Life Changing

Life Changing

I had thought about purchasing a Mooncup for a few months but eventually took the plunge. I suffer with very heavy periods and was concerned that the Mooncup wouldn’t work for me. Well, I was absolutely amazed! I had no problems inserting or removing the Mooncup and, once I had trimmed it slightly, could not feel it there at all. My biggest surprise was how well it coped with my heavy periods. There’s no more flooding; even at night. I can honestly say that it has changed my life and so wish I’d bought it sooner. X

Cathy – 28th October 2018

I’m officially a convert! I have irregular periods so I’ve waited quite a few months since I bought my mooncup to use it properly, and now 3 days into my period I’m in love. Tampons have always felt abrasive and slightly uncomfortable, however I can’t stand the dirty feeling of pads either so periods have never been great for me. However the mooncup is so comfortable, easy & painless to take out and reinsert, no uncomfortable dryness like with tampons & no leakage. Another benefit I’ve found, being irregular, is if I felt like I may come on that I could wear the mooncup ‘just in case’ regardless of whether I actually did. And best of all, it’s amazing for our planet!!! Now, I’m off to tell every female I know about this brilliant little thing…

Morwenna -15th October 2018

I hated my periods, period. Once a month, my boobs would hurt, my mood swing, and then it was time for the tampons. The whole process made me feel dirty from the inside out. I refrained from touch, I was scared for the three dreaded “S”s: Stink, Spot, Smell.
When I started the cup (purely for ecological reasons), my boobs still hurt, my mood still swang, but guess what? I didn’t feel dirty anymore. Somehow, I even started to enjoy my period time and see them as a monthly moment of quiet introspection. I regained trust in my feminity and cried because I was soft, not weak, and laughed because I was happy, not hysteric. I saw myself again with the respect I deserved and started to use this time for the caring of my soul, to grow it and become a better person for the rest of the month, until the new moon. It radically changed my life, and it’s hard to describe why or how, but it did.
Thank you.

Alice – 24th September 2018

I feel compelled to write to you at the end of my work day to say a big ‘thank you’ – for the brilliant invention that is the Mooncup.
I started using my Mooncup a couple of months ago, after a long time of considering it, and wow has it revolutionised my experience of periods! Funnily perhaps, I even enjoy using it, and laughed with a dear close friend about how to get used to using it, and what ‘troubleshooting’ she had with hers 🙂
I’ve always hated the whole experience of sanitary towels, not least because they make you feel rather unappealing (even if no one knows they’re there). The Mooncup completely changes all of that, and feels like an extremely sanitary and most importantly ecological product. I think it does a lot for female liberation.
Amazing!
Thank you….

Lizzie – May 8th 2018

Hi Mooncup! Wanted to tell you that your product has literally changed my life! I’ve had lots of gynae problems over the years that have given me a terror or anything unusual happening downstairs (yes, including sex). However, I decided I should be brave and give the mooncup a go to try and reduce plastic waste etc. It only took one cycle to get used to it. And guess what? The sky didn’t cave in and I didn’t end up in terrible pain with thrush, UTIs etc. In fact it was SO much more comfortable and convenient than pads or tampons. Slowly I began to realise through using the mooncup that I didn’t need to be afraid of touching, indeed rummaging around in, my vagina -there was no pain! As a result of this I finally have something approaching a normal sex-life with my (very patient) husband again. Maybe too much information, but I just wanted to share with you what an amazing change the mooncup has made to my life. I am an evangelist now. Thank you so much. Alison

Alison – 5th September 2018

It has been years since a close and trusted friend recommended I switch to a Mooncup. Six months ago, faced with the annoyance of so much unnecessary waste and increasing dissatisfaction with tampons, I made the switch. It is one of the best decisions I have ever made. The Mooncup is far, far better (more effective, more comfortable, easier to use) than I imagined…why didn’t I do this earlier? I also find it fascinating to have a clear view of my own menstruation levels and even the types of fluid involved. One purchase and that’s it for me – thanks, Mooncup. Perhaps the best thing of all, and I really didn’t expect this, I cannot feel it when it’s in. It adapts to the temperature of my body. Absolutely brilliant.

Nicky – 6th July 2018

My first mooncup didn’t go to plan! I cut the stem too short 🙁
As a virgin and having a tilted cervix, I needed that stem to be a bit longer than what I cut it! So be careful when cutting the stem!
So, I got another cup.
Two days in, worn at work! It’s getting easier and easier to remove and insert.
I barely remember I have a mooncup! It’s so comfortable now, and my confidence in removing (especially at work) has increased! I was so nervous about spillages, haven’t had any.
So nervous about leakage, none at all! I thought I was leaking, was just sweat!
Kinda gross, but before, when I used to go toilet, I would have blood everywhere, was terrible. Now, it’s clean, it’s normal! Almost like I’m not on period
Well and truly in love! Saving money & the environment at the same time! What more could you want ❤

Eloira – 4th July 2018

After only having used my mooncup a couple of times already I was horrified to find I had started my cycle on the day I was going to a very lively festival and going out afterwards. Not having much if any access to a toilet for hours and when I could get to one it was a portaloo, along with all the jumping and being thrown around that is involved at festivals, I didn’t know how I was going to cope. Using my mooncup and a thin liner for a little extra protection I lasted 7 hours on my heaviest day with only very minor leaks! And that was the day I discovered how amazing mooncups are. I love that I am helping the planet by producing less waste and I no longer have to keep buying tampons!

Katie – 2nd July 2018

WOW!!! SO wish I’d got one earlier as nearly 50!!! 🙁 As someone who’s always had heavy periods I’ve lost sleep being woken up by leaks even with towels and tampons. Always hated the way tampons absorb and end up tubular shape when I’m not like that inside! With mooncup I can see how heavy I am. I feel cleaner without all that icky leakage laying on the towel. So convenient and efficient. No problems swimming too!! Yay!!! Try it!!!

Denise – 13th June 2018

OMG thank you so much Mooncup!!! I’m on my third day of using your brilliant product and I have not stained one pair of knickers or one sheet yet! I’m now thinking of suing tampax for all the bloodied knickers over the years. No, but seriously, you have changed my life!!! A cup… to catch your menstrual blood… who’d have thought it? Only a woman surely!

Eleanor – 11th May 2018

I have had a mooncup for around 10 years now and I love it. I had a miscarriage last year and was told I had to use pads while I was bleeding to monitor the blood loss. It had been such a long time since I’d bought any sanitary products I was a bit lost choosing suitable towels, and I felt disgruntled having to buy them. Being forced to use towels made me appreciate my mooncup even more – no mess, no smell, no waste AND not having to pay out every month when my body performs it’s normal processes.

Honestly I should be a mooncup saleswoman because I tell anyone who will listen about them and have bought them as presents for friends! Friends have said they took a little practise at first but now they won’t be going back. I feel a little smug!

I’ve decided to buy a new size of cup because of my age and the fact that since the miscarriage my periods have changed and I’ve had a few leaks. But after 10 years the odd accident is nothing.

Because they make my periods such a non-issue I guess this must be what it’s like to be a guy and not be a slave to your body.
Thank you Mooncup people for this wonderful, life-changing product x

Rebecca – 6th April 2018

The mooncup is seriously one of the best products I have ever purchased – genuinely life changing. I bought my first in my thirties and only wish I’d had one from the age of 13. The point has been underlined recently when I went on a trip for a few days and forgot to pack it and had to resort to buying a box of tampons. I am horrified by the amount of packaging they now come, with wrapping and a silly blue plastic telescope tube that doesn’t work, and their performance is absolutely rubbish. They are soaked through and have dislodged into some wierd position within an hour or so. You can’t stray from the nearest loo. The mooncup I can literally put in and forget about all day. no hassle, no leaks and no grotty towels and tampons going into the oceans. I know some people are concerned about using them for religious reasons – please don’t be. I wish to spread the word far and wide. The mooncup is a lifesaver – they should be available on the NHS.

Louise – 18th April 2018

The mooncup has changed my life!

It sounds like an over exaggeration but I have suffered with heavy periods since being a teenager. I have had many embarrassing accidents due to tampons soaking through and sanitary towels.

I am a student nurse so I often have 13 hour shifts. I would usually be soaked through by my break time or the end of a long lecture. But i have not leaked once.

I was a bit dubious about using it at night since often I wake up to something out of a horror film after 3 hours. But even on nights where I’ve slept through i was clean!

I also like a lot of ladies on here had to purchase half of boots to get me through my period. So it’s practically paid for it’s self after 2 months! And you are helping the environment.

I will never go back to using tampons and sanitary towels.

Rosie – 29th March 2018

I bought a Mooncup a few months ago after a ton of research and I’ll never look back. It is so comfortable and easy to use once you’re used to it (which for me was within a few days). Now when I have my period I nearly always forget I’m even on because it’s such a hassle free experience! Also it is so nice knowing I am no long contributing to the detrimental amount of waste sanitary products unnecessary cause. Could not recommend this company and product more.

Abby – 11th March 2018

As a virgin when I first used a mooncup I was a bit shocked when I saw the size of even the small one and wondered how on earth I was going to get it inside me! I’m not going to lie…I really struggled to insert it. It took me weeks of practice and numerous emails to the mooncup nurse, who was so helpful and supportive and told me to take my time and not to rush and reassured me. When I finally got my mooncup in, it really changed my life. Before when I had my period I was always watching the clock so as not to miss the time I next needed to change. With my mooncup even on my heaviest days I don’t need to clock watch. Emptying it once or twice during the day (as well as an am and pm shower) is fine, often just in the shower is plenty. I’ve found this the easiest way because over the toilet sometimes I fumble the cup and little splashes over my clothes isn’t the best look. I’m not very nimble fingered so I make it easy on myself when I can. Having said that emptying over the toilet isn’t a big deal really, I just prefer the shower. I can’t imagine my life without my mooncup. I think I’ll even miss it when I’ve gone through the menopause!

Emma – 2nd March 2018

I’ll admit I was a little skeptical when I first started using the Mooncup. As someone who’s always suffered with heavy periods I was worried this little cup simply couldn’t cope with what my body had to throw at it, so much so I used precautionary sanitary pads alongside it, such was my confidence. I need not bother! Not once have I leaked whilst using the Mooncup, even when i’ve gone running and swimming, it’s never let me down. It’s such a relief going to sleep and knowing I’ll wake up clean – I have far more restful nights now, which no doubt helps with the PMS!
I’ve saved money and worry on not having to buy a range of different products to get me through my period – this one cup covers me throughout! And it’s great that you can use it before you’ve actually started, unlike tampons, so you’re never caught short!
I would recommend anyone try the Mooncup if you’re looking to take control of your periods.

Alys – 1st March 2018

I received my Mooncup today and I’m in my last two days of my period, ok initially I was a little nervous bet yet so excited to try it out. I’ve researched so much about the product and how it has changed peoples lives… I can definitely see why!! I LOVE IT! I am so surprised that I seem to have mastered it from the 1st time and I cannot fault it. Had no leaks, although I am still wearing pads just in case as it’s my first cycle using it and I’m also using them up. So far so good and I’m amazed that I can’t even feel it. I’m a fairly active person and been to the gym today, not felt it once! It’s amazing that I will never have to buy those expensive tampons or those gastly pads ever again!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE, thank you Mooncup 💕

Nel – 8th February 2018

i am a full day into using a cup for the first time, it was an impulse buy i must admit. but instantly felt so much cleaner and comfy. it was so simple. cant believe after a day i never want to go back! thank you Mooncup xx

Emma – 29th January 2018

Without sounding dramatic, using a mooncup has actually changed my life! 1 year after first using one, I can’t imagine ever going back to tampons and pads. It took a couple of uses to get used to but now I find it so comfortable and easy to use. Being better for the environment is a huge bonus. I recommend a mooncup to everyone now!!

Beth – 14th January 2018

Back in 2007 I saw an advert for a mooncup on the back of a toilet door in a youth hostel in Canada, I was intrigued but didn’t go any further than that.

Last year I decided I had had enough of pads and tampons, firstly due to the crazy amount of waste they produce with chemical processes and plastics and secondly I always felt a bit dirty and uncomfortable.

WHY oh WHY did I not try this sooner. Yes its a bit of a faff and takes some time to get use to it but this small fry in comparison with the benefits, its blooming brilliant. Have a go its a game changer.

Rachel – 10th January 2018

The best change I’ve ever made!
So comfortable, it’s so strange when you 1st use it because it’s different but in a great way. After using tampons for years you realised just type uncomfortable they where. Never going back. There is never a worry when wearing one. Please get one you will never be disappointed ❤️

Ruth – 12th January 2018

After about a decade on the mini pill with no periods whatsoever, I was dreading the inevitably horrifically painful ‘first period’ after switching up my contraceptive methods. I did a LOT of reading about what to expect and stumbled across the many positive testimonials about the Mooncup. I thought I’d give it a go. I am SO pleased I did. It is super easy to use – I can’t feel it at all. No leaks. No drama. And much less period pain than I used to get many years ago with tampons. It really is strangely empowering and I feel like I’m more in tune with my body than I have been in years. Best decision I’ve made.

Nicola – 29th November 2017

I am 41 and just started using a Mooncup 6 months ago. All I can say is wow what a difference! I suffer with heavy periods for a few days of my period and have never had a leak with it. I had cut the stem a bit too short since it was sticking in me originally but have worked out a way to still remove it. In the past I suffered with sores on my ‘bits’ from being sensitive to sanitary towels and dried out from tampons so always dreaded my periods. I didn’t realise this was another option until I saw someone recommend it on Facebook so thought it was worth a try.

I have just started Uni (slightly mature student) and surprised that it’s not advertised there better – and NUS are sending emails about tampons but not these. I guess people may think it’s a hippy thing that’s difficult to use but that’s completely wrong. All periods are messy but this is the most comfortable way to deal with them. My tip is to roll some toilet roll up before removing it to then slowly pour the contents in once you’ve removed it to avoid mess. I am now confident removing it in public toilets.

People find it hard to talk about their periods publicly but really think this should be part of school education to give all options at a young age. I wish I knew when I was younger!

Caroline – 12th October 2017

When I first heard about a menstrual cup I was a little mortified by the idea of tipping a cup of blood away and actually seeing it.
The reality is it’s has changed my life forever. I’ve had periods for 20 years (started when I was 10) they’ve always been heavy and painful, and I’d pass out and be sick. Every single month. With the Mooncup I don’t get any of that. They’re still heavy but only for about 2 days and then hardly anything. I no longer dread periods, the days seem to fly by and before you know it, it’s over.
It’s nowhere near as bad as I thought it would tipping the blood away and whoever told me you only get a tablespoon of blood throughout a whole period lied. It’s actually amazes me how much blood the Mooncup holds.
It only took 2 periods to figure out the angle I needed to put it in to work best for me.
I would never go back to towels or tampons now, I love my Mooncup and highly recommend!!!!!

Sophia – 7th October 2017

I’d heard about mooncup through a friend years ago, and I thought the idea sounded crazy! I didn’t understand how it could possibly work and I forgot about it. More recently I stumbled across an article online that talked about the environmental benefits and the money that could be saved and, intrigued, and I finally took the time to find out about mooncups.
I couldn’t believe the raving reviews for mooncups – pages and pages of them! These women were so excited about a sanitary product, and I didn’t know that was possible!
I bought one, and now I understand all those great reviews – it has genuinely changed my life! The mooncup is so comfortable and discreet, none of the nappy-like crunch of a pad or the discomfort of a tampon. Gone was the fear of wearing a bikini or going to the beach on my period. I no longer had to take an army of pads and spare underwear if I was staying at someone’s house, or worry about any unfortunate leaks.
I honestly cannot recommend the mooncup enough to anyone whose thinking of trying one. It took me a cycle of two to completely get the hang of what I was doing, but it was totally worth it! Within a few days of using it I even tested it like the girls in tampon commercials – I wore my mooncup and white underwear and it didn’t let me down! My sister has a mooncup too and loves it, and we’ve raved so much about how great it is that a friend has just gone out and bought one too!

Holly – 3rd October 2017

The thought of pulling out another dry tampon made me shudder. Or being half way through my working day feeling like the blasted tampon was full, only to go to the bathroom to realise I’d acidentally peed on the string at my previous visit and it had soaked up the urine and expanded. I’d had enough of them. I found them gross.

I’d heard about the mooncup years ago and naively dismissed the idea, thinking there was no way I’d be pulling out a cup full of blood to tip away. But now I’m doing it and it’s SO much more comfortable than tampons.

When it first arrived I inspected the size of it and throught “no way is this going to work for me”. And in all honesty it didn’t for the first couple of cycles. It’s taken a while to figure out the correct angle and positioning but now I’ve nailed it and it’s changed my life. I actually find it…. interesting….! (P.s whoever made up the fact that we only bleed an egg cup full per month is a liar).

What’s even better is that it is SO much better for the environment. Did you know the plastic applicator of a tampon can take like 500 years to decompose?! Mental. With the mooncup I give it a wash between uses, and at the end of my cycle a boil ready for the next time I need it. Easy peasy and the environment is not harmed. Perfect!

Give it a try, give it several trys and don’t give up. Once you’ve got it, you’ll be trying to persuade all your mates to get one.

Laura -12th September 2017

When I first heard of the idea of a menstrual cup, I imagined it being rather similar to what tampons were to me at the time which is annoying things to put up with whilst you on your period. But I have been truly contradicted, I mean like most of us the first couple of days of your period is a bit of an uphill struggle most of the time, involving not only the possible loss of some pretty panties but also stress that goes with it all. But the Mooncup changes all that I feel, there’s no worries of if it all gushes out spontaneously or anything like that, you know that with the Mooncup you feel like you can concentrate on what’s important. On top of that your helping the planet a pad/tampon at a time. All in all I think it’s something every person with a period should have access to.

Rebecca – 25th August 2017

I just ordered my third Mooncup. I first heard of cups thanks to a sticker which someone had left in the girls’ bathroom at Warwick university, in 2006, I think – it was quite a few years ago. I never ever thought of using anything else after I bought my very first cup. I moved to a tropical country and it was so convenient (think of what happens with pads when you’re sweating and suffering from the heat). Now I live in Canada and I’ve had my cup for years and years, it’s time to get a new one!

Céline – 25th August 2017

I can’t believe how good the mooncup is. I dreaded getting my period because I hated the nighttime pads experience. Now, I pop the mooncup in and FORGET IT’S THERE. It is truly magic. I feel fine about getting my period now, which feels so freeing. Genuinely life changing!

Jenny – 15th August 2017

Why, oh why, didn’t I make the switch sooner?! Honestly, the mooncup is THE BEST purchase I have ever made. I’ve been using mine for three days now and I am totally in love. I can’t explain how bizarrely empowering it is to wear a Mooncup. It feels fantastic and is great for keeping track of what’s happening with your period. I’ve been lucky that me and my mooncup have just sort of clicked – I did have to trim the stem (no drama) but since then, it’s so comfortable!! I’ve had THE BEST nights sleep on a period that I have ever had! Just try it, you won’t be sorry. I’ll never never go back to tampons. The difference is just remarkable – I can’t stop telling people about my mooncup and how amazingly brilliant it is! I’m actually enjoying my period and I can’t wait for the next! Big smiles all round – thanks Mooncup!! ❤️

Charlie – 26th July 2017

Hi, I started using a mooncup about four years ago and it’s really changed my relationship with my period.

Initially I saw them in the shops and would tentatively pick one up and wonder how it would fit and what the logistics would be – it just seemed a bit daunting. A while later a friend spoke to me about how great they were and I think this is all I needed to tip me into buying one!

It took a couple of cycles to get used to fully but it was pretty straight forward for me. Instead of seeing my blood as a waste product and something that must be hidden at all costs, I now monitor my period and body in a different way as you can see the subtle changes that go on throughout.

I think every young girl should be given them in schools and that they are the future!

Heather – 28th July 2017

I really can’t thank you enough for such a fantastic product. It took a couple of tries to get used to inserting and removing, but now I will never go back! My period pain is reduced and I feel so much cleaner and more comfortable during my period. I honestly forget I am wearing the mooncup because it is so comfortable! Really glad that it’s good for the environment and now I don’t dread my period like I used to!

Lauren – 14th July 2017

I have been known to exaggerate at times, but not this time. Having just used my Mooncup for the first time I can say without a shadow of a doubt that this product is a game changer in the world of menstruation!
I am also soooo annoyed that I didn’t start using it 10 or more years ago, I could have saved a lot of pain and misery as well as do my bit for the environment.
I think I had the same reservations that possibly many people do about using it but to be honest as soon as I mastered it and realised it is not at all as messy and uncomfortable as I had anticipated it being, I knew I would never be going back to tampons and pads. At times I genuinely forgot I was wearing it and I could never have said that before.
Thank you Mooncup for making my monthly misery much more bearable and I’m just sorry I didn’t do this a long time ago.

Katy – 29th June 2017

I heard of the Mooncup about 4 or 5 years ago but I was a little put off in my somewhat immature schoolgirl mindset. I’ve never liked using pads because I find them uncomfortable, and I was always terrified of leaking whenever I used a tampon. Coming to university I thought it was about time I actually did something about how much I hated tampons, so I ordered a Mooncup on a whim, just to try it out. The first time I used it typically did not go too smoothly but I persevered and I’m so glad I did! I have never worried about leaking since using the Mooncup. I’ve not been embarrassed to be on my period since, taking a bag or a tampon stuffed up my sleeve to the loo every time I’ve gone, just in case. And only now since not using disposable sanitary products do I realise how many I threw away! I have recommended it to so many friends, and genuinely tell them the Mooncup changed my life: my heart no longer sinks when I get my period because I know I can just carry on as normal.

Anna – 21st June 2017

As a transgender person, menstruation has always been a touchy subject for me, and periods have always been uncomfortable. Mooncup makes it much easier to cope – I usually can’t feel the cup at all, so for me it offers up to 8 hours of not having to think about what my body is going through.

Not having to stock up on products is also brilliant and saves a lot of embarrassment and discomfort. No more having to pretend I’m buying for someone else, or shamefully asking someone to buy products for me. My cycles tend to be highly irregular and heavy too, but I no longer have to worry about keeping extra products for emergencies. The money saved over time is the icing on the cake.

If you’re transgender and, like me, dread the monthly ‘curse’, I’d highly recommend giving Mooncup a try. Once you’re used to it, it really does make a huge difference.

Jeremy – 10th March 2017

I heard about the mooncup via a review someone posted on Youtube a few years ago but finally got one this year. As a teenager this is much more conveniant than other sanitary products. I’ve never liked tampons, they just felt wrong and were super uncomfortable however, using the mooncup felt much more natural and I was suprised that it ‘disappeared’ once it was inside. I only could feel the stem – which I later had to remove but since there has been no problems. It definitely took some practise but it was definitely worth it! I especially like the idea that you can use the Mooncup Menstrual Cup even when you’re not on your period – I did a few ‘dry runs’ just to practice the insertion and removal until I felt comfortable and it helped so much! If you are having problems with insertion or removal I definitely recommend doing a ‘dry run’. This product has changed my life and I have recently also got my mum to convert to a mooncup user!

Eden – 19th February 2017

After having my son 18 month ago, I have strugged with discomfort when using tampons and like everyone I found using pads uncomfortable and messy. I have been using my mooncup for only 3 days and I have to say it is truly amazing. It is the first time I have felt comfortable in a long time. I am so happy, I can’t tell I am wearing it. I feel free to live my life and do what I want without been uncomfortable or in pain. Thank you so much for this life changing product

Amy – 3rd February 2017

Oh Mooncup, I cannot stress enough how much you have changed my life! I have been striving to a more eco friendly life recently and this change from normal sanitary products to the Mooncup is the icing on the cake. Yes, I was nervous at first, and yes I worried about how I would remove the Mooncup, but now I feel like a pro! I trust this product 100% and feel I could do anything during my period without worrying about leaks! I am shouting from the rooftops about the Mooncup and have already ‘sold’ three of my friends on the idea. For anyone thinking about buying, please do, it’s a game changer. Follow the instructions, look at troubleshooting, and persevere. After my favourite pair of shoes, it’s the best thing I’ve ever bought. Thank you.

Jo 3rd October 2016

I bought my moon cup over 3 years ago. I had heard of it but never really wanted to spend £20 on it. I really wish I was made to use this when I was younger. I truly believe that tampons made my periods worse and they are so bad for the environment. I will never ever use a tampon again ever!!!!!! I have washable pads for when I am sleeping which go in the washing machine and my moon cup. I have taken it abroad with me, its been running with me its been swimming with me, to parties and nights out with me and it has never let me down. I love it. I lost it once about a year ago and I was so upset my husband went out and got me another one 🙂 bless, if I had had daughters I would make sure they used these. I would love to be able to set up a charity so that women in third world impoverished contries have these, I cant imagine what they go through every month without proper sanitary conditions. I will work that out and hopefully let you all know. I have converted nearly every woman I know, and they are all raving about it. I have lighter less painful periods and my skin is even clearer after using it where as that time I would break out. I have less bloating and my cycle is shorter. Amazing!!! buy one today, dont wait just do it, you wont regret it 🙂

**** – 23rd December 2015

I’m halfway through my first cycle with the Mooncup and I’m kicking myself for not trying it already. My periods are heavy, like double protection, constant leakage, not leaving the house heavy, and as I advance further into my forties they’re getting worse. I’d always feel terribly bloated, and the cramps were just terrible. This little cup though…its a miracle. No bloating, cramps are so minimal they may as well not be there and there’s been nothing in the way of leakage. I’m going to consign my old lady period knickers to the bin! I finally feel like one of those women in the tampon ads. I could go roller skating in white shorts now! It’s surprised me how easy it is to use, I really thought it’d take a couple of cycles to get used to it but on insertion, it just kind of finds it’s own little niche and stays there unnoticed. I think this is the start of a long and beautiful relationship!

Alice – 13th December 2015

I have been using my mooncup for almost a year and I must say this is the best thing I have ever bought. You feel clean like wearing a tampon without the fear of toxic chemicals leaching into your body. I have to admit that there is a bit of a learning curve, but once you get the right insertion method, you will be so happy. My only regret is not buying one sooner. I truly love my mooncup!!!

Nicole – 28th November 2015

This discovery is life changing! I can’t even remember how I stumbled across Mooncup but I wish someone had told me earlier. I have used it for two days now and I couldn’t be happier! I have never wrote a testimonial for a product before but I don’t think I have ever felt so strongly about something I have bought- I literally want to tell all the woman in my life to make the change. Thank you.

Natasha – 29th November 2015

Best £20 I’ve ever spent! I recently bought the mooncup and have only been using it for 4 days. I have to say that this is the best decision I have ever made. It has changed my life. I’m a broke student so I’m already saving money(happy days) AND I’ve been wearing white panties and white trousers for 4 days without any leakage. Not even a drop. Not even at night. I wish I’d known about this earlier. EVERYBODY WOMAN NEEDS TO INVEST IN A MOONCUP! Don’t hesitate ladies, just buy!

Ann – 22nd November 2015

Mooncup changed my life, years of thrush and BV, after changing to using a Mooncup 2 years ago, barely a problem, its so easy to use and my periods are certainly lighter and less painful. The added bonus is obviously the cost saving and the lack of impact on the environment unlike other sanitary items. I am shocked so few women I speak to have ever heard of the Mooncup and I wish I had known about it before I did, its a shame its not more widely available. Great product !!! Love It,

Nita – 31st October 2015

I never review stuff but I feel that, in this case, it’s a necessity: I was very sceptical about the mooncup. I thought it was another one of those things that only ultra-hippies think is great but that the rest of the world is puzzled about. Well, now that I’ve bought one I feel like the dumbest woman on earth for thinking that. The mooncup is the most practical, ingenious invention of our time. In fact, if you opened the dictionary and looked under “Miracle”, there should just be a picture of a mooncup. I don’t understand why they aren’t handed out in schools or by the NHS to EVERY SINGLE WOMAN alive. I thought it was going to be really gross. Instead, I feel like I’ve been given the chance, for the first time in 26 years, to actually learn about my body. As someone interested in waste reduction and ecological approaches to living, I know I’ve found a lifetime solution. But I think the Mooncup would change your life even if you’re not eco-friendly and you hate the environment.
Best £20 I EVER spent. EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Zoe – 27th October 2015

I love this product! Once you get over the initial ‘this is a bit gross’ and you figure out how to get in and out without any dramas, this is the most simple and brilliant way to manage your period. I have only had one spillage (on my first go) when the cup didn’t open properly in my vagina, since then I make sure that it has unfolded (yep, sometimes with suction sound included!) and I have not had any leaks at all. I used tampons before my mooncup and sometimes near the end of my period I would remove them and bits of cotton would stay inside. I love the mooncup, as it feels cleaner, safer and better for your body (and leaves nothing behind!) I find it works best for me to start using the mooncup when my period has actually started flowing, so if I know I am due my period, I will wear a pad that night then use the mooncup the next morning until the end of the cycle, but after the first night, I don’t use any other sanitary products. I find it helps to empty the cup in the sink, if that is possible, as you may need to flush a few times otherwise. I have just bought another 2 mooncups to send out to my Nepali friends. This product has massive humanitarian benefits for countries where periods are still a massive taboo, and will make rural village life for my friends so much easier.

Emma – 11th October 2015

So after years of friends telling to get one, I finally did some four months ago. I have struggled for years with tampons, both applicator and non applicator. Each month dreading my period. I found tampons slipped, were painful, and very drying and itchy. At 42 I didn’t want to go back to sanitary pads. So, the first month was a learning curve. Yes it was a bit uncomfortable putting it in and removing it. When I went out I was worried about the practical aspects so resorted back to the tampon. Month two was a breeze. So much so I forgot I was having a period! Now four months in and I’m a total convert. I want to tell everyone “Free yourself from the tampon”. I live in a small village in rural Derbyshire so I’m not sure how well shouting it will go. Seriously though I have two young daughters who will NEVER use tampons, I wont let them. Mooncup is the future for them.

Sally – 4th October 2015

After 5 years of using the moon cup, it has changed my life.Took a few days to get the hang of it, but persevere, this little thing has completely changed my life.
IT DOES WHAT IT SAYS ON THE BOX !

Sally – 27th August 2015

I’m 19 and I’m so so glad I found out about mooncup! I suffer from pcos and have always found pads unable to cope with how heavy my period can get, which left me with tampons. However, since my cycle always fluctuates unpredictably from light to ridiculously heavy, it’s always hard to guess which strength tampon to use, which the results either being uncomfortable dryness or embarrassing accidents…many a comfortable pairs of pants were lost this way. But! Mooncup is amazing for this! I can’t even express how amazing it is to be able to insert the mooncup and just not have to worry what my flow decides to do that day, it honestly feels like I can get on with my life. Not only that, but it really is extremely good for travel. I have a year abroad next year in a country where tampons haven’t really caught on and I honestly didn’t know what I was going to do until now. In terms of insertion, I struggled a bit at the beginning; I think it was because I wanted it to work so badly that I stressed out and couldn’t insert it properly. It felt a little bit like all the amazing testimonials here were part of a massive joke that I wasn’t in on, but then I slept on it and tried again the next day and lo and behold, I figured it out! If you’re struggling, I suggest trying the second folding method as it makes the shape slightly more similar to a tampon, which you might already have experience in inserting. But whatever happens, don’t give up on it, because using a mooncup will definitely change your life for the better (and that’s not even an exaggeration!)

Izzy – 22nd July 2015

Last week, June 2015, I lost my Mooncup. I’d had it for just over ten years!!! Nothing had gone wrong with it in all that time and if it hadn’t been lost I would have continued using it. So thank you, what an amazing product! It went all the way around the world with me, on so many adventures. From my mid twenties to my mid thirties!! Losing it in a weird way, feels like I’ve lost a part of my body!
Back in 2005 I saw a sticker promoting the Mooncup. I was amazed that such a healthy ecological solution existed and I’d never heard of it. I’d long grown tired of that nasty dried out feeling I was getting from tampons. I don’t know exactly how much money I’ve saved since that time. I’ve certainly put a lot less into landfill.

So it’s time for another Mooncup. I must admit I’m a little sad to be parted from my original. (I’m sure no one is actually recommended to use it for ten years and more but still!). I have promoted the Mooncup to my friends and family, those that have tried it haven’t looked back.

Keep up the good work. You are making and supplying a wonderful necessary product, helping your fellow humans and our beautiful planet. Not many of us are able to say that about our jobs! I’m very grateful that you are and for all that you’re done. Here ten years later you’re still going strong and I’m able to buy another one!

Many many thanks,

Sincerely a faithful customer

x

Katherine – 22nd June 2015

After suffering with increasingly heavy periods and pain that was getting worse year on year I was getting very tired of ‘standard’ sanitary products – a super plus tampon would only last 45 minutes at the most for the worst day of my period and I found myself getting yeast infections every couple of months. The bulk and sometimes weird smell that accompanies pads meant that they were also off-putting for me.
After seeing a Mooncup sticker inside a toilet door at university and seeing on the website that its capacity was more than that of the most absorbent tampons, I decided to give it a try. I wish someone had told me about this years ago and it could have saved me a hundred periods of misery!

It takes a little getting used to at first – I obviously wasn’t getting the seal right during my first period with it and it kept creeping further and further up which lead to lots of leaks and trying to fish it out was a bit of a nightmare. As I had to do with tampons a decade ago, however, I persevered and eventually got it right! Making sure the holes aren’t blocked, turning it, inserting it as low as possible and particularly giving the stem (which I shortened as much as possible) a little tug downwards once it’s inserted and opened all seem to help with forming a seal and since then, I experience next to no leaks even with my nightmare periods overnight when I only have to wear a thin pantyliner in case I really exceed its capacity during a long sleep.

I have found my cramps and pain to be much less severe than they were using tampons and I haven’t had a single yeast infection in the year I’ve been using the Mooncup. Between these benefits for my health, for my wallet, the environment and the fact that you can’t feel it when inserted properly (I used to hate it when my tampon slipped further down and it would irritate my nether regions!), the Mooncup has been a complete lifesaver.

Something you don’t realise as well until you experience it – I no longer have the panic of realising I have no sanitary products in my bag or jacket – I can pop into the loos with it in and not have to worry about taking things with me. No more running home from lectures to fill my bag with bulky super plus tampons, no more worrying on nights out that I’m going to be leaking within half an hour and don’t have anything with me. It’s been the best decision I have made for my health and sanity coping with my horrendous periods and I espouse its merits to anyone who will listen!

It’s about time we expand puberty and sex education in schools to let girls know that there are other options out there. It would have saved me so much money, time and distress over the years! Thank you Mooncup!

Meg – 18th June 2015

I had heard about the mooncup for a while. but I never got one until my friend got one and told me all about how great it was. I decided to go ahead and try it. I haven’t looked back since. I would go as far as to say it’s transformed my life. At first it was a little tricky to get the hand of but luckily for me I had my friend to go to with all my questions. Eventually I got the hang of it and I can’t tell you how much I love it. I’d never go back to horrible tampons which dry you out. I feel so much cleaner during my periods now. I now pretty much tell everyone I know about it and encourage others to give it a go!

Kay – 27th April 2015

Wow!! At age 42 and having had 3 C-sections, I have grumbled for several years about having to have periods. My mom went in menopause at age 58 so I’m probably destined for a late one as well BUT this moon cup has changed my outlook! I have always hated pads. I couldn’t wear tampons because they hurt too much. So- I’ve spent my life abstaining from swimming and doing lots of fun things while on my heavier period days, wistfully watching everyone else have a great time. No more! This is the greatest thing ever!!
I am 42 with three kids but no vaginal births- I’ve always been kind of “small” down there so I tried the B size and it’s worked perfectly. How could this have not been invented 30 years ago??????? So liberating!!

Michelle – 7th April 2015

I bought my Mooncup last month after having a discussion with a friend about sanitary provision. It has always been a issue for me; sanitary pads are impractical, nasty, uncomfortable, and utterly useless on heavy days. Tampons are better but have never really felt comfortable, especially at the end of my period when my flow is a lot lighter and more unpredictable. I detest the feeling of dry tampons and sometimes you don’t have the right absorbency or even a spare with you. Plus I always felt disgusted with myself for throwing them away and polluting the world, but had no alternative! Mooncup changes all that! I read all the testimonials and everything on this site before buying mine, and everything these women have said before me is true – I even felt slightly less period pain than before, convincing me of my suspicion that tampons actually add to the discomfort. I didn’t see the need to wait until the latter days of my period to try the Mooncup, I got stuck in on the first day and just spent a little while practicing insertion and removal in the bathroom! Piece of cake once you know how! It’s such a relief knowing all I need to take with me when I’m out is some ibuprofen and a water bottle and not a stash of different tampons and liners. But aside from the overwhelming convenience and comfort, an unexpected plus, and perhaps the best thing about it, is I feel so much more in tune with my body! After one period using Mooncup I already feel like I know so much more about my cycle – I feel liberated! Mooncup does not feel invasive or malign but like it is designed to help you understand and support your body, not suppress or fight against it. I have told every woman I know to buy one and sent off for the stickers and leaflets – I am on a mission! I only wish, like every other Mooncup user, that I had known about it from the start. 11 year old me, embarrassed and needlessly ashamed by period stains and pads would have killed for one. Now, I have taken control, taken a step towards embracing my body, it’s functions and it’s needs, and my womanhood! Thank you Mooncup!

Jess – 18th March 2015

I bought the Moon Cup in January this year, and have now had two periods using it. Switching to the Moon Cup is one of the best decisions I have made in my life! I heard of it a few years ago but was put off by the idea of having to empty it in public places; this however is much easier than you would think as a) you don’t have to change it anywhere as near as much as a tampon and b) like the Q&A’s suggest, simply wiping it or using a water bottle is absolutely fine for the occasional time you do get caught in a cubicle without a sink. I knew when I bought the Moon Cup that it would have a number of advantages which have proved to be just as good as expected:
a) not having to buy tampons any more
b) not contributing to the environmental damage caused by disposable sanitary products
c) not having the dryness caused by a tampon
d) not having the awkward string poking out in embarrassing places such as the swimming pool!
All these advantages have been great and better than expected (the Moon Cup is so comfortable, you can’t tell it’s there, and putting it in and taking it out takes only the tiniest bit of practice!) but what’s been really great about the Moon Cup is the advantages I didn’t think about, which include:
a) Only having to change it every 7-8 hours, even on really heavy days
b) Not having the “odour” that comes along with your period, particularly towards the end of menstruation
c) Not having any “spotting” at the end of my period (bye bye pantyliners!)
d) Not having to worry about the size of tampons vs. flow – the Moon Cup can be worn throughout
e) Being really in touch with my body, and being able to know exactly when I have finished my period
f) They don’t cause any issues with toilet blockages, and you don’t have to deal with the ickyness that is the full sanitary bin in a public place.

Ladies – please try the Moon Cup! I have been singing it’s praises to my friends and I am shocked and actually quite disappointed that so many people think that a period is a “disgusting” thing, and that the Moon Cup is to be avoided – we should not be embarrassed by our bodies or scared of being more in touch with ourselves (yes, quite literally..!)
My only regret is not starting to use it earlier, as having now seen the difference in my body I have realised that the only disgusting and unnatural thing about periods is using any other type of sanitary product!
Go Moon Cup!

Becky – 14th March 2015

Oh my word, the Mooncup has changed my life!
I know some people have said they’ve found it difficult learning to insert and remove the Mooncup, and I know my experience isn’t the same as everyone’s, but I’ve found it SO easy.

No more worrying about leakage, no more excessive waste – it’s just brilliant.

laura – 7th March 2015

I stumbled upon the mooncup by accident and it turned out to be an absolute life saver, although I still had to wear additional sanitary wear in the form of a panty liner it helped me control my heavy bleeding. After learning how to use the cup it really is no worse than using a tampon. I unfortunately had to have surgery for my heavy bleeding recently and my surgeon had never heard of them but has now researched the product. If it hadn’t have been for my discovery of the mooncup I don’t know how I would have coped.

Gregory’s girl – 25th February 2015

A life changing & completely genius invention! I feel grateful that I have found this product in my early twenties and have not had to endure years of bother with tampons and sanitary towels. You save money, look after the environment, feel clean and fresh during your period and it’s so easy to use. Believe every testimonial on here because it is the best thing that has ever happened to me regarding my period! You would be a fool not to buy one immediately!!

Chloe – 24th February 2015

I remember seeing the stickers for the mooncup in the ladies toilets when I was at University and thinking to myself, I should probably give that a go. Well, I graduated five years ago and have only just go round to actually doing it, and it was mostly the online reviews and testimonials that made me make that decision there and then. If only I had read the testimonials back then!
I personally didn’t find the whole concept of it weird or gross, I am quite in tune with my body. The only thing I had to overcome was getting used to insertion and removal. Trying different folding methods soon sorted the insertion, removal took a bit more practise but within a couple of days I felt confident and I knew that I would never go back. At first I used a liner because I wasn’t convinced it wasn’t going to leak but now I am totally confident in the mooncup.

It makes you feel SO much better about your period, you feel more in tune with what your body is doing, cramps are reduced, it’s cost effective, it’s more hygienic and for me knowing I am not adding to landfill is a huge benefit.

If you suffer with recurrent thrush or UTI’s – this product will change your life!!! (I don’t know why doctors don’t advise women to get one).

Kym – 13th February 2015

My sister is on a mission to convert the world to moon cup, (she’s even left a testimony, and she’s not the testimony type) having gone on about it for months she marched me into boots and made me buy one! My only regret is I didn’t listen to her earlier, it’s amazing!

Olivia – 7th February 2015

The Mooncup changed my relationship with my period and with my body. Since I started using the mooncup I became more conscious and way more connected to my body and my femininity. Rather than considering it annoying and nasty, I know relate to my period as an interesting and beautiful phenomenon that is an integral part of myself.In addition, I also love the fact that the mooncup is environmental-friendly and that I don’t have to worry about carrying around tampons everywhere I go.
I highly recommend it to every woman!

Bianca – 2nd February 2015

This is the best £20 I have ever spent! Love my mooncup so much, no leaks, easy to use and so much more hygienic than tampons or pads. Would recommend to everyone!

Caroline – 31st January 2015

I bought my Mooncup about 5 months ago from Boots. I had read about them on social media, so I looked on your website and thought I would give it a go. I was sceptical, so I made sure I had some tampons ready just in case. I still have the box of tampons, unopened! I love my Mooncup. It gives me the freedom to do a days work with no sneaking off to the loo with my tampon up my sleeve as I don’t need to change throughout my working day! I don’t suffer the heaviness from a full tampon and since using my Mooncup I haven’t had a niggling headache (I always thought they were due to hormones, now I’m thinking they could be due to the dryness due to tampons or chemicals they put in them?) If you are thinking about giving it a go, don’t hesitate! I wish I’d had one years ago!

Rebecca – 27th January 2015

I Bought one of these from boots on Saturday. After reading a bit about them first, I was worried that it would take some getting used to. How wrong I was! These things are amazing, if you are reading about them, buy one! Don’t put it off a minute longer! No mess, no leaks it’s easy 🙂 I can’t say for sure after 2 days, but I’m pretty sure this might just be life changing! I have almost forgotten that I am on my period.

Charli – 26th January 2015

I’m 18 and heard about the mooncup a couple of years ago but didn’t like the sound of it! I started on tampons a few years ago and found them much more liberating than pads but they dried me out! I was always concerned about harsh chemicals in tampons, but as a student just couldn’t afford to regularly buy natracare tampons! I am currently near the end of my first period with the mooncup and I’m never going back! It was easy to put in and take out from day one, its a lot easier than it looks! Its not messy and I can leave it all day whilst I’m out at college without having to worry! I often forget it’s that time of the month! No leakages throughout the day or night. With tampons I often woke up in the morning covered in blood! I feel like shouting out about this to women everywhere! More women need to be aware of this! I can’t express it enough!

Jasmine – 23rd January 2015

Since having my children (eldest is 6), my periods have been excruciating. I have always had heavy periods, and very painful. But since giving birth twice, I just couldn’t find a protection that a) fit me properly and b) could cope with my heavy flow. I stand most of the day at work and leak a lot. It was so humiliating. Tampons would HURT. I had a constant ache and felt like I was bruised from a kick! It was vile.
A friend told me about Mooncup a year or two ago, and I did investigate, but put it off. Desperate enough to go to the doctor to request a hysterectomy to free me from my misery, I decided to give it a go. It has revolutionised my period. Gone is the leaking, the general aching and bruised feeling, and obviously it hasn’t affected my flow, but I am able to get on with my life and not even remember I am having my period. Thank you!!

Aly – 1st January 2015

I just bought a mooncup and tried it today for the first time. I wish I’d known about this when I was younger. it’s fantastic. Why don’t more people know about this? I just stumbled on it on the net, don’t ask me how, I have no idea. Why don’t women know about this? Come on, every woman should have one. It’s so liberating!

Sam – 30th December 2014

I’m disgusted with myself that I didn’t try this 4 years ago when I first heard of the mooncup! I’m 43 now, and can honestly say I just had the most comfortable period of my life, and I’m a first time user. What had put me off before was notions of spraying blood all over the bathroom if I dropped it, but it’s completely safe! SO much better than the ubiquitous leaky tampon and the sodden pad that takes you by surprise on a long drive home, or at a friend’s house, or somewhere equally awkward. Ever decided NOT to go somewhere due to the possibility that you’d have to find a toilet every hour or that there won’t be any hygienic place to dispose of your used tampon? You’ll never have to stay home again!
I’ve had two tiny leaks – once due to an insertion error as it hadn’t unfolded properly, and once because it was full after an 8 hour sleep, but neither were as problematic as a leaky tampon and the panti liner didn’t have a lot to contend with. Delighted. Seriously delighted. This will change my life.

Ps. When I saw the stickers that came with my mooncup, I thought “Where the hell would I want to put those?…and why?”. Now I know. All women should know about this, so I’ll be sticking mine on a wall next to a tampon dispenser in a ladies near me soon!!

Sadie – 28th December 2014

I can’t believe how well this worked! I normally have to wear tampons and pads, and on my heaviest days this normally means four-six trips to the loo every day! I go through a packet of pads normally every period, and a box of tampons every two-three months. However since buying my mooncup I have saved myself so much money and time! I now only have to go to the toilet in the mornings and before bed, and maybe once more during the day! It’s so easy to use and clean, and not at all messy once you get used to it! It’s also less uncomfortable than a tampon, I think, and the best part, I no longer need pads! No leakage what so ever! I can’t thank you enough for making such a wonderful product!

Beth – 23rd December 2014

I bought the Mooncup 6 months ago after getting fed up with pads and looking for an alternative. I am a young backpacker and have to say it is brilliant! Although it took a bit of practice to insert (I’d never used tampons) I quickly got the hang of it and it is so easy to use. Great for travelling as takes up no space at all in your backpack and there’s no guilt about the environment either. I only wish I’d discovered this fantastic product earlier as they are an absolute godsend and every woman needs one. They are so comfortable that you forget you’re on your period and the money saved is fantastic. No mess, no hassle, I cannot thank Mooncup enough for this great product -I’m never going back to anything else!! Give it a try and you won’t regret it!

Sara – 20th December 2014

I have been using tampons for 7 years and I became increasingly guilty about flushing tampons down the toilet, but found taking them out and wrapping them in tissue too gross.
Saw a sticker on the back of a university toilet for the mooncup and thought I would give it a go. I have just completed my first period using just a mooncup and I am never going back!

This is the future of sanitary protection! Tampons/pads are something we all should have moved on from long ago!

I found it really easy to insert by following the instructions, and it fits really comfortably. Can’t feel it’s there at all.

Taking it out and rinsing it not as gross as I thought it would be either – infact it seems more natural and its an easier way of gaging your flow.

My favourite thing about it? You can wear whatever knickers you want! You can even walk around naked! So if you have a partner, you can still get sexy infront of him, instead of slobbing around in granny pants 🙂

Thank you Mooncup, this is a life-changing product!

Mia – 19th December 2014

I purchased the Mooncup for the summer as I didn’t like the sound of tampons. I am 16 years old and have no experience of inserting tampons. At first I struggled to insert the mooncup, but after a few attempts I succeeded. I find that the ‘punch down’ fold is the best. I had to trim off quite a bit of the stem and now when I use it I can’t even feel it. It is amazing. I used it for the first full school day today (previously been using it to bed and just on short trips out) and it was amazing. No leakage even though it was the second day (quite heavy)!!! I am seriously impressed. I would advise everyone to get one. Although it may be hard to get the hang of at first, it is seriously worth persevering as it has changed my life! I love it and I would give it 5 stars!

Victoria – 9th December 2014

I am not one to write reviews but this is a great product. For many years I have suffered the fear of leaking, especially, the first two days of my period where I am very heavy and sleeping was uncomfortable as I have had many episodes of ruining bed sheets. It was all quite stressful. Last month, I used the mooncup and though I still used a pad, I managed to sleep without waking up every 2 hours to change. I haven’t quite mastered getting it out without the mess so I have not been able to use the cup without a pad during the day ( I have since discovered I need to empty after 6hours on my heavy days). Anyway this is so good that I urge anyone thinking to buy one to just get on with it. It feels cleaner and it will change your life. I look forward to the day I master taking it out without the mess so I can use it while I am at work and can feel comfortable enough to just simply take a bottle of water to rinse and reinsert in the ladies. Until then, I have stopped using tampons and i am reducing the amount of pads, which I hope helps in helping the environment.

Carm – 29th November 2014

I’ve never reviewed anything before, but this is life changing! I’d heard about the mooncup and liked the idea but was always a bit scared at the reality of it. Then I suddenly had to come off the pill and didn’t have any control over when my periods happened – and I had a beach holiday booked in for two months later… So I bit the bullet and got one. I’m hugely squeamish, and quite clumsy, so the first couple of goes at getting it in were a bit eye opening! It’s definitely easier to do it when it’s wet, and I ended up cutting off almost the entire stem. Read the leaflet with all the tips about how to fold it – they really work! Although you’re really good to go from the first time you try it, I agree it does take a couple of months to get completely used to it, and now 2 years later, I’d never, ever go back to tampons. I didn’t realise how drying they were until I used the mooncup. It’s brilliant to use, just pop it in at the start of the day and then forget about it until you get home again. And I don’t know how, but it has shortened my period by about two days. And I love knowing what’s normal for me too, I feel more in touch with what’s going on with my body. Thank you!

Vicky – 23rd November 2014

I had wanted to try a Mooncup for some time as liked the idea of being more green, but I never seemed to get round to buying one. Finally, after getting more and more uncomfortable with tampons, especially after having a baby and getting a copper coil fitted, which made my periods heavier and more painful, I ordered one online. I am coming to the end of my first month using it and I am amazed. It is so comfortable, and far from being messy, apart from a little bit when changing, I feel much cleaner during my period than I ever have. My cramps were less and I didn’t even know I was wearing it and could go much longer inbetween changes. I can’t get over how easy it is to use, it was a little fiddly first time and I had to cut the stem almost off, but after a couple of goes it was easy to insert and then really easy to remove, just lean back on the toilet and give a couple of gentle pushes with your muscles and it moves down enough to get hold of and pull gently out. I am just annoyed that I did not try it sooner as I’m 38 now. I have just had to tell all of my female friends as they all need to try it and see how wonderful it is. My daughter is only small, but I know what I will be introducing her to when she starts her periods (many years down the line). Thanks Mooncup you are a life changing discovery!

J – 10th November 2014

Absolutely think it’s the best thing ever, so simple and easy to use, thank you to my sister in law for recommending it. Can’t big it up enough!

Zoe – 16th September 2014

When a friend told me about the Mooncup I initially thought Yuck! and dismissed the idea. Then I had my daughter and my periods got really heavy, I needed tampons and pads but still had embarrassing leaks so eventually I stopped going out socially during my on days as it was too stressful! Also my period pains got worse, I would spend hours bent up with a hot water bottle getting grumpy with anyone and everyone! So I decided to try it, that was about 4 years ago. The first few days of using it were a bit hit or miss but once I got used to it it changed everything. I no longer have to fill my supermarket trolley with tampons and pads saving me about £10 a month, or fill handbags to bursting point once a month. No more worries about leaks, even heavy periods go by with ease. My period pains have gone, I don’t seem to get PMT. It’s less messy than I had to cope with before. I can’t fault it! I only wish I had known about it sooner, I could have saved so much waste from tampons,goodness knows how much money and stopped so many days being ruined by cramps. Thank you to everyone that was involved in creating this amazing product! I have recommended it to friends and will be sure to tell my daughter when she gets her periods and hopefully I can save her some of the pain and misery that I had to go through! : )

Ruby – 6th September 2014

Thank you. My mooncup arrived just in time for my period and now my life has changed for the better. My periods are fairly light and a bit erratic so tampons don’t work for me. I have been using pads but hate them. A friend told me about the Mooncup a few years ago and finally I ordered one. I just want to tell those out there that are thinking about it, do it! They are sightly awkward to use at first but, by reading other peoples feedback and doing internet research, I was well informed with tips etc and have had no troubles. Thanks again. It is great to have options, and you guys make a great product.

Jenny – 26th August 2014

I purchased the mooncup after reading the reviews online over a few months, as a fibroid and heavy period sufferer(I’ve taken various medication and numerous operations but refuse an hysterectomy) I decided as I’d tried every other form of sanitary protection I had nothing to lose! The best decision I have made, I have just had the most easiest, convenient and stress free period for over 10 years! The mooncup is amazing, I couldn’t praise it enough, inserting it is easy( but I have used a diaphragm for contraception for years) it kept me clean and fresh, no leakage, no stomach cramps and no embarrassing moments where I would suddenly pass blood clots and find myself covered! Emptying it was easy and I also found the measurements inside the cup very useful as it is a way for me to monitor blood loss( I am anemic). For some reason I didn’t experience as much pain, or bleeding and it didn’t last as long( 5 days instead of the usual 10 plus) I can not recommend this product enough, I wish I had discovered it years ago! For the firat time in over 10 years I actually had a life during my period. I almost don’t dread my next period! Highly recommended

Michelle – 26th August 2014

I have NEVER been this thrilled with a period related product, nor would I have ever expected to be. I’m so excited about Mooncup that I actually want to frantically run up to strangers and tell them about it, because whilst they may not work for everyone, which is unfortunate, all women should at least know about them, and give one a try, as they are revolutionary.

I’ve always been happy enough with tampons, though I was never really comfortable with trusting them fully, and was always annoyed when traveling at a time near my period as I’d have to take tampons just in case. I decided to try a Mooncup because I was beginning to hear some rave reviews, and I have to say, it was one of the best decisions that I have EVER made; life changing.

By the third day of my cycle whilst using the Mooncup, I was 100% comfortable with using and inserting/removing the Mooncup.
The biggest learning curve was discovering how, and where exactly, the cup should sit, and with each insertion It became quicker and quicker. It is now just as quick and easy as inserting a tampon, but a thousand times more comfortable and trustworthy.

Truly incredible, I will never use a tampon again. Ever.
Thanks Mooncup team!!

Jessie – 23rd August 2014

I wouldn’t normally write a testimonial but I am so pleased with this product I felt I had to. I generally menstruate for 8 days in a 35 day cycle. The flow starts with spotting, becomes very heavy for tampons to cope with for a couple of days then goes light. I struggle with getting the right absorbency for my flow every month. Tampons are either leaking within a couple of hours or too dry to remove. This is my third day using mooncup and it’s just fantastic. It’s easy to Insert, just make sure your cervix is facing into the cup and the cup is fully open. No leaks.. Though I was really worried about this, I believed it would pop out and spill everywhere! Not even possible! I was crazy to think it, once it’s in only a good tug and wiggle will budge it! I was really scared whether it would be gross, the thought of a cup of blood sounds proper grim! But compared to the sodden tampons and pads covered in blood and clots I’ve faced for years, the contained flow within the mooncup was a vast improvement and actually made the whole thing a whole lot less gruesome. You don’t have to pull string out the way when peeing, you don’t worry about leaking with a big sneeze! And you can empty it a lot less often than changing a tampon. I also discovered that my flow was nowhere near as heavy as I thought. Also it’s great for the environment, which to me was just a nice perk for a product that is absolutely essential. I honestly believe that all women should be provided with this product on the day of their first period. I was actually put of by this product because I believed that it was used by people who cared more about the environment than their own needs, but honestly, those women have had the best of everything from this product. I CANNOT rate it highly enough. Thanks to everyone at mooncup, you’ve made a huge difference to my life x

Sally – 4th August 2014

I love my Mooncup so much. I’m not exaggerating to say it has changed the way I live my life during my period. I began having my period when I was 10 years old, and I have always had terribly heavy flows. I have tried pads of all different absorbencies … with wings, without wings, extra long, overnight. I have tried all different varieties of tampons as well. It was fairly normal for me to change these every two hours. Nothing prevented the embarrassing leaks. On top of the absorbency issues, the pads and tampons were so uncomfortable to wear for six days in a row. A friend introduced me to the Mooncup on a camping trip almost three years ago, and I haven’t looked back. It’s so comfortable. I really can’t even feel that it’s there at all. There isn’t any awful drying or soreness, and best of all, NO LEAKS! I don’t have to worry about going on long hikes, camping trips, sitting through a whole day at work or a music concert. I can be as active as I want to without worrying about leaks. It’s so liberating. I’m so thankful for my local healthfood store for carrying Mooncups. I only wish I had known about them sooner so that I wouldn’t have had to use those other awful products for the first twenty years.

Anibelle – 18th June 2014

Oh my god. The mooncup has changed my life. I have never felt cleaner during my period – no nasty smell, no leaking, no horrid waste filling up our landfills, just give it a wash and it is ready to reuse! I LOVE IT. If you don’t have one, get one! It will change your life too.

Amy – 17th June 2014

I had heard about mooncup about ten years ago but have only just got around to buying one and….Oh My Goodness!I wish I’d have got one all that time ago!They are cleaner,easier,SO much more comfortable than towels (I wont use tampons for so many reasons),there are no disposal issues (I loathe having to wrap and chuck used towels in ANY bin,ughh!) and any concerns I had prior to using mooncup the first time went immediatley.Insertion was no problem,its about finding your technique,it took me 30 seconds first time and I couldn’t feel it inside me at all.I trimmed the puller to halfsize and its just right.The best thing is not one drop leaked!This is the easiest period Ive ever had.Mooncup is fantastic,thank you so much ladies!!!

Kerry – 04th February 2013

As Rihanna says ‘where have you been all my life!’wow, mooncup, or as i call it my little diamond! it sure is a girls best friend! every woman should know about them!
let me just say that if you have problems with sanatary wear, drying you out, making you itch or in my case I got a very bad allergy to the chemicals contained in sanatary pads! I was at my wits end so went on a google hunt for none chemical products! I found the mooncup and read some reviews they all sounded positive, so i tho nothing to lose but try and I can say I am over the moon i did!
just finished my 1st period using it and can not belive it! I feel that I have not even had a period, usally by now I would be in total pain from my allergic reaction. but with the mooncup nothing at all, i had no problems putting it in or taking it out. its defo going to be my friend for life. and its only £18! and its supossed to last years, so a saving on products and the planet! I am a happy lady!

Nicole – 28th January 2013

I have had my moon cup for 8 years now and LOVE it! It has made dealing with periods so much easier and I would recommend it to anyone. It took me about 2-3 months to completely get the hang of it, but I couldn’t imagine ever using a tampon again. It is particularly brilliant for the days leading up to your period – when it could start at any point. I tend to just use it anyway on those days and you never have the embarrassing rushing to the toilet or worry that you might start when you are out and about.Fantastic invention! Thank you!

Sam B – 15th January 2013

Possibly the best money I have ever spent. I just wish someone had told me about it sooner. Im on a mission to persuade my friends it’s the way forward. Much more comfortable and effective than any pads or tampons and cramps are no longer an issue for me. Thank you Mooncup. It really has changed my life! X

Caitlin x – 15th January 2013

I am 47 and have spent the last couple of years fighting with very difficult periods. They moved very close together (every 21 days), they were so heavy that I kept flooding first thing in the morning, spilling blood all over the bathroom floor before I could get to the loo in time. Spent my time worrying every time I sat down in case I flood the chair (especially when I was in someone else’s house) and holidays have been a nightmare when sleeping in a hotel bed, I had no sleep worrying that I was going to leak all over the sheets which I frequently did. I also had enormous clots and lots of pain, making my period a very dreaded experience. I can’t use tampons because of thrush and I find they always leave bits inside you and dry you out and make you sore so I have been going round in the daytime wearing the largest night time towels that I could find and still leaking all over the place.
One day before Christmas, I had had enough of all this and started to look on the Internet to see if there was a product which might help me with this problem and I stumbled across Mooncup. Thank goodness I did as it is the answer to all my prayers. Although at first I found it tricky to put in and out I have now mastered it and trimmed the stem so that it no longer causes an irritation. I no longer have any floods and am looking forward to my next holiday without worrying. I no longer have clots and have very little pain! I don’t know how to explain this but I am so grateful to the Mooncup people for making my life tolerable again. If you are in any doubt, give it a try, you won’t regret it.

Victoria – 30th December 2012

Just wanted to say how fantastic this product is. It took me a while to get to grips with it, but now I would never go back. It has saved me over £40 this year, its comfortable, easy to use, reassuring that there are going to be no accidents and all in all, pretty amazing. Although it sounds a bit over the top, it really has changed my life for the better. Just can’t understand why these aren’t on the NHS as just a bit of education would save money, the environment and younger girls wouldn’t have to put up with the embarrassments that I did. Well done for being so innovative.

Janet – 20th December 2012

I saw an article in a magazine about mooncup about 5 years ago and had a look at them in my local Boots and disregarded the whole notion as something a bit ‘new agey’ but recently I began to reconsider my whole attitude when I was changing my highest absorbency sanitary towels every hour on days 1-3 I thought ‘what am I doing there has got to be a better way’ and then I thought back to mooncup, took the plunge after getting some advice from this very site’s advisors regarding sizing etc, which was followed up by some VERY useful advice that expanded on the leaflet that came with mooncup. This is my first period of using it, it is day 1 I have worn it overnight and during a 45 minute fitness class when I would usually have had to wear a tampon which was never the right absorbency with too little or too much particularly the day before you start ‘proper’ but you need something in or on. I had practised a couple of times before starting and was just waiting for the event to give it a go (strangely enough I was kind of looking forward to my period which has NEVER happened) Anyway the point of all this babbling is I am just wearing the mooncup no towels or liners. I LOVE IT! I am a total convert no leaking, you forget it’s there, no getting up in the middle of the night feeling like you are dripping for want of a better word(sorry if that’s TMI!). All I can say is I am going to convert EVERYONE to this fabulous, fabulous item. It’s a bit messy to take out but it isn’t any worse they dealing with a tampon, so as a former sceptic I have to say what are you waiting for?

Katie – 02nd November 2012

I recently bought a Mooncup and have just been using it…it is AMAZING! Wondering why it’s taken me so long to get round to it! So easy to use and so much more pleasant than putting bloody cotton in the bin/toilet. I LOVE IT! Everyone woman needs one and it’s so much better for the environment and financially. I’ll never go back 🙂

Bee – 01st November 2012

I have poly-cystic ovary syndrome, meaning insanely heavy, prolonged and irregular periods. At my heaviest I would need to wear both a tampon and a pad, and change both every half-hour or so, with a period lasting anything from 1wk to 3mths! I can also go anything from 6mths to 2yrs between periods, so wasn’t sure whether a Mooncup would work out, getting used to it over 3 cycles could take years! But I got mine about a year ago, and wish I had done it much sooner! It does take a little time to get right, but I cannot stress enough how worthwhile it is to try it, stick with it and make it work for you. I can wear my Mooncup for a couple of hours even at my heaviest, and all day (up to 8hrs anyway) at other times, without needing to empty it. It copes brilliantly with fluctuating flow and with clots. No more rustling packets in work / public toilets either, and no more trying to deal with used sanitary products when there is no waste bin. Plus I do feel a bit smug knowing I am not contributing even more waste to landfill too. Thank you for a brilliant, life-changing product!

Jen – 05th October 2012

Hi, I was thinking about it recently and worked out I have been using my Mooncup exclusively for nearly 8 years! As soon as I tried it I could never go back to pads or tampons. This has made my quality of life so much better, I cannot even begin to describe how grateful I am. I can’t imagine a single woman who should be without one. To anyone thinking about trying it – stop thinking, start doing! I persuaded my sister to try it, she has been using it for a few years (she is far more squeamish than me) and she went on holiday recently with pads/tampons as she didn’t want the worry of using it whilst travelling; but when she came back she said she was going straight back to mooncup as she had forgotten how gross pads were, and how rubbish tampons were! Hurrah! The benefits outweigh any concerns over mess, even for someone who hates the sight of blood.

Sophie – 22nd September 2012

I found out about moon-cups years ago, they have literally changed my life for the better. Recently whilst at a festival my friends saw an advertisement for them and were a bit confused about what on earth they were. It felt liberating to be the ‘mother hen’ as it were and tell my friends all about them – I wish I’d told them years ago. I don’t know what I’d do without my moon-cup, it is one of the best things I have ever bought. YOLO.

Hanna . E – 11th September 2012

I’ve just ordered my third Mooncup in six years, not because they have worn out (far from it), but because I’ve managed to lose it once again, haha! Subsequently I have endured a Mooncup-free period for the first time in years. Disgusting! I don’t know how I coped with the leaks, discomfort and mess of pads and tampons for so long before switching to the Mooncup. The inventors deserve a medal. This is a lifechanging thing. I’m going to make a determined effort not to leave this one in a random handbag or bathroom, because I can’t go through another period without it…and sorry to anyone who finds the others…

Laura – 25th July 2012

Fantastic! Since having a baby I found tampax very uncomfortable due to scarring. I found out about and tried a mooncup, after a couple of attempts to get comfortable and confident and removing the whole stem I became completely converted! Comfortable, money saving, no leaks, no get ups in the night to change, great for the environment and no bin in the bathroom to empty (I was never a flusher!).Brilliant. I’d go as far as saying its changed my life!
Give it a go, you have nothing to lose!

Laura – 21st July 2012

Seriously, just buy one. It will change your life! I first heard of the mooncup years ago when a friend of a friend recommended it to me (after typical girly talk about heavy periods/ the horror of the pads and tampon combo) and my gut reaction was ‘ick’. I wrongly assumed it would be messy, smelly and just part of a hippie fad. Meanwhile, I was struggling with crippling period pain and near constant urinary tract infections (caused, I now believe, by large tampons expanding and pressing uncomfortably on my urinary tract). I was also reading horror stories about the bleaching and chemicals that tampons undergo and resenting the massive quantities of tampons I was being forced to buy each month to cope with my flow. I only properly looked into getting a mooncup a year ago, and I was won over straightaway. This website had loads of really good, detailed information and the testimonials really helped sway me because I could see that lots of other women who had been struggling had found a solution with the cup.
My first try was a bit hit and miss, mainly because getting it in and out takes a little getting used to. But by the second month I was a bit of a pro! I can honestly say that this is one of the best products I have ever bought in my life. It has improved my quality of life considerably. The pain I experience with cramps has reduced (I think maybe the flexibility of the cup helps) and the fact that it holds so much more fluid than a tampon means that long shifts at work are a lot less stressful. I really can’t imagine how I managed without it!
I made sure to stick the stickers in public places, hoping that if at least one woman who struggled like I did sees it and looks into it further, it will be worth it. My friends are sick of me ranting on at them about how great it is, but I’ve already won a couple of them over. It’s a total joke that pads and tampons are the default sanitary product, especially as the mooncup is a much more environmentally sustainable alternative. I really hope that I see this change in my lifetime.
So, from the bottom of my heart, a massive thank you to you women behind mooncup. This is the first customer review I have ever left, but I just had to let you know what a great job you’re doing. Many thanks, Ffion

Ffion – 20th July 2012

Dear mooncup Company Just have to tell you that I am very exited and happy about the mooncup. Thank you very much for constructing such an intelligent, pracitical and confortable solution for womans period. Since the very first day I use it without any problem, asking myself why I had to become 37 to discover this gift. Somehow you changed my life- at least once per month 🙂 Thankfull greetings and wish you further succsess with mooncup – from switzerland.

Rachel – 08th June 2012

Oh my goodness. Where have you been all my life? At aged 47 I discovered the mooncup. I’d been diagnosed with fibroids 10 years ago and have unpleasantly heavy periods, particularly a problem at night when i had regular leakage despite using double protection. Then I moved to France 8 years ago and live in a house with no mains drainage which means there’s no nice way of disposing of used sanitary products other than to put it in the bin. The discovery of the mooncup means no unpleasant bin situations, no waste and even better no night time spillages. Thank you a million tines over!!!

Nicola31 – 05th April 2012

I’m in Australia and ordered my Mooncup online. I have been using it for around a year now- I has completely changed the way I view having a period! It’s no longer a hassle. It’s easy, I hardly have to think about it. I boast about the Mooncup to anyone who cares to listen. I can sleep without any other protection. Have never had a leakage issue. I’m pretty sure my vaginal health is a lot better since I began using these. I generally feel cleaner. Seriously, life changing!

Alex – 20th March 2012

I love my Mooncup. I bought mine on a whim to be more green and never wear pads again, and I couldn’t live without it now. It definitely took some getting used to and I wouldn’t say that it’s any easier than other methods (it still takes me longer to put in and out than a tampon) but I not having to buy menstrual products is wonderful, and I never leak anymore. It was a lifesaver as I had stopped being able to wear pads because of severe itching (I would literally wake up trying to scratch my skin off) and since my flow was fairly light tampons made me very very dry and sore. (this seriously affected my sex life also).
My Mooncup has fixed any issue I had. No itching, no dryness, and intercourse no longer feels “sandpapery”. I would recommend to anyone.

Sara – 11th March 2012

I just purchased my second Mooncup after using the first one for almost a decade. Since then I haven’t used any pads or tampons so I have to say it has definitely earned its money back!
I really recommend every woman to give it a try. It may feel awkward and a bit too hands on at first, but once you get comfortable with it it’ll change the way you deal with your period. It’s SO much more liberating and comfortable than wearing a pad or worrying about tampon leakage. I couldn’t imagine my life without my Mooncup!

Vera – 11th February 2012

Mooncup has changed my life! A friend of mine was so thrilled with her discovery, i just had to try. Having used the mooncup for the last 6 months now, I really don’t think i could go back to using tampons. The most profound part of this experience for me has been this feeling of finally understanding my body. An awareness of how my period progresses and makes me feel day by day. I subsequently have made moves to become healthier and rethink hormonal contraception. Also having a clear visual of just how much blood you loose on your fist few days made me realised that the odd iron boost would benefit me supposed to coffee and a pain killer. I don’t consider myself new age in any respect but I feel now that our bodies aren’t designed to be complicated with products, hormones and corporations and advertising – mooncup is just the simplest, cleanest device, no frills and i love that ! Thank you mooncup people for such a revolutionary product!

Alexandra – 02nd January 2012

A wonderful product which has changed my whole attidute towards my period. Aas well as making life so much easier, and saving me loads of money, I now feel more connected to my body and less ashamed of what is in fact a natural and wonderful process! Thank you!

bella – 24th October 2011

I do not have words for how much I love my Mooncup! I found out about them by accident, and am SO glad I did! I could not imagine my life without my mooncup! I suffer from such heavy periods that I went and had surgery (emdometrial ablation) to try and help, with no sucess. Then I stumbled on a site discussing menstral cups, I had no idea what in the world they were talking about, and to be honest at first thought the idea of a menstral cup was disgusting. But I was intregued, so I bought one anyway. So, so, so glad I let my curiousity get the best of me!I will NEVER again go back to ANYTHING other than the mooncup! Pads are gross, stinky and messy. Tampons are just as bad as well as uncomfortable! Teh Mooncup is so comfortable that there are times that I forget that I even have my period. With the Mooncup, I can get back to my life without having to worry about leaks and smells and if someone is going to see my dirty tampon or pad in the garbage.
I can’t speak highly enough of the Mooncup. I just wish it was more advertised so I would have been able to get back to normal life earlier!

Des – 23rd October 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter