Healthier

Healthier

After being initially dubious about the mooncup, having concern with possible leakage & comfort, I can now say I’d never go back to tampons! With an ever growing concern for the environment and not to mention the health risks with tampons, the mooncup is the way to go. It’s comfortable, there’s no leakage and there’s no dryness that I used to get from tampons when coming to the end of my menstrual cycle!

Sophie – 27th February 2018

After seeing at a stand in Glastonbury a few years back, I have always wandered what it actually would be like to use a Mooncup as there is a lot of stigma around ‘reusable sanitary products’ being dirty etc, but on looking at how many chemicals I have been using in Tampons for years I was shocked! Only 1 week after my New Years resolution had been set of using my new Mooncup, I have 100% been converted. A bit of trial and error at first but it’s super easy & I feel so much less toxic to the environment! MAKE THESE TAX FREE!!!

Gemma 19th – January 2018

Today is my second day of using mooncup . I’m 41 , and my periods are perfect to live with . No pain , medium bleeding, 3 days only . But the comfort with mooncup cannot compare with pads or tampons. I can’t use second one . I feel pain and big discomfort.
First day was a struggle, because of “installation ” problems . But after many times I’ve tried, I’ve learned to do it with one attempt. At night was feeling really relaxed . Can’t even feel it no more .
Ladies really you should get your own mooncup! It’s cleaner, more comfortable and better for your pocket and most important, good for our planet . Just a thought on the end , why you should have one those dangerous days . Climate change , wars … testimonials of women of war , homeless women about big suffer involving those days because of lack of higene product should make us think. I feel like if anything will happen tomorrow, with mooncup I’m safe .
Let’s change the world of women period.
We safe a lot of money using mooncup . Maybe a promise to yourself buy second one for homeless lady in your town ?
I’m buying one next month .
With menstruation cups we can help girls which are forced to stay at home for few days in a month and can’t attend school. We can make a big difference!
Thank you mooncup !

Aga – 26th October 2017

I bought my moon cup over 3 years ago. I had heard of it but never really wanted to spend £20 on it. I really wish I was made to use this when I was younger. I truly believe that tampons made my periods worse and they are so bad for the environment. I will never ever use a tampon again ever!!!!!! I have washable pads for when I am sleeping which go in the washing machine and my moon cup. I have taken it abroad with me, its been running with me its been swimming with me, to parties and nights out with me and it has never let me down. I love it. I lost it once about a year ago and I was so upset my husband went out and got me another one 🙂 bless, if I had had daughters I would make sure they used these. I would love to be able to set up a charity so that women in third world impoverished contries have these, I cant imagine what they go through every month without proper sanitary conditions. I will work that out and hopefully let you all know. I have converted nearly every woman I know, and they are all raving about it. I have lighter less painful periods and my skin is even clearer after using it where as that time I would break out. I have less bloating and my cycle is shorter. Amazing!!! buy one today, dont wait just do it, you wont regret it 🙂

**** – 23rd December 2015

I finally took the plunge (as they say) today and bought a Mooncup. Put it in as soon as I got home, had to fiddle about a bit, but then… Yay, it fits, it’s comfortable, I’ve just been out on my works Christmas do and it’s been awesome so far and I have pretty heavy periods at the beginning! Goodbye tampons, goodbye sending stuff to landfill and goodbye to poisoning myself! The other thing I should mention is that I have had three natural births and they were big babies!! Thank you Mooncup, I can already see this will change my life!

Naomi – 12th December 2015

I have been using my mooncup for almost a year and I must say this is the best thing I have ever bought. You feel clean like wearing a tampon without the fear of toxic chemicals leaching into your body. I have to admit that there is a bit of a learning curve, but once you get the right insertion method, you will be so happy. My only regret is not buying one sooner. I truly love my mooncup!!!

Nicole – 28th November 2015

I love my mooncup! I hate using tampons, they always feel uncomfortable, and they shift and leave me feeling dry. With pads I get rashes and eczema popping up after only 2 days because of the materials and chemicals. With either I leak. For the first time since my periods started, I’ve had neither rashes, nor pain from my sanitary wear, nor leaks. Plus I don’t feel guilty about adding to the landfill and it’s much cheaper in the short run (after about 3 months I’ll have worked out cheaper) – especially now since the tampon tax! Thanks!

Natalie – 2nd December 2015

I love my mooncup it’s better for my health,the environment and my Magick, and to feed my plant’s I really can’t complain.

Jo – 13th November 2015

I’ve used the Moon Cup overall for around three periods now and I can already say that this is the best decision I’ve made when it comes to periods and my health and financially. For me, once you’ve got a little used to it, it’s much easier and cleaner than pads or tampons. You feel a lot more in tune with your body as you get to know it more and feel more comfortable with it. You save a lot of money also! It feels good to know that I’m not harming my body or the environment!

Georgi – 12th November 2015

I’m so sad, since I got my Mooncup I had to forget about all my favourite hobbies:
– worrying about leakage
– feeling unclean and worrying about odour
– spending money on sanitary products
– remembering to take them if I stay over somewhere
– finding ways to dispose of towels
– polluting the environment
– always half thinking about when/where the nearest bathroom will be
– feeling like I want to shower 5 times a day
– enjoying the physical discomfort of tampons and towels

Took less time to get the hang of it than I expected, and now I have, it’s like I don’t even notice my period has come and gone because it was so easy. You spend 2 minutes emptying it and then don’t feel like you’re on your period for the next 8 hours.

I am free!

I hope there is a campaign to get these out to women in need, I would support it 100%.

Kate – 12th November 2015

Dear Tampon There is no easy way to tell you this…it is over. I am breaking up with you. This can come as no surprise as I have been very distant for the last few months. You haven’t seen me for a while and probably miss me. I don’t miss you….At All.
You promised me horse back riding in white pants
You promised that I could run down the beach in a white bikini.
You promised me energetic games of volley ball in cute white shorts.
We never did any of that. Instead you gave me cramps, dryness and thrush. All these years I thought it was me. I thought that it was something I had to put up with. I was wrong.
I have met someone else. Her name is Mooncup and we are in love. Mooncup loves me and I love her.
Since I have started seeing Moon I have had no cramps, no dryness and no thrush. My periods, which used to last 5 to 6 days, now only last 2 and a half days.
I feel healthy. I feel clean. I feel good.
Now I must get going. I have a volley ball match to get to.
Kind regards
Vagina

Libby – 26th October 2015

I love this product! Once you get over the initial ‘this is a bit gross’ and you figure out how to get in and out without any dramas, this is the most simple and brilliant way to manage your period. I have only had one spillage (on my first go) when the cup didn’t open properly in my vagina, since then I make sure that it has unfolded (yep, sometimes with suction sound included!) and I have not had any leaks at all. I used tampons before my mooncup and sometimes near the end of my period I would remove them and bits of cotton would stay inside. I love the mooncup, as it feels cleaner, safer and better for your body (and leaves nothing behind!) I find it works best for me to start using the mooncup when my period has actually started flowing, so if I know I am due my period, I will wear a pad that night then use the mooncup the next morning until the end of the cycle, but after the first night, I don’t use any other sanitary products. I find it helps to empty the cup in the sink, if that is possible, as you may need to flush a few times otherwise. I have just bought another 2 mooncups to send out to my Nepali friends. This product has massive humanitarian benefits for countries where periods are still a massive taboo, and will make rural village life for my friends so much easier.

Emma – 11th October 2015

I heard about the Mooncup and thought it was a horrible idea .. But as I was allergic to all my sanitary products I was willing to try anything .. And I’ll never go back! It’s so easy to use and you can’t feel a thing! I highly recommend this product it’s more Eco friendly and person friendly !! Mooncups will most definitely be the next best thing 🙂 it sounds expensive at first but when your spending approx 4 pound each time on a box of tampons it costs next to nothing! Can re use over and over.. You most definitely need to buy one

Chloe – 18th July 2015

I bought a mooncup online after it came up in conversation with a very environmentally-aware friend of mine.
First day of my period today and home all day too so I was excited to try it out. Having read mixed reviews I wasn’t sure how it would go but I have found it really straightforward. As simple as following the instructions. I’m quite aware of my body and its functions so this prob helps but I was surprised that it went in first time. I felt a slight discomfort for about five minutes but forgot all about it after that. I’ve changed it a couple of times today without any problem and no further discomfort.

It makes me feel as though I am being much kinder to my body (and our planet) than when I use tampons.

I am so so so enthusiastic about this product and so grateful for my friend’s recommendation, after just one day I can honestly say I can’t imagine going back to tampons.

Thank you!

Kate – 10th July 2015

Mooncups are so simple, effective and clean they make tampons and pads seem a bit antiquated by comparison! No more leaks, no more worrying about funny smells, no more itchy, sticky yuckiness on hot days, no more dryness and irritation, no more feeling gross and dirty down there, no more waste going in to land fill! One of the best things I have bought for myself.

Ann – 9th July 2015

After suffering with increasingly heavy periods and pain that was getting worse year on year I was getting very tired of ‘standard’ sanitary products – a super plus tampon would only last 45 minutes at the most for the worst day of my period and I found myself getting yeast infections every couple of months. The bulk and sometimes weird smell that accompanies pads meant that they were also off-putting for me.
After seeing a Mooncup sticker inside a toilet door at university and seeing on the website that its capacity was more than that of the most absorbent tampons, I decided to give it a try. I wish someone had told me about this years ago and it could have saved me a hundred periods of misery!

It takes a little getting used to at first – I obviously wasn’t getting the seal right during my first period with it and it kept creeping further and further up which lead to lots of leaks and trying to fish it out was a bit of a nightmare. As I had to do with tampons a decade ago, however, I persevered and eventually got it right! Making sure the holes aren’t blocked, turning it, inserting it as low as possible and particularly giving the stem (which I shortened as much as possible) a little tug downwards once it’s inserted and opened all seem to help with forming a seal and since then, I experience next to no leaks even with my nightmare periods overnight when I only have to wear a thin pantyliner in case I really exceed its capacity during a long sleep.

I have found my cramps and pain to be much less severe than they were using tampons and I haven’t had a single yeast infection in the year I’ve been using the Mooncup. Between these benefits for my health, for my wallet, the environment and the fact that you can’t feel it when inserted properly (I used to hate it when my tampon slipped further down and it would irritate my nether regions!), the Mooncup has been a complete lifesaver.

Something you don’t realise as well until you experience it – I no longer have the panic of realising I have no sanitary products in my bag or jacket – I can pop into the loos with it in and not have to worry about taking things with me. No more running home from lectures to fill my bag with bulky super plus tampons, no more worrying on nights out that I’m going to be leaking within half an hour and don’t have anything with me. It’s been the best decision I have made for my health and sanity coping with my horrendous periods and I espouse its merits to anyone who will listen!

It’s about time we expand puberty and sex education in schools to let girls know that there are other options out there. It would have saved me so much money, time and distress over the years! Thank you Mooncup!

Meg – 18th June 2015

Using disposable sanitary products had given me really bad thrush in the past, resulting in a year long course of antifungal treatment that often aggravated the problem further. Sick of the itching and the pain of using disposables, I looked on Etsy for reusable sanitary pads and from these I found out about the Mooncup as many women seemed to use reusable panty liners as back up with their Mooncups. I did some research and found out more about the Mooncup before finally buying one last month from my local wholefood store. I have to admit, I’m very impressed with the Mooncup and since using it during my last two cycles I have finally managed to get rid of my thrush and feel a lot healthier and happier in my vaginal health. At first sight the Mooncup does look very big but this shouldn’t put anyone off – it folds up and fits well once you get it in the right position. I have asked Mooncup to send me some stickers and leaflets to spread around my University campus as I am astonished at how few women know that there are other alternatives to disposables out there. As someone hoping to go into the Education Sector once finishing my degree, I think it is vital that we educate young girls and women about the different sanitary options available to them and I just wish I’d known about it sooner – the Mooncup could have saved me a lot of worry, pain and bother and it is safe to say that I won’t ever go back to disposables!

Daisy – 19th May 2015

I’m 34 and only wish I’d discovered the mooncup when I was younger! Incredibly easy to use after just a little practice, I did have to trim the stem several times to get a comfortable length and was initially a little worried about changing and cleaning but it’s your body and nothing we haven’t seen before! I no longer have any leaking, worry of leaking or sneaking to the toilet with a tampax hidden up my sleeve! I’m helping the environment, feel better about my health as the mooncup is safe and isn’t bleached as most sanitary products are. I cannot rate this product highly enough if you are thinking about trying the mooncup I urge you to give it a go as with the tiniest bit of practice you will never look back!

Mmjp – 7th April 2015

I’m 21 years old and just heard about the mooncup. It’s disappointing that tampax and other sanitary products seem to have more marketing material than cups. So, on discovering this product though an article on the internet,I was dubious. If this product is so hygienic, cheap and green; how have I never heard of it before? I did my research and I couldn’t wait to order one. I’ve always had problems with other sanitary products. I found them very irritating, both physically on my skin and how unclean I felt while using them, not to mention the cost and how inconvenient it is having to buy them every month.
However, since using the mooncup I have experienced none of these problems. I’ve felt like I can actually go out and enjoy myself without the worries of leaking etc. While using it I felt totally comfortable and was able to leave it in for the full eight hours without any mess. There is no odor at all, no cramping, and no mess of trying to dispose of stuff discreetly. The most beneficial aspect of the mooncup for me is that I can use it for my light flow without that awful, dry, scratchy feel of the tampon.

The only downfall is that it can be tricky to insert, but I think that is more my problem than the mooncup’s. It can also make some icky noises when removing it. However, cutting off the stem and removing the cup by squeezing it made no sound at all.

I can’t recommend this product enough, it’s saved me money, time, and left my life that little bit less stressful. I no longer dread my period, result!

Thank you so much.

Kay – 29th March 2015

It doesn’t smell. It doesn’t leak. You can wear whatever underwear you want (or none at all!). It doesn’t dry you out. It doesn’t leave fibres inside you. You don’t have to deal with it every time you go to the toilet. It can cope with clots. You don’t have to buy more and more every month. There’s no gross string hanging out of you. You don’t have to throw it away and feel guilty about the waste. It doesn’t feel like a nappy. You can measure your period so you know if something unusual happens. It doesn’t come wrapped up in pointless, wasteful packaging. You don’t have to carry loads of supplies around with you.
I feel free.

I did find insertion and removal a bit difficult to start with, but after sticking with it for a couple of days I soon got into the swing of it.

It saves me money, it saves me hassle and it’s comfortable. What more could I ask for?

liz – 9th March 2015

I started using my moon cup this week. Ladies, if you don’t know this product and are still using tampons and pads, I beg you to check it out! It is unbelievably fantastic!!
I never felt so comfortable during my period. No itchiness, no dryness, no leakage, no odour, no waste!! I feel much safer and healthier and in touch with myself. I can move around, I can go into the water for a bath or a swim, I enjoy being close with my boyfriend. And even the pain wasn’t as bad as usual this month.

It took me some time to give it a try because it was unfamiliar to me. I learned about it online and didn’t know anybody in person who was using a menstrual cup. I usually dread my period because I have very bad menstrual cramps and mood swings and the disposable sanitary products dry me out. I’m used to feeling just awful for several days and suffering from itches after each period.

I absolutely hate tampons, they always gave me pain. The fact that the moon cup is inserted into the vagina as is the tampon put me off for some time. I imagined inserting it as painful because of my experience with tampons and the size of the moon cup looked intimidating.

With finally mustering up the courage and giving the moon cup a try, I got the hang of it much quicker than I had expected. It doesn’t feel like a tampon at all, in fact, I find it much easier to insert despite the bigger size. Once it’s in, I barely feel it at all. There’s no burning sensation or uncomfortable itching, it smoothly slides in and sits comfortably low. It doesn’t feel like an intruding object at all.

I can officially state that I’m never going back!! I feel so ridiculously more comfortable and happy, I already lost a bit of my fear regarding my period after using it for only 4 days! Even my boyfriend is fond of it and notices that I’m much happier with it. I showed him the moon cup and dared to really talk about my period with him, I kinda lost a lot of my shame.

I think this product is simply genius. There’s only pros, all the way. Thank you, moon cup!! 😀

Anna – 4th March 2015

I remember seeing the stickers for the mooncup in the ladies toilets when I was at University and thinking to myself, I should probably give that a go. Well, I graduated five years ago and have only just go round to actually doing it, and it was mostly the online reviews and testimonials that made me make that decision there and then. If only I had read the testimonials back then!
I personally didn’t find the whole concept of it weird or gross, I am quite in tune with my body. The only thing I had to overcome was getting used to insertion and removal. Trying different folding methods soon sorted the insertion, removal took a bit more practise but within a couple of days I felt confident and I knew that I would never go back. At first I used a liner because I wasn’t convinced it wasn’t going to leak but now I am totally confident in the mooncup.

It makes you feel SO much better about your period, you feel more in tune with what your body is doing, cramps are reduced, it’s cost effective, it’s more hygienic and for me knowing I am not adding to landfill is a huge benefit.

If you suffer with recurrent thrush or UTI’s – this product will change your life!!! (I don’t know why doctors don’t advise women to get one).

Kym – 13th February 2015

I’ve had my Mooncup for a year now and love it. It has saved me tons of money on tampons and pads. I feel like my hygiene is even better when using the Mooncup. It works great on both my heavier period days and my lighter days. Some discoloration has appeared now that I’ve used it for a year, but it still works great. I make sure to clean mine after every period. I recommend this product to all females! It’s way better than using tampons/pads and super comfortable. I don’t even notice it.

Kimberly – 7th February 2015

The best product ever! I started using mooncup because I wanted to cut down on waste, but I couldn’t even handle tampons. Its taken me 3 periods to get to a point where its all I use! And I only used 4 pads on my last one. You can sleep, pee, run, skip, you really don’t feel it at all. I don’t need any stem to get it out either, it did take me a while of fishing around but then I found out I was going in at the wrong angle. My vagina and I have never been closer and I think she’s pretty grateful not to have rashes and smell gross every month! I can sit with my legs open on the tube and not get blasted by iffy wafts…

Jaz – 22nd January 2015

An amazing invention! For the first time I feel utterly clean and healthy during my period. It has normalized the whole experience for me. My cramps have reduced, and there is a great sense of freedom not having to bring stacks of tampons with me everywhere I go. Thank you Mooncup!

Rachel-Rose – 22nd January 2015

I had heard rave reviews from a friend and finally decided to bite the bullet- cannot thank my lucky stars I did. I always hated using tampons and other such products, finding them uncomfortable and stressful to use. Now that I have a Mooncup my period is quite literally a breeze. I feel clean, healthy, comfortable, not to mention richer! I go running, swimming, rock climbing with it in and I pretty much forget I have my period. No more running into Boots in a flap when I forget to stuff hundreds of tampons into my bag ‘just-in-case’, no more rustling, no more waste! If you are considering it, please, please do. You will not regret it! Thank you Mooncup!

Kitty – 19th January 2015

When I tell people I use a mooncup one of the most common reactions is …ew. I have been happily using my mooncup for a good few years. It’s comfortable to wear and insert, unlike conventional raspy scratchy tampons. It doesn’t develop a putrid smell like sanitary towels. I recently misplaced my mooncup and reverted back to sanitary towels for 2 days. I forgot how dirty, fidgety and irritating they are! I had to rush out and buy a new mooncup immediately! I have found a way to not let my monthly cycle interfere with life and I had to get it back.What it doesn’t say on the tin is that mooncup is sensational at saving your sheets from dreaded stains, I also get far better nights sleep with a mooncup over disposable methods. Having discussed with a few friends we have discovered that mooncup seems to ease cramps, whether this is accurate or not it seems to be the only common denominator.
Practice makes perfect, inserting is easy but you will have the odd mishap. TIP: don’t ever whisk it out quickly not matter how much of a rush you are in!

Amy – 19th January 2015

I’ve been a satisfied user of mooncup for about 3 years now! I’m 23 (started periods at 10), and had been wanting to try mooncup for environmental reasons for several years but hadn’t plucked up the courage to give it a go. The last straw for me though was missing a martial arts tournament because I was on my period: I would regularly overwhelm my tampax super-duper-extra-plus-plus-plus and the thought of that happening in the ring (while wearing a white gi!) was unbearable. When I thought about it some more, the idea of having to miss things I wanted to do as well as the endless round of dashes to the bathroom to change tampons and clean up leaks for potentially the next 40 years just didn’t fly (personally I’m not comfortable with using contraceptives to reduce my periods – better out than in, right? that’s my opinion, anyway). Admittedly when I first opened the box I was pretty intimidated by the size of the thing, but after getting used to it gradually (using just once per period at first, then for one day, and so on), I am now a competent user and would definitely not go back to tampons! It’s just a matter of working out which technique suits you best and making it a habit. Standing in the kitchen, casually boiling your mooncup on the stove can feel bizarre at first but actually, it’s a lot easier than emergency dashes to the 24hr petrol station for supplies! For anyone who wants to use mooncup but is not sure/already using it but struggling, my advice is persevere at your own pace. It’s not a race, and if you want to go back to tampons/pads for a while it’s not a problem – mooncup will still be there when you’re ready for another go. Eventually you’ll get the hang of it, and you will have saved money, the environment, and improved your health and convenience. For me, I knew I was a proper, paid-up member of the mooncup club when I successfully went swimming on my period – before mooncup, there was no way in HELL I would even have CONSIDERED that!!! So that shows it works! Now I preach the mooncup gospel whenever the opportunity arises. The only objection (and a half-hearted one at that) was from my mum, who worried about TSS – but I pointed out to her that tampons are not exactly sterile when they come out of their cardboards boxes after spending weeks on a supermarket shelf (whereas mooncup can be sterilised easily), AND they leave potentially harmful residue which mooncup doesn’t! I think she had no choice but to yield to the logic of the situation after that 😀

Elinoir – 29th November 2014

I’m on my fourth month of using my moon cup and I have never looked back. Its amazing. I couldn’t use tampons, so its a massive liberation from awful sanitary towels. I don’t have to wear period pants any more and it feels so much cleaner and hygienic!Its easy to use and really comfortable. I ended up snipping off most of the stem. I struggled the first few times taking it out but after that it was fine. Just don’t panic and stick with it!
I recommend this to anyone who is fed up with traditional products that are dry and uncomfortable and it saves quite a bit of money. Its paid for itself already!

Lou – 21st November 2014

I found out about Mooncup from Freelee the banana girl on Youtube. As a person who has un-predictable period thank you so much for this product. I feel like it’s another step in the right direction to help save the planet and landfills, help the fight against testing on animals and also it’s much better for me too. Tampons and pads dry out and rub my skin, this is my 2nd day on Mooncup and it’s been a blessing, much more comfortable!I must admit the first time I emptied it made me yak a bit but I’m already used to it, I just need to get used to taking it out bit, I need to get a routine going.
Thank you for this wonderful invention 🙂

Siobhan – 4th November 2014

I’m in my first few days of using Mooncup and already a convert. Bit scary the first night as it went high, but after a bit more practise and some pelvic floor exercises along with some patience that I rarely possess, I’m there! I always used to feel dry using tampons and Mooncup makes me feel normal, and let’s face it how many of us can say we feel normal at that time of month?! I never liked the idea of using a non applicator tampon and used to revert to towels as soon as I my flow was lighter, but Mooncup just seems more natural and I’m totally confident using it! Feel much more balanced and it’s much easier to see how heavy or light my period is, I shall be spreading the word, Thank you Mooncup, for improving my life, sometimes it’s the little things in life that ,Eam so much 🙂

Rachel – 31st October 2014

I’m not one for adding a testimonial but I can honestly say the mooncup has radically changed my periods. I didn’t have much problem with inserting, after one cycle I was absolutely fine with it, I did cut the stem right down though. No more bloating, I feel totally normal whilst on my period, so much so that once I’ve emptied it in the morning I can forget about it which is great as I work in the community visiting people in there own homes ( you don’t want to be worrying about changing tampons in clients house, yuck, or that you maybe leaking) no more embarrassment for me. All I need to do is empty it again the evening, easy.
It’s also shortened my periods by 2 days. I run with it in and play netball, jump around and I feel totally confident with it and no leaks what’s so ever. I must add here that I was previously having to use pad and tampon on my heavy days.
My one regret is that I didn’t change earlier and so I’m on a mission to convert my sisters and friends, why would I keep this gem to myself, tell the world

Kedwards – 21st September 2014

I was studying abroad when I first heard about the moon cup and decided to look it up, however I couldn’t get it shipped to where I was at the time so I eventually forgot about it. A couple months ago I decided I was tired of tampons and started looking around for something else to use when I remembered the moon cup and it couldn’t have been sooner. I looked it up, ordered it, and impatiently waited for my next period. Hah! But when it came around the next month, I was prepared. I had cut the stem off immediately after reading other reviews, practiced using it, and went about my day. There’s no embarrassing “evidence” when I visit friends, no more pointless cotton filling up the earth, and no more worrying about the harmful side effects of tampons on the body C; I’ve even recommended it to several friends and I hope they make the move.

A Happy Moon User – 19th September 2014

I love my mooncup, it is so practical and confotable to use, and it isnt harmful to me or the environment. I’ve been passing on the messege and now my sister has one too and loves it! MOONCUPS FOR EVERYONE

Vivien – 30th August 2014

My reasoning for purchasing a mooncup was the environmental benefits, I try to do my bit where I can and after hearing about mooncups I was keen to ditch the pads and give it a go. Having been on the contraceptive pill for 10 years, 3 on the injection I hadn’t had a period for quite sometime and when I decided to ‘go natural’ again last year I was severely regretting my decision due to how long and painful my periods were. Whilst researching the mooncup I read women claiming that using the mooncup had shortened their periods and made them less painful, I was a little sceptical but thought if it did work it would just be another benefit. I can now say wholeheartedly it’s true. My periods have gone from 8 days to 3, my flow is not as heavy as it appeared from using towels, the pain is minimal now and lasts for half a day as opposed to 3/4 and I can actually go out and do things rather than lay in bed almost in tears. It was tricky the first couple of times I used it but I soon learnt the best way for me to insert it and it’s now quick and easy to use. I can hand on heart say I will always use a mooncup now, I already can’t imagine my period without it. I feel better knowing I’ve lessened my environmental impact greatly and I’m so much happier on my period now because of the reduced pain and the number of days I am on, to the point, I’ve even forgotten a couple of times that I’m in my period because I can feel no side effects and no horrible towel.

Kaylie – 21st August 2014

I have never written a review or testimonial on anything before, but I am so delighted with my mooncup that I had to let you know! It has been an absolute revelation! By following the extensive and very clear instructions, I found it very easy to use right off the bat and I love it how clean and comfortable it is. I was worried it would be messy before I tried it, but it’s the cleanest sanitary protection I have ever used. I can’t imagine going back to towels again. I have always found tampons difficult to get on with, but the mooncup is totally different. I can’t feel it at all. It’s as if I’m not even having a period when I’m wearing it. I live in a hot, humid country and often get yeast infections after my period because of using towels. The heat can make towels smell very quickly, and damp towels plus sweat feel revolting. No such problems with the mooncup. I can swim spontaneously, roll around on the floor with my baby, sleep without underwear on… It’s changed my life! Thank you! I wish I’d got one years ago.

Helen – 16th August 2014

I am 3 days in my first cycle with a mooncup and I wish I’d got one sooner! I stopped using tampons a few years ago because I hate the way they dry you out and are bad for PH balance among other things! (they’re just all out gross to me) but pads are bloody annoying, and I’ve recently started swimming and gymming a lot and pads are just not practical when getting a sweat on. Also I hate the way pretty much all pads these days are ‘scented’ with some floral bullshit that when mixed with period actually smells worse than with any unscented products! It’s just not necessary and I like to look after my vagina, I don’t want all this perfumed and bleached crap! ANYWAY, Mooncup is just completely liberating! I also feel less awkward at work – as our office is so small we have only one bathroom shared between males and females, but now I don’t have to worry about anyone noticing me take a pad into the bathroom, or leave the wrappers in the bin. Liberating I tell you, liberating!

Tannah – 4th August 2014

I LOVE my mooncup! I have recently changed career from shop work to gardening. The lack of toilets and bins therefore prompted my purchase. I will never look back. I find it very easy to use and a lot cleaner than having to carry used sanitary products around in the van and it’s nice not to carry pads and tampons in every handbag. It copes with the varied physical parts of my job; running, bending, climbing, hanging, kneeling ect. When I get hot and sweat from digging I don’t have to worry about gross odours and I feel cleaner knowing that I’m not sat sweating in my blood all day. In terms of comfort nappy rash from thick pads is eliminated and I don’t have to worry about wearing pants at night. It also means (like tampons) I can fill my pee bottle without making it obvious to my colleagues (all men) that I’m on. It has reduced my cramps to almost nothing, though they weren’t awful to start with and I’m finding that my period is over much faster. I am also finding that, oddly, I am really enjoying learning about and monitoring my period. This was something I wasn’t expecting. 🙂 Basically ladies; great idea, well made, economically advantageous, ecologically friendly and easy to use!

Laura – 12th July 2014

I have been using my mooncup for about a year now and have not regretted the decision. It’s really easy to use and and not unhygienic when you follow the instructions on washing it.I always used to worry when I went away that I wouldn’t have enough tampons but now I no longer have to think of this! 🙂
I have convinced some of my friends to try it and a couple have do so and not looked back!
I always felt like there was a weird smell when I used tampons and felt really self-conscious about it. But now I don’t notice anything! 🙂
Best £20 I have spent!! 😀

Nessie – 1st July 2014

I heard about Mooncup at a festival a couple of years ago and thought it would be gross. But since then I have become a lot greener and try and do everything I can to reduce waste etc. So I thought I would try Mooncup because I found that I was getting through a lot of tampons and getting quite bad cramps. I don’t get any pains now and generally feel better… think it’s due to now having a load of chemicals soaking into me every month! Not to mention I no longer worry about leaks when I’m at the gym, or asleep, or any other time… I can trust it to keep me clean and it is so easy to use… Never have to buy another sanitary product or throw anything away… AMAZING!

Jennifer K – 22nd February 2013

I got my mooncup (in my case MCUK) in the mail a few days ago, and in times where money is tight, I know this will be a godsend. It got here after my last period ended, but I’ve been using it even when I’m off my period/ovulating as well to practice folding it, inserting/removing it, and getting all the techniques right. So far, it’s taught me a lot about my body. For example, I knew when I was fertile/ovulating, but with the mooncup, I can see it in a whole new perspective. It’s a wonderful product produced by a wonderful company run by supportive, knowledgeable women who know what’s best for us, unlike these greedy tampon/pad companies run by men who just want to make money… bleach? In MY body? From tampons? I don’t think so.

Sarah – 03rd February 2013

Fantastic! I was a bit dubious at first, a bit fiddly to begin with, but I persevered and will never look back! Healthier, chemical free (unlike most tampons)and cheaper in the long run. I Got mine from boots two years ago, and I just sterilise it after use with milton or similar. Give it a go, and give it a chance – you won’t regret it! 10/10

M Somers – 16th January 2013

I have to admit it took me a while to get it just right, but once I mastered the Mooncup I knew I’d never go back. Using anything else now just doesn’t make any sense when this product is better for your body and the environment, and kind on your purse too!
I loathed uncomfortable pads and hated tampons that dried me out, but the Mooncup is just so inert it feels natural to use and I don’t even notice it.
I’d recommend this to anyone and everyone!

Natalie – 11th January 2013

At 16, after being amenorrhoeic for a year with an eating disorder, my period came back as as pretty nasty surprise. I used pads and tampons for a day before remembering some research I did on the mooncup before. I persuaded my mum and bought it straight away 😀 Got home and was slightly scared at how huge it looked! But inserted it pretty easily and painlessly straight away with the ‘c’ fold. Getting it out took…a little more practice. Given that I am probably pretty ‘narrow’, tugging it and pulling it straight out probably wasn’t the best idea…ouch. But after 3 or 4 different tries, that got easier and I can do that easily now too 🙂
But ohhhh my gosh, when it’s in! You can’t feel it, it doesn’t leak at all, you can leave it in waaay longer than tampons and forget about your period, I plan to go swimming tomorrow, I won’t have to pack half a suitcase full of pads and tampons when I travel, will save money and be healthier and greener it’s so so good! It is kind of gross (but at the same time weirdly fascinating) seeing the contents but it’s worth it! In short: converted

Sarah – 09th January 2013

to add to all of these positive reviews – it took me a couple of periods to get the hang of it, but once you get used to inserting/removing it and rinsing (if youre out and about, best to go to a loo where the basin is in the same cubicle), you will never look back. ive used my mooncup for 10 years now, and cant even think how much money ive saved from not buying tampons/pantyliners. just £20 for 10 years! thats about 240 periods and god knows how many tampons. literally hundreds of pounds saved! in these money-tight times this is the easiest way to save money, with the added benefits of being convenient, safe, enviromentally friendly, and a whole weight off your mind when in party dresses or sleeping in someone elses bed! would recommend the mooncup to anyone.

philippa – 28th November 2012

Just a quick note to say how much I love my moon cup. It’s just great. Dependable, discreet, easy, environmentally friendly, healthier. You only have one problem….your customers only need buy one! I’d recommend them to anyone. All women should own a moon cup!

Emma – 06th October 2012

If you think of buying a mooncup dont hesitate. I bought one after extensive research and its so much worth it. You save your health, money and environment. At first i didnt think it would be very practical or nice but actually using Mooncup feels even cleaner than tampons. Another plus is brilliant customer service. As an advice from me: Do read the leaflet and advice on the website, it helps you understand how the mooncup works straight away. I didnt have any problems since the very first time using it. 😉

Nat – 20th August 2012

Seriously, just buy one. It will change your life! I first heard of the mooncup years ago when a friend of a friend recommended it to me (after typical girly talk about heavy periods/ the horror of the pads and tampon combo) and my gut reaction was ‘ick’. I wrongly assumed it would be messy, smelly and just part of a hippie fad. Meanwhile, I was struggling with crippling period pain and near constant urinary tract infections (caused, I now believe, by large tampons expanding and pressing uncomfortably on my urinary tract). I was also reading horror stories about the bleaching and chemicals that tampons undergo and resenting the massive quantities of tampons I was being forced to buy each month to cope with my flow. I only properly looked into getting a mooncup a year ago, and I was won over straightaway. This website had loads of really good, detailed information and the testimonials really helped sway me because I could see that lots of other women who had been struggling had found a solution with the cup.
My first try was a bit hit and miss, mainly because getting it in and out takes a little getting used to. But by the second month I was a bit of a pro! I can honestly say that this is one of the best products I have ever bought in my life. It has improved my quality of life considerably. The pain I experience with cramps has reduced (I think maybe the flexibility of the cup helps) and the fact that it holds so much more fluid than a tampon means that long shifts at work are a lot less stressful. I really can’t imagine how I managed without it!
I made sure to stick the stickers in public places, hoping that if at least one woman who struggled like I did sees it and looks into it further, it will be worth it. My friends are sick of me ranting on at them about how great it is, but I’ve already won a couple of them over. It’s a total joke that pads and tampons are the default sanitary product, especially as the mooncup is a much more environmentally sustainable alternative. I really hope that I see this change in my lifetime.
So, from the bottom of my heart, a massive thank you to you women behind mooncup. This is the first customer review I have ever left, but I just had to let you know what a great job you’re doing. Many thanks, Ffion

Ffion – 20th July 2012

I purchased my Mooncup recently and I already adore it.
During my period I suffer from stomach pains, bloating and bowel problems. I had been using tampons for a number of years and had this horrible dry sensation inside. I also felt as though it was a bizarre foreign body inside of me that I never quite got used to. Plus, I was spending so much money every month on the various sizes. I saw some tampons on the shelf a couple of months ago and they were perfumed. I thought it was disgusting that women were being made to feel that their period is some kind of unnatural, dirty thing. I immediately bought a Mooncup and haven’t looked back!

My stomach cramps have somehow decreased, I no longer feel all dry and irritated inside and I feel totally comfortable wearing a Mooncup and more “at one” with my body.

I really recommend buying a Mooncup. I have found it so much better than sanitary towels and tampons. Also it’s better for the environment and so much cheaper!

Selina – 07th July 2012

I had heard of Moon Cup quite a while ago but had put it off for being a bit squeamish. Then this year my friend told me about a blog post in which A WOMAN FOUND MOULD ON HER TAMPON! I recommend googling the story.
Combined with the increased guilt of wastage and wanting to save money I decided to switch.
Now, I wouldn’t go back! My period pain has decreased. I always thought my dire pain and sickness was something to do with Tampon’s since as soon as I inserted a Tampon I’d be vomiting for the rest of the day. I had to go on the pill to sort it out and am admittedly still on the pill a little too afraid I’ll be having heavy and irregular periods again.
It’s a little difficult to get used to at first with some dire accidents but I persevered, I will not go back to achey, dry and scratchy periods again. I don’t even mind the tiny mess you inevitably encounter using this product because it’s worth it knowing my body and purse is better off and hopefully the planet too.
And I love the fact we can wear it when we know we’re going to be on that day and not having to rush back and forth to the toilet playing a guessing game. And I never have to worry about running out or carrying around extras.
I’m gently working on my friends with the effort of not wanting to drive them crazy over it.
Thank you Mooncup!

Siobhan – 21st June 2012

I’ve been using the mooncup for about 10 months. I thought it was the best invention ever. The most positive thing about it is the environmental impact (zero). Next is the impact on your body (zero). Next is the convenience (I have a heavy period, and still only empty it once a day). My body has now adjusted to it, and I can barely fit a tampon in anymore, it feels dry and unnatural.

My only problem is that it doesn’t work overnight for me, but it did take me over 4 cycles to even get the hang of it during the day, so I’m not giving up.

I could go on forever, but all I will say is that it’s a great investment. The positives completely outway the negatives. Definitely give it a go.

Jessi, 18 – 24th March 2012

I’m in Australia and ordered my Mooncup online. I have been using it for around a year now- I has completely changed the way I view having a period! It’s no longer a hassle. It’s easy, I hardly have to think about it. I boast about the Mooncup to anyone who cares to listen. I can sleep without any other protection. Have never had a leakage issue. I’m pretty sure my vaginal health is a lot better since I began using these. I generally feel cleaner. Seriously, life changing!

Alex – 20th March 2012

I wouldn’t use anything else. I suffered for years with recurring thrush and urine infections but have been completely clear since I started using my Mooncup. I can only attribute it to not using tampons that are bleached and upset my body’s natural balance.I love my Mooncup. It’s simple to care for and clean, it’s easy to pop in and out, and one day I’ll be buying one for my daughter. I’d much rather she learn to live with her periods in the most natural way, than bung herself up with bleach-soaked cotton wool.

Polly – 23rd January 2012

I bought a mooncup having read about them as an environmental alternative to tampons and towels. However I hadn’t appreciated it would also have so many personal lifestyle and health advantages beyond cutting down on landfill! If you are swithering I definitely recommend you give it a go – and keep at it. Yes, it is a bit tricky at first – it’s taken me several months to get used to it/get the knack. But this has definitely paid off. Now I trust it completely and am amazed at how natural and easy it now seems. It doesn’t leak or smell, or make you dry or uncomfortable in the slightest – you can just forget its your period until its time to change it (and you can do that less often too which is great for light days). I seem to get less thrush type symptoms too which is another bonus. So glad I persevered. Thanks Mooncup!

Josephine – 15th January 2012

Mooncup has changed my life! A friend of mine was so thrilled with her discovery, i just had to try. Having used the mooncup for the last 6 months now, I really don’t think i could go back to using tampons. The most profound part of this experience for me has been this feeling of finally understanding my body. An awareness of how my period progresses and makes me feel day by day. I subsequently have made moves to become healthier and rethink hormonal contraception. Also having a clear visual of just how much blood you loose on your fist few days made me realised that the odd iron boost would benefit me supposed to coffee and a pain killer. I don’t consider myself new age in any respect but I feel now that our bodies aren’t designed to be complicated with products, hormones and corporations and advertising – mooncup is just the simplest, cleanest device, no frills and i love that ! Thank you mooncup people for such a revolutionary product!

Alexandra – 02nd January 2012

I have been using my mooncup for 6 years now…and love it.I wish I had known about it before.It is easy to use and not once have a had a leak.So much more hygenic and safer than Tampons or towels.Most of my friends now use a mooncup and are very happy to.Try it ,you have nothing to lose.I wonder why charities are not promoting these in 3rd world countries they would surely benefit the women there.I cant say enough how good they are .

Helen – 03rd December 2011

I purchased this product awhile back, but just recently started my period again (PCOS and Amenorreah so I decided to give it a try. I used it all night the first night, and didnt feel anything, and slept like a baby- which is great, because even with super sized tampons, I am usually up 2-3 times a night changing them!!!!I am a very heavy bleeder…. but I just have to say that I love this product, and the fact that there is an alternative out there to pads and tampons, that is better for the enviroment, and safer for me! I have been spreading the word to all my gal pals, because this is something that every woman should be aware of!!!!

cerissalaine – 29th November 2011

I use the mooncup and i swear i will NEVER go back to tampons or pads. My whole vagina and downstairs feels so much cleaner and healthier and since i started using it i haven’t had a sign of infections (which i used to get alot while using normal sanitary wear. I have reccommended it to all of my friends and a few of them now use it as well. They are easy to use, easy to clean, easy to insert and remove and you never have to worry about when to buy tampns or pads.

Chrissie – 16th November 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter