Discreet

Discreet

I bought my mooncup over 2 years ago when I moved into a house of boys and didn’t want to leave used tampons in the bathroom bins, and I can honestly say I’ve never looked back. I didn’t believe the hype but it was so true – no more leaks, no more tampons, no more anxiety about whether or not I’ve bled through my tampon already. Every woman should own a mooncup.

Alice – 3rd January 2018

I am 16 years old and I started using the Mooncup on my 13th birthday. I thought it would be difficult but it was very easy to use and did not hurt a bit.
My favourite way of emptying is in the shower. I empty it down the plughole and wash it in warm water with Dettol soap or just a little anti-dandruff shampoo which keeps it sweet. Being wet, it is very easy to put back in.
A friend tried a cheap one from China. Because the silicone was soft it collapsed inside her and leaked. Also the sizes can be different and the cup may not fit as well. There really is no substitute for the UKs own Mooncup!
The Mooncup is always a perfect fit and I cannot even tell if it is there, it is just as if it is a natural part of my body.
Ideal for sport, no string to show in changing rooms or communal showers! And long-lasting and leak-free, it lasts me all day whatever I am doing!.
Now my 10-yr-old sister wants one but Mum is not so keen on that idea!

Suzie- 20th December 2017

I heard of the Mooncup about 4 or 5 years ago but I was a little put off in my somewhat immature schoolgirl mindset. I’ve never liked using pads because I find them uncomfortable, and I was always terrified of leaking whenever I used a tampon. Coming to university I thought it was about time I actually did something about how much I hated tampons, so I ordered a Mooncup on a whim, just to try it out. The first time I used it typically did not go too smoothly but I persevered and I’m so glad I did! I have never worried about leaking since using the Mooncup. I’ve not been embarrassed to be on my period since, taking a bag or a tampon stuffed up my sleeve to the loo every time I’ve gone, just in case. And only now since not using disposable sanitary products do I realise how many I threw away! I have recommended it to so many friends, and genuinely tell them the Mooncup changed my life: my heart no longer sinks when I get my period because I know I can just carry on as normal.

Anna – 21st June 2017

My sister has been using the ‘mooncup’ for well over a year and I was very reluctant.. Anyway she bought me one the other week and I have just used it for my latest period!
I am amazed!!
Thank You!
No more stuffing tampax up my sleeve at work or carrying my hangbag to the toilet.. no more leaking during the night..
I will recommend this to all of my friends and have already requested stickers and leaflets.
Thanks again!

Julie – 8th March 2017

I’d been meaning to try one for ages but never actually got one until a friend told me about it. Since having a baby my period has become very heavy, and I’ve been finding both pads and tampons annoying, uncomfortable, messy, a hassle. This is the best solution ever – it took some getting used to (ie, the first two or three times dealing with it, cutting down the stem etc) but is now beyond brilliant. Convenient, very(!) comfortable, worry free, “roundup” free, and I’m now enjoying pristine sheets and underwear during my period which is a massive novelty and feels pretty great! In a logical world this should make all other sanitary products obsolete.

Julia – 24th December 2015

I’ve been using a mooncup for 10 years now, since after the birth of my first son (I was using washable nappies, and saw the mooncup on the nappy webpage and thought I would give it a go). I have used it since then. I thought at times it was a bit messy and perhaps a bit inconvenient, but cheaper in the long run than tampons and towels and better for the environment so I kept going and kind of got to appreciate it.

THEN this period, I could not find my mooncup; but no worries, thought I, there’s a handful of tampons in the cupboard going spare, it’ll be an easy period. How wrong I was. Mooncups are far more easy than tampons, now I know that for sure!

1)I think have had more leaks in the last 7 days than in the last 10 years. I have been constantly worried about leaks all week!
2)It’s inconvenient to have to remember to take a tampon into the toilet at work every time, just in case, and to ferret in the cupboard at home before going there, and to remember to put enough into my bag for whilst I am out for the day, no such worries with a mooncup, it’s there, you take it out, empty it, clean it put it back, there is nothing to forget;
3)Using a tampon is really no less messy than using a mooncup, (probably much more so, if you consider the frequency of leaks)
4)Tampons do not absorb clotty bits (that’s something I don’t remember from previous tampon use, perhaps it’s a sign of getting old….
5)It’s really great to go swimming with a mooncup – tampons tend to get all bulked up with pool water, but mooncups don’t
6)Period end tends to be a bit uncomfortable because the tampon absorbs vaginal fluids so can be sore to insert/remove

Previously I was a mooncup user. Now I am an EVANGELICAL mooncup user. I cannot believe that anyone would be daft enough to want to use tampons or towels when such a great alternative exists.

I have already been out and bought a brand new mooncup in case my old one doesn’t turn up before my next period. (After 10 years, it is probably not a bad investment!)

P.s. for any long term mooncup users, I really recommend a one period mooncup holiday – you will never want to go back to tampons ever ever again!

Sarah – 14th December 2015

I’m so sad, since I got my Mooncup I had to forget about all my favourite hobbies:
– worrying about leakage
– feeling unclean and worrying about odour
– spending money on sanitary products
– remembering to take them if I stay over somewhere
– finding ways to dispose of towels
– polluting the environment
– always half thinking about when/where the nearest bathroom will be
– feeling like I want to shower 5 times a day
– enjoying the physical discomfort of tampons and towels

Took less time to get the hang of it than I expected, and now I have, it’s like I don’t even notice my period has come and gone because it was so easy. You spend 2 minutes emptying it and then don’t feel like you’re on your period for the next 8 hours.

I am free!

I hope there is a campaign to get these out to women in need, I would support it 100%.

Kate – 12th November 2015

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! No more inserting horrible dry tampons. No more wet strings. No more running around trying to find someone with a spare when it’s time to change.
The measure on the cup is great for keeping track of how much I’ve lost. Took a couple of attempts to get the hang of insertion but once it’s in I can’t even feel it (I had trim the stem to the right length). In fact, mine is so comfy that I spent a while looking for it this morning before I remembered that I’d already put it in. Ditsy? Yes! But still testament to how comfortable it is. Easy to change and clean, even out and about. Fantastic product and highly recommended 🙂

Lottie – 22nd October 2015

I’m on my third cycle using the mooncup and I am delighted with it. Feel all round more comfortable and in control with none of that fumbling in the bottom of bags for tampons and trying to hide them about my person on a trip to the loo. As others have said, I feel cleaner and there is none of the previous wastage. A product I will use for years to come. Thank you Mooncup!!

Jo – 18th July 2015

I’m 34 and only wish I’d discovered the mooncup when I was younger! Incredibly easy to use after just a little practice, I did have to trim the stem several times to get a comfortable length and was initially a little worried about changing and cleaning but it’s your body and nothing we haven’t seen before! I no longer have any leaking, worry of leaking or sneaking to the toilet with a tampax hidden up my sleeve! I’m helping the environment, feel better about my health as the mooncup is safe and isn’t bleached as most sanitary products are. I cannot rate this product highly enough if you are thinking about trying the mooncup I urge you to give it a go as with the tiniest bit of practice you will never look back!

Mmjp – 7th April 2015

I cannot recommend the mooncup highly enough! I’ve always had periods which are a little heavy, and I get a few days of bad cramps. Tampons always made my cramps worse, always leaked and I found I had to change them too often to be practical. This left me with pads, which were okay, but uncomfortable, especially in warm weather. I work at a busy restaurant, which means I may be on my feet, running around for 6/7 hours without a break – on my heavy days, using pads was so uncomfortable, I got rashes and just felt unclean. I was always paranoid about leaks, and usually had some overnight. The mooncup has changed all of that! It eases cramps for me, and it is so comfortable – I can’t feel it at all, so much so that I forget I’m on my period sometimes! It’s perfect for my job, as I can leave it in for the duration of a long shift without worrying, and I can tackle all the physical aspects of the job with no restrictions. During the first couple of uses, it can be difficult – my first two tries I had some leaks and could feel it a lot, but by my third period using the mooncup I mastered it. I found I had to fully remove the stem (don’t be afraid to do this if the stem irritates you), and can empty and re-insert the cup in minutes. It’s clean, fast, convenient and is great for the environment, so forget whatever is putting you off buying one – you NEED to try this!!!

Laura – 5th April 2015

I’m 21 years old and just heard about the mooncup. It’s disappointing that tampax and other sanitary products seem to have more marketing material than cups. So, on discovering this product though an article on the internet,I was dubious. If this product is so hygienic, cheap and green; how have I never heard of it before? I did my research and I couldn’t wait to order one. I’ve always had problems with other sanitary products. I found them very irritating, both physically on my skin and how unclean I felt while using them, not to mention the cost and how inconvenient it is having to buy them every month.
However, since using the mooncup I have experienced none of these problems. I’ve felt like I can actually go out and enjoy myself without the worries of leaking etc. While using it I felt totally comfortable and was able to leave it in for the full eight hours without any mess. There is no odor at all, no cramping, and no mess of trying to dispose of stuff discreetly. The most beneficial aspect of the mooncup for me is that I can use it for my light flow without that awful, dry, scratchy feel of the tampon.

The only downfall is that it can be tricky to insert, but I think that is more my problem than the mooncup’s. It can also make some icky noises when removing it. However, cutting off the stem and removing the cup by squeezing it made no sound at all.

I can’t recommend this product enough, it’s saved me money, time, and left my life that little bit less stressful. I no longer dread my period, result!

Thank you so much.

Kay – 29th March 2015

I bought the Moon Cup in January this year, and have now had two periods using it. Switching to the Moon Cup is one of the best decisions I have made in my life! I heard of it a few years ago but was put off by the idea of having to empty it in public places; this however is much easier than you would think as a) you don’t have to change it anywhere as near as much as a tampon and b) like the Q&A’s suggest, simply wiping it or using a water bottle is absolutely fine for the occasional time you do get caught in a cubicle without a sink. I knew when I bought the Moon Cup that it would have a number of advantages which have proved to be just as good as expected:
a) not having to buy tampons any more
b) not contributing to the environmental damage caused by disposable sanitary products
c) not having the dryness caused by a tampon
d) not having the awkward string poking out in embarrassing places such as the swimming pool!
All these advantages have been great and better than expected (the Moon Cup is so comfortable, you can’t tell it’s there, and putting it in and taking it out takes only the tiniest bit of practice!) but what’s been really great about the Moon Cup is the advantages I didn’t think about, which include:
a) Only having to change it every 7-8 hours, even on really heavy days
b) Not having the “odour” that comes along with your period, particularly towards the end of menstruation
c) Not having any “spotting” at the end of my period (bye bye pantyliners!)
d) Not having to worry about the size of tampons vs. flow – the Moon Cup can be worn throughout
e) Being really in touch with my body, and being able to know exactly when I have finished my period
f) They don’t cause any issues with toilet blockages, and you don’t have to deal with the ickyness that is the full sanitary bin in a public place.

Ladies – please try the Moon Cup! I have been singing it’s praises to my friends and I am shocked and actually quite disappointed that so many people think that a period is a “disgusting” thing, and that the Moon Cup is to be avoided – we should not be embarrassed by our bodies or scared of being more in touch with ourselves (yes, quite literally..!)
My only regret is not starting to use it earlier, as having now seen the difference in my body I have realised that the only disgusting and unnatural thing about periods is using any other type of sanitary product!
Go Moon Cup!

Becky – 14th March 2015

It doesn’t smell. It doesn’t leak. You can wear whatever underwear you want (or none at all!). It doesn’t dry you out. It doesn’t leave fibres inside you. You don’t have to deal with it every time you go to the toilet. It can cope with clots. You don’t have to buy more and more every month. There’s no gross string hanging out of you. You don’t have to throw it away and feel guilty about the waste. It doesn’t feel like a nappy. You can measure your period so you know if something unusual happens. It doesn’t come wrapped up in pointless, wasteful packaging. You don’t have to carry loads of supplies around with you.
I feel free.

I did find insertion and removal a bit difficult to start with, but after sticking with it for a couple of days I soon got into the swing of it.

It saves me money, it saves me hassle and it’s comfortable. What more could I ask for?

liz – 9th March 2015

I started using my moon cup this week. Ladies, if you don’t know this product and are still using tampons and pads, I beg you to check it out! It is unbelievably fantastic!!
I never felt so comfortable during my period. No itchiness, no dryness, no leakage, no odour, no waste!! I feel much safer and healthier and in touch with myself. I can move around, I can go into the water for a bath or a swim, I enjoy being close with my boyfriend. And even the pain wasn’t as bad as usual this month.

It took me some time to give it a try because it was unfamiliar to me. I learned about it online and didn’t know anybody in person who was using a menstrual cup. I usually dread my period because I have very bad menstrual cramps and mood swings and the disposable sanitary products dry me out. I’m used to feeling just awful for several days and suffering from itches after each period.

I absolutely hate tampons, they always gave me pain. The fact that the moon cup is inserted into the vagina as is the tampon put me off for some time. I imagined inserting it as painful because of my experience with tampons and the size of the moon cup looked intimidating.

With finally mustering up the courage and giving the moon cup a try, I got the hang of it much quicker than I had expected. It doesn’t feel like a tampon at all, in fact, I find it much easier to insert despite the bigger size. Once it’s in, I barely feel it at all. There’s no burning sensation or uncomfortable itching, it smoothly slides in and sits comfortably low. It doesn’t feel like an intruding object at all.

I can officially state that I’m never going back!! I feel so ridiculously more comfortable and happy, I already lost a bit of my fear regarding my period after using it for only 4 days! Even my boyfriend is fond of it and notices that I’m much happier with it. I showed him the moon cup and dared to really talk about my period with him, I kinda lost a lot of my shame.

I think this product is simply genius. There’s only pros, all the way. Thank you, moon cup!! 😀

Anna – 4th March 2015

I just wanted to share my experience with the moon cup and encourage those of you reading the reviews to give it a try. I am not one to write reviews, but this is one product that all women should know more about. I realize it is not for everyone and you do need to be comfortable with your body to use it, but it is so much more superior to anything I have used. I think I had read about moon cup in an article and was intrigued and came to this website and read a bunch of reviews! I have been using a moon cup for about six months now and like everyone else will not go back! I was concerned it might not work for me since I have a history of vestibulitis and vaginismus (vaginal pain and uncontrollable vaginal contracting) that I needed pelvic floor physical therapy for. Although mostly resolved, I was still wary. This size kind of tripped me up too. I ordered size B- I am 31 and have no kiddos and it works great. There is a learning curve- read the directions and watch their little video- very helpful. Like everyone else said, don’t panic when you first go to take it out and can’t reach it very well! Took me a cycle or so to get really comfortable with insertion, etc.
Pros: you don’t have to deal with changing tampons every 2-4 hours.
A few months in, my husband and I went on a very extreme backpacking/camping trip in the Cascade Mountains. Of course I had my period the entire time. I climbed up mountains, slide down cliffs, and swam across a glacial lake without a leak. I even had to empty it on the side of a mountain ravine- if you can do it while balancing on a rock ledge, you can do it anywhere! and I didn’t have to pack tons of tampons in my pack!
You don’t have a string that gets wet or caught on anything
You don’t have uncomfortable vaginal dryness as your period is ending
I am very active- cross fit, P90X, hiking, etc. – I only had it leak once and it was during a hard cross fit workout that required a lot of jumping/weights. My period was heavier and I did not empty it for a few hours before the workout. Have had no problems since.
Cons: Occasionally a minute or so after insertion, the cup with “snap” or uncurl abruptly. doesn’t hurt per say, but feels a bit weird.
Although there were some reviews that said that it seemed to shorten their period or lessen their cramping, I have not noticed this in myself, but am just happy to have a great product that works so well. Really worth a try!

Nicole – 13th February 2015

I bought my Mooncup about 5 months ago from Boots. I had read about them on social media, so I looked on your website and thought I would give it a go. I was sceptical, so I made sure I had some tampons ready just in case. I still have the box of tampons, unopened! I love my Mooncup. It gives me the freedom to do a days work with no sneaking off to the loo with my tampon up my sleeve as I don’t need to change throughout my working day! I don’t suffer the heaviness from a full tampon and since using my Mooncup I haven’t had a niggling headache (I always thought they were due to hormones, now I’m thinking they could be due to the dryness due to tampons or chemicals they put in them?) If you are thinking about giving it a go, don’t hesitate! I wish I’d had one years ago!

Rebecca – 27th January 2015

I had heard rave reviews from a friend and finally decided to bite the bullet- cannot thank my lucky stars I did. I always hated using tampons and other such products, finding them uncomfortable and stressful to use. Now that I have a Mooncup my period is quite literally a breeze. I feel clean, healthy, comfortable, not to mention richer! I go running, swimming, rock climbing with it in and I pretty much forget I have my period. No more running into Boots in a flap when I forget to stuff hundreds of tampons into my bag ‘just-in-case’, no more rustling, no more waste! If you are considering it, please, please do. You will not regret it! Thank you Mooncup!

Kitty – 19th January 2015

10 years ago an old school friend told me about the Mooncup. I thought it was a great idea and what a fantastic way to save money on the “monthly” (as my Mother calls it) and also aid the environment. I try to be as conscientious as I can be towards green issues, however I carried on as normal thinking that I’ll get around to it one day. And eventually I did.I am 36yrs old and had a child by C section – so I wasn’t sure about the sizing, although I opted for the larger one (and it is only marginally larger) as I didn’t want leaks.
Day One
Managed to get it in ok. Much better if wet (water not a lubricant). Needed to adjust it a few times and trim the stem but ones it’s in place it’s in place and you can’t feel a thing. You really don’t know it’s there. Fantastic! As a parent you know that you don’t get any time to yourself so going for a wee whilst having a child glued to my side asking various questions about Barbies was fine as there was no issues as there was nothing to see (mooncup inside). Impressed with the convenience. And it lasts between 4-8hrs – much longer than a towel or tampon. Still impressed.
Getting it out was a little tricky at first. I thought I might have to explain it to staff at my local A&E! My advice. Read the instructions! It does give you tips. And relax!
Day Two
Who’s idea was it to go to Ikea! Public toilets I was dreading! I think my friend thought I’d got lost I took so long! However, I’m still here to tell the tail, a quick wipe out and it was fine.
My first thoughts was that it was going to be very messy. But it’s seriously not. I’ve not “spilt a drop” – once you hear the suction release you know it’s nearly out, a quick wiggle and to get ready to ‘tip and rinse’. Make sure you wash hands before and afterwards.
Day Three
I have getting it out to a fine art now. The main thing is relax. Much quicker. Now no one knows the difference if I go to the toilet for a wee as it’s out, rinsed and back in in no time at all.
I am converted! No more hassles of sliding a tampon up your sleeve when you go to the loo and no more monthly expense as this lasts for years.
I didn’t get on very well with sanitary towels as I suffer with a skin condition in that area which used to flare up when I wore these, and tampons used to give me “twangs” similar to period pains. Plus it’s better for the environment and our used products don’t end up in the sea with all the sea creatures….would you like to swim around with our used sanitary products by your side?
I never write reviews, but I am seriously impressed! Only Day Three and I’m converted. I can’t stress enough for more women to try it. Comes with a cute discreet storage bag too! No need to hide tampons or towels in the zip up compartment of my handbag and I don’t dread my periods anymore…win win! I can’t believe I waited 10 years! Thank you Mooncup Makers!
P.S No leaks either (including overnight!) – the larger one is really only fractionally bigger than the smaller one, and remember you want it to make a proper seal, so if in doubt and you’ve had a C section, then go for the larger one. Just try it – you’ve nothing to lose!

Katie – 6th January 2015

I bought my Mooncup in 2003 and have been using it ever since. It’s such an intuitive product which I promote whenever is appropriate. I’m not paying into a massive corporation, it’s mine to keep and use as long as I need to. It’s discrete, easy to use, and comfortably reliable. I’ve been “caught out” a few times and am so aware of the waste being created and the messiness whenever I’ve used conventional products. It’s particularly good when travelling. I love my Mooncup and will do till I no longer need it. X

Bethan – 3rd January 2015

I have been using tampons for 7 years and I became increasingly guilty about flushing tampons down the toilet, but found taking them out and wrapping them in tissue too gross.
Saw a sticker on the back of a university toilet for the mooncup and thought I would give it a go. I have just completed my first period using just a mooncup and I am never going back!

This is the future of sanitary protection! Tampons/pads are something we all should have moved on from long ago!

I found it really easy to insert by following the instructions, and it fits really comfortably. Can’t feel it’s there at all.

Taking it out and rinsing it not as gross as I thought it would be either – infact it seems more natural and its an easier way of gaging your flow.

My favourite thing about it? You can wear whatever knickers you want! You can even walk around naked! So if you have a partner, you can still get sexy infront of him, instead of slobbing around in granny pants 🙂

Thank you Mooncup, this is a life-changing product!

Mia – 19th December 2014

I was studying abroad when I first heard about the moon cup and decided to look it up, however I couldn’t get it shipped to where I was at the time so I eventually forgot about it. A couple months ago I decided I was tired of tampons and started looking around for something else to use when I remembered the moon cup and it couldn’t have been sooner. I looked it up, ordered it, and impatiently waited for my next period. Hah! But when it came around the next month, I was prepared. I had cut the stem off immediately after reading other reviews, practiced using it, and went about my day. There’s no embarrassing “evidence” when I visit friends, no more pointless cotton filling up the earth, and no more worrying about the harmful side effects of tampons on the body C; I’ve even recommended it to several friends and I hope they make the move.

A Happy Moon User – 19th September 2014

I have just bought my second mooncup after giving birth. I have used mooncup for ten years before having my son, and I have never looked back. I hated using pads as they felt like nappies and really didn’t get on with tampons as they were so uncomfortable. My first experience trying to remove the mooncup I was too tense and worried myself silly so didn’t find it easy, after a small amount of practice I now don’t even think about taking it out or putting it in.
I have found mooncup cleaner, easier, more comfortable and leak proof. I have been swimming and trampolining with it in and haven’t even been slightly worried about leakage. It’s discrete and much greener for the environment.

Mooncup has made something which was once rather inconvienient into something I don’t even notice.

Thank you mooncup, I am very grateful!

Hazel – 12th September 2014

When a friend told me about the Mooncup I initially thought Yuck! and dismissed the idea. Then I had my daughter and my periods got really heavy, I needed tampons and pads but still had embarrassing leaks so eventually I stopped going out socially during my on days as it was too stressful! Also my period pains got worse, I would spend hours bent up with a hot water bottle getting grumpy with anyone and everyone! So I decided to try it, that was about 4 years ago. The first few days of using it were a bit hit or miss but once I got used to it it changed everything. I no longer have to fill my supermarket trolley with tampons and pads saving me about £10 a month, or fill handbags to bursting point once a month. No more worries about leaks, even heavy periods go by with ease. My period pains have gone, I don’t seem to get PMT. It’s less messy than I had to cope with before. I can’t fault it! I only wish I had known about it sooner, I could have saved so much waste from tampons,goodness knows how much money and stopped so many days being ruined by cramps. Thank you to everyone that was involved in creating this amazing product! I have recommended it to friends and will be sure to tell my daughter when she gets her periods and hopefully I can save her some of the pain and misery that I had to go through! : )

Ruby – 6th September 2014

I purchased the mooncup after reading the reviews online over a few months, as a fibroid and heavy period sufferer(I’ve taken various medication and numerous operations but refuse an hysterectomy) I decided as I’d tried every other form of sanitary protection I had nothing to lose! The best decision I have made, I have just had the most easiest, convenient and stress free period for over 10 years! The mooncup is amazing, I couldn’t praise it enough, inserting it is easy( but I have used a diaphragm for contraception for years) it kept me clean and fresh, no leakage, no stomach cramps and no embarrassing moments where I would suddenly pass blood clots and find myself covered! Emptying it was easy and I also found the measurements inside the cup very useful as it is a way for me to monitor blood loss( I am anemic). For some reason I didn’t experience as much pain, or bleeding and it didn’t last as long( 5 days instead of the usual 10 plus) I can not recommend this product enough, I wish I had discovered it years ago! For the firat time in over 10 years I actually had a life during my period. I almost don’t dread my next period! Highly recommended

Michelle – 26th August 2014

I have never written a review or testimonial on anything before, but I am so delighted with my mooncup that I had to let you know! It has been an absolute revelation! By following the extensive and very clear instructions, I found it very easy to use right off the bat and I love it how clean and comfortable it is. I was worried it would be messy before I tried it, but it’s the cleanest sanitary protection I have ever used. I can’t imagine going back to towels again. I have always found tampons difficult to get on with, but the mooncup is totally different. I can’t feel it at all. It’s as if I’m not even having a period when I’m wearing it. I live in a hot, humid country and often get yeast infections after my period because of using towels. The heat can make towels smell very quickly, and damp towels plus sweat feel revolting. No such problems with the mooncup. I can swim spontaneously, roll around on the floor with my baby, sleep without underwear on… It’s changed my life! Thank you! I wish I’d got one years ago.

Helen – 16th August 2014

I was very dubious and it took me a few years since hearing about the mooncup to give it a go… but wow! It’s a game changer. Everyone needs one. Goodbye leaks, goodbye soggy tampon string, goodbye ruined knickers!!! No leakage, easy to use, environmentally friendly and affordable. I may even look forward to my next period to take it for a spin again!

Christy – 12th August 2014

I have PCOS and it messes up my cycle like crazy. It comes at the most random times, never on schedule, and it’s extremely heavy. I can’t really do anything the first two days of my period and I bleed through tampons almost every hour. I spend a LOT of money on feminine products that don’t even work like I want/need them to! So mostly out of desperation, I ordered the Mooncup to see if it would help (I was willing to try anything!) It arrived faster than I was expecting and just in time because I started my period not too long after. It was a lot easier to use than I thought; I had no difficulty inserting or removing the Mooncup. It felt really comfortable, way more-so than a tampon. Since my periods are so heavy, I wore a pad with the Mooncup as well, but noticed SIGNIFICANTLY less leakage than what’s normal for me. Consequently, the first day I used it, I fell out of a window and broke my ankle (LONG story!) and I was so thankful for the Mooncup in that instance because I was having to be carried around a lot and was stuck at the hospital for a while with no opportunity to use the restroom or anything. I’ve been on bed-rest ever since and haven’t even noticed I’ve been on my period! It’s been so great and has made a horrible situation (broken ankle AND period at the same time?! ugh) so much better than it could’ve been!!! I’m extremely happy with Mooncup and look forward to never buying another box of tampons as long as I live!!! 🙂

Liz – 9th August 2014

I am 3 days in my first cycle with a mooncup and I wish I’d got one sooner! I stopped using tampons a few years ago because I hate the way they dry you out and are bad for PH balance among other things! (they’re just all out gross to me) but pads are bloody annoying, and I’ve recently started swimming and gymming a lot and pads are just not practical when getting a sweat on. Also I hate the way pretty much all pads these days are ‘scented’ with some floral bullshit that when mixed with period actually smells worse than with any unscented products! It’s just not necessary and I like to look after my vagina, I don’t want all this perfumed and bleached crap! ANYWAY, Mooncup is just completely liberating! I also feel less awkward at work – as our office is so small we have only one bathroom shared between males and females, but now I don’t have to worry about anyone noticing me take a pad into the bathroom, or leave the wrappers in the bin. Liberating I tell you, liberating!

Tannah – 4th August 2014

I used a mooncup for the first time last month. My period is irregular and so it’s always a total surprise when it comes. I was going on holiday and I was sick of carrying stuff with me constantly “just in case”. Annoyingly I did come on half way through the holiday, but using the mooncup meant my holiday was in no way ruined. I could wear any of my beach clothes without worry of tampon string making a nasty appearance or leakage! I went to a festival while abroad and let me tell you, if you can remove, clean and re-insert your mooncup in a portaloo you know it’s the product for you! In reality, I didn’t need to even empty at that time at all, but as it was my first time, I had the panic of “oh God it’s going to be full, I’m going to leak everywhere!” Totally unfounded, they say 8 hours on the FAQs, they’re not lying. Yes I had the initial – oh god this is gross, a cup of blood, a cup inside me, but really is that any less gross than a piece of cotton shoved inside? I think this is now the product for me, I survived the toughest challenges for my first time and it was better than what I’ve been doing for the past 15 years.

Samantha – 28th July 2014

I LOVE my mooncup! I have recently changed career from shop work to gardening. The lack of toilets and bins therefore prompted my purchase. I will never look back. I find it very easy to use and a lot cleaner than having to carry used sanitary products around in the van and it’s nice not to carry pads and tampons in every handbag. It copes with the varied physical parts of my job; running, bending, climbing, hanging, kneeling ect. When I get hot and sweat from digging I don’t have to worry about gross odours and I feel cleaner knowing that I’m not sat sweating in my blood all day. In terms of comfort nappy rash from thick pads is eliminated and I don’t have to worry about wearing pants at night. It also means (like tampons) I can fill my pee bottle without making it obvious to my colleagues (all men) that I’m on. It has reduced my cramps to almost nothing, though they weren’t awful to start with and I’m finding that my period is over much faster. I am also finding that, oddly, I am really enjoying learning about and monitoring my period. This was something I wasn’t expecting. 🙂 Basically ladies; great idea, well made, economically advantageous, ecologically friendly and easy to use!

Laura – 12th July 2014

I have had my moon cup for 8 years now and LOVE it! It has made dealing with periods so much easier and I would recommend it to anyone. It took me about 2-3 months to completely get the hang of it, but I couldn’t imagine ever using a tampon again. It is particularly brilliant for the days leading up to your period – when it could start at any point. I tend to just use it anyway on those days and you never have the embarrassing rushing to the toilet or worry that you might start when you are out and about.Fantastic invention! Thank you!

Sam B – 15th January 2013

Just a quick note to say how much I love my moon cup. It’s just great. Dependable, discreet, easy, environmentally friendly, healthier. You only have one problem….your customers only need buy one! I’d recommend them to anyone. All women should own a moon cup!

Emma – 06th October 2012

I have poly-cystic ovary syndrome, meaning insanely heavy, prolonged and irregular periods. At my heaviest I would need to wear both a tampon and a pad, and change both every half-hour or so, with a period lasting anything from 1wk to 3mths! I can also go anything from 6mths to 2yrs between periods, so wasn’t sure whether a Mooncup would work out, getting used to it over 3 cycles could take years! But I got mine about a year ago, and wish I had done it much sooner! It does take a little time to get right, but I cannot stress enough how worthwhile it is to try it, stick with it and make it work for you. I can wear my Mooncup for a couple of hours even at my heaviest, and all day (up to 8hrs anyway) at other times, without needing to empty it. It copes brilliantly with fluctuating flow and with clots. No more rustling packets in work / public toilets either, and no more trying to deal with used sanitary products when there is no waste bin. Plus I do feel a bit smug knowing I am not contributing even more waste to landfill too. Thank you for a brilliant, life-changing product!

Jen – 05th October 2012

I just used my Mooncup for the first time and although I have to say it’s a weird feeling, I LOVED IT! It’s no hassle getting it in or out although the stem did rub a little at first.My body needs to get a little more used to it but I couldn’t agree more with all the lovely ladies on here. It’s not fussy or messy! It’s environmentally friendly, cost efficiant AND you can avoid that embarrassment of not having anywhere to bin your tampon or sanitary towel and having to stash it or try and make a break for a bin in the kitchen or whatever. You can just wash it and go!
The Mooncup actually made me look forward to my period! 😀 I want everyone to know about it!!

Hati – 28th August 2012

I waited a year to comment to see how it really worked out for me.
It has been a great success and solved some problems for me. One is that I work in a factory with mainly men, and very poor facilities for women. It is a great relief not to have to retrieve sanitary products from a locker room miles from the only ladies loo.

Now I don’t give it a thought at work as I can do everything at home. The 8 hour shift is no problem.

I spend the rest of the year sailing. Not having a disposal problem has been wonderful. washing and occasional boiling was easy.

There are unexpected bonuses too. When sailing I am swimming several times a day which was not great with tampons. Soggy string seemed to cause constant low level infections. Horrid but true, especially in hot climates.

I have not had any problems at all once I got the hang of it.

Jean – 14th July 2012

The Mooncup is AMAZING! I can’t believe I didn’t try it earlier – all those awkward trips to the bathroom during school which the obvious tampon or pad held in my hand, the tell-tale rustling, the occasional leaks and having to stock all the different varieties and sizes, the problem of running out and having to go to the school nurse… I’ve had the Mooncup for 4 periods now and it’s been so great. The main issue for me before getting it was the public loos thing. I’m at University, so I share toilets in Halls with a lot of people, with the sink outside the toilet. But it’s fine! All you need to do is take a bottle of water to rinse it – or even just wipe with toilet paper, and rinse it later because it comes clean really easily. It’s not messy at ALL, and it so great just having one tiny thing rather than a whole variety of boxes of pads and tampons. My first reaction was one of disgust and surprise – but I’m so glad my curiosity got the better of me! If you’re wondering whether you should try it out – GO FOR IT! I can’t believe how much money I’m saving already too. If I’m low on cash (student budget) and I start my period, it’s always been, oh dear, there’s another few quid down the drain… Not any more! I’ve got finals coming up too, and with long 3 hour exams there’s NO chance of going to change your pad / tampon, so the mooncup has become really invaluable for me.
I never really realised how messy and smelly pads and tampons were until I switched to the Mooncup either. I will NEVER be going back – completely converted! Thank you Mooncup people! I’m trying to convert my younger sisters too, and it’s only the public loos thing that’s holding them back (both being away at University too). If this is the case with you – don’t worry! You don’t have to walk over to the public sink, mooncup in hand to empty it (as my sisters joked)! Just tip it into the toilet and give it a wipe – simple as. Go for it: what have you got to lose?

Ellen from Oxford – 17th May 2012

I’ve been using my Mooncup for a few months now and I absolutely love it. It’s completely changed the way I feel about my periods. There are so many advantages to it. It’s so discreet. I love not having to carry tampons through the office 🙂 It’s going to be absolutely awesome if I get my period during my summer music festivals. I have been meaning to get one for years, but never quite got round to it. Now I’m going to buy them as birthday gifts for friends, on the offchance they give it a try! Thanks 🙂

Lucy – 02nd May 2012

I was doing a 5km swim, which I been training for four months. As it approached, I realised with a week to go it was going to be the heaviest day of my period. The swim was going to take me about two hours, I knew a tampon in the pool would only last an hour. I needed a solution and fast.I did some research on the web – and other swimmers recommended Mooncup. So I bought on on the Friday, used it for the first time on the Saturday, and swam on the Sunday. I was so happy – it was comfortable and didn’t leak…and I shaved five minutes off my swim time from the previous year.
I am still settling into using the Mooncup. It does seem to leak at night, but it’s amazing during the day. So convenient for work – I don’t have to walk the long way to the toilet with either my bag or a tampon in my hand. And to be able to swim without worrying about leaking is superb.
I’m sure I’ll sus it out at night, but even if I don’t, I’m one happy bunny!

Juliette – 30th April 2012

I am 14 years old and just got my period last summer. I’ve hated hot, sweaty, bulky pads with a passion and tampons sometimes leaked and you had to find a bathroom to change them without going over 8 hours; such a nightmare! However, I finally asked my mom if i could get a mooncup after reading about it for a week or so. I bought my size B MCUK (I live in the U.S.) two months ago, and it is wonderful! This is only my first day wearing it and i think I will have to trim the stem completely as it pokes me very uncomfortably, but other than that quick fix, it is WONDERFUL! I did have a little trouble getting in the first month though after trying several times, but I’ve got the hang of it now! I finally got it by putting it in during my shower and squatting, and it went in easily! I would recommend this to anyone, especially young girls, as it makes periods much better, easy to manage, and more private than ripping a pad in the bathroom at school or your friends house where everyone can hear you! Please buy a mooncup, it is wonderful and will make a day at the beach tons easier! And don’t be afraid to ask your mom to buy you one!

Perri – 26th April 2012

I first saw a sticker for the mooncup on a toilet door at uni. Once home I checked out the website and decided to give it a try. All I can say, is it’s fantastic! No more buying and carrying around loads of tampons. The mooncup is so discreet and easy to use. I don’t feel dry on lighter days and it has never leaked once on dryer days. My favourite part is knowing that I’m not damaging the environment with sanitary products. After all, when I have children I intend to use cloth nappies, so I’d be hypocritical to continue to use disposable sanitary products. The mooncup is the perfect solution, eco-friendly and actually makes my period easier to cope with.

Laura – 08th April 2012

I have been using a Mooncup for a number of years now and it has saved me a lot of money and embarrassing leaks as I have very heavy periods. I DO still need to wear a pantyliner but change it far less frequently, and I think that the leaks I have are more due to a retroverted uterus than an actual failing on the part of the Moooncup. I have less period pain, more money and less concern about the environment; the country I live in rarely sells tampons; and because all toilets have a little washing hose next to them here, I can change discreetly anywhere 🙂

Henneke – 26th March 2012

I wish I’d found out about the Mooncup when I first started my period. It would have saved me money and years of discomfort and embarrassment, especially during my traumatic teens, not to mention all the landfill and waste that women’s sanitary products take up around the world. The Mooncup given me so much freedom and comfort since I started using it four years ago. The only time I remember I have my period is when it’s time to empty it. If I have a daughter I’ll be making sure she uses one–in the meantime I tell all my female friends about it.

Angie from Australia – 19th November 2011

It is everything it’s cracked up to be and better. Yes you need a little practice getting it in and out at first, but it is so vastly superior to pads and tampons in *every* way, including a few things I didn’t really think about, that didn’t really register, until I experienced it myself: #1, the convenience that comes of it NOT being disposable — once your period starts, you *never* have to give a moment’s thought to your “supplies”, getting it to the bathroom discreetly, etc.; and #2, feeling so much cleaner externally – no smudgy smelly sticky anything. I have never felt so free in all my life. I also couldn’t believe how quickly I came to trust that it is, truly, completely leakproof – I thought I’d take a few periods to really believe it. But when you’re using it right, you immediately know, you can feel it, the seal and how secure it is. Amazing product, only regret not having it sooner.

Madeline – 14th November 2011

I bought the mooncup in a moment of eco-madness, which quickly subsided after initial use. A few month later though, I gave it another try and love it- even when I am not sitting on a green feminist cloud. My period is a slight nuisance now, no longer a somewhat gory affair, strewn and purses stuffed with towels which fall out at any inopportune moment.

Daisy – 24th October 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter