Cramps and Period Pain

Cramps and Period Pain

If you’re reading this and considering trying a mooncup, definitely get one! Can’t tell you how much of a difference it has made to my life – I got mine a year ago with a pair of Thinx period pants and will never go back to tampons and pads. The mooncup makes me feel so much cleaner than tampons, it’s better for the environment, brilliant for backpacking and I really think it has helped with my cramps. I don’t know how, but I used to take loads of painkillers every month and now I just have a couple of Paracetamol – my husband says I’m a different person in a good way! Honestly I wish I’d got my mooncup years ago. I got the hang of using it within the first month and now it’s second nature. Definitely get one!

Eleanor – 29th November 2018

After about a decade on the mini pill with no periods whatsoever, I was dreading the inevitably horrifically painful ‘first period’ after switching up my contraceptive methods. I did a LOT of reading about what to expect and stumbled across the many positive testimonials about the Mooncup. I thought I’d give it a go. I am SO pleased I did. It is super easy to use – I can’t feel it at all. No leaks. No drama. And much less period pain than I used to get many years ago with tampons. It really is strangely empowering and I feel like I’m more in tune with my body than I have been in years. Best decision I’ve made.

Nicola – 29th November 2017

I got you mooncup when I was 14 and I’m 20 now. It has been a really stable support through all of my periods for the past 6 years. Starting from quite an early age meant that I soon became familiar with my cycle and any squeamishness went immediately. I started off by using some water based lubricant to help insertion but as soon as you get used to it, water works just fine. Two notches on my cup stem and that works well for me. I find I rarely get any cramps at all and I can see my menstrual cycle take place by observing what is emptied from the cup. I can insert the mooncup if I know I am about to start my period and be comfortable in the knowledge that is isn’t drying me out. Cannot recommend mooncup enough.

Emily – 19th July 2017

I really can’t thank you enough for such a fantastic product. It took a couple of tries to get used to inserting and removing, but now I will never go back! My period pain is reduced and I feel so much cleaner and more comfortable during my period. I honestly forget I am wearing the mooncup because it is so comfortable! Really glad that it’s good for the environment and now I don’t dread my period like I used to!

Lauren – 14th July 2017

I am immensely sorry that I have had decades of tampon and towel use when I could have had a mooncup instead! I’m 43 so hopefully I’ll still get my money’s worth out of it but what a revelation. No hassle to insert (I’ve had kids so that’s probably why), a little trickier to master removing it but after a couple of days I was getting good at it. It is brilliant, I couldn’t feel it, no leaks and miraculously – hugely reduced cramping – I keep waiting for it to really start but it didn’t. It’s also kind of fascinating coming face to face with your period, but nothing worse than you would with tampons or towels so don’t let that put you off.

The absolute best thing for me though was the total lack of landfill waste. My bathroom bin remains empty instead of filling up with discarded products in nappy bags.

I want to tell every woman I know that they need to get one of these, I’m already evangelical about it! It has such potential for women on limited incomes too, would save a fortune over just a few months and never mind the environmental costs. They should be given out free by the NHS – although I’m sure the sanitary product industry wouldn’t like that.

Anyway – thank you Mooncup! You’ve made me a very happy menstruater!

Maria – 21st April 2017

I absolutely love my mooncup. My period pains are all but gone and my period is only about 2-3 days rather than closer to 5. I only wished I’d found them earlier! I have converted one friend who loves her new mooncup and I’m trying to convert more.

Liz – 3rd October 2016

I bought my moon cup over 3 years ago. I had heard of it but never really wanted to spend £20 on it. I really wish I was made to use this when I was younger. I truly believe that tampons made my periods worse and they are so bad for the environment. I will never ever use a tampon again ever!!!!!! I have washable pads for when I am sleeping which go in the washing machine and my moon cup. I have taken it abroad with me, its been running with me its been swimming with me, to parties and nights out with me and it has never let me down. I love it. I lost it once about a year ago and I was so upset my husband went out and got me another one 🙂 bless, if I had had daughters I would make sure they used these. I would love to be able to set up a charity so that women in third world impoverished contries have these, I cant imagine what they go through every month without proper sanitary conditions. I will work that out and hopefully let you all know. I have converted nearly every woman I know, and they are all raving about it. I have lighter less painful periods and my skin is even clearer after using it where as that time I would break out. I have less bloating and my cycle is shorter. Amazing!!! buy one today, dont wait just do it, you wont regret it 🙂

**** – 23rd December 2015

I’m halfway through my first cycle with the Mooncup and I’m kicking myself for not trying it already. My periods are heavy, like double protection, constant leakage, not leaving the house heavy, and as I advance further into my forties they’re getting worse. I’d always feel terribly bloated, and the cramps were just terrible. This little cup though…its a miracle. No bloating, cramps are so minimal they may as well not be there and there’s been nothing in the way of leakage. I’m going to consign my old lady period knickers to the bin! I finally feel like one of those women in the tampon ads. I could go roller skating in white shorts now! It’s surprised me how easy it is to use, I really thought it’d take a couple of cycles to get used to it but on insertion, it just kind of finds it’s own little niche and stays there unnoticed. I think this is the start of a long and beautiful relationship!

Alice – 13th December 2015

Mooncup changed my life, years of thrush and BV, after changing to using a Mooncup 2 years ago, barely a problem, its so easy to use and my periods are certainly lighter and less painful. The added bonus is obviously the cost saving and the lack of impact on the environment unlike other sanitary items. I am shocked so few women I speak to have ever heard of the Mooncup and I wish I had known about it before I did, its a shame its not more widely available. Great product !!! Love It,

Nita – 31st October 2015

I’ve been using my Mooncup for about a year now and I would never, ever go back to using pads and tampons again.During this time I’ve found that my cramps aren’t anywhere near as bad (they were often quite debilitating and I had to take a lot of time off work in the past), I don’t spend any where near as much money, my pants are spot free (gross, yeah, but I haven’t leaked once using a Mooncup), AND my periods are shorter and much less complicated.
All this with the added bonus of knowing that some poor fish isn’t going to end up with the contents of my uterus all over its face.
Nice one Mooncup.

Laura – 27th October 2015

Dear Tampon There is no easy way to tell you this…it is over. I am breaking up with you. This can come as no surprise as I have been very distant for the last few months. You haven’t seen me for a while and probably miss me. I don’t miss you….At All.
You promised me horse back riding in white pants
You promised that I could run down the beach in a white bikini.
You promised me energetic games of volley ball in cute white shorts.
We never did any of that. Instead you gave me cramps, dryness and thrush. All these years I thought it was me. I thought that it was something I had to put up with. I was wrong.
I have met someone else. Her name is Mooncup and we are in love. Mooncup loves me and I love her.
Since I have started seeing Moon I have had no cramps, no dryness and no thrush. My periods, which used to last 5 to 6 days, now only last 2 and a half days.
I feel healthy. I feel clean. I feel good.
Now I must get going. I have a volley ball match to get to.
Kind regards
Vagina

Libby – 26th October 2015

After suffering with increasingly heavy periods and pain that was getting worse year on year I was getting very tired of ‘standard’ sanitary products – a super plus tampon would only last 45 minutes at the most for the worst day of my period and I found myself getting yeast infections every couple of months. The bulk and sometimes weird smell that accompanies pads meant that they were also off-putting for me.
After seeing a Mooncup sticker inside a toilet door at university and seeing on the website that its capacity was more than that of the most absorbent tampons, I decided to give it a try. I wish someone had told me about this years ago and it could have saved me a hundred periods of misery!

It takes a little getting used to at first – I obviously wasn’t getting the seal right during my first period with it and it kept creeping further and further up which lead to lots of leaks and trying to fish it out was a bit of a nightmare. As I had to do with tampons a decade ago, however, I persevered and eventually got it right! Making sure the holes aren’t blocked, turning it, inserting it as low as possible and particularly giving the stem (which I shortened as much as possible) a little tug downwards once it’s inserted and opened all seem to help with forming a seal and since then, I experience next to no leaks even with my nightmare periods overnight when I only have to wear a thin pantyliner in case I really exceed its capacity during a long sleep.

I have found my cramps and pain to be much less severe than they were using tampons and I haven’t had a single yeast infection in the year I’ve been using the Mooncup. Between these benefits for my health, for my wallet, the environment and the fact that you can’t feel it when inserted properly (I used to hate it when my tampon slipped further down and it would irritate my nether regions!), the Mooncup has been a complete lifesaver.

Something you don’t realise as well until you experience it – I no longer have the panic of realising I have no sanitary products in my bag or jacket – I can pop into the loos with it in and not have to worry about taking things with me. No more running home from lectures to fill my bag with bulky super plus tampons, no more worrying on nights out that I’m going to be leaking within half an hour and don’t have anything with me. It’s been the best decision I have made for my health and sanity coping with my horrendous periods and I espouse its merits to anyone who will listen!

It’s about time we expand puberty and sex education in schools to let girls know that there are other options out there. It would have saved me so much money, time and distress over the years! Thank you Mooncup!

Meg – 18th June 2015

I only recently heard about me steal cups and decided to try the moon cup around three months ago. I could only see positive comments about it so thought I couldn’t go wrong. I was right, it’s the best thing I have heard of in some time, I love it! I have since given away all my remaining supplies of tampons and pads and purchased another moon cup as a spare. Initially I bought the larger size as I am over 30 years however I have since purchased the smaller cup as I had c-sections for both my children and have found this better. Initially the insertion was a little tricky but I soon got the hang of it. I had to trim the entire stem off but otherwise it is perfect! I even have less period pain which is a big thing for me as I used to suffer terribly. I only wish my mother had told me about this product. I wonder if she ever knew herself. I have spread the word and two friends have since purchased one each and love it also. I will certainly be encouraging my daughter when the time comes. I look forward to another similar product that can be used safely for sexual encounters 🙂

Johanna – 2nd May 2015

I’m 49 and peri-menopausal. After a lifetime of extremely painful, heavy periods and then for the last 7 years a diagnosis of erosive Vulval/Vaginal Lichen Planus; using Tampons, literally, were a pain. No matter which type I used they’d irritate and inflame an already irritated/inflamed sensitive area :o( I’d tried a return to pads but with heavy periods and nighttime leaks they just weren’t working for me.

My younger sister fairly recently discovered Mooncup and advised me to try it. I only bought mine on Friday and today is the first time using it. So it may be rather early to create a testimonial, but I feel good about this already! After recommendation from my sis & reading the info & other testimonials, I really have high hopes for this product.

Apart from freaking my hubby & son out while boiling it for first clean. They had a look, screwed their faces up and unfortunately, they are of the we won’t ask, so don’t tell us variety. I will, of course, educate hubby eventually.

Instructions were easy to follow and I found that it was extremely easy to insert. Having a tilted womb, wasn’t sure if it would be work but after a bit of manoeuvring it feels comfortable.

Funny episode in Boots while buying it (why was it hidden away on the bottom shelf???). I forgot my reading glasses and took it to the counter to ask the young ‘Health Advisor’ if I had the right size. She seemed a little awkward (queue behind me) and had to ask me the difficult Qs like: ‘What age are you?’ (How embarrassing!) ;o) and then; ‘Vaginal or Ceasarian births?’ Two, Ceasarian. So she whispered yes, think this size is fine. I bought another product – gel. Painkilling not lubricating! Only when I left the shop did I realise she’d charged me twice for the gel. So unnerved was she, by this strange Mooncup buying person. Went back, explained, she tried to refund, till froze, then had to call assistance, another queue formed behind me. I felt like whole shop knew what I’d just bought. Ha Ha!

If I can get through that then actually using this thing should be a walk in the park. ;o)

Kirsty – 26th April 2015

I am a new mooncup user, and 4 days into my period now I can honestly say this product is amazing. Everything that is said in all the other reviews is true, I feel cleaner and I’ve had significantly reduced cramps this month. I found it a bit tricky to remove at first, but I’m getting the hang of it now. If you are considering buying this product, do it! Every woman should have one 🙂

Heather – 22nd April 2015

My periods finished approx 18 months ago and although I used a Menstrual cup for the last 3 years with complete confidence and comfort I just wish I had known about them when I really needed them because I had pains, cramps, clots and flooding for years. All my GP wanted to do was insert a Mirena coil (which I wasnt happy about). The cup was such a Godsend, the clots still occured but were less painful and my period which used to last around 11 days was over in around 5 days (from start to finish). I swam, danced, slept naked and confident, and had a spare in my purse at all times which wasn’t a problem. I holidayed in 3rd world countries and it was amazing. My girlfirend and I have even sponsored an African girls school and sent them 150 cups. This means they can go all the time and we need to give women power. They are completely hygenic, environmentally friendly and cost so much less.

Jasmine – 14th April 2015

I cannot recommend the mooncup highly enough! I’ve always had periods which are a little heavy, and I get a few days of bad cramps. Tampons always made my cramps worse, always leaked and I found I had to change them too often to be practical. This left me with pads, which were okay, but uncomfortable, especially in warm weather. I work at a busy restaurant, which means I may be on my feet, running around for 6/7 hours without a break – on my heavy days, using pads was so uncomfortable, I got rashes and just felt unclean. I was always paranoid about leaks, and usually had some overnight. The mooncup has changed all of that! It eases cramps for me, and it is so comfortable – I can’t feel it at all, so much so that I forget I’m on my period sometimes! It’s perfect for my job, as I can leave it in for the duration of a long shift without worrying, and I can tackle all the physical aspects of the job with no restrictions. During the first couple of uses, it can be difficult – my first two tries I had some leaks and could feel it a lot, but by my third period using the mooncup I mastered it. I found I had to fully remove the stem (don’t be afraid to do this if the stem irritates you), and can empty and re-insert the cup in minutes. It’s clean, fast, convenient and is great for the environment, so forget whatever is putting you off buying one – you NEED to try this!!!

Laura – 5th April 2015

I’m 21 years old and just heard about the mooncup. It’s disappointing that tampax and other sanitary products seem to have more marketing material than cups. So, on discovering this product though an article on the internet,I was dubious. If this product is so hygienic, cheap and green; how have I never heard of it before? I did my research and I couldn’t wait to order one. I’ve always had problems with other sanitary products. I found them very irritating, both physically on my skin and how unclean I felt while using them, not to mention the cost and how inconvenient it is having to buy them every month.
However, since using the mooncup I have experienced none of these problems. I’ve felt like I can actually go out and enjoy myself without the worries of leaking etc. While using it I felt totally comfortable and was able to leave it in for the full eight hours without any mess. There is no odor at all, no cramping, and no mess of trying to dispose of stuff discreetly. The most beneficial aspect of the mooncup for me is that I can use it for my light flow without that awful, dry, scratchy feel of the tampon.

The only downfall is that it can be tricky to insert, but I think that is more my problem than the mooncup’s. It can also make some icky noises when removing it. However, cutting off the stem and removing the cup by squeezing it made no sound at all.

I can’t recommend this product enough, it’s saved me money, time, and left my life that little bit less stressful. I no longer dread my period, result!

Thank you so much.

Kay – 29th March 2015

I bought my Mooncup last month after having a discussion with a friend about sanitary provision. It has always been a issue for me; sanitary pads are impractical, nasty, uncomfortable, and utterly useless on heavy days. Tampons are better but have never really felt comfortable, especially at the end of my period when my flow is a lot lighter and more unpredictable. I detest the feeling of dry tampons and sometimes you don’t have the right absorbency or even a spare with you. Plus I always felt disgusted with myself for throwing them away and polluting the world, but had no alternative! Mooncup changes all that! I read all the testimonials and everything on this site before buying mine, and everything these women have said before me is true – I even felt slightly less period pain than before, convincing me of my suspicion that tampons actually add to the discomfort. I didn’t see the need to wait until the latter days of my period to try the Mooncup, I got stuck in on the first day and just spent a little while practicing insertion and removal in the bathroom! Piece of cake once you know how! It’s such a relief knowing all I need to take with me when I’m out is some ibuprofen and a water bottle and not a stash of different tampons and liners. But aside from the overwhelming convenience and comfort, an unexpected plus, and perhaps the best thing about it, is I feel so much more in tune with my body! After one period using Mooncup I already feel like I know so much more about my cycle – I feel liberated! Mooncup does not feel invasive or malign but like it is designed to help you understand and support your body, not suppress or fight against it. I have told every woman I know to buy one and sent off for the stickers and leaflets – I am on a mission! I only wish, like every other Mooncup user, that I had known about it from the start. 11 year old me, embarrassed and needlessly ashamed by period stains and pads would have killed for one. Now, I have taken control, taken a step towards embracing my body, it’s functions and it’s needs, and my womanhood! Thank you Mooncup!

Jess – 18th March 2015

I started using my moon cup this week. Ladies, if you don’t know this product and are still using tampons and pads, I beg you to check it out! It is unbelievably fantastic!!
I never felt so comfortable during my period. No itchiness, no dryness, no leakage, no odour, no waste!! I feel much safer and healthier and in touch with myself. I can move around, I can go into the water for a bath or a swim, I enjoy being close with my boyfriend. And even the pain wasn’t as bad as usual this month.

It took me some time to give it a try because it was unfamiliar to me. I learned about it online and didn’t know anybody in person who was using a menstrual cup. I usually dread my period because I have very bad menstrual cramps and mood swings and the disposable sanitary products dry me out. I’m used to feeling just awful for several days and suffering from itches after each period.

I absolutely hate tampons, they always gave me pain. The fact that the moon cup is inserted into the vagina as is the tampon put me off for some time. I imagined inserting it as painful because of my experience with tampons and the size of the moon cup looked intimidating.

With finally mustering up the courage and giving the moon cup a try, I got the hang of it much quicker than I had expected. It doesn’t feel like a tampon at all, in fact, I find it much easier to insert despite the bigger size. Once it’s in, I barely feel it at all. There’s no burning sensation or uncomfortable itching, it smoothly slides in and sits comfortably low. It doesn’t feel like an intruding object at all.

I can officially state that I’m never going back!! I feel so ridiculously more comfortable and happy, I already lost a bit of my fear regarding my period after using it for only 4 days! Even my boyfriend is fond of it and notices that I’m much happier with it. I showed him the moon cup and dared to really talk about my period with him, I kinda lost a lot of my shame.

I think this product is simply genius. There’s only pros, all the way. Thank you, moon cup!! 😀

Anna – 4th March 2015

I’ve had my mooncup for three years so I can say I’ve truly tried and tested it! It took me a good three months to get to grips with it, my main issue was trying to insert it too high (like a tampon) and the length of the stem. I’ve since removed the whole of the stem as I found that personally I don’t need it. My advice for other women is to stick with it till you get used it, remember the difficulties you may have had first using a tampon and how they are second nature to insert now! The main benefits for me is that it really does reduce the amount of pain my period gives me, bizarre but true!
During my period, I am often very dry “down there”, and found that tampons made this worse. I prefer the mooncup as it does not absorb any moisture, but I find I need to use a little bit of lube (just once a day) to aid me inserting and removing it.

As it holds so much more than a tampon I don’t need to rush and change/empty it as often, in fact I often go to the loo and forget all about it as you really can’t feel it!

I’ve recommended it to all of my friends and family, a brilliant investment, saves money and the environment too.

Claire – 16th February 2015

I remember seeing the stickers for the mooncup in the ladies toilets when I was at University and thinking to myself, I should probably give that a go. Well, I graduated five years ago and have only just go round to actually doing it, and it was mostly the online reviews and testimonials that made me make that decision there and then. If only I had read the testimonials back then!
I personally didn’t find the whole concept of it weird or gross, I am quite in tune with my body. The only thing I had to overcome was getting used to insertion and removal. Trying different folding methods soon sorted the insertion, removal took a bit more practise but within a couple of days I felt confident and I knew that I would never go back. At first I used a liner because I wasn’t convinced it wasn’t going to leak but now I am totally confident in the mooncup.

It makes you feel SO much better about your period, you feel more in tune with what your body is doing, cramps are reduced, it’s cost effective, it’s more hygienic and for me knowing I am not adding to landfill is a huge benefit.

If you suffer with recurrent thrush or UTI’s – this product will change your life!!! (I don’t know why doctors don’t advise women to get one).

Kym – 13th February 2015

I am 30 and have been using the small moon menstral cup for several months and I love it. I have never had a child. I have a retroverted uterus with heavy painful cycle. Could go through a super pad and tampon in 1-2hrs on a bad day. With moon menstral I have less pain and on heaviest day filled cup in 6 hours.

Alexis – 6th February 2015

An amazing invention! For the first time I feel utterly clean and healthy during my period. It has normalized the whole experience for me. My cramps have reduced, and there is a great sense of freedom not having to bring stacks of tampons with me everywhere I go. Thank you Mooncup!

Rachel-Rose – 22nd January 2015

When I tell people I use a mooncup one of the most common reactions is …ew. I have been happily using my mooncup for a good few years. It’s comfortable to wear and insert, unlike conventional raspy scratchy tampons. It doesn’t develop a putrid smell like sanitary towels. I recently misplaced my mooncup and reverted back to sanitary towels for 2 days. I forgot how dirty, fidgety and irritating they are! I had to rush out and buy a new mooncup immediately! I have found a way to not let my monthly cycle interfere with life and I had to get it back.What it doesn’t say on the tin is that mooncup is sensational at saving your sheets from dreaded stains, I also get far better nights sleep with a mooncup over disposable methods. Having discussed with a few friends we have discovered that mooncup seems to ease cramps, whether this is accurate or not it seems to be the only common denominator.
Practice makes perfect, inserting is easy but you will have the odd mishap. TIP: don’t ever whisk it out quickly not matter how much of a rush you are in!

Amy – 19th January 2015

A friend told me about mooncup a few years ago and I thought it was revolting! Honestly I just couldn’t get my head around it and didn’t even consider giving it a try! By the way I’m a midwife so really should have been more accepting of it… Lol! Recently in my quest to start trying for a baby I’ve made some lifestyle changes to improve my health! For a long time now Tampons left me feel sore and dry especially on my lighter days and I hate using pads! I hate feeling like I’m wearing a nappy, the smell when changing them and having my waste bin filled with them! I also feel unclean during my time of month and just want to stay in bed till it’s all over!
Recently I went into boots to stock up on more tampons and Pads! I spotted the mooncup on the shelf picked it up and never turned back! I didn’t even give myself the chance to think about it!

The pack recommends to start using on day 2/3 of your period however once I’d bought it I went home and after contending with another Pad (I started that very day) I decided why wait! I boiled the mooncup and stuck it in! It took a few attempts before I more or less removed the whole stem before it was comfortable! But once it was in I forgot it was there!
The problem came when it come to removing it! I couldn’t find or reach the bloody thing and had no idea it would creep up so high! I tried with all my might to no avail… In the end called my husband who obviously wanted no part in my disaster and simple passed me the instruction booklet!
So the instructions say relax don’t panic… Blah blah blah! I was already tense and yes panicking! I honestly believed i’d have to go to A&E and have it surgically removed! Did I mention I’m a midwife!!!! Chances are I would know the gynaecology doctor called to assist at the local unit so this was not an option! I calmed down took some deep breaths did some little pushes and the moon cup materialised! I won’t lie was a bit messy, and the floor, my god the floor! But the cup was out! I rinsed it of and popped it back in! After spending £20 I was not going to be defeated on my first use! 3days later and I love it! Wish I tried it before, I can almost forget I’m even on! No cramps at all, no leaks at all and in never ever going back to tampons or pads!
I want to tell everybody and anybody about mooncup! Unfortunately my friends don’t seem to share my enthusiasm!
A little disappointed I didn’t receive any stickers with my box otherwise I would have used them in the loos at work and try convert a few more!

Dionne – 8th January 2015

Since having my children (eldest is 6), my periods have been excruciating. I have always had heavy periods, and very painful. But since giving birth twice, I just couldn’t find a protection that a) fit me properly and b) could cope with my heavy flow. I stand most of the day at work and leak a lot. It was so humiliating. Tampons would HURT. I had a constant ache and felt like I was bruised from a kick! It was vile.
A friend told me about Mooncup a year or two ago, and I did investigate, but put it off. Desperate enough to go to the doctor to request a hysterectomy to free me from my misery, I decided to give it a go. It has revolutionised my period. Gone is the leaking, the general aching and bruised feeling, and obviously it hasn’t affected my flow, but I am able to get on with my life and not even remember I am having my period. Thank you!!

Aly – 1st January 2015

I’m 32. Decided to use a Mooncup for ecological reasons, and also I was having constant UTIs and wondered if switching to a Mooncup might help. Two things I’ve noticed since using a Mooncup- little or no period pain and a big reduction in the amount of UTIs I get. I am very pleased with it. I love that I don’t have to worry about buying tampons or carrying them around with me. I’ve had no problems at all using the Mooncup. So glad I made the switch!

Lily – 19th December 2014

I had wanted to try a Mooncup for some time as liked the idea of being more green, but I never seemed to get round to buying one. Finally, after getting more and more uncomfortable with tampons, especially after having a baby and getting a copper coil fitted, which made my periods heavier and more painful, I ordered one online. I am coming to the end of my first month using it and I am amazed. It is so comfortable, and far from being messy, apart from a little bit when changing, I feel much cleaner during my period than I ever have. My cramps were less and I didn’t even know I was wearing it and could go much longer inbetween changes. I can’t get over how easy it is to use, it was a little fiddly first time and I had to cut the stem almost off, but after a couple of goes it was easy to insert and then really easy to remove, just lean back on the toilet and give a couple of gentle pushes with your muscles and it moves down enough to get hold of and pull gently out. I am just annoyed that I did not try it sooner as I’m 38 now. I have just had to tell all of my female friends as they all need to try it and see how wonderful it is. My daughter is only small, but I know what I will be introducing her to when she starts her periods (many years down the line). Thanks Mooncup you are a life changing discovery!

J – 10th November 2014

When a friend told me about the Mooncup I initially thought Yuck! and dismissed the idea. Then I had my daughter and my periods got really heavy, I needed tampons and pads but still had embarrassing leaks so eventually I stopped going out socially during my on days as it was too stressful! Also my period pains got worse, I would spend hours bent up with a hot water bottle getting grumpy with anyone and everyone! So I decided to try it, that was about 4 years ago. The first few days of using it were a bit hit or miss but once I got used to it it changed everything. I no longer have to fill my supermarket trolley with tampons and pads saving me about £10 a month, or fill handbags to bursting point once a month. No more worries about leaks, even heavy periods go by with ease. My period pains have gone, I don’t seem to get PMT. It’s less messy than I had to cope with before. I can’t fault it! I only wish I had known about it sooner, I could have saved so much waste from tampons,goodness knows how much money and stopped so many days being ruined by cramps. Thank you to everyone that was involved in creating this amazing product! I have recommended it to friends and will be sure to tell my daughter when she gets her periods and hopefully I can save her some of the pain and misery that I had to go through! : )

Ruby – 6th September 2014

Trying out the mooncup has not been a stress free experience with a few adjustments needed to positioning and one minor panic about the cup being stuck forever… That being said I have had no cramps, no accidents or leakage and a period which stopped 2 days earlier than normal. There is no discomfort and the washing process is surprisingly easy with a small water bottle in your handbag! Go and buy one it will change your periods for the better!!

Betsy – 5th September 2014

I purchased the mooncup after reading the reviews online over a few months, as a fibroid and heavy period sufferer(I’ve taken various medication and numerous operations but refuse an hysterectomy) I decided as I’d tried every other form of sanitary protection I had nothing to lose! The best decision I have made, I have just had the most easiest, convenient and stress free period for over 10 years! The mooncup is amazing, I couldn’t praise it enough, inserting it is easy( but I have used a diaphragm for contraception for years) it kept me clean and fresh, no leakage, no stomach cramps and no embarrassing moments where I would suddenly pass blood clots and find myself covered! Emptying it was easy and I also found the measurements inside the cup very useful as it is a way for me to monitor blood loss( I am anemic). For some reason I didn’t experience as much pain, or bleeding and it didn’t last as long( 5 days instead of the usual 10 plus) I can not recommend this product enough, I wish I had discovered it years ago! For the firat time in over 10 years I actually had a life during my period. I almost don’t dread my next period! Highly recommended

Michelle – 26th August 2014

My reasoning for purchasing a mooncup was the environmental benefits, I try to do my bit where I can and after hearing about mooncups I was keen to ditch the pads and give it a go. Having been on the contraceptive pill for 10 years, 3 on the injection I hadn’t had a period for quite sometime and when I decided to ‘go natural’ again last year I was severely regretting my decision due to how long and painful my periods were. Whilst researching the mooncup I read women claiming that using the mooncup had shortened their periods and made them less painful, I was a little sceptical but thought if it did work it would just be another benefit. I can now say wholeheartedly it’s true. My periods have gone from 8 days to 3, my flow is not as heavy as it appeared from using towels, the pain is minimal now and lasts for half a day as opposed to 3/4 and I can actually go out and do things rather than lay in bed almost in tears. It was tricky the first couple of times I used it but I soon learnt the best way for me to insert it and it’s now quick and easy to use. I can hand on heart say I will always use a mooncup now, I already can’t imagine my period without it. I feel better knowing I’ve lessened my environmental impact greatly and I’m so much happier on my period now because of the reduced pain and the number of days I am on, to the point, I’ve even forgotten a couple of times that I’m in my period because I can feel no side effects and no horrible towel.

Kaylie – 21st August 2014

I bought my Mooncup on a whim a year ago before I went travelling. I had never liked tampons because I found them too dry and uncomfortable (even the light flow ones) and found pads bulky and often messy because the flow of my periods can be a little unpredictable. Mooncups are amazing, especially for someone travelling without regular access to decent toilets and not much luggage space. You can pop it in in the morning and take it out when you get home from your day out if your periods aren’t too heavy. I got the hang of inserting the cup straight off the bat so I was quite lucky, and quite often I forget it’s even there! I’ve only once had a problem with my Mooncup overflowing and that was because it is so unobtrusive that I actually forgot I was on my period! I also find the Mooncup seems to help with my period cramps. However, the biggest advantage of the Mooncup for me is the smell. At times with pads I found that I would sometimes get an odd smell(disgusting, I know!) which made me self conscious and meant I changed pads even more frequently creating even more rubbish. But with the Mooncup I don’t get anything like this, the blood that collects in the cup doesn’t give off a smell at all, which is fantastic. I used to find periods so annoying, but now they are so easy to deal with. All of this makes Mooncup the best choice for me and I know I’ll never go back to other methods of sanitary protection.

Lynn – 31st July 2014

I tried using the Mooncup several years ago and initially found removing it quite painful so gave up for a few years. Then a close friend told me she had started using it and how good it was so persuaded me to give it another try. So glad I did as 16 months on I can honestly say it’s the best thing I have ever used! After a bit of practice I was able to remove the Mooncup correctly and since then have noticed my pms is not as bad, I hardly get any cramps when on my period, if anything it feels like a gentle release. Also during some cycles my period is only 4 days instead of 5 or 6 and I have become more “at one” with my body and no longer dread my period every month.

Vicky – 26th July 2014

I am a happy user of mooncup for about 2 years now. I remember being a bit suspicious about it when my friend first told me about it. But I decided to give it a go, and I am so happy I did. I no longer have to buy expensive sanitary products every month. I am never caught off guard, by not having any tampons in the house when I need them. And it really has made me feel a lot more positive about my period. I no longer dread it, and often forget that I am on it when I am using my mooncup. It is that confortable!
When using disposable products I used to get horrible cramps. After starting using the mooncup these have drastically receded, and I rarely experience period pain these days.

And as a bonus I have the emotional gratification of knowing that I am making a smaller contribution when it comes to waste going in to landfills.

All in all a completely positive experience, and I will never go back to disposable sanitary products. Now I am the one telling all my friends how great the product is.

Veronica – 15th July 2014

I LOVE my mooncup! I have recently changed career from shop work to gardening. The lack of toilets and bins therefore prompted my purchase. I will never look back. I find it very easy to use and a lot cleaner than having to carry used sanitary products around in the van and it’s nice not to carry pads and tampons in every handbag. It copes with the varied physical parts of my job; running, bending, climbing, hanging, kneeling ect. When I get hot and sweat from digging I don’t have to worry about gross odours and I feel cleaner knowing that I’m not sat sweating in my blood all day. In terms of comfort nappy rash from thick pads is eliminated and I don’t have to worry about wearing pants at night. It also means (like tampons) I can fill my pee bottle without making it obvious to my colleagues (all men) that I’m on. It has reduced my cramps to almost nothing, though they weren’t awful to start with and I’m finding that my period is over much faster. I am also finding that, oddly, I am really enjoying learning about and monitoring my period. This was something I wasn’t expecting. 🙂 Basically ladies; great idea, well made, economically advantageous, ecologically friendly and easy to use!

Laura – 12th July 2014

I heard about Mooncup at a festival a couple of years ago and thought it would be gross. But since then I have become a lot greener and try and do everything I can to reduce waste etc. So I thought I would try Mooncup because I found that I was getting through a lot of tampons and getting quite bad cramps. I don’t get any pains now and generally feel better… think it’s due to now having a load of chemicals soaking into me every month! Not to mention I no longer worry about leaks when I’m at the gym, or asleep, or any other time… I can trust it to keep me clean and it is so easy to use… Never have to buy another sanitary product or throw anything away… AMAZING!

Jennifer K – 22nd February 2013

This is so amazing, it’s been a cramp free, with a lighter flow and I have actually not been bothered by my period thus month. I actually find having periods quite disturbing and upsetting normally. I started when I was 11 years old and I think it traumatised me a little to be honest. But with my lovely moon cup I have felt comfortable with my body and its natural process for the first time ever, normally I spend a week a month feeling absolutely discusted at what my body is doing. NO MORE!!!

Hannah – 12th February 2013

Possibly the best money I have ever spent. I just wish someone had told me about it sooner. Im on a mission to persuade my friends it’s the way forward. Much more comfortable and effective than any pads or tampons and cramps are no longer an issue for me. Thank you Mooncup. It really has changed my life! X

Caitlin x – 15th January 2013

I am 47 and have spent the last couple of years fighting with very difficult periods. They moved very close together (every 21 days), they were so heavy that I kept flooding first thing in the morning, spilling blood all over the bathroom floor before I could get to the loo in time. Spent my time worrying every time I sat down in case I flood the chair (especially when I was in someone else’s house) and holidays have been a nightmare when sleeping in a hotel bed, I had no sleep worrying that I was going to leak all over the sheets which I frequently did. I also had enormous clots and lots of pain, making my period a very dreaded experience. I can’t use tampons because of thrush and I find they always leave bits inside you and dry you out and make you sore so I have been going round in the daytime wearing the largest night time towels that I could find and still leaking all over the place.
One day before Christmas, I had had enough of all this and started to look on the Internet to see if there was a product which might help me with this problem and I stumbled across Mooncup. Thank goodness I did as it is the answer to all my prayers. Although at first I found it tricky to put in and out I have now mastered it and trimmed the stem so that it no longer causes an irritation. I no longer have any floods and am looking forward to my next holiday without worrying. I no longer have clots and have very little pain! I don’t know how to explain this but I am so grateful to the Mooncup people for making my life tolerable again. If you are in any doubt, give it a try, you won’t regret it.

Victoria – 30th December 2012

I just want to say one thing to the creators of mooncup. Thankyou!! I have always had a problem with heavy, painful, erratic periods. I would easily get through a pack of pain killers each month just to combat the pain, and dont get me started on the amount of sanitary products i had to buy each month. Ive only used it for the last week but im already a convert. The best thing for me is that i stayed with my sister for a few days recently, and didnt feel totally lost and embarassed. I didnt live in the toilet or have to try and hide used tampons from family members like i usually do. I even went cycling today, something i would normally find too painful whilst using a tampon and too uncomfortable with a pad, and only just now remembered im wearing my mooncup! The only negative i can think of is it took me ten years to find it, by chance, as i was in Boots and depressingly remembered i was due on and had only a few tampons left. I was wary at first but figured ive spent 20 pounds on less useful things so id try it. And i can honestly say this is the least painful period ive had in years! No more expensive, painful, smelly, itchy sanitary products. I feel almost free from the curse of periods 🙂 All women should try it, and i sincerely hope they feel a sense of freedom too. Thankyou mooncup!

Miss V – 28th December 2012

When I bought my mooncup (as a Christmas present to myself) I was a little apprehensive at first, but even now on my first use I can say that I can see myself falling in love with it. Although insertion took a few attempts, it fits comfortably. As somebody with painful, heavy periods this is a godsend. No more spending a fortune on sanitary products!

Rosie – 26th December 2012

On month 7 with my mooncup and I’m head over heels in love with her!! Took a few months to feel comfortable and confident using her and there were days I felt frustrated, but the thought of going back to tampons kept me trying and now we pretty slick!!
I work outdoors all day, I walk dogs, and felt awful having to use my customers toilets at the that time of the month, and I couldn’t possibly have left my tampons in their bins, yuck! Mooncup has made this so much easier!

Also my cramps are almost completely gone, think most of the pain was psychological (trying to hold on) but I don’t feel the need with the mooncup.

Managed lunch in the big smoke with the girls today, 2 re-freshes completed successfully with the help of a bottle of water stashed in my bag! Was so pleased! Can’t wait to introduce my daughter (she’s 11, nearly there!) to a mooncup so she never has to feel the way I was made to feel when my periods started!!

All hail the Mooncup!

Thank you

Rachael – 20th December 2012

I have been using the MoonCup for about five months now. For me, it is fab. I had a lot of problems with basically drying out and forgetting to change tampons ( and getting bored having to do it all the time – im lazy lol). It doesn’t stop my cramps but it does make life easier. No problem leaving it for longer. I had no real problems with changingetc, it does take time to get use to but then so do tampons right? Try it, it is great. And no having to remember to buy tampons.
Also thanks to the Mooncup team, who sent me a new cup when I got the wrong size!!

Rachael – 10th December 2012

I’ve been using my Mooncup for about 6 months now so I thought it’d be a good time to write a review.First off, I had used tampons for 5 and a half years before switching to my Mooncup, I had very heavy, very painful periods (super plus tampons had to be changed every 2-3 hours on heavy days) and whilst my periods are still heavy they’re nowhere near as painful as they used to be and even though they are still heavy I only need to empty my Mooncup every 4-5 hours on heavy days. I recently had to use tampons again as I got my period early and had left my Mooncup at home and the pain was almost making me faint, as soon as I got home and put my Mooncup in the pain started to go away.
I am converted for life and currently trying to convert my friends.

Martha – 12th November 2012

The first thing I did when I turned 18 was to set up a Paypal account and order a Mooncup online. I’d had my eye on it for a while after having seen a sticker in a restaurant bathroom, but was too embarrassed to ask for one, and also, at the time, in a country that didn’t sell it in stores.
Like many others, I first found it difficult to insert/extract and wondered whether I had wasted my money. Thankfully, I kept trying and the Mooncup has become a staple in my life. It’s so much cleaner and easier than conventional throwaway products. The reusability and friendliness towards the environment is just another bonus!

Now, two years later, I bought another one in Boots as a backup. For people shying away due to the price: The investment is quickly made back if you think about the horrendous prices of tampons and pads, and the amounts you use each month.

I had always been plagued by PMS, strong cramps and moods. After starting to use the Mooncup, I found that I get fewer cramps, weaker and shorter periods, and less dryness and discomfort.

It’s great to get to know yourself and “what’s going on down there”. You’re really in control. I like that you can leave it in for longer without worrying about leakage. I had some problems with leakage in the start, until I figured out to wear it lower. Now I only occasionally wear pantyliners, just to feel safe.

A while ago, I had a contraceptive-pill-induced hormonal problem, causing me to bleed excessively. Thanks to the Mooncup, and much to my gynecologist’s surprise, I could tell exactly how much I was bleeding.

I even went on a 1-month expedition to Madagascar recently. As I was always carrying ample supplies of drinking water and my Mooncup, having my period there was no problem. The other girls, by contrast, did much complaining about their “supplies”, all the while leaving an unsightly trail of used items, wrappers, and applicators in the pristine wilderness….

Bottom Line? GET ONE. You will not regret it. It sounds too good to be true – but it simply is that good!

Sophie – 04th November 2012

First impressions…
Well, today is the first time I have used my new mooncup…. First thing this morning, I hated it. It felt way too big to put in and just too weird! Probably because I don’t know “down there” very well, despite being married and having given birth, there seems to be a forbidden rule to not get to know your own body properly.

Anyway, I now realise that my vagina is not a perfect circular tube like I always imagined, but rather like a squashed donut. This knowledge makes it a whole lot easier to put in and remove!

I’m not 100% confident yet, but my first attempt to put in, remove, trim stalk, put back in again, took over 30 minutes – all with my 11 month old daughter screaming through the loo door! Not a relaxing environment…

Today is the first – and therefore the worst – day of my period, and my pains are no less using the mooncup than with towels or tampons (and today, haven’t even subsided with pain relief :o( ), but I do lack the horrible undercarriage / groin pain so far that I get with tampons. But I could feel when my mooncup needed changing as I felt rather ‘heavy’, but this equally could be due to poor pelvic floor.

But changing it was not messy at all, nothing like I imagined, certainly no worse than with a tampon, but the squatting was rather difficult! I’m sure it will all get easier with time.

One thing though, I’m amazed at how little blood I’ve lost so far… if using tampons or towels, I’d have had to change several times by now, but with the Mooncup I clearly saw that it wasn’t even half full… crazy, all this belly ache for that…!!

Anyway, I’m here this far and don’t refret it, but it’s a totally new experience and Im enjoying not feeling like I need a shower / itchy / wearing a nappy / feeling a tampon…. so, so far so good :o)

One last thing, removing it straight down really hurts… ouch… make sure you do like the instructions say – one side at a time – and don’t rush (even if the squatting is getting to your thighs, or your baby is yelling at you…!) x

Amz – 27th September 2012

I saw your testimonial section and I couldn’t help but add my experiences! I’ve known about Mooncups for years, but for some reason, never really saw it as an option. I WISH I had gotten one sooner. I have Endometriosis – heavy periods, which are painful and messy and uncomfortable. I dread the day my period comes. I have a big hippy friend who doesn’t stop talking about Mooncups and how I should be a convert and go for it, but the outlay has always concerned me for something which I thought I would use, hate and bung away. Man was I wrong!! I LOVE my Mooncup. I feel clean, well protected, confident and with much reduced pain, especially after day 1. I would forget I was on my period if I wasn’t climbing the walls for chocolate and spinach! I fitted first time without leaks. I feel so clean, I can never ever imagine going back to other sanitary protection now. The equivalent would be getting rid of your loo and going back to a line pit! Wonderful, wonderful Mooncup, we will be friends for years!

Megan C – 10th September 2012

I saw the Mooncup ad in the London tube about 2 years ago and then went to Boots to check it out but still was not convinced and sticked to tampons. I’ve always had really bad backache during my period since I can remember but thought that it is normal ‘period thing’. Few weeks ago I found out that my friend is using IT so I had a chance to talk to ‘real’ person and get some more info. She said that it is the best thing ever and it is not messy at all which was my main concern. So I bought one straight away and…I wish I bought it earlier!!! Very comfortable, no problems with using it from day one and my back pain magically disappeared! Would recommend this to every woman. This is a must have item and should be wider advertised so more women could get their hands on it. I’m going to try to talk every woman I know to it.

Alina – 29th August 2012

Seriously, just buy one. It will change your life! I first heard of the mooncup years ago when a friend of a friend recommended it to me (after typical girly talk about heavy periods/ the horror of the pads and tampon combo) and my gut reaction was ‘ick’. I wrongly assumed it would be messy, smelly and just part of a hippie fad. Meanwhile, I was struggling with crippling period pain and near constant urinary tract infections (caused, I now believe, by large tampons expanding and pressing uncomfortably on my urinary tract). I was also reading horror stories about the bleaching and chemicals that tampons undergo and resenting the massive quantities of tampons I was being forced to buy each month to cope with my flow. I only properly looked into getting a mooncup a year ago, and I was won over straightaway. This website had loads of really good, detailed information and the testimonials really helped sway me because I could see that lots of other women who had been struggling had found a solution with the cup.
My first try was a bit hit and miss, mainly because getting it in and out takes a little getting used to. But by the second month I was a bit of a pro! I can honestly say that this is one of the best products I have ever bought in my life. It has improved my quality of life considerably. The pain I experience with cramps has reduced (I think maybe the flexibility of the cup helps) and the fact that it holds so much more fluid than a tampon means that long shifts at work are a lot less stressful. I really can’t imagine how I managed without it!
I made sure to stick the stickers in public places, hoping that if at least one woman who struggled like I did sees it and looks into it further, it will be worth it. My friends are sick of me ranting on at them about how great it is, but I’ve already won a couple of them over. It’s a total joke that pads and tampons are the default sanitary product, especially as the mooncup is a much more environmentally sustainable alternative. I really hope that I see this change in my lifetime.
So, from the bottom of my heart, a massive thank you to you women behind mooncup. This is the first customer review I have ever left, but I just had to let you know what a great job you’re doing. Many thanks, Ffion

Ffion – 20th July 2012

I purchased my Mooncup recently and I already adore it.
During my period I suffer from stomach pains, bloating and bowel problems. I had been using tampons for a number of years and had this horrible dry sensation inside. I also felt as though it was a bizarre foreign body inside of me that I never quite got used to. Plus, I was spending so much money every month on the various sizes. I saw some tampons on the shelf a couple of months ago and they were perfumed. I thought it was disgusting that women were being made to feel that their period is some kind of unnatural, dirty thing. I immediately bought a Mooncup and haven’t looked back!

My stomach cramps have somehow decreased, I no longer feel all dry and irritated inside and I feel totally comfortable wearing a Mooncup and more “at one” with my body.

I really recommend buying a Mooncup. I have found it so much better than sanitary towels and tampons. Also it’s better for the environment and so much cheaper!

Selina – 07th July 2012

I can’t believe how pleased I am with the mooncup – now I’ve given myself a few days to get used to inserting etc.
There is no leakage, I need to empty it once in the morning and once at night because it’s just no where near full.

I’ve not had cramps since I started using the mooncup, and I’m not dry like I used to be and importantly sex with my husband doesn’t hurt after a period anymore.

Anyway, I want to tell everyone about them because I can’t believe no-one knows! I wish I’d known when I was a teenager! and whilst I’m at the wishing fountain – I wish that some rich person would sponser an advertising campaign on tv so you could compete with tampons and towels (two useless inventions in comparrison that women have to use each month).

I think I know what I’ll be buying everyone for Christmas!

Laura – 27th June 2012

I found a thread dedicated to the mooncup on a health forum I’m a member of, I read the thread from start to finish to gather an idea of people’s individual experiences. By the time I had reached page 49 I was sold and ordered one, I was told to expect a 14 working day wait for it’s arrival, instead it arrived in just four days, I didn’t have to pay p&p which in itself is a great bonus. I have now been able to put the mooncup to the test and boy have I put it through it’s paces. Tested against a heavy period, chronic crippling period pains, the use of an IUD and tampons which for me have generally worked. Today I strode past the feminine hygiene aisle, feeling so pleased I will no longer have to spend money on disposable sanitary items or add to the ever increasing landfill. The mooncup really is a too good to be true product that is actually true!! :)You only have to read a few of these fabulous testimonials to be sold. Absolutely thrilled with my mooncup and only sad that the mooncup idea didn’t get round to my lovely mother before the menopause hit, I’m actually pretty sure she’d like another period just to test it out herself. Fab, fab fab, thankyou ladies 🙂

Kelly – 24th June 2012

I had heard of Moon Cup quite a while ago but had put it off for being a bit squeamish. Then this year my friend told me about a blog post in which A WOMAN FOUND MOULD ON HER TAMPON! I recommend googling the story.
Combined with the increased guilt of wastage and wanting to save money I decided to switch.
Now, I wouldn’t go back! My period pain has decreased. I always thought my dire pain and sickness was something to do with Tampon’s since as soon as I inserted a Tampon I’d be vomiting for the rest of the day. I had to go on the pill to sort it out and am admittedly still on the pill a little too afraid I’ll be having heavy and irregular periods again.
It’s a little difficult to get used to at first with some dire accidents but I persevered, I will not go back to achey, dry and scratchy periods again. I don’t even mind the tiny mess you inevitably encounter using this product because it’s worth it knowing my body and purse is better off and hopefully the planet too.
And I love the fact we can wear it when we know we’re going to be on that day and not having to rush back and forth to the toilet playing a guessing game. And I never have to worry about running out or carrying around extras.
I’m gently working on my friends with the effort of not wanting to drive them crazy over it.
Thank you Mooncup!

Siobhan – 21st June 2012

Having suffered from heavy periods for years, I was getting fed up with embarrassing leaks and cramping. I was offered a hormone coil but didn’t like the sound of it. I hate wearing towels as I have to wear bulky ones for my flow and as for tampons, the same problem. Even the highest absorbency ones would suddenly start leaking.
I love my Mooncup, I can forget I even have a period for a few hours and no more hunting down Extra Super sanitary protection!

Miranda – 19th June 2012

I get heavy and painful periods, and always manage to stain my underwear with pads and tampons, no matter how often I replace them. Periods for me were simply unmanageable.But since I bought the Mooncup, things have been a hell of a lot easier. I have been using it for a little over a year. It took me two or three periods to get the hang of inserting and removing properly, (I found that I was placing it too high so it leaked and I found it painful to remove because I wasn’t breaking the vacuum). However now that I have learned how to use it correctly, it never leaks and is never uncomfortable. I only change it three times a day, and if I don’t get to change it on time, it’s never a problem. It doesn’t leak. I can tell you it is more comfortable than a tampon. It isn’t dry like a tampon and although it is a lot larger and looks quite intimidating at first, it isn’t at big as it seems. If you are a teenager like me, you may think it won’t fit, but it sits at a wider part of your vagina than the muscles at the entrance. It is not too big. Once you get used to insertion and removal, it is not a problem. It works perfectly overnight for me too. When I bought it, I thought it seemed expensive for what it is, but for what it does, and for the money it will save you long term, it is more than worth it.
I admit, my reasons for purchasing it had nothing to do with lessening my impact on the environment, but it put’s a smile on my face to know that it does, and that I am actually more comfortable for it.

Joe-Anna (17) – 12th June 2012

“Ich habe gerade die beste Periode meines Lebens! Ihr könnt Euch nicht vorstellen (oder vielleicht doch?) was das für ein historischer Moment ist: Die letzten 15 Jahre lang hatte ich riesige Probleme mit Bauchschmerzen und war weder mit Binden noch mit Tampons so richtig zufrieden… und dann bin ich irgendwann auf die Mooncup-Website gestoßen. Nach fünf Minuten Lesen habe ich die Bestellung abgeschickt und vor drei Tagen dann die Mooncup zum ersten Mal probiert. Zugegeben: Der erste Versuch war nicht gerade das, was ich mir vorgestellt hatte. Erst ging die Mooncup nicht rein – und dann nicht mehr raus. Eine Stunde lang saß ich (zunehmend verzweifelt) auf dem Badezimmerteppich und habe die Mooncup und all diese total begeisterten Erfahrungsberichte auf der Website verflucht. Und jetzt? Tja, zwei Tage später schicke ich Euch einen begeisterten Erfahrungsbericht!
Warum das Ganze so genial ist, erklärt sich glaube ich von selbst. Ich habe auch keine Ahnung, wie ich mir erklären soll, dass ich keine Regelschmerzen mehr habe – es ist einfach so. Vielleicht hat es damit zu tun, dass ich bisher nie etwas mit meiner Periode zu tun haben wollte. Und der Schmerz war so eine Art Erinnerung daran, dass ich eine Frau bin, auch wenn ich das oft einfach ignoriert habe. Jetzt wo ich anders damit umgehe hat der Schmerz seine Ursache verloren… und langsam aber sicher ahne ich, dass es womöglich eine wunderbare Sache ist, einmal im Monat seine Tage zu haben.”

Stephanie – 18th May 2012

Last weekend, I stayed with some friends and totally forgot to pack my mooncup… Disaster! Of course my period arrived and I had to use tampons and towels again for the first time in over a year. It was AWFUL! I had forgotten how uncomfortable and horrible-feeling they were. It really made me appreciate my mooncup when I got home and could change over. The comfort and ease of the mooncup is bliss compared to the dryness and cramps caused by tampons and the leakage and dirty big-nappy feeling of towels. I’m definitely going to remember it in future, thank you mooncup!

Rachel – 09th May 2012

Years of tampon use, 2 children, 2 coils and now a diapraghm user (due to both coils ending in tears at the 18m point and can’t do hormones!)and about a year of umm-ing and arr-ing about buying a mooncup, i finally decided to just bite the bullet, save money, save the enviroment and give it a try! I have to say I was a bit dubious initially about leakage and fitting it properly (which i did struggle with a bit after auto-pilot high fitting tampons and diaphragms) but OMG, from the moment i put it in (and cut the stem a bit) i was a TOTAL convert! My periods are shorter and less painfull now (could also be connected to no coils anymore) but i’m sure it helps! I just can’t imagine using a tampon now! I do have to say though even once you’re poured the stuff down the loo, it’s still bit icky so i always use a loo with a basin in it so I can fling it straight in the sink, quick rinse and then it’s totally clean and ready to use again. But remember that bit, and for anyone who is, like i was, a bit dubious.. GIVE IT A GO!! I honestly don’t think you will look back!

Abi – 14th April 2012

I have been using a Mooncup for a number of years now and it has saved me a lot of money and embarrassing leaks as I have very heavy periods. I DO still need to wear a pantyliner but change it far less frequently, and I think that the leaks I have are more due to a retroverted uterus than an actual failing on the part of the Moooncup. I have less period pain, more money and less concern about the environment; the country I live in rarely sells tampons; and because all toilets have a little washing hose next to them here, I can change discreetly anywhere 🙂

Henneke – 26th March 2012

After searching ‘alternative to tampons and pads’ on google, Mooncup came up in all the searches so I decided to be open-minded have a look, I only bought one this afternoon while in the middle of my period and already I am seeing and feeling a difference. I have been diagnosed with a ovary problem which as a result meant I can no longer use tampons without extreme pain in my ovary occurring on insertion. So I have to make do with pads throughout my very heavy periods, which as you can imagine isn’t ideal (especially during the night) And just to top things off, I have become very allergic to all brands of pads and get painful rashes down there, which was the point where I couldn’t take it any more which is why I took to google for alternatives! Now I have all the freedom of a tampon i.e. swimming etc without the pain and dryness that tampons give. Already there’s all those benefits just for me alone before you even take into consideration how eco-friendly it is. How many times have you put a high absorbency night pad in expecting more just to find in the morning that hardly anything has come out during the night and now you have to throw away a virtually unused pad to go on landfill. I could go on all day about it, but all in all, even only after a few hours of owning one and reading all the brilliant reviews and the facts, it comes out on top every time. I really don’t understand why this method isn’t as well known as tampons in this day and age of everything being eco! I can see me using this for years and years to come, and definitely encouraging my future daughters to use it as well. I will recommend to all the women I know. Thank you xxx

Hannah – 23rd March 2012

I bought my mooncup when I was on holiday in the UK about 8 years ago. I found it invaluable when travelling to places like Thailand where the toilet facilities did not cater for tampons or sanitry towels. I feel great knowing that I am not adding to land-fill or blocking any sewerage pipes. I have recently had an IUD fitted and had to wear a tampon due to unforseen circumstances – I suffered extreme cramps when wearing the tampon and realised it was due to the pressure against my uterus. Once I was able to wear my mooncup again – the cramping disappeared.

Debi – Australia – 06th March 2012

I had bad period pains so in desperation tried the mooncup. The pain eased straight away. Please try it. Why suffer? I wish I’d tried it years ago!

Steph – 29th February 2012

I heard about the mooncup and it intrigued me so i looked into it and was impressed with what I read. I couldnt wait for my period to try it. My plan was to have a few goes before the big day but life kept getting in the way. When it did, I had another quick read of the leaflet and gave it a go. I was surprised how easy it was. I was expecting it to feel a little uncomfortable but no it didnt. I was going to a gig that night and decided to risk leaving it in cos I was just going to use it at home for the first month. I am so glad I did as I felt no discomfort or pain as I usually get very painful periods. I wore a panty liner just in case but there was no leakages at all. Gave me a huge sense of freedom, so much so I had forgotten I was even on my period. Usually I also feel ‘unclean’ but not while using this. Taking it out isnt as bad as it sounds, just got to take it slow. Im 3 days in now and I wont be going back to conventional methods.My boyfriend keeps laughing at me cos I cant stop going on about it, just so surprised at the ease of it all. Girls, dont delay, try it today!! You wont regret it.

Lisa – 26th February 2012

It had been thinking of buying a Mooncup for a while but it still seemed a bit nasty and weird to me. But then one day my friend asked me if I knew about Mooncup. I was like, yeah, seems nasty. But then she told that she thought that she had lost her Mooncup but found it and new one is on it’s way and if I want to buy it from her. Then I thought why not.. And when I started using it I felt sorry that I didn’t buy it before! It is just amazing! I almost feel like I don’t have my period when using it. Also, I have terrible stomach and back aces and they have really reduced. I really feel like I have to suggest it to all my friends!

Anja – 17th February 2012

Started using my mooncup a little before Christmas after months of dithering over whether to buy one.
It is the best thing ever! Saves the expense of pads, can be used on light medium and heavy days and for whatever reason eases my period cramps! I used to be on transexamic acid to control the pain now I usually dont take paracetamol!

Hayley – 23rd January 2012

Since having my second child my periods had become sooo heavy. At first I tried the Mirena, but it left me feeling bloated and uncomfortable. Hormonal birth control just isn’t for me. So I ended up having a copper coil put instead, which can make periods EVEN HEAVIER!!! Thankfully this hasn’t been a problem thanks to the Mooncup. My periods are still heavy, but the Mooncup copes admirably. It took a few times to get the hang of putting it in to ensure no leakage, but we’re there now and I’m not looking back. Main benefits for me – copes with heavy periods even through the night, periods seem less painful, periods are shorter, save money. So I get a bit of blood on my fingers. Who cares?! It’s all mine!

Jocelyn – 06th January 2012

Fantastic-can’t rate it highly enough! when i first got mine i wanted to buy all my (girl) friends one. They declined..I’ve had mine for about 6yrs now. very easy to use, clean, no ache like i used to get with tampons.
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.

helen – 19th November 2011

It’s tricky at first – but it really does get easier to use. And you know what? It is liberating! Strange but you feel as though you don’t need to buy tampons, pads etc etc ever again and it’s amazing!

GP – 7th February 2010

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter