Mothers and Daughters

Mothers and Daughters

I bought a mooncup about a year ago after deliberating whether to try it or not for the previous 6 months.
I have struggled with very heavy periods since I was a teenager. Since having my two children things became worse and trying to manage a heavy period alongside a very busy work life and family life was becoming harder to manage. I wish I had discovered the mooncup earlier in life as it truly has had a massive impact on how I now experience a period. I would be happy to recommend this product to anyone! I have now had one years experience in using the mooncup and feel confident in using it. I no longer worry about leaking everywhere whilst at work and can look forward to a holiday (and swimming!) without worrying about my period. I definitely will be encouraging my own daughter to use a mooncup from the get go. An added plus that can’t be overlooked is the positive environmental impact too. Please try the mooncup – you honestly and truly won’t look back!!

Becca – 19th April 2018

I am 16 years old and I started using the Mooncup on my 13th birthday. I thought it would be difficult but it was very easy to use and did not hurt a bit.
My favourite way of emptying is in the shower. I empty it down the plughole and wash it in warm water with Dettol soap or just a little anti-dandruff shampoo which keeps it sweet. Being wet, it is very easy to put back in.
A friend tried a cheap one from China. Because the silicone was soft it collapsed inside her and leaked. Also the sizes can be different and the cup may not fit as well. There really is no substitute for the UKs own Mooncup!
The Mooncup is always a perfect fit and I cannot even tell if it is there, it is just as if it is a natural part of my body.
Ideal for sport, no string to show in changing rooms or communal showers! And long-lasting and leak-free, it lasts me all day whatever I am doing!.
Now my 10-yr-old sister wants one but Mum is not so keen on that idea!

Suzie- 20th December 2017

I heard about the mooncup via a review someone posted on Youtube a few years ago but finally got one this year. As a teenager this is much more conveniant than other sanitary products. I’ve never liked tampons, they just felt wrong and were super uncomfortable however, using the mooncup felt much more natural and I was suprised that it ‘disappeared’ once it was inside. I only could feel the stem – which I later had to remove but since there has been no problems. It definitely took some practise but it was definitely worth it! I especially like the idea that you can use the Mooncup Menstrual Cup even when you’re not on your period – I did a few ‘dry runs’ just to practice the insertion and removal until I felt comfortable and it helped so much! If you are having problems with insertion or removal I definitely recommend doing a ‘dry run’. This product has changed my life and I have recently also got my mum to convert to a mooncup user!

Eden – 19th February 2017

I was bought my Mooncup by a friend of mine over twelve years ago. It is the only menstrual product that I have needed to use throughout the whole of the twelve or more years that I have owned it. I am now buying one each for my three daughters and am certain that their Mooncups will serve them as well as mine has served me. Along with the practical and environmental benefits of the Mooncup, there is the connection with the menstrual flow, the blood, instead of just disregarding it as a ‘dirty’ pad or tampon. My periods are coming to an end now but my Mooncup is still what I use when they do occasionally appear. It is the simplest menstrual product to use and I highly recommend it to all women.

Siân – 3rd October 2016

I bought my moon cup over 3 years ago. I had heard of it but never really wanted to spend £20 on it. I really wish I was made to use this when I was younger. I truly believe that tampons made my periods worse and they are so bad for the environment. I will never ever use a tampon again ever!!!!!! I have washable pads for when I am sleeping which go in the washing machine and my moon cup. I have taken it abroad with me, its been running with me its been swimming with me, to parties and nights out with me and it has never let me down. I love it. I lost it once about a year ago and I was so upset my husband went out and got me another one 🙂 bless, if I had had daughters I would make sure they used these. I would love to be able to set up a charity so that women in third world impoverished contries have these, I cant imagine what they go through every month without proper sanitary conditions. I will work that out and hopefully let you all know. I have converted nearly every woman I know, and they are all raving about it. I have lighter less painful periods and my skin is even clearer after using it where as that time I would break out. I have less bloating and my cycle is shorter. Amazing!!! buy one today, dont wait just do it, you wont regret it 🙂

**** – 23rd December 2015

So after years of friends telling to get one, I finally did some four months ago. I have struggled for years with tampons, both applicator and non applicator. Each month dreading my period. I found tampons slipped, were painful, and very drying and itchy. At 42 I didn’t want to go back to sanitary pads. So, the first month was a learning curve. Yes it was a bit uncomfortable putting it in and removing it. When I went out I was worried about the practical aspects so resorted back to the tampon. Month two was a breeze. So much so I forgot I was having a period! Now four months in and I’m a total convert. I want to tell everyone “Free yourself from the tampon”. I live in a small village in rural Derbyshire so I’m not sure how well shouting it will go. Seriously though I have two young daughters who will NEVER use tampons, I wont let them. Mooncup is the future for them.

Sally – 4th October 2015

I only recently heard about me steal cups and decided to try the moon cup around three months ago. I could only see positive comments about it so thought I couldn’t go wrong. I was right, it’s the best thing I have heard of in some time, I love it! I have since given away all my remaining supplies of tampons and pads and purchased another moon cup as a spare. Initially I bought the larger size as I am over 30 years however I have since purchased the smaller cup as I had c-sections for both my children and have found this better. Initially the insertion was a little tricky but I soon got the hang of it. I had to trim the entire stem off but otherwise it is perfect! I even have less period pain which is a big thing for me as I used to suffer terribly. I only wish my mother had told me about this product. I wonder if she ever knew herself. I have spread the word and two friends have since purchased one each and love it also. I will certainly be encouraging my daughter when the time comes. I look forward to another similar product that can be used safely for sexual encounters 🙂

Johanna – 2nd May 2015

I’ve just purchased my second ever mooncup. My first was about 8 years old so it has done a wonderful job! I honestly thought I’d never get the hang of using it, I really worried that I wasn’t doing it right but it’s just a matter of trimming the stem(for me, removing almost completely) and practising.Now, I love it and I am never going to buy another tampon again. I donated my “sanitary supplies” (funny that they are called that when they are anything but sanitary!) to a hospital ward and a women’s shelter. I have saved hundreds of pounds over the years and yes, the planet too.We need to start talking about this openly, I have plucked up the courage to discuss it with friends.

my daughter is 10 and she has asked about her options period wise. school only ever mentioned pads or tampons but she really wants to use a mooncup and I will buy her one to try. I hope she gets on with it, but time will tell. I could buy some washable pads just in case but I want her to be comfortable with her body and not see it as a dirty process.

If you’re reading this and you’re struggling with your mooncup: RELAX you will get the hang of it.
REMEMBER how long it took you when you learnt how to use a tampon or anything else in life
RING the lovely helpline ladies, they are wonderful
REJOICE when you’ve mastered it, now you can help others!

Helen – 28th April 2015

My mother had bought me a mooncup from another site and I fell in love with it. So I purchased one from here, and I will always love it! I love that I don’t have to spend so much on pads or tampons and I love that using the mooncup is better for the environment. And it lasts longer than a tampon. I never have to worry about running out of it:) I defiantly recommend this to my friends and family!!

Kristine – 8th March 2015

I have been using mooncup for 3 years and it makes my heavy periods more bearable. It took me a long time of trial and error to work out where I should wear it as I suffered a lot of leakage. Mooncup advisers were helpful in giving me pointers about how to solve this. I worked out I needed to cut the stem off altogether as it irritated me and wear it lower than I thought. During my period my cervix drops very low so wearing it low works. When I tried to wear it higher I just soaked my pads as usual. Now I am suffering inbetween period bleeding and having the mooncup is helping so much to cope with this, also I have been to see the doctor about this which is important. I am nearly 40 and have had 3 children so I wear the larger size. I would like my daughter to use this product when she is comfortable instead of tampons, she has just started her period and I hope my experience will save her from years of discomfort. After years of using tampons and pads only experiencing the discomfort of heavy tampons or dry tampons when my flow tailed off. I use the mooncup and pads now and use less pads during my cycle and feel much better even on my heaviest days. I can also plan my life around the heaviest days more easily.

Vi – 6th February 2015

At 45 I am no doubt in the last few years of my periods and I just wish I had discovered this sooner. Have had two c-sections and am an older customer but it has not mattered at all – the A-cup fits perfectly – and I am finally not having to deal with the leaks and discomfort tampons left me with. Am about to introduce this to my 14-year old daughter so she can have years of hassle-free periods. Thank you so much!

Rose – 2nd February 2015

I’d thought about trying one for years, but never got round to it (probably would have got one sooner if they could be bought off the shelf in boots!). Then I got a copper coil fitted 6 months ago so decided to try the mooncup to cope with potential heavier periods. Unfortunately with the coil I get a week of spotting/light bleeding before my period – the mooncup makes this so much easier to manage. It’s a bit of hassle in the toilets at work, but yes, I wish I’d got one years ago. While I’m not sure if I’ll put up with the coil for much longer, I’m keeping my mooncup! And I’ll be buying my daughter one as soon as she starts her periods too.

Louise – 30th November 2014

I’ve been a satisfied user of mooncup for about 3 years now! I’m 23 (started periods at 10), and had been wanting to try mooncup for environmental reasons for several years but hadn’t plucked up the courage to give it a go. The last straw for me though was missing a martial arts tournament because I was on my period: I would regularly overwhelm my tampax super-duper-extra-plus-plus-plus and the thought of that happening in the ring (while wearing a white gi!) was unbearable. When I thought about it some more, the idea of having to miss things I wanted to do as well as the endless round of dashes to the bathroom to change tampons and clean up leaks for potentially the next 40 years just didn’t fly (personally I’m not comfortable with using contraceptives to reduce my periods – better out than in, right? that’s my opinion, anyway). Admittedly when I first opened the box I was pretty intimidated by the size of the thing, but after getting used to it gradually (using just once per period at first, then for one day, and so on), I am now a competent user and would definitely not go back to tampons! It’s just a matter of working out which technique suits you best and making it a habit. Standing in the kitchen, casually boiling your mooncup on the stove can feel bizarre at first but actually, it’s a lot easier than emergency dashes to the 24hr petrol station for supplies! For anyone who wants to use mooncup but is not sure/already using it but struggling, my advice is persevere at your own pace. It’s not a race, and if you want to go back to tampons/pads for a while it’s not a problem – mooncup will still be there when you’re ready for another go. Eventually you’ll get the hang of it, and you will have saved money, the environment, and improved your health and convenience. For me, I knew I was a proper, paid-up member of the mooncup club when I successfully went swimming on my period – before mooncup, there was no way in HELL I would even have CONSIDERED that!!! So that shows it works! Now I preach the mooncup gospel whenever the opportunity arises. The only objection (and a half-hearted one at that) was from my mum, who worried about TSS – but I pointed out to her that tampons are not exactly sterile when they come out of their cardboards boxes after spending weeks on a supermarket shelf (whereas mooncup can be sterilised easily), AND they leave potentially harmful residue which mooncup doesn’t! I think she had no choice but to yield to the logic of the situation after that 😀

Elinoir – 29th November 2014

I had wanted to try a Mooncup for some time as liked the idea of being more green, but I never seemed to get round to buying one. Finally, after getting more and more uncomfortable with tampons, especially after having a baby and getting a copper coil fitted, which made my periods heavier and more painful, I ordered one online. I am coming to the end of my first month using it and I am amazed. It is so comfortable, and far from being messy, apart from a little bit when changing, I feel much cleaner during my period than I ever have. My cramps were less and I didn’t even know I was wearing it and could go much longer inbetween changes. I can’t get over how easy it is to use, it was a little fiddly first time and I had to cut the stem almost off, but after a couple of goes it was easy to insert and then really easy to remove, just lean back on the toilet and give a couple of gentle pushes with your muscles and it moves down enough to get hold of and pull gently out. I am just annoyed that I did not try it sooner as I’m 38 now. I have just had to tell all of my female friends as they all need to try it and see how wonderful it is. My daughter is only small, but I know what I will be introducing her to when she starts her periods (many years down the line). Thanks Mooncup you are a life changing discovery!

J – 10th November 2014

When a friend told me about the Mooncup I initially thought Yuck! and dismissed the idea. Then I had my daughter and my periods got really heavy, I needed tampons and pads but still had embarrassing leaks so eventually I stopped going out socially during my on days as it was too stressful! Also my period pains got worse, I would spend hours bent up with a hot water bottle getting grumpy with anyone and everyone! So I decided to try it, that was about 4 years ago. The first few days of using it were a bit hit or miss but once I got used to it it changed everything. I no longer have to fill my supermarket trolley with tampons and pads saving me about £10 a month, or fill handbags to bursting point once a month. No more worries about leaks, even heavy periods go by with ease. My period pains have gone, I don’t seem to get PMT. It’s less messy than I had to cope with before. I can’t fault it! I only wish I had known about it sooner, I could have saved so much waste from tampons,goodness knows how much money and stopped so many days being ruined by cramps. Thank you to everyone that was involved in creating this amazing product! I have recommended it to friends and will be sure to tell my daughter when she gets her periods and hopefully I can save her some of the pain and misery that I had to go through! : )

Ruby – 6th September 2014

Just bought and used my first mooncup today. At age 40 and with 3 children I thought I knew it all – I was so very wrong! Today I’ve been on the beach in a wetsuit all day playing with kids, kayaking and swimming. No toilet facilities at all so normally impossible with a period. However, today was a total joy! (Quick dip in the sea when needed a wee!!) When I came home, I struggled a bit to get it out but read the leaflet again and managed ok. So pleased, this product will have so many benefits – just how did I not know about it before? My daughters certainly will when the time comes!!

Jo – 20th July 2014

I’m from Australia and a friend’s sister told me about mooncups when we were about 14 -tho her terminology was somewhat cruder! I had a few hippyish friends and many of them had heard about them, but none of us really knew where to get them from back in the dark ages BI (before the internet)! FF a few years until after I’d moved to the UK, I finally discovered them on the internet… when I was pregnant!! Ah the irony!
Then, thanks to lactational amhenorrea I didn’t get a period for nearly 2 years, but after that, I was browsing through Boots one freezing morning and came across a moon cup! YAY! I was trepidatious -£20 is a lot to shell out for something that you’re not sure about (I think it must’ve been in the first release), but I bought it and have never used a tampon since -sometimes I have resorted to pads, especially as after 7years, during my last pregnancy my Mooncup was thrown away, and now, 2 years on I have to get organised and order a new one from OS, which seems like effort, but I’ll be oh so happy when it gets here and I can swim etc.
I find that showering twice/day and inserting it then solves any dramas with mess & public loos, tho’ it’s not too bad when the toilet is in the bathroom and you can use a flannel (never felt too comfy with the idea of flush water).
The cup is sooo comfy (or more to the point unnoticable)! and less dangerous than 2 tampons!!! (which I saw recommended elsewhere for heavy flow) My daughter is getting one for her menstruation onset celebration, whenever that be!
And I recommend them to anyone who brings up tampon discomfort -tho it’s tricky to know who will give you the blank “crazy loon” look!
It did take a couple of months to get used to it and ocasionally there were issues when I mis-inserted it, but nothing more than when tampons were new, and it’s sooooooo much comfier & more convenient (especially when camping/travelling) when it is right!
& to the teen girls reading this, don’t have sex when it’s up your vagina, but you shouldn’t be doing that with tampons either!! (from a mum)

Isa – 14th February 2013

At 16, after being amenorrhoeic for a year with an eating disorder, my period came back as as pretty nasty surprise. I used pads and tampons for a day before remembering some research I did on the mooncup before. I persuaded my mum and bought it straight away 😀 Got home and was slightly scared at how huge it looked! But inserted it pretty easily and painlessly straight away with the ‘c’ fold. Getting it out took…a little more practice. Given that I am probably pretty ‘narrow’, tugging it and pulling it straight out probably wasn’t the best idea…ouch. But after 3 or 4 different tries, that got easier and I can do that easily now too 🙂
But ohhhh my gosh, when it’s in! You can’t feel it, it doesn’t leak at all, you can leave it in waaay longer than tampons and forget about your period, I plan to go swimming tomorrow, I won’t have to pack half a suitcase full of pads and tampons when I travel, will save money and be healthier and greener it’s so so good! It is kind of gross (but at the same time weirdly fascinating) seeing the contents but it’s worth it! In short: converted

Sarah – 09th January 2013

On month 7 with my mooncup and I’m head over heels in love with her!! Took a few months to feel comfortable and confident using her and there were days I felt frustrated, but the thought of going back to tampons kept me trying and now we pretty slick!!
I work outdoors all day, I walk dogs, and felt awful having to use my customers toilets at the that time of the month, and I couldn’t possibly have left my tampons in their bins, yuck! Mooncup has made this so much easier!

Also my cramps are almost completely gone, think most of the pain was psychological (trying to hold on) but I don’t feel the need with the mooncup.

Managed lunch in the big smoke with the girls today, 2 re-freshes completed successfully with the help of a bottle of water stashed in my bag! Was so pleased! Can’t wait to introduce my daughter (she’s 11, nearly there!) to a mooncup so she never has to feel the way I was made to feel when my periods started!!

All hail the Mooncup!

Thank you

Rachael – 20th December 2012

I found a thread dedicated to the mooncup on a health forum I’m a member of, I read the thread from start to finish to gather an idea of people’s individual experiences. By the time I had reached page 49 I was sold and ordered one, I was told to expect a 14 working day wait for it’s arrival, instead it arrived in just four days, I didn’t have to pay p&p which in itself is a great bonus. I have now been able to put the mooncup to the test and boy have I put it through it’s paces. Tested against a heavy period, chronic crippling period pains, the use of an IUD and tampons which for me have generally worked. Today I strode past the feminine hygiene aisle, feeling so pleased I will no longer have to spend money on disposable sanitary items or add to the ever increasing landfill. The mooncup really is a too good to be true product that is actually true!! :)You only have to read a few of these fabulous testimonials to be sold. Absolutely thrilled with my mooncup and only sad that the mooncup idea didn’t get round to my lovely mother before the menopause hit, I’m actually pretty sure she’d like another period just to test it out herself. Fab, fab fab, thankyou ladies 🙂

Kelly – 24th June 2012

I love my new mooncup and wish I had used one from the beginning! It works even after four vaginal births! (and being a little lazy with pelvic floor exercises) no leaks no stained clothes no floods! When my eldest daughter starts to menstruate I really hope she will use one, I would suggest advertising if your company can afford it as I heard about them by chance
Thank you

Aileen – 31st May 2012

I’ve always used tampons but never liked the smelly disposal. Plus, as an Ironman triathlete, I had the problem of l-o-n-g training sessions (7-8 hours on the bike, 3 hours running and 1-2 hours in the water). Obviously you need to change tampons more often than that and where do you dispose of them out in the country side or on the beach? It was getting ridiculous: running the South Downs Way relay race (14 hours with no access to a loo) with used tampons in my bag – yuk! Plus, when I swim the tampon soaks up so much water that I have to dash to the loo and change the soggy thing with blood and water running down my leg. Again, a nightmare when you’re trying to get a sea swim in before dashing to work. I’ve never yet had a period on an ironman race day but what can you use for 13 hours protection?!
I heard about the mooncup years ago when I was trying to be Eco and use washable nappies but I thought it was just for hippies and I didn’t know you could just reinsert if you didn’t have access to a tap. Anyway with all the above, when it caught
my eye in Boots, I decided to try it. Didn’t care if I wasted £20.

So far it’s been brilliant. Swam twice yesterday (pool and sea). No soggy tampon!!!!!

My daughter is 11 and I’m sure just about to start her periods. She is a competitive swimmer and swims 6 times a week. I’m going to tell her about it today 🙂

HJ – 05th April 2012

After searching ‘alternative to tampons and pads’ on google, Mooncup came up in all the searches so I decided to be open-minded have a look, I only bought one this afternoon while in the middle of my period and already I am seeing and feeling a difference. I have been diagnosed with a ovary problem which as a result meant I can no longer use tampons without extreme pain in my ovary occurring on insertion. So I have to make do with pads throughout my very heavy periods, which as you can imagine isn’t ideal (especially during the night) And just to top things off, I have become very allergic to all brands of pads and get painful rashes down there, which was the point where I couldn’t take it any more which is why I took to google for alternatives! Now I have all the freedom of a tampon i.e. swimming etc without the pain and dryness that tampons give. Already there’s all those benefits just for me alone before you even take into consideration how eco-friendly it is. How many times have you put a high absorbency night pad in expecting more just to find in the morning that hardly anything has come out during the night and now you have to throw away a virtually unused pad to go on landfill. I could go on all day about it, but all in all, even only after a few hours of owning one and reading all the brilliant reviews and the facts, it comes out on top every time. I really don’t understand why this method isn’t as well known as tampons in this day and age of everything being eco! I can see me using this for years and years to come, and definitely encouraging my future daughters to use it as well. I will recommend to all the women I know. Thank you xxx

Hannah – 23rd March 2012

I decided to use the mooncup because I got terribly sore each month during and after my period using tampons and pads. I no longer get the irritation and also don’t become dry.

Although I still leak a little on my heavy days (I have very heavy periods which can also be measured with the mooncup) I wouldn’t go back to other methods.
Another unexpected benefit is that I can now shower with my girls if necessary without the embarrassing questions that come with using tampons (or having no protection with pads).

And not having a bin full of sanitary products each month is another added bonus.

I recommend mooncup to all my friends and would hate to be without it.

Jenny – 28th February 2012

Having heard about the Mooncup some years ago, I finally decided to try it out having had some concerns about tampons and the fact I was using so many. I am 44 and now wish I had tried the Mooncup many years ago…it is brilliant and far easier than I originally thought it would be. I am using them with washable towels which are equally wonderful in beautiful colourful fleece made by Minki, easy to wash, easy to wear and help with feeling secure if anything leaks a little. Now on day 3, I have counted 147ml! It is also great because I can go without needing a bathroom for far longer, especially in the first few days… no more every half hour change. Thank you! Thank you! In a few years time, I will also be able to show my daughter that there is a suitable alternative to disposables which gives even more freedom and is better for the environment.

Amanda – 17th February 2012

I have been using a mooncup for 2 years now and totally love it, wish that I’d known about them years ago. My 13 year old daughter is a competitive swimmer and I bought her one in readiness for her periods to start…which they did yesterday, and she managed it no problem. She’s there saying “I don’t know what all the fuss is about” – as her friends make a big thing. She’s delighted too!

Dawn – 30th January 2012

I wouldn’t use anything else. I suffered for years with recurring thrush and urine infections but have been completely clear since I started using my Mooncup. I can only attribute it to not using tampons that are bleached and upset my body’s natural balance.I love my Mooncup. It’s simple to care for and clean, it’s easy to pop in and out, and one day I’ll be buying one for my daughter. I’d much rather she learn to live with her periods in the most natural way, than bung herself up with bleach-soaked cotton wool.

Polly – 23rd January 2012

I heard about Mooncup from my Mum a few years ago and decided to give it a go. I hated having periods and actually found them quite distressing but since using the mooncup, it’s all completely changed. I’m able to deal with the blood and I feel a lot cleaner through using it. My mum has since got one, and I’ve recommended it to friends and a local health food shop that’s just opened. I absolutely love it and would love for mroe people to know about it and understand it.

Jo – 09th November 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter