a white bikini.
You promised me energetic games of volley ball in cute white shorts.
We never did any of that. Instead you gave me cramps, dryness and thrush. All these years I thought it was me. I thought that it was something I had to put up with. I was wrong.
I have met someone else. Her name is Mooncup and we are in love. Mooncup loves me and I love her.
Since I have started seeing Moon I have had no cramps, no dryness and no thrush. My periods, which used to last 5 to 6 days, now only last 2 and a half days.
I feel healthy. I feel clean. I feel good.
Now I must get going. I have a volley ball match to get to.
Kind regards
Vagina

Libby – 26th October 2015

I’ve been using a mooncup since university. I initially bought it for environmental reasons but, 12 years (and 2 babies) later, I now love my mooncup because it just seems so much cleaner and nicer than either pads or tampons. I would never want to go back to using either. The only negative is that I worry I will forget I’m wearing it sometimes. Can’t recommend it enough. Love it.

Emma – 12th October 2015

I love this product! Once you get over the initial ‘this is a bit gross’ and you figure out how to get in and out without any dramas, this is the most simple and brilliant way to manage your period. I have only had one spillage (on my first go) when the cup didn’t open properly in my vagina, since then I make sure that it has unfolded (yep, sometimes with suction sound included!) and I have not had any leaks at all. I used tampons before my mooncup and sometimes near the end of my period I would remove them and bits of cotton would stay inside. I love the mooncup, as it feels cleaner, safer and better for your body (and leaves nothing behind!) I find it works best for me to start using the mooncup when my period has actually started flowing, so if I know I am due my period, I will wear a pad that night then use the mooncup the next morning until the end of the cycle, but after the first night, I don’t use any other sanitary products. I find it helps to empty the cup in the sink, if that is possible, as you may need to flush a few times otherwise. I have just bought another 2 mooncups to send out to my Nepali friends. This product has massive humanitarian benefits for countries where periods are still a massive taboo, and will make rural village life for my friends so much easier.

Emma – 11th October 2015

I decided to try the Mooncup after getting a job working at a summer camp in America. I needed to save precious room in my bags, I needed to limit the amount of waste/rubbish I would produce, and I needed something I could do sports and swim with. I cannot express how happy I am to have found Mooncup! It doesn’t take up any room in my bag, it’s re-usable, and I feel so fresh and comfortable doing my sports or swimming with it in. My camp was pretty rural and using the Mooncup saved me from making long trips to the supermarket for more feminine products. I will admit it’s a little tricky to get in/out at first but you have to persevere because once you start using this you will never go back to pads or tampons, and the benefits are so worth it. I’ve recommended this to so many people since I started using it.
Thank you Mooncup!

em – 21st September 2015

I heard about mooncups just a few years ago, and wish I’d known about them even sooner than that. I couldn’t be happier- it doesn’t have a revolting odor, no more expensive bleached cottons products, and it’s no messier than my tampons ever were. All of my worry about carrying enough sanitary products at any given time are gone because all I need is my one mooncup. This thing is incredibly freeing and I love it for so many reasons, I recommend it every chance I get.

Joyce – 25th February 2015

A life changing & completely genius invention! I feel grateful that I have found this product in my early twenties and have not had to endure years of bother with tampons and sanitary towels. You save money, look after the environment, feel clean and fresh during your period and it’s so easy to use. Believe every testimonial on here because it is the best thing that has ever happened to me regarding my period! You would be a fool not to buy one immediately!!

Chloe – 24th February 2015

Menstrual cups are not as commonly used in the US yet – so I hadn’t heard of them until recently. I did some research and decided on the MoonCup UK (MCUK). I can’t believe no one shared menstrual cups with before now. My period, for the first time ever wasn’t a huge inconvenience. The MCUK was easy to use – easier than I expected. I never felt comfortable in tampons and I was delightfully shocked when the MCUK was totally comfortable – couldn’t feel it at all, no matter how I ran, jumped, sat, rolled, slept – it was like it wasn’t there. There were no leaks, no smell, no issues.
I have already told many of my girlfriends to look into getting their own menstrual cup – of course recommending MCUK.
Thank you for making such a great product with the support needed to make sure your customers are successful!

Amanda – 15th February 2015

I recently heard of moon cup through a woman’s group online. I was a little sceptical at first, but I went ahead and purchased one. When my period came I used it. I’m never, ever going back to bags or tampons again. The cup is extremely comfortable, unlike a pad or a tampon I can’t feel that it is there. I can’t feel my period either which I can with the other products.
The moon cup is easy to insert and remove and it’s NOT messy like I thought it would be! I feel super clean too. No dryness, no itchiness! Peeing is easier too as with tampons the strong gets in the way and with pads it’s messy.

At night I can sleep however I want, I can roll about like usual with out worrying about spillage.

I can horse ride in it too with no problems cause it’s so flexible, it just stays where my body wants it. I can’t recommend it this product enough, it’s revolutionised periods, and it’s a green alternative to the thousands of pads and tampons we go through! Ladies if you’re unsure, give it a go. The worst that’ll happen is you don’t like it, the best that’ll happen is you’ll have hassle free, cheap periods for the rest of time!

Yey moon cup!

Abby – 10th February 2015

I’ve had my Mooncup for a year now and love it. It has saved me tons of money on tampons and pads. I feel like my hygiene is even better when using the Mooncup. It works great on both my heavier period days and my lighter days. Some discoloration has appeared now that I’ve used it for a year, but it still works great. I make sure to clean mine after every period. I recommend this product to all females! It’s way better than using tampons/pads and super comfortable. I don’t even notice it.

Kimberly – 7th February 2015

This is the best £20 I have ever spent! Love my mooncup so much, no leaks, easy to use and so much more hygienic than tampons or pads. Would recommend to everyone!

Caroline – 31st January 2015

I Bought one of these from boots on Saturday. After reading a bit about them first, I was worried that it would take some getting used to. How wrong I was! These things are amazing, if you are reading about them, buy one! Don’t put it off a minute longer! No mess, no leaks it’s easy 🙂 I can’t say for sure after 2 days, but I’m pretty sure this might just be life changing! I have almost forgotten that I am on my period.

Charli – 26th January 2015

I’m 18 and heard about the mooncup a couple of years ago but didn’t like the sound of it! I started on tampons a few years ago and found them much more liberating than pads but they dried me out! I was always concerned about harsh chemicals in tampons, but as a student just couldn’t afford to regularly buy natracare tampons! I am currently near the end of my first period with the mooncup and I’m never going back! It was easy to put in and take out from day one, its a lot easier than it looks! Its not messy and I can leave it all day whilst I’m out at college without having to worry! I often forget it’s that time of the month! No leakages throughout the day or night. With tampons I often woke up in the morning covered in blood! I feel like shouting out about this to women everywhere! More women need to be aware of this! I can’t express it enough!

Jasmine – 23rd January 2015

An amazing invention! For the first time I feel utterly clean and healthy during my period. It has normalized the whole experience for me. My cramps have reduced, and there is a great sense of freedom not having to bring stacks of tampons with me everywhere I go. Thank you Mooncup!

Rachel-Rose – 22nd January 2015

When I tell people I use a mooncup one of the most common reactions is …ew. I have been happily using my mooncup for a good few years. It’s comfortable to wear and insert, unlike conventional raspy scratchy tampons. It doesn’t develop a putrid smell like sanitary towels. I recently misplaced my mooncup and reverted back to sanitary towels for 2 days. I forgot how dirty, fidgety and irritating they are! I had to rush out and buy a new mooncup immediately! I have found a way to not let my monthly cycle interfere with life and I had to get it back.What it doesn’t say on the tin is that mooncup is sensational at saving your sheets from dreaded stains, I also get far better nights sleep with a mooncup over disposable methods. Having discussed with a few friends we have discovered that mooncup seems to ease cramps, whether this is accurate or not it seems to be the only common denominator.
Practice makes perfect, inserting is easy but you will have the odd mishap. TIP: don’t ever whisk it out quickly not matter how much of a rush you are in!

Amy – 19th January 2015

I had heard rave reviews from a friend and finally decided to bite the bullet- cannot thank my lucky stars I did. I always hated using tampons and other such products, finding them uncomfortable and stressful to use. Now that I have a Mooncup my period is quite literally a breeze. I feel clean, healthy, comfortable, not to mention richer! I go running, swimming, rock climbing with it in and I pretty much forget I have my period. No more running into Boots in a flap when I forget to stuff hundreds of tampons into my bag ‘just-in-case’, no more rustling, no more waste! If you are considering it, please, please do. You will not regret it! Thank you Mooncup!

Kitty – 19th January 2015

I thought I’d share a full and frank first experience with the mooncup. I bought the size a for ladies after a vaginal birth or over 30. First I found this a bit upsetting as I’m over 30 without kids, (that wasn’t the problem although that is a whole other story) I’m fit n healthy and I really don’t want think of myself as looser down there. Anyway I got over it and purchased the recommended size. I got my next period on a quiet weekend at home so I thought I’d give it a try. Initially I felt congested down there I had to wee straight away.. You are full anyway so it was a bit unpleasant to add more stuff. As expected it felt a bit different but not massively uncomfortable. I got off to sleep easily. Unlike other methods, I forgot I had it in this morning when I woke. The removal could have been stressful but I had read up about it last night and I did the pelvic squeezes which moves it down, so I could get to pinch the bottom and pop it’s out. I felt empowered and that maybe I could move on to ping pong balls. It wasn’t messy either for a first go. I thought I’d be dealing with a scene from the Halloween or the like but it was easy to contain and no leaks. I am really pleased and impressed with my mooncup.

Chrissy – 9th January 2015

10 years ago an old school friend told me about the Mooncup. I thought it was a great idea and what a fantastic way to save money on the “monthly” (as my Mother calls it) and also aid the environment. I try to be as conscientious as I can be towards green issues, however I carried on as normal thinking that I’ll get around to it one day. And eventually I did.I am 36yrs old and had a child by C section – so I wasn’t sure about the sizing, although I opted for the larger one (and it is only marginally larger) as I didn’t want leaks.
Day One
Managed to get it in ok. Much better if wet (water not a lubricant). Needed to adjust it a few times and trim the stem but ones it’s in place it’s in place and you can’t feel a thing. You really don’t know it’s there. Fantastic! As a parent you know that you don’t get any time to yourself so going for a wee whilst having a child glued to my side asking various questions about Barbies was fine as there was no issues as there was nothing to see (mooncup inside). Impressed with the convenience. And it lasts between 4-8hrs – much longer than a towel or tampon. Still impressed.
Getting it out was a little tricky at first. I thought I might have to explain it to staff at my local A&E! My advice. Read the instructions! It does give you tips. And relax!
Day Two
Who’s idea was it to go to Ikea! Public toilets I was dreading! I think my friend thought I’d got lost I took so long! However, I’m still here to tell the tail, a quick wipe out and it was fine.
My first thoughts was that it was going to be very messy. But it’s seriously not. I’ve not “spilt a drop” – once you hear the suction release you know it’s nearly out, a quick wiggle and to get ready to ‘tip and rinse’. Make sure you wash hands before and afterwards.
Day Three
I have getting it out to a fine art now. The main thing is relax. Much quicker. Now no one knows the difference if I go to the toilet for a wee as it’s out, rinsed and back in in no time at all.
I am converted! No more hassles of sliding a tampon up your sleeve when you go to the loo and no more monthly expense as this lasts for years.
I didn’t get on very well with sanitary towels as I suffer with a skin condition in that area which used to flare up when I wore these, and tampons used to give me “twangs” similar to period pains. Plus it’s better for the environment and our used products don’t end up in the sea with all the sea creatures….would you like to swim around with our used sanitary products by your side?
I never write reviews, but I am seriously impressed! Only Day Three and I’m converted. I can’t stress enough for more women to try it. Comes with a cute discreet storage bag too! No need to hide tampons or towels in the zip up compartment of my handbag and I don’t dread my periods anymore…win win! I can’t believe I waited 10 years! Thank you Mooncup Makers!
P.S No leaks either (including overnight!) – the larger one is really only fractionally bigger than the smaller one, and remember you want it to make a proper seal, so if in doubt and you’ve had a C section, then go for the larger one. Just try it – you’ve nothing to lose!

Katie – 6th January 2015

So, this is about the best thing ever. I first heard about the mooncup via some stickers around my university, looked it up, saw some testimonials and figured it was worth a shot. I’ve never tried tampons (the whole TSS thing was a bit worrying) but pads: feel horrible, get expensive after a while, inevitably result in mess on my clothes, irritate me or even give me thrush if I accidentally get the wrong type, and are *not easy* to dispose of discretely in university accommodation.
Headed down to the local Boots and bought one – was slightly miffed that it cost a couple pounds more than advertised on the website, but still way cheaper in the long run and didn’t have time to faff around with delivery times, so I got it.

It’s amazing. It takes a little practice to get in and out the few few times, and if you have problems with poking around inside or seeing a small cup of blood, you may have to steel yourself. However, I can’t feel it at *all*, there’s no leaking, it needs emptying about twice a day (so much more convenient than pads) and you don’t need to worry about packing enough spares. Also, there was far less actual contact with blood than if I’d been using pads and having to remove/change them. With the exception of cramps on the first day, which I always get, and literally a minute a day of emptying it, I could not tell that I was on my period at all. Incredible. Plus, saving money in the long run.

Having used it, I honestly cannot tell why anyone would go for anything else instead. Spread the word to university students particularly – we’re moving away from home, starting to buy these things for ourselves, and it makes life so much easier.

Lauren – 6th January 2015

Thanks to my mooncup I no longer feel gross during my period! The use of tampons and sanitary towels made me feel dirty and uncomfortable for years, now with the mooncup I often forget I’m even in my period! I feel cleaner and much more accepting of my period.

Alice – 4th January 2015

I can’t believe how well this worked! I normally have to wear tampons and pads, and on my heaviest days this normally means four-six trips to the loo every day! I go through a packet of pads normally every period, and a box of tampons every two-three months. However since buying my mooncup I have saved myself so much money and time! I now only have to go to the toilet in the mornings and before bed, and maybe once more during the day! It’s so easy to use and clean, and not at all messy once you get used to it! It’s also less uncomfortable than a tampon, I think, and the best part, I no longer need pads! No leakage what so ever! I can’t thank you enough for making such a wonderful product!

Beth – 23rd December 2014

I am 20yrs and a dental nurse. I had the contraceptive implant for a year and had it removed two months ago as I was not happy with it; it stopped my periods altogether and was affecting my mood a little. When I had my first period for a year I used tampons like I always have. But having not used them for so long and then going back to tampons, I remembered all the things I hate about them. They dry me out so badly and I get leakage with them when I am heavy- I never feel entirely “safe” wearing them. My job means a lot of moving and sitting so I was wearing a pad as well to keep me feeling safe but that was so uncomfortable. I decided to try the mooncup and honestly I wish I had gotten one six years ago! It was fiddly to begin with but you get used to it. Also, “birthing” it can be a bit of a pain but my pelvic floor thanks me for it, I am sure! I love it. It feels cleaner, I am not as dry, I do not have to carry bulky tampons everywhere and I do not have to fill the world up with used sanitary stuff. I love it to bits. Recommend recommend recommend.

Charlotte – 21st December 2014

Best purchase I have made in years. I hated towels, tampons constantly slipped because my muscles contracted forcing them out. My moon cup (nick named moon pig by bf) is clean, easy to use and lasts all day. I cant feel it, unlike tampons and so completely forget my period. And best still, i have realised my periods are normal and not the heavy and painful things I thought they was. That was clearly the mess that lossing tempons was causing.
I will never go back

Nikki – 1st December 2014

The best product. You feel much cleaner and much more comfortable. Few pointers for any newbies… pushing down helps, loads… cut your nails… and sometimes it will unfold a few minutes later and it might make you jump!

Emily – 1st December 2014

I am not one to write reviews but this is a great product. For many years I have suffered the fear of leaking, especially, the first two days of my period where I am very heavy and sleeping was uncomfortable as I have had many episodes of ruining bed sheets. It was all quite stressful. Last month, I used the mooncup and though I still used a pad, I managed to sleep without waking up every 2 hours to change. I haven’t quite mastered getting it out without the mess so I have not been able to use the cup without a pad during the day ( I have since discovered I need to empty after 6hours on my heavy days). Anyway this is so good that I urge anyone thinking to buy one to just get on with it. It feels cleaner and it will change your life. I look forward to the day I master taking it out without the mess so I can use it while I am at work and can feel comfortable enough to just simply take a bottle of water to rinse and reinsert in the ladies. Until then, I have stopped using tampons and i am reducing the amount of pads, which I hope helps in helping the environment.

Carm – 29th November 2014

I had been meaning to buy one of these for ages! Sick of tampons and smelly pads, I went out today and bought myself one from Boots. I have to say, it has revolutionised the way I have my period. Saying goodbye and farewell to those cottony friends was the best thing I ever did! I have my mooncup in now for the first time and after a couple of inserts, I’m now pretty confident with my purchase! I want to do my part to help keep this planet clean and tidy for generations to come and the more women buy this product, the world will be less full of sanitary waste! I am so happy that I purchased the MoonCup, I already have friends talking about it and thinking of getting one for themselves! Whoever created this idea is a genius! I feel a lot cleaner ‘down there’, more hygienic and environmentally friendly already. Thank you MoonCup!

Chloe – 25th November 2014

I’m on my fourth month of using my moon cup and I have never looked back. Its amazing. I couldn’t use tampons, so its a massive liberation from awful sanitary towels. I don’t have to wear period pants any more and it feels so much cleaner and hygienic!Its easy to use and really comfortable. I ended up snipping off most of the stem. I struggled the first few times taking it out but after that it was fine. Just don’t panic and stick with it!
I recommend this to anyone who is fed up with traditional products that are dry and uncomfortable and it saves quite a bit of money. Its paid for itself already!

Lou – 21st November 2014

I love the mooncup! My friend introduced me to it years ago when travelling (perfect when packing light and hard to get tampons) and I have never looked back. The odd time when I first started using it I had an occasional leak but probably happened less than with tampons and now it just seems to fit me like a glove. I find it way more comfortable than tampons…totally forget I’m wearing it at all quite often and I like how it doesn’t react with your body at all/isn’t dry and abrasive. Is also really easy to empty out and actually feels way cleaner than tampax once you get used to it.

Becky – 19th November 2014

I had wanted to try a Mooncup for some time as liked the idea of being more green, but I never seemed to get round to buying one. Finally, after getting more and more uncomfortable with tampons, especially after having a baby and getting a copper coil fitted, which made my periods heavier and more painful, I ordered one online. I am coming to the end of my first month using it and I am amazed. It is so comfortable, and far from being messy, apart from a little bit when changing, I feel much cleaner during my period than I ever have. My cramps were less and I didn’t even know I was wearing it and could go much longer inbetween changes. I can’t get over how easy it is to use, it was a little fiddly first time and I had to cut the stem almost off, but after a couple of goes it was easy to insert and then really easy to remove, just lean back on the toilet and give a couple of gentle pushes with your muscles and it moves down enough to get hold of and pull gently out. I am just annoyed that I did not try it sooner as I’m 38 now. I have just had to tell all of my female friends as they all need to try it and see how wonderful it is. My daughter is only small, but I know what I will be introducing her to when she starts her periods (many years down the line). Thanks Mooncup you are a life changing discovery!

J – 10th November 2014

I have just bought my second mooncup after giving birth. I have used mooncup for ten years before having my son, and I have never looked back. I hated using pads as they felt like nappies and really didn’t get on with tampons as they were so uncomfortable. My first experience trying to remove the mooncup I was too tense and worried myself silly so didn’t find it easy, after a small amount of practice I now don’t even think about taking it out or putting it in.
I have found mooncup cleaner, easier, more comfortable and leak proof. I have been swimming and trampolining with it in and haven’t even been slightly worried about leakage. It’s discrete and much greener for the environment.

Mooncup has made something which was once rather inconvienient into something I don’t even notice.

Thank you mooncup, I am very grateful!

Hazel – 12th September 2014

When a friend told me about the Mooncup I initially thought Yuck! and dismissed the idea. Then I had my daughter and my periods got really heavy, I needed tampons and pads but still had embarrassing leaks so eventually I stopped going out socially during my on days as it was too stressful! Also my period pains got worse, I would spend hours bent up with a hot water bottle getting grumpy with anyone and everyone! So I decided to try it, that was about 4 years ago. The first few days of using it were a bit hit or miss but once I got used to it it changed everything. I no longer have to fill my supermarket trolley with tampons and pads saving me about £10 a month, or fill handbags to bursting point once a month. No more worries about leaks, even heavy periods go by with ease. My period pains have gone, I don’t seem to get PMT. It’s less messy than I had to cope with before. I can’t fault it! I only wish I had known about it sooner, I could have saved so much waste from tampons,goodness knows how much money and stopped so many days being ruined by cramps. Thank you to everyone that was involved in creating this amazing product! I have recommended it to friends and will be sure to tell my daughter when she gets her periods and hopefully I can save her some of the pain and misery that I had to go through! : )

Ruby – 6th September 2014

Mooncup saved my holiday, my music festival, my camping weekend,the list goes on. I heard about Mooncup a few years ago but wasn’t sure if they were worth the money, until I realised a few months ago that my period was due smack in the middle of my beach holiday. There’s nothing worse than having to go to the loo & change your tampon every time you go in the water or risk leaking on your towel, so I decided to invest. Best money I have ever spent, it hasn’t been all plain sailing, it took me a few attempts to get the hang of it, and I had to trim the stem off completely – but now it’s so easy to use & clean, and no more carrying a small suitcase of tampons & towels around ‘just in case’.I literally can’t recommend this product enough!

Carrie – 5th September 2014

I purchased the mooncup after reading the reviews online over a few months, as a fibroid and heavy period sufferer(I’ve taken various medication and numerous operations but refuse an hysterectomy) I decided as I’d tried every other form of sanitary protection I had nothing to lose! The best decision I have made, I have just had the most easiest, convenient and stress free period for over 10 years! The mooncup is amazing, I couldn’t praise it enough, inserting it is easy( but I have used a diaphragm for contraception for years) it kept me clean and fresh, no leakage, no stomach cramps and no embarrassing moments where I would suddenly pass blood clots and find myself covered! Emptying it was easy and I also found the measurements inside the cup very useful as it is a way for me to monitor blood loss( I am anemic). For some reason I didn’t experience as much pain, or bleeding and it didn’t last as long( 5 days instead of the usual 10 plus) I can not recommend this product enough, I wish I had discovered it years ago! For the firat time in over 10 years I actually had a life during my period. I almost don’t dread my next period! Highly recommended

Michelle – 26th August 2014

I have never written a review or testimonial on anything before, but I am so delighted with my mooncup that I had to let you know! It has been an absolute revelation! By following the extensive and very clear instructions, I found it very easy to use right off the bat and I love it how clean and comfortable it is. I was worried it would be messy before I tried it, but it’s the cleanest sanitary protection I have ever used. I can’t imagine going back to towels again. I have always found tampons difficult to get on with, but the mooncup is totally different. I can’t feel it at all. It’s as if I’m not even having a period when I’m wearing it. I live in a hot, humid country and often get yeast infections after my period because of using towels. The heat can make towels smell very quickly, and damp towels plus sweat feel revolting. No such problems with the mooncup. I can swim spontaneously, roll around on the floor with my baby, sleep without underwear on… It’s changed my life! Thank you! I wish I’d got one years ago.

Helen – 16th August 2014

I have PCOS and it messes up my cycle like crazy. It comes at the most random times, never on schedule, and it’s extremely heavy. I can’t really do anything the first two days of my period and I bleed through tampons almost every hour. I spend a LOT of money on feminine products that don’t even work like I want/need them to! So mostly out of desperation, I ordered the Mooncup to see if it would help (I was willing to try anything!) It arrived faster than I was expecting and just in time because I started my period not too long after. It was a lot easier to use than I thought; I had no difficulty inserting or removing the Mooncup. It felt really comfortable, way more-so than a tampon. Since my periods are so heavy, I wore a pad with the Mooncup as well, but noticed SIGNIFICANTLY less leakage than what’s normal for me. Consequently, the first day I used it, I fell out of a window and broke my ankle (LONG story!) and I was so thankful for the Mooncup in that instance because I was having to be carried around a lot and was stuck at the hospital for a while with no opportunity to use the restroom or anything. I’ve been on bed-rest ever since and haven’t even noticed I’ve been on my period! It’s been so great and has made a horrible situation (broken ankle AND period at the same time?! ugh) so much better than it could’ve been!!! I’m extremely happy with Mooncup and look forward to never buying another box of tampons as long as I live!!! 🙂

Liz – 9th August 2014

Was looking for something to help cut down the amount of non-recyclable waste in my life, and discovered the Mooncup.
Although it was a bit of a cost-investment for me, I decided to get one and give it two months (two periods!) for me to get used to it and for it to prove it’s worth. By day 3 I was completely sold on it. There is a knack to inserting and removing the Mooncup, but it’s not hard to master and the job is easy and clean once you’ve got the hang of it. I love not having to worry if I have enough pads and tampons with me when I go camping or on holiday.

Michelle – 4th August 2014

I wouldn’t normally write a testimonial but I am so pleased with this product I felt I had to. I generally menstruate for 8 days in a 35 day cycle. The flow starts with spotting, becomes very heavy for tampons to cope with for a couple of days then goes light. I struggle with getting the right absorbency for my flow every month. Tampons are either leaking within a couple of hours or too dry to remove. This is my third day using mooncup and it’s just fantastic. It’s easy to Insert, just make sure your cervix is facing into the cup and the cup is fully open. No leaks.. Though I was really worried about this, I believed it would pop out and spill everywhere! Not even possible! I was crazy to think it, once it’s in only a good tug and wiggle will budge it! I was really scared whether it would be gross, the thought of a cup of blood sounds proper grim! But compared to the sodden tampons and pads covered in blood and clots I’ve faced for years, the contained flow within the mooncup was a vast improvement and actually made the whole thing a whole lot less gruesome. You don’t have to pull string out the way when peeing, you don’t worry about leaking with a big sneeze! And you can empty it a lot less often than changing a tampon. I also discovered that my flow was nowhere near as heavy as I thought. Also it’s great for the environment, which to me was just a nice perk for a product that is absolutely essential. I honestly believe that all women should be provided with this product on the day of their first period. I was actually put of by this product because I believed that it was used by people who cared more about the environment than their own needs, but honestly, those women have had the best of everything from this product. I CANNOT rate it highly enough. Thanks to everyone at mooncup, you’ve made a huge difference to my life x

Sally – 4th August 2014

I LOVE my mooncup! I have recently changed career from shop work to gardening. The lack of toilets and bins therefore prompted my purchase. I will never look back. I find it very easy to use and a lot cleaner than having to carry used sanitary products around in the van and it’s nice not to carry pads and tampons in every handbag. It copes with the varied physical parts of my job; running, bending, climbing, hanging, kneeling ect. When I get hot and sweat from digging I don’t have to worry about gross odours and I feel cleaner knowing that I’m not sat sweating in my blood all day. In terms of comfort nappy rash from thick pads is eliminated and I don’t have to worry about wearing pants at night. It also means (like tampons) I can fill my pee bottle without making it obvious to my colleagues (all men) that I’m on. It has reduced my cramps to almost nothing, though they weren’t awful to start with and I’m finding that my period is over much faster. I am also finding that, oddly, I am really enjoying learning about and monitoring my period. This was something I wasn’t expecting. 🙂 Basically ladies; great idea, well made, economically advantageous, ecologically friendly and easy to use!

Laura – 12th July 2014

I have been meaning to get one of these for years and yes insertion is tricky and a bit tricky. I began to feel at 35 years of age it was time to have control of the time of month. I never have a period where I am overjoyed and I do not look forward to it(I never will) but love this product easy clean and not as tricky as you would think to put in though getting out is trickier. Maybe not someone who loves my period but at least now I can tolerate it die to such a fantastic product. Tampax your days are our numbered.

Tamsin – 2nd July 2014

I’m absolutely IN LOVE with the Mooncup!
I’ve only been using it for two cycles (never used tampons before, just pads) and I’m getting into the swing of things now. I’ve no idea how I coped with pads for so long, as this thing is amazing.

I should note that I’m a virgin and have never even used a tampon before, so don’t worry that it’ll be too big or that you need to try a tampon first or anything like that! I’ll admit that I wanted to throw it across the room at first attempt, but once I’d gotten it in for the first time, I knew I was onto a winner. (I use the punch down fold, I’d recommend it)

There are SO many benefits of the Mooncup. I think it says it all that I was terrified to use tampons for years, yet within two cycles of using the Mooncup I’m completely in love.

I’m not exaggerating when I say that I can insert my Mooncup and then completely forget I’m even on my period for a few hours, once I’ve taken pain killers for the cramps. It completely removes that ‘icky’ feeling you get with pads. Sure you do come into contact with blood on removal, but remove it while sat on the toilet and you’ll be fine.

The Mooncup is so versatile and can be used by people of all ages, sizes etc. If you’re on the fence (I’ve known about the Mooncup for months but wasn’t brave enough to get one) I implore you to buy one! I can’t lie and say it won’t be frustrating to insert at first, but after that you’ll be wondering how you coped without one!

Love you, Mooncup!

Laura – 27th June 2014

Oh my god. The mooncup has changed my life. I have never felt cleaner during my period – no nasty smell, no leaking, no horrid waste filling up our landfills, just give it a wash and it is ready to reuse! I LOVE IT. If you don’t have one, get one! It will change your life too.

Amy – 17th June 2014

I heard about Mooncup at a festival a couple of years ago and thought it would be gross. But since then I have become a lot greener and try and do everything I can to reduce waste etc. So I thought I would try Mooncup because I found that I was getting through a lot of tampons and getting quite bad cramps. I don’t get any pains now and generally feel better… think it’s due to now having a load of chemicals soaking into me every month! Not to mention I no longer worry about leaks when I’m at the gym, or asleep, or any other time… I can trust it to keep me clean and it is so easy to use… Never have to buy another sanitary product or throw anything away… AMAZING!

Jennifer K – 22nd February 2013

I’m from Australia and a friend’s sister told me about mooncups when we were about 14 -tho her terminology was somewhat cruder! I had a few hippyish friends and many of them had heard about them, but none of us really knew where to get them from back in the dark ages BI (before the internet)! FF a few years until after I’d moved to the UK, I finally discovered them on the internet… when I was pregnant!! Ah the irony!
Then, thanks to lactational amhenorrea I didn’t get a period for nearly 2 years, but after that, I was browsing through Boots one freezing morning and came across a moon cup! YAY! I was trepidatious -£20 is a lot to shell out for something that you’re not sure about (I think it must’ve been in the first release), but I bought it and have never used a tampon since -sometimes I have resorted to pads, especially as after 7years, during my last pregnancy my Mooncup was thrown away, and now, 2 years on I have to get organised and order a new one from OS, which seems like effort, but I’ll be oh so happy when it gets here and I can swim etc.
I find that showering twice/day and inserting it then solves any dramas with mess & public loos, tho’ it’s not too bad when the toilet is in the bathroom and you can use a flannel (never felt too comfy with the idea of flush water).
The cup is sooo comfy (or more to the point unnoticable)! and less dangerous than 2 tampons!!! (which I saw recommended elsewhere for heavy flow) My daughter is getting one for her menstruation onset celebration, whenever that be!
And I recommend them to anyone who brings up tampon discomfort -tho it’s tricky to know who will give you the blank “crazy loon” look!
It did take a couple of months to get used to it and ocasionally there were issues when I mis-inserted it, but nothing more than when tampons were new, and it’s sooooooo much comfier & more convenient (especially when camping/travelling) when it is right!
& to the teen girls reading this, don’t have sex when it’s up your vagina, but you shouldn’t be doing that with tampons either!! (from a mum)

Isa – 14th February 2013

I had heard about mooncup about ten years ago but have only just got around to buying one and….Oh My Goodness!I wish I’d have got one all that time ago!They are cleaner,easier,SO much more comfortable than towels (I wont use tampons for so many reasons),there are no disposal issues (I loathe having to wrap and chuck used towels in ANY bin,ughh!) and any concerns I had prior to using mooncup the first time went immediatley.Insertion was no problem,its about finding your technique,it took me 30 seconds first time and I couldn’t feel it inside me at all.I trimmed the puller to halfsize and its just right.The best thing is not one drop leaked!This is the easiest period Ive ever had.Mooncup is fantastic,thank you so much ladies!!!

Kerry – 04th February 2013

I have always used pads because I hated the feel of tampons and the few times I had to use one, my vagina would get very irritated and dry. Even with a lot of pads, the chemicals or plastic in them would give me a rash or worse make me raw.I finally found a natural cotton pad, but I was still ruining my undies at night from leakage. So I decided to give one of these a try. I am super sensitive down there, (couldn’t even use a nuva-ring birth control) so I was very skeptical about how comfortable this would be. I’m 30 and don’t have kids, so I ordered the smaller one. WOW! I am a total convert now! It was a little tricky putting it in, but I just squeezed my muscles once inserted and it corrects itself within a few minutes of walking around. The removal wasn’t messy as I feared it was going to be. I just pinched the bottom to break the seal and gently pull it out while squatting over the toilet. I’m on day two of trying the Mooncup and I’m not irritated down there at all.I actually feel cleaner and I can barely feel it too.Best part is no leaks! I don’t plan on wearing it to work, but it certainly has helped me sleep through the night worry free. I am super happy with this product. Good bye messed up undies and bed sheets! Thank you Mooncup!!

M.Lam – 29th January 2013

I have always laughed at the mooncup thinking it was a bit weird. My uni friends and I all thought it was funny and logged onto the website for a laugh. But then after reading some of the testimonials I became curious – it seemed like a genuinely genius idea! I’m 21 but still a virgin and though fairly confident with my body I was nervous. It took my first 2 periods to get used to it but now I’m completely converted. I never leak anymore, can leave it in for most of the day and I don’t even wear a pantyliner or pad just in case! I honestly can’t imagine using a tampon now. The mooncup feels cleaner. I barely feel aware of my periods at all! I’m yet to convince my friends but after 3 months I’ve already made my money back so if you’re having doubts, just buy one!

Anna – 28th January 2013

I am planning a big backpacking trip next year and am looking for ways to save money and packing space. Sanitary stuff is often expensive and hard to come by abroad. I read the Mooncup leaflet thoroughly and used it successfully first time with no mess! I was a little worried about emptying it the first time, so I timed it for when I was about to have a shower, and removed it over the bath just to be sure. It was clean and easy with no mess at all, and I don’t mind telling you I was actually a little emotional with relief and excitement at the new solution I have found :’) I look forward to the coming years tampon-free!

Elena – 23rd January 2013

I’m a young virgin woman of 17 (only for 2 more days until my birthday). I have to say the moon cup is a wonderful invention. I just got it today, and tried it out while I am on my 3rd day and the insertion wasn’t too bad to figure out. I learned that I must use the 2nd folding method, and I’ve noticed that once I get the pointy end in I have to twist it around for the rest to fit. Then I can feel the cup open up and the stem fits in comfortably. I don’t even have to trim it like I have heard other women doing. The item fits like a glove! That technique took me the second try to figure out. I’m still working on the removal part, and I can’t lie it did feel uncomfortable. Personally, I think it was my thin hymen getting a bit of a work out, but it wasn’t impossible. Now, my goal is to successfully remove the cup without having to push the stem section out, and properly removing the seal, since I pretty much pulled it 90% of the way.
Another thing that I love about the Moon Cup is that it really connects you with your body, and the shape of it. And, I realized that my period actually isn’t like the ‘Nile River’, as my friends and I jokingly call it. Pads and tampons make the whole process look 10x worse, and feel 100x worse for that matter. The Moon Cup is pretty clean. Even with my first attempt to remove it, the outside didn’t even have blood on it thanks to the seal. All I had to do was ball up a small amount of toilet paper into the moon cup and give a good wipe and it was clean and ready for insertion. And, to top it off if I did the removal correctly it would have been even cleaner.

Did I fail to mention that I had a tampon on before I had my moon cup in and after the 2nd insertion the slight dryness that I had disappeared and was properly lubricated once again? It’s wonderful!

I can’t wait until I really get the hang of it! I’m never going back to pads, tampons, or pantyliners. I’m a moon cup gal now 🙂

Erika – 28th December 2012

I saw an article in a magazine about mooncup about 5 years ago and had a look at them in my local Boots and disregarded the whole notion as something a bit ‘new agey’ but recently I began to reconsider my whole attitude when I was changing my highest absorbency sanitary towels every hour on days 1-3 I thought ‘what am I doing there has got to be a better way’ and then I thought back to mooncup, took the plunge after getting some advice from this very site’s advisors regarding sizing etc, which was followed up by some VERY useful advice that expanded on the leaflet that came with mooncup. This is my first period of using it, it is day 1 I have worn it overnight and during a 45 minute fitness class when I would usually have had to wear a tampon which was never the right absorbency with too little or too much particularly the day before you start ‘proper’ but you need something in or on. I had practised a couple of times before starting and was just waiting for the event to give it a go (strangely enough I was kind of looking forward to my period which has NEVER happened) Anyway the point of all this babbling is I am just wearing the mooncup no towels or liners. I LOVE IT! I am a total convert no leaking, you forget it’s there, no getting up in the middle of the night feeling like you are dripping for want of a better word(sorry if that’s TMI!). All I can say is I am going to convert EVERYONE to this fabulous, fabulous item. It’s a bit messy to take out but it isn’t any worse they dealing with a tampon, so as a former sceptic I have to say what are you waiting for?

Katie – 02nd November 2012

I bought this a few months ago. The main reason I wanted to buy it was the cost. I’m a student and money can get a bit tight! Buying tampons every month/second month just wasn’t feasible. I wasn’t sure what to expect but thought I’d share my experience.
Inserting the mooncup was fine (although the folding methods detailed in the booklet didnt work for me. There are many blogs etc online showing different ways of inserting it so you just need to find the one that works for you.)The only real problem I had was that to begin with the mooncup was really painful to get out. However after a couple of months I got the hang of it. I’m not sure what I was doing wrong exactly but you just need to persevere as you will eventually find the knack!

I love my mooncup now. I couldn’t be without it and can’t recommend it enough. If you’re someone like me who might not get off to a great start, please persevere. It’s well worth it I promise! It’s not as messy as I thought it would be either which is great! At first I was worried about needing to change it in public bathrooms but I find that I dont need to as it can be kept in much longer that tampons so I can work around trips out to public places.

Give it a go! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

Caroline – 02nd November 2012

First impressions…
Well, today is the first time I have used my new mooncup…. First thing this morning, I hated it. It felt way too big to put in and just too weird! Probably because I don’t know “down there” very well, despite being married and having given birth, there seems to be a forbidden rule to not get to know your own body properly.

Anyway, I now realise that my vagina is not a perfect circular tube like I always imagined, but rather like a squashed donut. This knowledge makes it a whole lot easier to put in and remove!

I’m not 100% confident yet, but my first attempt to put in, remove, trim stalk, put back in again, took over 30 minutes – all with my 11 month old daughter screaming through the loo door! Not a relaxing environment…

Today is the first – and therefore the worst – day of my period, and my pains are no less using the mooncup than with towels or tampons (and today, haven’t even subsided with pain relief :o( ), but I do lack the horrible undercarriage / groin pain so far that I get with tampons. But I could feel when my mooncup needed changing as I felt rather ‘heavy’, but this equally could be due to poor pelvic floor.

But changing it was not messy at all, nothing like I imagined, certainly no worse than with a tampon, but the squatting was rather difficult! I’m sure it will all get easier with time.

One thing though, I’m amazed at how little blood I’ve lost so far… if using tampons or towels, I’d have had to change several times by now, but with the Mooncup I clearly saw that it wasn’t even half full… crazy, all this belly ache for that…!!

Anyway, I’m here this far and don’t refret it, but it’s a totally new experience and Im enjoying not feeling like I need a shower / itchy / wearing a nappy / feeling a tampon…. so, so far so good :o)

One last thing, removing it straight down really hurts… ouch… make sure you do like the instructions say – one side at a time – and don’t rush (even if the squatting is getting to your thighs, or your baby is yelling at you…!) x

Amz – 27th September 2012

I saw your testimonial section and I couldn’t help but add my experiences! I’ve known about Mooncups for years, but for some reason, never really saw it as an option. I WISH I had gotten one sooner. I have Endometriosis – heavy periods, which are painful and messy and uncomfortable. I dread the day my period comes. I have a big hippy friend who doesn’t stop talking about Mooncups and how I should be a convert and go for it, but the outlay has always concerned me for something which I thought I would use, hate and bung away. Man was I wrong!! I LOVE my Mooncup. I feel clean, well protected, confident and with much reduced pain, especially after day 1. I would forget I was on my period if I wasn’t climbing the walls for chocolate and spinach! I fitted first time without leaks. I feel so clean, I can never ever imagine going back to other sanitary protection now. The equivalent would be getting rid of your loo and going back to a line pit! Wonderful, wonderful Mooncup, we will be friends for years!

Megan C – 10th September 2012

Periods were the bain of my life. I hated uncomfortable tampons and refused to use them, pads made me feel self conscious and left me feeling unclean. I had to make sure to plan activities around it, such a pain! I just wanted to hide away until it was all done with.
Then, I found mooncup. At first, I thought this wouldnt work for me, as it took me a while to get the hang of insertion and removal, so I only used it at home. But, after a few months, BAM! It was easy as pie! Im so glad I stuck with it. Its so much cleaner and unobtrusive than other products, I forget its even there! No more planing around my periods, so comfortable and hygienic, the mooncup really has given me a freedom I never used to have. Now that time of the month is no big deal 🙂

So thankyou for your wonderful product! Any woman who is unhappy with her sanitary products should give it a try, stick with it and you’ll wonder how you ever coped without it before!

Christina – 04th September 2012

i havee usedd myy moon cup for the first time today! I did practise twice before hand as i was unsure what to do! im glad i did as its still a bit fiddly but im sure ill get better after time! i was soo excited when i used it todayy and only spilled a tiny bit!! itss soo comfortable! despite my friend saying i was mad to buy one i still did and i already love itt!! im 15 so its okayy for teenagers!!

belle – 04th September 2012

I saw the Mooncup ad in the London tube about 2 years ago and then went to Boots to check it out but still was not convinced and sticked to tampons. I’ve always had really bad backache during my period since I can remember but thought that it is normal ‘period thing’. Few weeks ago I found out that my friend is using IT so I had a chance to talk to ‘real’ person and get some more info. She said that it is the best thing ever and it is not messy at all which was my main concern. So I bought one straight away and…I wish I bought it earlier!!! Very comfortable, no problems with using it from day one and my back pain magically disappeared! Would recommend this to every woman. This is a must have item and should be wider advertised so more women could get their hands on it. I’m going to try to talk every woman I know to it.

Alina – 29th August 2012

If you think of buying a mooncup dont hesitate. I bought one after extensive research and its so much worth it. You save your health, money and environment. At first i didnt think it would be very practical or nice but actually using Mooncup feels even cleaner than tampons. Another plus is brilliant customer service. As an advice from me: Do read the leaflet and advice on the website, it helps you understand how the mooncup works straight away. I didnt have any problems since the very first time using it. 😉

Nat – 20th August 2012

I bought my mooncup this morning having had three days of very heavy bleeding. I bought it as a last hope, having not slept for the three days (getting up in the night to change my tampon/pad combination). This shuld never hav been my last hope, it should have been my first choice! I wish I’d have known about mooncup when I started my period; I’d have had 20 years of stree free periods.Granted, I’ve only had the cup for 8 hours but already I’m converted. Usually, I’d have had to change my tampon 8 or so times by now, and my pad 4 or so times but as it is I’ve been building furniture, shopping and reading in my garden, all without the need to change a pad/tampon, it’s freeing and wonderful, and I couldn’t ask for more.
I didn’t find insertion fiddly, but I could see how I might, and releasing the cup was easy once I slid my finger alongside the cup. Maybe slightly more messy on the fingers than a tampon but a lot less messy on the underwear.
I’m so glad I decided to bye a mooncup! I’ll be telling everyone how great it is!

Kerry – 18th August 2012

love mooncup just used it for the first time. no leaks no mess. dont have to worry about public toilets as only need to change twice a day. no more being niped by tampax applicators. found it very easy but did alot of reading on the mooncup and looked on you tube so was very prepared.

helen – 05th August 2012

I’ve just ordered my third Mooncup in six years, not because they have worn out (far from it), but because I’ve managed to lose it once again, haha! Subsequently I have endured a Mooncup-free period for the first time in years. Disgusting! I don’t know how I coped with the leaks, discomfort and mess of pads and tampons for so long before switching to the Mooncup. The inventors deserve a medal. This is a lifechanging thing. I’m going to make a determined effort not to leave this one in a random handbag or bathroom, because I can’t go through another period without it…and sorry to anyone who finds the others…

Laura – 25th July 2012

I love my mooncup. I am a midwife and perhaps that means that I was never worried about the possible ‘mess’ which I find a lot of women who have not used one worrying about. But really it is so clean and easy that anyone can use one – squeemish or not! I find the expensive of tampons so offensive – how dare we be charged so much when we have no choice? and VAT? don’t get me started! I feel like I have won a feminist battle by making one simple purchase rather than a monthly one :)My mooncup is super comfortable and reliable – never had a leak ever, which is more than I can say for tampons and towels.
Thank you Mooncup! xx

Hannah – 20th July 2012

Seriously, just buy one. It will change your life! I first heard of the mooncup years ago when a friend of a friend recommended it to me (after typical girly talk about heavy periods/ the horror of the pads and tampon combo) and my gut reaction was ‘ick’. I wrongly assumed it would be messy, smelly and just part of a hippie fad. Meanwhile, I was struggling with crippling period pain and near constant urinary tract infections (caused, I now believe, by large tampons expanding and pressing uncomfortably on my urinary tract). I was also reading horror stories about the bleaching and chemicals that tampons undergo and resenting the massive quantities of tampons I was being forced to buy each month to cope with my flow. I only properly looked into getting a mooncup a year ago, and I was won over straightaway. This website had loads of really good, detailed information and the testimonials really helped sway me because I could see that lots of other women who had been struggling had found a solution with the cup.
My first try was a bit hit and miss, mainly because getting it in and out takes a little getting used to. But by the second month I was a bit of a pro! I can honestly say that this is one of the best products I have ever bought in my life. It has improved my quality of life considerably. The pain I experience with cramps has reduced (I think maybe the flexibility of the cup helps) and the fact that it holds so much more fluid than a tampon means that long shifts at work are a lot less stressful. I really can’t imagine how I managed without it!
I made sure to stick the stickers in public places, hoping that if at least one woman who struggled like I did sees it and looks into it further, it will be worth it. My friends are sick of me ranting on at them about how great it is, but I’ve already won a couple of them over. It’s a total joke that pads and tampons are the default sanitary product, especially as the mooncup is a much more environmentally sustainable alternative. I really hope that I see this change in my lifetime.
So, from the bottom of my heart, a massive thank you to you women behind mooncup. This is the first customer review I have ever left, but I just had to let you know what a great job you’re doing. Many thanks, Ffion

Ffion – 20th July 2012

I bought my mooncup a few years ago and was too scared to try it! Argh! How I wish I had just been brave and done it! I used it towards the end of my last period and started using it again straight away this time round … it’s amazing! So comfy (obviously after I’d cut the stem – I had to get rid of it completely & after using the second method of insertion). The main thing I’m finding is the ease of it, I’m not drying out like with tampons (which I hadn’t noticed was a problem until I stopped using them) and I love that with my flow I only need to empty it once in the morning and once before bed!
Love it! Wish I’d started using it years ago, not for environmental reasons or for the cost reasons, just because it’s comfy and easier and somehow feels cleaner than tampons

A happy convert! 🙂

Newbie Mooncup User – 26th June 2012

I had heard of Moon Cup quite a while ago but had put it off for being a bit squeamish. Then this year my friend told me about a blog post in which A WOMAN FOUND MOULD ON HER TAMPON! I recommend googling the story.
Combined with the increased guilt of wastage and wanting to save money I decided to switch.
Now, I wouldn’t go back! My period pain has decreased. I always thought my dire pain and sickness was something to do with Tampon’s since as soon as I inserted a Tampon I’d be vomiting for the rest of the day. I had to go on the pill to sort it out and am admittedly still on the pill a little too afraid I’ll be having heavy and irregular periods again.
It’s a little difficult to get used to at first with some dire accidents but I persevered, I will not go back to achey, dry and scratchy periods again. I don’t even mind the tiny mess you inevitably encounter using this product because it’s worth it knowing my body and purse is better off and hopefully the planet too.
And I love the fact we can wear it when we know we’re going to be on that day and not having to rush back and forth to the toilet playing a guessing game. And I never have to worry about running out or carrying around extras.
I’m gently working on my friends with the effort of not wanting to drive them crazy over it.
Thank you Mooncup!

Siobhan – 21st June 2012

The Mooncup is AMAZING! I can’t believe I didn’t try it earlier – all those awkward trips to the bathroom during school which the obvious tampon or pad held in my hand, the tell-tale rustling, the occasional leaks and having to stock all the different varieties and sizes, the problem of running out and having to go to the school nurse… I’ve had the Mooncup for 4 periods now and it’s been so great. The main issue for me before getting it was the public loos thing. I’m at University, so I share toilets in Halls with a lot of people, with the sink outside the toilet. But it’s fine! All you need to do is take a bottle of water to rinse it – or even just wipe with toilet paper, and rinse it later because it comes clean really easily. It’s not messy at ALL, and it so great just having one tiny thing rather than a whole variety of boxes of pads and tampons. My first reaction was one of disgust and surprise – but I’m so glad my curiosity got the better of me! If you’re wondering whether you should try it out – GO FOR IT! I can’t believe how much money I’m saving already too. If I’m low on cash (student budget) and I start my period, it’s always been, oh dear, there’s another few quid down the drain… Not any more! I’ve got finals coming up too, and with long 3 hour exams there’s NO chance of going to change your pad / tampon, so the mooncup has become really invaluable for me.
I never really realised how messy and smelly pads and tampons were until I switched to the Mooncup either. I will NEVER be going back – completely converted! Thank you Mooncup people! I’m trying to convert my younger sisters too, and it’s only the public loos thing that’s holding them back (both being away at University too). If this is the case with you – don’t worry! You don’t have to walk over to the public sink, mooncup in hand to empty it (as my sisters joked)! Just tip it into the toilet and give it a wipe – simple as. Go for it: what have you got to lose?

Ellen from Oxford – 17th May 2012

I got my first Mooncup about a year ago now, and I don’t know how I lasted so long without it! It makes having my period so much less of an issue. Although it’s true that it can be a bit messy when you’re in a public toilet, it isn’t THAT inconvenient – wash your hands and wipe it off with toilet paper, it is YOUR blood, after all! I had it on cycling holiday in France last year, and had to use it in toilets in camp sites, and it was just fine. 🙂 Overall, I ABSOLUTELY recommend it, and I’m so happy that people recommended it to me!

PJ – 13th May 2012

I love the Mooncup, I used it for the first time last month and it’s really simple to use and you can’t feel it. It also seems much “cleaner”, there’s no messy tampon to deal with. I just wish they were around when I was a teenager! Tell your friends about this great product!

Jo – 15th April 2012

Years of tampon use, 2 children, 2 coils and now a diapraghm user (due to both coils ending in tears at the 18m point and can’t do hormones!)and about a year of umm-ing and arr-ing about buying a mooncup, i finally decided to just bite the bullet, save money, save the enviroment and give it a try! I have to say I was a bit dubious initially about leakage and fitting it properly (which i did struggle with a bit after auto-pilot high fitting tampons and diaphragms) but OMG, from the moment i put it in (and cut the stem a bit) i was a TOTAL convert! My periods are shorter and less painfull now (could also be connected to no coils anymore) but i’m sure it helps! I just can’t imagine using a tampon now! I do have to say though even once you’re poured the stuff down the loo, it’s still bit icky so i always use a loo with a basin in it so I can fling it straight in the sink, quick rinse and then it’s totally clean and ready to use again. But remember that bit, and for anyone who is, like i was, a bit dubious.. GIVE IT A GO!! I honestly don’t think you will look back!

Abi – 14th April 2012

I first saw a Mooncup on a medical program about alternative products for women and, must be honest, thought YUCK! However, a few months later and after looking at a few sites like this one, decided that it was time to try one. I am 42 and a single parent and have always used internal prtection but never liked the thought of filling the seas, etc. Mine arrived today, just in time and after making sure I had followed the instructions in the booklet, found how amazingly easy the Mooncup is, both to insert and to stop any leaks. Not messy at all. I know I am only a Day One User BUT must say, I AM AMAZED…so simple and so many reasons to use a Mooncup over ‘regular’ protection. I am already spreading the word and how do I get some stickers so more women can feel the same freedom? I will never look back. Everything you have read is TRUE! Thank You, all of you at Mooncup :0) x

Sarah – 31st March 2012

Buying one has been on my to-do list for a few years, stupidly. I finally bought one yesterday. I’ve been practising with it yesterday and today – putting it in, feeling the stem chafing slightly, taking it out, trimming the stem a bit more, and now the stem is perfect, I don’t feel a thing, no matter how I flex my pelvic floor muscles. But what I really came here to tell you is this: when I took it out for the first time with blood in it (my period just started this afternoon), I couldn’t believe it. I held in my hand a clear cup of ruby-red, CLEAN blood. There was no fishy smell, as there always is with tampons! I sniffed it several times because I just couldn’t believe it. I said to myself in shock, “It … doesn’t smell!” and began to cry. My body has been clean all along!

Cáit, 25 – 04th March 2012

I’m adding my thoughts because it was reading others’ testimonials which convinced me to give it a go, and to keep trying.
The first couple of attempts were a bit awkward and I managed to spill everything all over the bathroom floor, but I’ve not done that again – I guess anything new is difficult, especially when you’ve been using tampons for near 30 years (eek)!

Anyway, I’m on my second month now and I’m convinced it’s the way forward, so much so that I’ve cleared out my bedside draw of tampons – leaving oodles of space for other stuff, so that’s a plus.

One big plus for me is that I won’t have to be paranoid that I’ve left a tampon in – all those times in the morning when, bleary eyed you can’t remember if you’ve taken it out or not – I certainly won’t miss that!

I’ve had to get up in the night for years because a tampon wouldn’t cope with my flow on the first couple of days. The mooncup does cope which is great.

And as I’m getting older my flow is heavier, and I was considering the progesterone coil to help slow things down – but now I don’t feel I have to so that’s a plus too.

I’m just annoyed that I didn’t give it a try years ago when I first came across them. I think it’s a shame that the mooncup is not more widely sold and advertised.

Sarah – 25th February 2012

This has been a god send. I have very heavy periods and NOTHING has worked for me, until now. It’s so much more comfortable to wear than tampons or pads and it’s easier to change. I was having to use bothMy favourite part is not having to carry around sanitary products all of the time!
Once you get over the size, I find folding it into a sort of triangle shape helps, it’s great. It can leak a little bit, but I think that’s more to do with how heavy my periods are, than a design fault.
It can be a little messy, so I recommend trying it out when you’re at home for a couple of days until you get the knack of changing it, doing it in the shower is a good idea, especially as using warm water help sooth period pains and provides a lubricant.

L – 19th February 2012

This product should be available in all supermarkets and pharmacies, it is so much better than menstrual pads.
I’ve been using pads since I was 12, and I always hated the discomfort and smell they brought with their use. I wasn’t keen using tampons, so when I initially considered trying something else, I chose clothe pads. Horrible experience. The odour did decrease, but my anxiety increased because I was terrified I would leak! Due to this I had to change them every hour, so after that debacle, I decided I’d give Mooncup a go. To be honest, the first day was weird, as I’d never used tampons and I had to get used to inserting it, but after that it was a breeze.

It really is all about getting the knack of insertion correct, and after that it’s a walk in the park. No more smells, and no you don’t get blood on your hands when you have to take it out! It’s made my period so much more easy, and I greatly regret not having tried it earlier. Please, please start advertising this products on tv, it’s very hard to find out about these products. I never realised there was an alternative to pads/tampons until I read it online.

Keep up the good work!

Hannah – 12th February 2012

I first heard about the Mooncup 4 years ago, and after a couple of months I thought I may as well try it. I’m so glad I did as I have never looked back. At first I thought it was pretty gross and that’s what put me off, but it’s so easy to use, lasts hours, isn’t messy and is good for the environment! What more can you ask for? Seriously, try it!

Chloe – 28th January 2012

Hi, I first saw an advert for a mooncup on the back of a toilet door and wasn’t convinced as it sounded quite ‘messy’. However a couple of years ago in a quest to be more environmental I thought i would give if a go.
It took a little while to get used to it and adjust the stem to the right length but once there I love it, and it’s no more messy than tampons. What’s more I got caught out recently and had to buy tampons, I had completely fogotten how much of a pain it was to have to change a tampon every 2-3 hours and decide which size u needed. Don’t get me wrong I know that I am lucky and don’t have a heavy flow but using tampons is so much harder.

To top it off, I also have vaginismus, I have gained help and it is much better than it ever was. For years I have coped with using tampons as a needs must, but the discovery of the mooncup was great…no more trying to insert dry cotton objects, the mooncup is so much easier to insert and withdraw and once in
you forget its even there.

Basically if you are slightly in doubt don’t hold back, go for it. The only hesitation I would have is if u have a very heavy flow as I am not quite sure how convenient this would b then.

Good luck, hopefully it will be as beneficial as it has been for me.

Sarah – 23rd January 2012

A friend sent me a link to your site about a year ago, partly in jest. After looking and doing all the background research, though, I just had to give it a try.
It was a little awkward at first – I cut the stem too short and had some weird moments getting it in and out. But after sticking with it for a cycle, it was so much better than anything else I’ve tried and I’m thoroughly pleased with it now. SO much easier, SO much less wasteful, and easy to clean. Makes having a period not nearly as miserable or messy. I can’t believe I don’t see these advertised more often!

Amy N. – 13th December 2011

I have been using my mooncup for 6 years now…and love it.I wish I had known about it before.It is easy to use and not once have a had a leak.So much more hygenic and safer than Tampons or towels.Most of my friends now use a mooncup and are very happy to.Try it ,you have nothing to lose.I wonder why charities are not promoting these in 3rd world countries they would surely benefit the women there.I cant say enough how good they are .

Helen – 03rd December 2011

Fantastic-can’t rate it highly enough! when i first got mine i wanted to buy all my (girl) friends one. They declined..I’ve had mine for about 6yrs now. very easy to use, clean, no ache like i used to get with tampons.
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.

helen – 19th November 2011

I use the mooncup and i swear i will NEVER go back to tampons or pads. My whole vagina and downstairs feels so much cleaner and healthier and since i started using it i haven’t had a sign of infections (which i used to get alot while using normal sanitary wear. I have reccommended it to all of my friends and a few of them now use it as well. They are easy to use, easy to clean, easy to insert and remove and you never have to worry about when to buy tampns or pads.

Chrissie – 16th November 2011

It is everything it’s cracked up to be and better. Yes you need a little practice getting it in and out at first, but it is so vastly superior to pads and tampons in *every* way, including a few things I didn’t really think about, that didn’t really register, until I experienced it myself: #1, the convenience that comes of it NOT being disposable — once your period starts, you *never* have to give a moment’s thought to your “supplies”, getting it to the bathroom discreetly, etc.; and #2, feeling so much cleaner externally – no smudgy smelly sticky anything. I have never felt so free in all my life. I also couldn’t believe how quickly I came to trust that it is, truly, completely leakproof – I thought I’d take a few periods to really believe it. But when you’re using it right, you immediately know, you can feel it, the seal and how secure it is. Amazing product, only regret not having it sooner.

Madeline – 14th November 2011

I heard about Mooncup from my Mum a few years ago and decided to give it a go. I hated having periods and actually found them quite distressing but since using the mooncup, it’s all completely changed. I’m able to deal with the blood and I feel a lot cleaner through using it. My mum has since got one, and I’ve recommended it to friends and a local health food shop that’s just opened. I absolutely love it and would love for mroe people to know about it and understand it.

Jo – 09th November 2011

Just thrilled I finally got round to buying one 🙂 took me a couple of months to be totally comfortable with it but would never go back now. Feels much more hygienic, no dryness and great for light and heavy days. Only leaked once when I didn’t get it right but now I’m used to it so much more ‘safe’ than tampons. Great product, thanks Mooncup 🙂

Laura – 24th October 2011

I do not have words for how much I love my Mooncup! I found out about them by accident, and am SO glad I did! I could not imagine my life without my mooncup! I suffer from such heavy periods that I went and had surgery (emdometrial ablation) to try and help, with no sucess. Then I stumbled on a site discussing menstral cups, I had no idea what in the world they were talking about, and to be honest at first thought the idea of a menstral cup was disgusting. But I was intregued, so I bought one anyway. So, so, so glad I let my curiousity get the best of me!I will NEVER again go back to ANYTHING other than the mooncup! Pads are gross, stinky and messy. Tampons are just as bad as well as uncomfortable! Teh Mooncup is so comfortable that there are times that I forget that I even have my period. With the Mooncup, I can get back to my life without having to worry about leaks and smells and if someone is going to see my dirty tampon or pad in the garbage.
I can’t speak highly enough of the Mooncup. I just wish it was more advertised so I would have been able to get back to normal life earlier!

Des – 23rd October 2011

I started using the Mooncup last month after over a year of deliberation about whether to use it, now I wish I’d just got on with it and taken the plunge when I first heard about it at Glastonbury Festival. It’s just the best invention EVER.After a tricky start, I wasn’t convinced it would be completely leak free, I was paranoid and still used a towel as well, just in case, but totally unnecessary now, I’ve got the hang of getting it in and out, with hardly any mess at all, and it’s only my second month using it.
I just wish I’d known about it years ago, not only does it save money but it reduces the impact on the environment too. Brilliant.

Helen – 17th October 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter