Travel

Travel

If you’re reading this and considering trying a mooncup, definitely get one! Can’t tell you how much of a difference it has made to my life – I got mine a year ago with a pair of Thinx period pants and will never go back to tampons and pads. The mooncup makes me feel so much cleaner than tampons, it’s better for the environment, brilliant for backpacking and I really think it has helped with my cramps. I don’t know how, but I used to take loads of painkillers every month and now I just have a couple of Paracetamol – my husband says I’m a different person in a good way! Honestly I wish I’d got my mooncup years ago. I got the hang of using it within the first month and now it’s second nature. Definitely get one!

Eleanor – 29th November 2018

I bought the mooncup a few weeks ago. I’ve known about it for some time but only finally decided to purchase one after problems with my coil and being advices by my doctor that tampons weren’t ideal for someone with a coil.

After spending a couple of hours at the weekends, period free, trying out the mooncup, I was still a little dubious as to whether it was reliable whilst I was at work all day or at training and kept the stock of tampons on hand.

A few days ago, I thought I was coming on my period so popped the mooncup in as a ‘just in case’ and went to my crossfit training… I was amazing to find I had indeed come on my period and it had captured every drop and I hadn’t even felt it during the intense workout. Following a shower when I washed it and reinserted, I headed for a long day at work, where I spend most of the day presenting to delegates: pacing, moving around and generally being quite active. I kept checking for leaks and was delighted that there weren’t any. And again I wasn’t really aware it was there! I arrived home and jumped in the shower, and emptied the mooncup, amazed yet again that it captured everything and was so easy to use! After reinserting (easier each time) I headed to the swimming pool and was now confident that it would be fine! Following a long night sleep without any issues again I now am a full convert and wish I’d started using the mooncup years ago. Gone are the soggy tampon stings and dryness and hello to feeling fresh and confident!

Bravo!! I applaud what you’ve done and will be telling every woman I know!

Emily

Emily – 23rd March 2018

I’ve been contemplating using a menstrual cup for a long time… And it was only when my sister told me that she’s been using one for about a year that I finally took the plunge and bought a mooncup for myself. Oh my lord, why did I not do this sooner?? I was really quite nervous about using one… “what if I can’t get it out!!” was the main thing that ran through my head… But reading all the testimonials and the information leaflet that comes with it… I did it! I did a couple of “dry runs” before leaving it in for the day so that I could practice removing the cup and I scared myself – I couldn’t reach it!! Absolute nigthmare and exactly what I was worried about! But, I relaxed, and gently pushed the cup down like the information leaflet says to and… Hey Presto, it was easy as that!! So I did it again to make sure, and it was fine! All that worrying and wasting sanitary products for nothing!
Ladies, this is immense… The environmental impact alone is worth doing this! I’m an adventurous person, and going camping/on holiday/long kayak trips/everything, is made so much easier and simpler by this one little cup. No more over packing sanitary products and wondering what to do with the used ones whilst you’re out in the middle of nowhere! Genius! People need to spread this, not just on these testimonials, but EVERYWHERE! It shouldn’t be a taboo topic to talk about – I’ve shared it with my other sister and friends now and they’re trying it also!!
No reports of leakage so far… But I’m willing to accept small leakages and take a reusable pantyliner just in case.
If you didn’t guess… I’m so happy with this product! 😀

Molly – 1st March 2018

I recently purchased my second Mooncup after using my first one for about 10 years. I have always had extremely heavy periods. On my heavier days I use my cup with a cotton pad and I’m good to go. Traveling with my mooncup has been so convenient. I don’t have to carry a bunch of supplies with me or go on the hunt for stuff because I’ve been surprised by my period. I love this product and the new design has made it even better. It is so much easier to insert and remove. Thank you for such a great product.

Chanthou – 19th January 2018

I have been using the same mooncup for about 15 years, through the the birth of two children, and am so pleased to see menstrual cups being talked bout more these days.
I recently misplaced mine following a trip abroad and when my period came I I couldn’t locate.it I had to return to tampons. It was dreadful! I remember tampons only needing changing every 6-8 hours but this time I was changing (and leaking) every 2-3 hours. The fussy packaging and discomfort was annoying and I was so pleased two days later to find my mooncup.
As long as I change.my cup every morning and evening, usually in the shower, there.is no mess, no fuss and I forget I even have my period.
I will never go back to tampons again!!

Fiona-1st January 2018

I just ordered my third Mooncup. I first heard of cups thanks to a sticker which someone had left in the girls’ bathroom at Warwick university, in 2006, I think – it was quite a few years ago. I never ever thought of using anything else after I bought my very first cup. I moved to a tropical country and it was so convenient (think of what happens with pads when you’re sweating and suffering from the heat). Now I live in Canada and I’ve had my cup for years and years, it’s time to get a new one!

Céline – 25th August 2017

I’ve been using The Mooncup for about a year now and absolutely love it. I was a bit nervous about it to begin with because I knew very little about menstrual cups but was fed up with tampons and pads, and wanted to give something else a change… I must admit that it’s a lot easier to use and wear than using tampons. I always struggled finding the right size of tampons (I’ve got a very heavy flow for the first two days). Now, I don’t need to worry about that… and it doesn’t normally leak, unless I don’t insert it properly or its full. It did take me a couple of days to figure out how to use insert it properly. Once you get the hang of it, its also really easy to remove, even towards the end of my period; if you’ve ever had to remove a tampon at the end of your period you know how much it hurts. It’s also awesome to use traveling, though I’ve never had to use it during a long haul flight (I’ve never had my period when I’ve done a long haul flight)…

I have shared with friends about the greatness of the menstrual cup but its something that not a lot of people are willing to try out because they’re not really willing to take the step and try out something new. I’m glad I did.

Rachel – 27th February 2017

To be honest, when I first tried the moon cup, I never thought I’d use it again. There was a lot of discomfort and a few gross mishaps. It definitely took a while to figure out the best way to insert and take it out but it turns out for me TWISTING was the key! Now that I’ve mastered all that, I absolutely LOVE my moon cup! I go most cycles without getting blood on ANY of my clothes (always had leaks at night with pads). Sometimes I even forget i’m on my period because I can’t even feel it and it fits great! If I do ever have leaks its only because I’ve totally forgotten it was even in and need to empty it! I have very sensitive skin, especially down below, and itchy pads and tampons DID NOT HELP that situation. But the Mooncup eliminates so much itch and allows me to follow my normal skin care routine without interruption and a lot less mess! I also travel a lot! And sometimes traveling can trigger my body to have a period totally out of the blue! So its nice that I don’t have to constantly worry if I have enough pads or tampons and if/when I’ll need them. I just have my moon cup with me all the time and its always ready to go to work whenever I need it! Even in less than ideal bathroom situations! I love that I’m saving money, the environment and my clothes! I love my moon cup! Thank you!

Mary – 3rd October 2016

Just wanted to thank you for the great mooncups you make. I ordered today a new mooncup after using the old one over 15 years. Oh we have been together travelling, sailing, surfing, horse-riding & much much more and experienced so many amazing adventures! The only reason really why I decided to buy a new one is that the old one is already a little bit stained. Otherwise it is still in good condition.

Elina – 31st March 2016

I bought my moon cup over 3 years ago. I had heard of it but never really wanted to spend £20 on it. I really wish I was made to use this when I was younger. I truly believe that tampons made my periods worse and they are so bad for the environment. I will never ever use a tampon again ever!!!!!! I have washable pads for when I am sleeping which go in the washing machine and my moon cup. I have taken it abroad with me, its been running with me its been swimming with me, to parties and nights out with me and it has never let me down. I love it. I lost it once about a year ago and I was so upset my husband went out and got me another one 🙂 bless, if I had had daughters I would make sure they used these. I would love to be able to set up a charity so that women in third world impoverished contries have these, I cant imagine what they go through every month without proper sanitary conditions. I will work that out and hopefully let you all know. I have converted nearly every woman I know, and they are all raving about it. I have lighter less painful periods and my skin is even clearer after using it where as that time I would break out. I have less bloating and my cycle is shorter. Amazing!!! buy one today, dont wait just do it, you wont regret it 🙂

**** – 23rd December 2015

i bought my moon cup back in march this year as i was going to be on exchange in japan for a year where they are a pad based society ( :/ ) and thought id give it a try and i finally got my chance to use it today (December i have a unpredictable period and am on the implanon) and I’m was amazed at how easy it was to insert and how i didn’t even notice it was in after 5 minutes this is fantastic a great price and eco friendly I’m completely sold ill definitely be telling my girl friends ^_^

Brittiney – 19th December 2015

I decided to try the Mooncup after getting a job working at a summer camp in America. I needed to save precious room in my bags, I needed to limit the amount of waste/rubbish I would produce, and I needed something I could do sports and swim with. I cannot express how happy I am to have found Mooncup! It doesn’t take up any room in my bag, it’s re-usable, and I feel so fresh and comfortable doing my sports or swimming with it in. My camp was pretty rural and using the Mooncup saved me from making long trips to the supermarket for more feminine products. I will admit it’s a little tricky to get in/out at first but you have to persevere because once you start using this you will never go back to pads or tampons, and the benefits are so worth it. I’ve recommended this to so many people since I started using it.
Thank you Mooncup!

em – 21st September 2015

I’m 19 and I’m so so glad I found out about mooncup! I suffer from pcos and have always found pads unable to cope with how heavy my period can get, which left me with tampons. However, since my cycle always fluctuates unpredictably from light to ridiculously heavy, it’s always hard to guess which strength tampon to use, which the results either being uncomfortable dryness or embarrassing accidents…many a comfortable pairs of pants were lost this way. But! Mooncup is amazing for this! I can’t even express how amazing it is to be able to insert the mooncup and just not have to worry what my flow decides to do that day, it honestly feels like I can get on with my life. Not only that, but it really is extremely good for travel. I have a year abroad next year in a country where tampons haven’t really caught on and I honestly didn’t know what I was going to do until now. In terms of insertion, I struggled a bit at the beginning; I think it was because I wanted it to work so badly that I stressed out and couldn’t insert it properly. It felt a little bit like all the amazing testimonials here were part of a massive joke that I wasn’t in on, but then I slept on it and tried again the next day and lo and behold, I figured it out! If you’re struggling, I suggest trying the second folding method as it makes the shape slightly more similar to a tampon, which you might already have experience in inserting. But whatever happens, don’t give up on it, because using a mooncup will definitely change your life for the better (and that’s not even an exaggeration!)

Izzy – 22nd July 2015

After reading a very scary article a girl who lost her leg to Toxic Shock Syndrome and already being the sufferer of continual urinary tract infections from a wide variety of weird and wonderful strains of bacteria, I decided I needed to stop using tampons and try the mooncup. I’ve seen it advertised a lot at festivals in the loos (for obvious reasons considering their issues with dealing with waste there!), but I had lots of stupid misconceptions. I think one things girls and young women automatically assume is that pre-childbirth, immature vaginas are just too small and that a menstrual cup will be HUGE and that if you struggle with super tampons it’s just a no-go. So untrue. Having taken a while to come round to bigger tampons myself and still found them a bit uncomfortable sometimes, I couldn’t believe how comfortable the Mooncup was on first use. I had to practice putting it in a couple of times and trimming the stem but after that it was fine! Having used it for a couple of days now, I’ve had no leaks, been super comfortable and just forgotten it’s even there. I really like the fact I can see how much I’m bleeding, as I’ve been checked out for endometriosis before, so I like to keep an eye on it. LOVE the fact it’s so eco-friendly, and that I’ll be saving so much money (especially when everyone’s been so enraged about the tax on tampons recently). Also that when I go away I won’t have to think about packing loads of tampons and pads, just one little Mooncup. I really think you guys need to start promoting through schools and universities (students = small budgets!) because I feel like if they had been explained to me sooner and my misconceptions had been proved wrong, I would have converted long ago! I’m now raving to all my friends about it, so hopefully they’ll be more young converts soon.

Lauren – 13th July 2015

Saw adverts for the mooncup posted all over Glastonbury festival and as I am going travelling around Asia next year decided I may as well give it a try. I think its fantastic! its environmentally friendly and is so much cheaper. this first attempt was a little awkward but this was expected 🙂 I would honestly recommend it to everyone.

Rachel – 13th July 2015

Last week, June 2015, I lost my Mooncup. I’d had it for just over ten years!!! Nothing had gone wrong with it in all that time and if it hadn’t been lost I would have continued using it. So thank you, what an amazing product! It went all the way around the world with me, on so many adventures. From my mid twenties to my mid thirties!! Losing it in a weird way, feels like I’ve lost a part of my body!
Back in 2005 I saw a sticker promoting the Mooncup. I was amazed that such a healthy ecological solution existed and I’d never heard of it. I’d long grown tired of that nasty dried out feeling I was getting from tampons. I don’t know exactly how much money I’ve saved since that time. I’ve certainly put a lot less into landfill.

So it’s time for another Mooncup. I must admit I’m a little sad to be parted from my original. (I’m sure no one is actually recommended to use it for ten years and more but still!). I have promoted the Mooncup to my friends and family, those that have tried it haven’t looked back.

Keep up the good work. You are making and supplying a wonderful necessary product, helping your fellow humans and our beautiful planet. Not many of us are able to say that about our jobs! I’m very grateful that you are and for all that you’re done. Here ten years later you’re still going strong and I’m able to buy another one!

Many many thanks,

Sincerely a faithful customer

x

Katherine – 22nd June 2015

I’ve been using a mooncup for a number of years now and not only has it saved me a small fortune but it has made managing my periods so much easier. I never feel restricted about what I can do or where I can go. It’s especially good when travelling as you can never run out of products and wherever you are, it’s simple to empty and reinsert. Probably the best money I’ve ever spent. Just can’t imagine why my friends won’t try it!

Sally – 20th May 2015

Thought I’d let you know today I bought my second mooncup, after 7 years of service it was time to retire my first one.Considering how long it lasts it’s a really cheap alternative, apart from the obvious environmental benefits. But what I as a young woman liked the best was that no matter how long a trip I was going for all I needed to bring for my periods were one cup.
However I can still remember the first time I tried it, and the panic when I couldn’t get it out. I tell it as a funny story now, and to show the importance of exercising your vaginal muscles, relax and work on that muscle control, and you’ll figure it out in no time.
Thank you for keeping both my consciousness and backpack light 🙂

Elice – 19th April 2015

My periods finished approx 18 months ago and although I used a Menstrual cup for the last 3 years with complete confidence and comfort I just wish I had known about them when I really needed them because I had pains, cramps, clots and flooding for years. All my GP wanted to do was insert a Mirena coil (which I wasnt happy about). The cup was such a Godsend, the clots still occured but were less painful and my period which used to last around 11 days was over in around 5 days (from start to finish). I swam, danced, slept naked and confident, and had a spare in my purse at all times which wasn’t a problem. I holidayed in 3rd world countries and it was amazing. My girlfirend and I have even sponsored an African girls school and sent them 150 cups. This means they can go all the time and we need to give women power. They are completely hygenic, environmentally friendly and cost so much less.

Jasmine – 14th April 2015

I’ve had my mooncup for nearly 3 years, and I love it. I bought it for the reason that I felt there had to be something more comfortable than pads, and I always leaked with tampons. It had nothing to do with the added benefits of being cheaper in the long run, and adding nothing to landfills (though they’re wonderful perks too!)
I couldn’t live without it now, and there is no way I would ever go back to something else. I often forget I’m even on my period, something which is impossible with pads / tampons, and my 7-8 day periods have become much shorter since using this too, something I’m convinced isn’t a coincidence. I do need a pad for the first day of my period, but that is an incredibly heavy day, otherwise I just pop this in and I’m good to go.

Also, it is fabulous to use in aeroplane bathrooms too. and there’s no faff about rubbish and sanitary products cluttering up your bag either.

Hannah – 24th March 2015

I’ve had my mooncup for 6 months now, I was going travelling, and forced myself to get used to it during the period before we left, because as I suspected it was absolutely brilliant. Day one of period, on a boat for 13 hours with no toilet, let alone running water – no worries with my Mooncup. I was talking to a young woman today, saying she must try one… she grimaced, too much bodily contact. On thinking back I’m sad that I’ve added so much to landfill over the years, and maybe when I was younger I wouldn’t have felt comfortable being so “in touch with myself” however being a Nanny I change millions of dirty nappies/diapers I now recognise a period is just the same, it’s just a bodily function and there’s nothing dirty about it, it’s just life. Mooncups are so environmentally friendly, no nasty (real or imagined) smell and you never need period pants again, in fact I can continue to sleep in the buff for the whole month now, it’s brilliant. I’m definitely spreading the word.

Maria – 26th February 2015

I just wanted to share my experience with the moon cup and encourage those of you reading the reviews to give it a try. I am not one to write reviews, but this is one product that all women should know more about. I realize it is not for everyone and you do need to be comfortable with your body to use it, but it is so much more superior to anything I have used. I think I had read about moon cup in an article and was intrigued and came to this website and read a bunch of reviews! I have been using a moon cup for about six months now and like everyone else will not go back! I was concerned it might not work for me since I have a history of vestibulitis and vaginismus (vaginal pain and uncontrollable vaginal contracting) that I needed pelvic floor physical therapy for. Although mostly resolved, I was still wary. This size kind of tripped me up too. I ordered size B- I am 31 and have no kiddos and it works great. There is a learning curve- read the directions and watch their little video- very helpful. Like everyone else said, don’t panic when you first go to take it out and can’t reach it very well! Took me a cycle or so to get really comfortable with insertion, etc.
Pros: you don’t have to deal with changing tampons every 2-4 hours.
A few months in, my husband and I went on a very extreme backpacking/camping trip in the Cascade Mountains. Of course I had my period the entire time. I climbed up mountains, slide down cliffs, and swam across a glacial lake without a leak. I even had to empty it on the side of a mountain ravine- if you can do it while balancing on a rock ledge, you can do it anywhere! and I didn’t have to pack tons of tampons in my pack!
You don’t have a string that gets wet or caught on anything
You don’t have uncomfortable vaginal dryness as your period is ending
I am very active- cross fit, P90X, hiking, etc. – I only had it leak once and it was during a hard cross fit workout that required a lot of jumping/weights. My period was heavier and I did not empty it for a few hours before the workout. Have had no problems since.
Cons: Occasionally a minute or so after insertion, the cup with “snap” or uncurl abruptly. doesn’t hurt per say, but feels a bit weird.
Although there were some reviews that said that it seemed to shorten their period or lessen their cramping, I have not noticed this in myself, but am just happy to have a great product that works so well. Really worth a try!

Nicole – 13th February 2015

I would definitely recommend the moon cup to anyone. I bought one because I did not like the idea of using disposable products that then went into landfill and I also wanted to save money. The mooncup took a little getting used to, there is definitely a “knack” to it but once you’ve got it, it’s amazing! It stands up to all activities, I’ve never had any trouble with leaking. It is so much more convenient when going away to be able to take my one mooncup instead of lots of pads and tampons. Everyone should have one!

Rachel – 25th January 2015

I bought my Mooncup in 2003 and have been using it ever since. It’s such an intuitive product which I promote whenever is appropriate. I’m not paying into a massive corporation, it’s mine to keep and use as long as I need to. It’s discrete, easy to use, and comfortably reliable. I’ve been “caught out” a few times and am so aware of the waste being created and the messiness whenever I’ve used conventional products. It’s particularly good when travelling. I love my Mooncup and will do till I no longer need it. X

Bethan – 3rd January 2015

I bought the Mooncup 6 months ago after getting fed up with pads and looking for an alternative. I am a young backpacker and have to say it is brilliant! Although it took a bit of practice to insert (I’d never used tampons) I quickly got the hang of it and it is so easy to use. Great for travelling as takes up no space at all in your backpack and there’s no guilt about the environment either. I only wish I’d discovered this fantastic product earlier as they are an absolute godsend and every woman needs one. They are so comfortable that you forget you’re on your period and the money saved is fantastic. No mess, no hassle, I cannot thank Mooncup enough for this great product -I’m never going back to anything else!! Give it a try and you won’t regret it!

Sara – 20th December 2014

I love the mooncup! My friend introduced me to it years ago when travelling (perfect when packing light and hard to get tampons) and I have never looked back. The odd time when I first started using it I had an occasional leak but probably happened less than with tampons and now it just seems to fit me like a glove. I find it way more comfortable than tampons…totally forget I’m wearing it at all quite often and I like how it doesn’t react with your body at all/isn’t dry and abrasive. Is also really easy to empty out and actually feels way cleaner than tampax once you get used to it.

Becky – 19th November 2014

Mooncup saved my holiday, my music festival, my camping weekend,the list goes on. I heard about Mooncup a few years ago but wasn’t sure if they were worth the money, until I realised a few months ago that my period was due smack in the middle of my beach holiday. There’s nothing worse than having to go to the loo & change your tampon every time you go in the water or risk leaking on your towel, so I decided to invest. Best money I have ever spent, it hasn’t been all plain sailing, it took me a few attempts to get the hang of it, and I had to trim the stem off completely – but now it’s so easy to use & clean, and no more carrying a small suitcase of tampons & towels around ‘just in case’.I literally can’t recommend this product enough!

Carrie – 5th September 2014

I have NEVER been this thrilled with a period related product, nor would I have ever expected to be. I’m so excited about Mooncup that I actually want to frantically run up to strangers and tell them about it, because whilst they may not work for everyone, which is unfortunate, all women should at least know about them, and give one a try, as they are revolutionary.

I’ve always been happy enough with tampons, though I was never really comfortable with trusting them fully, and was always annoyed when traveling at a time near my period as I’d have to take tampons just in case. I decided to try a Mooncup because I was beginning to hear some rave reviews, and I have to say, it was one of the best decisions that I have EVER made; life changing.

By the third day of my cycle whilst using the Mooncup, I was 100% comfortable with using and inserting/removing the Mooncup.
The biggest learning curve was discovering how, and where exactly, the cup should sit, and with each insertion It became quicker and quicker. It is now just as quick and easy as inserting a tampon, but a thousand times more comfortable and trustworthy.

Truly incredible, I will never use a tampon again. Ever.
Thanks Mooncup team!!

Jessie – 23rd August 2014

Was looking for something to help cut down the amount of non-recyclable waste in my life, and discovered the Mooncup.
Although it was a bit of a cost-investment for me, I decided to get one and give it two months (two periods!) for me to get used to it and for it to prove it’s worth. By day 3 I was completely sold on it. There is a knack to inserting and removing the Mooncup, but it’s not hard to master and the job is easy and clean once you’ve got the hang of it. I love not having to worry if I have enough pads and tampons with me when I go camping or on holiday.

Michelle – 4th August 2014

I bought my Mooncup on a whim a year ago before I went travelling. I had never liked tampons because I found them too dry and uncomfortable (even the light flow ones) and found pads bulky and often messy because the flow of my periods can be a little unpredictable. Mooncups are amazing, especially for someone travelling without regular access to decent toilets and not much luggage space. You can pop it in in the morning and take it out when you get home from your day out if your periods aren’t too heavy. I got the hang of inserting the cup straight off the bat so I was quite lucky, and quite often I forget it’s even there! I’ve only once had a problem with my Mooncup overflowing and that was because it is so unobtrusive that I actually forgot I was on my period! I also find the Mooncup seems to help with my period cramps. However, the biggest advantage of the Mooncup for me is the smell. At times with pads I found that I would sometimes get an odd smell(disgusting, I know!) which made me self conscious and meant I changed pads even more frequently creating even more rubbish. But with the Mooncup I don’t get anything like this, the blood that collects in the cup doesn’t give off a smell at all, which is fantastic. I used to find periods so annoying, but now they are so easy to deal with. All of this makes Mooncup the best choice for me and I know I’ll never go back to other methods of sanitary protection.

Lynn – 31st July 2014

I used a mooncup for the first time last month. My period is irregular and so it’s always a total surprise when it comes. I was going on holiday and I was sick of carrying stuff with me constantly “just in case”. Annoyingly I did come on half way through the holiday, but using the mooncup meant my holiday was in no way ruined. I could wear any of my beach clothes without worry of tampon string making a nasty appearance or leakage! I went to a festival while abroad and let me tell you, if you can remove, clean and re-insert your mooncup in a portaloo you know it’s the product for you! In reality, I didn’t need to even empty at that time at all, but as it was my first time, I had the panic of “oh God it’s going to be full, I’m going to leak everywhere!” Totally unfounded, they say 8 hours on the FAQs, they’re not lying. Yes I had the initial – oh god this is gross, a cup of blood, a cup inside me, but really is that any less gross than a piece of cotton shoved inside? I think this is now the product for me, I survived the toughest challenges for my first time and it was better than what I’ve been doing for the past 15 years.

Samantha – 28th July 2014

I LOVE my mooncup! I have recently changed career from shop work to gardening. The lack of toilets and bins therefore prompted my purchase. I will never look back. I find it very easy to use and a lot cleaner than having to carry used sanitary products around in the van and it’s nice not to carry pads and tampons in every handbag. It copes with the varied physical parts of my job; running, bending, climbing, hanging, kneeling ect. When I get hot and sweat from digging I don’t have to worry about gross odours and I feel cleaner knowing that I’m not sat sweating in my blood all day. In terms of comfort nappy rash from thick pads is eliminated and I don’t have to worry about wearing pants at night. It also means (like tampons) I can fill my pee bottle without making it obvious to my colleagues (all men) that I’m on. It has reduced my cramps to almost nothing, though they weren’t awful to start with and I’m finding that my period is over much faster. I am also finding that, oddly, I am really enjoying learning about and monitoring my period. This was something I wasn’t expecting. 🙂 Basically ladies; great idea, well made, economically advantageous, ecologically friendly and easy to use!

Laura – 12th July 2014

At first I was dubious and a bit grossed out by the Mooncup, but on reading the testimonials on here, I decided to bite the bullet and buy one, prompted by the fact that I was going travelling for 5 months. I used it the period before I left, it takes a bit of getting used to, how to place it and how to correct a problem, but I was so glad I got it. It doesn’t fill up anywhere near as much as I thought it did. Mine are quite heavy, but it really is less than you think. It meant I didn’t have to lug tampons everywhere, and I didn’t have to worry about running out or where I would get some. You can empty it how ever many times, so when I was going on long bus journeys (south-east Asia) and had only just put it in an hour before the ride, I could quickly to a last minute empty before the bus without having to waste a whole tampon as I usually would have. It really is fantastic, they give you such clear instruction on EVERYTHING, from size to how to clean it. It’s good enough for me to have taken the time to come on here and write about it.

Emily – 11th July 2014

I am planning a big backpacking trip next year and am looking for ways to save money and packing space. Sanitary stuff is often expensive and hard to come by abroad. I read the Mooncup leaflet thoroughly and used it successfully first time with no mess! I was a little worried about emptying it the first time, so I timed it for when I was about to have a shower, and removed it over the bath just to be sure. It was clean and easy with no mess at all, and I don’t mind telling you I was actually a little emotional with relief and excitement at the new solution I have found :’) I look forward to the coming years tampon-free!

Elena – 23rd January 2013

At 16, after being amenorrhoeic for a year with an eating disorder, my period came back as as pretty nasty surprise. I used pads and tampons for a day before remembering some research I did on the mooncup before. I persuaded my mum and bought it straight away 😀 Got home and was slightly scared at how huge it looked! But inserted it pretty easily and painlessly straight away with the ‘c’ fold. Getting it out took…a little more practice. Given that I am probably pretty ‘narrow’, tugging it and pulling it straight out probably wasn’t the best idea…ouch. But after 3 or 4 different tries, that got easier and I can do that easily now too 🙂
But ohhhh my gosh, when it’s in! You can’t feel it, it doesn’t leak at all, you can leave it in waaay longer than tampons and forget about your period, I plan to go swimming tomorrow, I won’t have to pack half a suitcase full of pads and tampons when I travel, will save money and be healthier and greener it’s so so good! It is kind of gross (but at the same time weirdly fascinating) seeing the contents but it’s worth it! In short: converted

Sarah – 09th January 2013

Just wanted to let you know that i wore my moon cup while diving several times a day for a few weeks, to depths of approx 18 metres, and it was absolutely fine 🙂
Cleaning it well on a remote island with no running water was more of an issue, but i managed!

Thanks very much.

Lauren – 20th December 2012

I have been using mooncup for last seven years. I am an architect and a compulsive traveler. Apart from saving money and the planet, for me the mooncup has been great because I have very heavy periods as I am on blood thinning medication. I find that the mooncup holds more than conventional tampons so I don’t have rush to change so often in the middle of my work. I also found it very convenient to use in the 36 countries I have travelled to, including to slums where I work. I usually travel with just hand luggage and so the mooncup is very suitable for a light traveller.

Sumita – 20th December 2012

I brought a moon cup to take travelling with me as I was going to a remote island and didn’t want to lug 5 months supplies with me, and even though its not the most practical when your toilet is a whole in the ground with a bit of tarpauling it was still great just had to remember to take my water bottle as well 🙂 highly recomended its not as wired/scary as U first think 😀 xx

Emma – 19th November 2012

The first thing I did when I turned 18 was to set up a Paypal account and order a Mooncup online. I’d had my eye on it for a while after having seen a sticker in a restaurant bathroom, but was too embarrassed to ask for one, and also, at the time, in a country that didn’t sell it in stores.
Like many others, I first found it difficult to insert/extract and wondered whether I had wasted my money. Thankfully, I kept trying and the Mooncup has become a staple in my life. It’s so much cleaner and easier than conventional throwaway products. The reusability and friendliness towards the environment is just another bonus!

Now, two years later, I bought another one in Boots as a backup. For people shying away due to the price: The investment is quickly made back if you think about the horrendous prices of tampons and pads, and the amounts you use each month.

I had always been plagued by PMS, strong cramps and moods. After starting to use the Mooncup, I found that I get fewer cramps, weaker and shorter periods, and less dryness and discomfort.

It’s great to get to know yourself and “what’s going on down there”. You’re really in control. I like that you can leave it in for longer without worrying about leakage. I had some problems with leakage in the start, until I figured out to wear it lower. Now I only occasionally wear pantyliners, just to feel safe.

A while ago, I had a contraceptive-pill-induced hormonal problem, causing me to bleed excessively. Thanks to the Mooncup, and much to my gynecologist’s surprise, I could tell exactly how much I was bleeding.

I even went on a 1-month expedition to Madagascar recently. As I was always carrying ample supplies of drinking water and my Mooncup, having my period there was no problem. The other girls, by contrast, did much complaining about their “supplies”, all the while leaving an unsightly trail of used items, wrappers, and applicators in the pristine wilderness….

Bottom Line? GET ONE. You will not regret it. It sounds too good to be true – but it simply is that good!

Sophie – 04th November 2012

I’ve been sent long term to work in West Africa. We have a small supermarket on site, but it quite often runs out of items, so I decided to try the mooncup. I love it – I don’t need to rely on the shop, I don’t need to fill my luggage with sanitary items, I don’t need to panic if I stay here for several months without going home to UK & I can take anywhere in the world. On long haul flights I don’t have to worry about leakage or fiddling about in stinky toilets. Even out in the bush you can find fire, pan & boiling water for sterilisation. Enjoy your new found freedom & some extra cash 🙂

Paddy – 07th October 2012

I have been using a mooncup for a few years now after an enthusiastic endorsement by a friend. I’ve done a number of long wilderness journeys and try and leave as little trace as possible. One of the amazing things about the mooncup is how easy it is to use outdoors. I carry a small water bottle with a squeezy top so I can wash it, and dig a little hole to empty it into. A much easier way to travel with a ‘leave no trace’ ethic than trying to get rid of tampons or towels. After having had a great recommendation I pass this on by recommending the mooncup to my other friends. Thank you!

Lily – 05th October 2012

I have just brought the mooncup about 4 hours ago and I am so impressed! I am going backpacking in 3 months and wanted to try it out before I left. I liked the idea of not having to pack months worth of tampons and pads (which will take up vital space in my backpack). I found it very easy to fit, I have cut the entire stem off the mooncup. I have no pain or discomfort sitting down, in fact I can’t feel it at all. It feels very secure and I havn’t experienced any leakage so far. well done mooncup!! you have answered all of my backpacking worries!

Steph – 17th September 2012

I’ve contemplated buying one of these for years, and now I finally have, I wish I’d bought it years ago. It is absolutely brilliant! I’ve gone through 3 periods so far and the only leak I’ve had is when I didn’t quite seal it right! It’s even been abroad on holiday with me and wasn’t a Faff at all. You just get into a routine with it. I’m going camping in a few weeks and even though I’d originally thought about taking tampons with me, I’m not going to bother. It’s mooncup all the way from now on with those horrible, uncomfortable tampons nowhere to be seen! Can’t say I miss the leaking or the discomfort! Thanks for a fantastic innovation!

KH – 03rd July 2012

I got my first Mooncup about a year ago now, and I don’t know how I lasted so long without it! It makes having my period so much less of an issue. Although it’s true that it can be a bit messy when you’re in a public toilet, it isn’t THAT inconvenient – wash your hands and wipe it off with toilet paper, it is YOUR blood, after all! I had it on cycling holiday in France last year, and had to use it in toilets in camp sites, and it was just fine. 🙂 Overall, I ABSOLUTELY recommend it, and I’m so happy that people recommended it to me!

PJ – 13th May 2012

I’ve been using a mooncup since 2006, I think. I was living in the UK and I was getting skin reactions to pads, when I started getting irritations from tampon strings I decided it was time to look into menstrual cups, which I had heard about from a friend.
I love it, 6 years later I’m buying another to keep in my bag so I don’t have to worry about unexpected periods surprising me, particularly during travel. I travel a lot for work and it’s great not having to pack a whole selection of sanitary products just in case.

Claire – 18th March 2012

I had been meaning to get a moon cup for ages but was somewhat dubious. Then I went to Glastonbury festival and was caught short… I came on, not the best place on the work to be trying to deal with that! Thankfully only a short walk from my tent was an outlet for the mooncup! So I bought one, it is without a doubt the best decision I have ever made!! I was warned it might be a bit much to use it for the first time at a festival, but the draw of not having to worry about changing my tampon every few hours was enough!! And with some persistance and ingenuity I was able to sort myself out at the tent with the use of a camping stove to keep things sterile!! I have always used tampons and no matter which I have used I have always had problems with leakages, but I’ve not had one in nearly a year of using the mooncup, I have told every woman I know about them! If I can manage to get used to using it whilst at Glastonbuy festival, anyone can do it with some persistence! Give it a go, you’ll not look back! 😀

Simi – 08th March 2012

I bought my mooncup when I was on holiday in the UK about 8 years ago. I found it invaluable when travelling to places like Thailand where the toilet facilities did not cater for tampons or sanitry towels. I feel great knowing that I am not adding to land-fill or blocking any sewerage pipes. I have recently had an IUD fitted and had to wear a tampon due to unforseen circumstances – I suffered extreme cramps when wearing the tampon and realised it was due to the pressure against my uterus. Once I was able to wear my mooncup again – the cramping disappeared.

Debi – Australia – 06th March 2012

I cannot stress enough how great the mooncup is. The only things that took a little getting used to were a)remembering to take water into public toilet cubicles (to rinse when changing) and b) insertion and removal. However, once you get used to these things, there’s no looking back. I took my mooncup for 9 months travelling around Asia and I’m SOO glad I discovered it for that trip. It’s hard to get hold of tampons in Asia and using precious backpack space for towels / tampons would’ve been impossible. With the mooncup I always had an effective sanitary product with me that was water-resistant (and no danger of that embarrasing tampon-string-poking-out-the-swimsuit thing!). Thank you mooncup, you are marvellous! I’m trying to convert all my friends! 🙂

Emma – 04th January 2012

Hi – Have been using the Mooncup for almost 9 or 10 years now, and have just bought a second one. It’s been great, must have saved £££s over the years, travelling is easy, sports, swimming etc etc. All with the warm fuzzy feeling that you are not adding to landfill each month. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Helen – 16th November 2011

I’ve been using my mooncup for about 4 years now and couldn’t be happier with it. I have heavy flow for a couple of days and then it’s really light, I was always either paranoid of leakage or uncomfortably dry. No more of that! It’s so comfortable I forget I’m wearing it. Brilliant for travelling, camping in the bush, night shifts without toilets and all sorts of awkward situations where sanitary disposal facilities are non-existant. I wish I had heard of it years ago.

Helen – 07th November 2011

It was a dark and stormy night, and a dark and storm “time of the month” when I realized what was happened. Mother nature had taken revenge on me, and I was stuck in the middle of the Lake District with an alcoholic care-taker and his hippie wife. I built up the courage to ask her for a pad.. and something new and exciting happened. She offered me a mooncup. I knew that moment was fate; the moment Shakespeare and Eliot and Hemingway talk about. Since then, I’ve only felt free. Periods are my favorite time of the month!

Lake District Hiker – 06th November 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter