Odour

Odour

Although I try to live my life as respectfully of the environment as possible, I am by no means an obsessive “eco warrior” type and the “green” aspect of the mooncup was not my main motivation for trying it. (It is, of course, a highly gratifying bonus!) For years I have absolutely dreaded my periods and the associated dryness and itchy irritation that comes with using tampons and pads, not to mention the foul odour and feeling of not being “clean,” no matter how often I wash to try and keep fresh. After careful research, I hoped that a menstrual cup could offer me a way to avoid all that misery. AND WOW, HAS IT EVER! The mooncup has completely transformed my experience of that time of the month. Fairly easy to insert and remove with practice and patience, it coped brilliantly with my heavy flow, needed less frequent changing and best of all- no more discomfort…and no more period “smell.” And because it’s reusable and lasts for years, lots of money saved too. Why on earth aren’t all women using these? Not only would it make periods easier (and cheaper) to live with but imagine wiping out all that noxious landfill! Just make the change and liberate yourself from the tyranny of the sanitary product industry forever. Environmental charities should be distributing these for free to women in third world countries as well.

Julie-2nd April 2017

I bought one of these after seeing a few adverts online and was curious so i had a good look at thewebsite and faqs and it sounded great. My periods are very light of late and this has been super annoying as I don’t get on with sanitary towels, I get thrush, and I’m too light to use tampons for the recommended time at the moment. Anyway, the mooncup is easy to insert because it’s mega squishy and once it’s in I can’t feel it. I had a practice go after a bath a few days prior so I was familiar with it as well. Best part is feeling clean and fresh like I’d used a tampon but none of that horrible feeling removing it. Mooncup is no more difficult or messy than a non applicator tampon and far more comfortable! Wish I’d discovered it sooner!!

angela – 28th November 2015

I’m so sad, since I got my Mooncup I had to forget about all my favourite hobbies:
– worrying about leakage
– feeling unclean and worrying about odour
– spending money on sanitary products
– remembering to take them if I stay over somewhere
– finding ways to dispose of towels
– polluting the environment
– always half thinking about when/where the nearest bathroom will be
– feeling like I want to shower 5 times a day
– enjoying the physical discomfort of tampons and towels

Took less time to get the hang of it than I expected, and now I have, it’s like I don’t even notice my period has come and gone because it was so easy. You spend 2 minutes emptying it and then don’t feel like you’re on your period for the next 8 hours.

I am free!

I hope there is a campaign to get these out to women in need, I would support it 100%.

Kate – 12th November 2015

Mooncups are so simple, effective and clean they make tampons and pads seem a bit antiquated by comparison! No more leaks, no more worrying about funny smells, no more itchy, sticky yuckiness on hot days, no more dryness and irritation, no more feeling gross and dirty down there, no more waste going in to land fill! One of the best things I have bought for myself.

Ann – 9th July 2015

the first time you have to insert it will be a little tricky, especially if you are nervous as I was! you don’t want to cut the stem the first 2 -3 times, or you’ll have a panic attack as I did when I “couldn’t find it” and just hurt yourself. Just take your time, the mooncup will find her way inside your body, and then all your periods will be a walk in the park. This has been my second month and I couldn’t be happier, you can’t feel it, you can exercise, work , do anything you like with that magical clean sensation and don’t have to worry about forgotten tampons, change the smelly things, always feeling wet and uncomfortable. Just forget about those days!!

Simona – 26th June 2015

After suffering with increasingly heavy periods and pain that was getting worse year on year I was getting very tired of ‘standard’ sanitary products – a super plus tampon would only last 45 minutes at the most for the worst day of my period and I found myself getting yeast infections every couple of months. The bulk and sometimes weird smell that accompanies pads meant that they were also off-putting for me.
After seeing a Mooncup sticker inside a toilet door at university and seeing on the website that its capacity was more than that of the most absorbent tampons, I decided to give it a try. I wish someone had told me about this years ago and it could have saved me a hundred periods of misery!

It takes a little getting used to at first – I obviously wasn’t getting the seal right during my first period with it and it kept creeping further and further up which lead to lots of leaks and trying to fish it out was a bit of a nightmare. As I had to do with tampons a decade ago, however, I persevered and eventually got it right! Making sure the holes aren’t blocked, turning it, inserting it as low as possible and particularly giving the stem (which I shortened as much as possible) a little tug downwards once it’s inserted and opened all seem to help with forming a seal and since then, I experience next to no leaks even with my nightmare periods overnight when I only have to wear a thin pantyliner in case I really exceed its capacity during a long sleep.

I have found my cramps and pain to be much less severe than they were using tampons and I haven’t had a single yeast infection in the year I’ve been using the Mooncup. Between these benefits for my health, for my wallet, the environment and the fact that you can’t feel it when inserted properly (I used to hate it when my tampon slipped further down and it would irritate my nether regions!), the Mooncup has been a complete lifesaver.

Something you don’t realise as well until you experience it – I no longer have the panic of realising I have no sanitary products in my bag or jacket – I can pop into the loos with it in and not have to worry about taking things with me. No more running home from lectures to fill my bag with bulky super plus tampons, no more worrying on nights out that I’m going to be leaking within half an hour and don’t have anything with me. It’s been the best decision I have made for my health and sanity coping with my horrendous periods and I espouse its merits to anyone who will listen!

It’s about time we expand puberty and sex education in schools to let girls know that there are other options out there. It would have saved me so much money, time and distress over the years! Thank you Mooncup!

Meg – 18th June 2015

Having just decided to stop using my pill (which stopped my periods) dread crept in at the thought of using tampons agains. When a newspaper article caught my eye, Mooncup – never heard of it but the report made me want to know more. I visited the Mooncup website, watched the video & read people’s reviews. I found them so positive & encouraging that the next day I purchased my very own Mooncup with a well if it works it works attitude. Today I have tried it for the first time, early days I know it wanted to share my experience.
After about 5 mins I managed to insert the cup, using the folding methods recommended – I tried both ways (purely as had to try several times to insert it). Once in I coukdnt feel it & my day has passed with no leaks, phew must be in right place. Ok when it has come to emptying & replacing it I have spent longer in the bathroom but it’s first day & new, I guess when I started using tampons I was the same. So far I have to agree with every review I have read, I feel fresh & clean, I don’t itch & haven’t had a headache (something I live with normally when on my period). I’m 40 have no kids but stayed on pill just to not have periods & the hassle of them, now wish had known about the Mooncup earlier I may have had more days like today

Jen – 11th April 2015

I’m 21 years old and just heard about the mooncup. It’s disappointing that tampax and other sanitary products seem to have more marketing material than cups. So, on discovering this product though an article on the internet,I was dubious. If this product is so hygienic, cheap and green; how have I never heard of it before? I did my research and I couldn’t wait to order one. I’ve always had problems with other sanitary products. I found them very irritating, both physically on my skin and how unclean I felt while using them, not to mention the cost and how inconvenient it is having to buy them every month.
However, since using the mooncup I have experienced none of these problems. I’ve felt like I can actually go out and enjoy myself without the worries of leaking etc. While using it I felt totally comfortable and was able to leave it in for the full eight hours without any mess. There is no odor at all, no cramping, and no mess of trying to dispose of stuff discreetly. The most beneficial aspect of the mooncup for me is that I can use it for my light flow without that awful, dry, scratchy feel of the tampon.

The only downfall is that it can be tricky to insert, but I think that is more my problem than the mooncup’s. It can also make some icky noises when removing it. However, cutting off the stem and removing the cup by squeezing it made no sound at all.

I can’t recommend this product enough, it’s saved me money, time, and left my life that little bit less stressful. I no longer dread my period, result!

Thank you so much.

Kay – 29th March 2015

I LOVE IT!! My periods before having children where just hideous. I could easily spend £20 and more on pads and tampons in one period. It was a real down moment. My bag just seemed to consist of sanitary products. In the end I stayed in. I then found the Mooncup through an online forum. I read about it and read all the benefits it could have for me. It hasnt let me down. I have two children since I got my first mooncup and I wouldnt live without it. No smells, no leaking, no fear of going out and no more sanitary hang bag. It has helped me so much. My flow is lighter, im in less pain and I feel so much more confident. Ill sing the praises of my Mooncup to all my lady friends. Thank you!!

Lucy – 12th March 2015

It doesn’t smell. It doesn’t leak. You can wear whatever underwear you want (or none at all!). It doesn’t dry you out. It doesn’t leave fibres inside you. You don’t have to deal with it every time you go to the toilet. It can cope with clots. You don’t have to buy more and more every month. There’s no gross string hanging out of you. You don’t have to throw it away and feel guilty about the waste. It doesn’t feel like a nappy. You can measure your period so you know if something unusual happens. It doesn’t come wrapped up in pointless, wasteful packaging. You don’t have to carry loads of supplies around with you.
I feel free.

I did find insertion and removal a bit difficult to start with, but after sticking with it for a couple of days I soon got into the swing of it.

It saves me money, it saves me hassle and it’s comfortable. What more could I ask for?

liz – 9th March 2015

I started using my moon cup this week. Ladies, if you don’t know this product and are still using tampons and pads, I beg you to check it out! It is unbelievably fantastic!!
I never felt so comfortable during my period. No itchiness, no dryness, no leakage, no odour, no waste!! I feel much safer and healthier and in touch with myself. I can move around, I can go into the water for a bath or a swim, I enjoy being close with my boyfriend. And even the pain wasn’t as bad as usual this month.

It took me some time to give it a try because it was unfamiliar to me. I learned about it online and didn’t know anybody in person who was using a menstrual cup. I usually dread my period because I have very bad menstrual cramps and mood swings and the disposable sanitary products dry me out. I’m used to feeling just awful for several days and suffering from itches after each period.

I absolutely hate tampons, they always gave me pain. The fact that the moon cup is inserted into the vagina as is the tampon put me off for some time. I imagined inserting it as painful because of my experience with tampons and the size of the moon cup looked intimidating.

With finally mustering up the courage and giving the moon cup a try, I got the hang of it much quicker than I had expected. It doesn’t feel like a tampon at all, in fact, I find it much easier to insert despite the bigger size. Once it’s in, I barely feel it at all. There’s no burning sensation or uncomfortable itching, it smoothly slides in and sits comfortably low. It doesn’t feel like an intruding object at all.

I can officially state that I’m never going back!! I feel so ridiculously more comfortable and happy, I already lost a bit of my fear regarding my period after using it for only 4 days! Even my boyfriend is fond of it and notices that I’m much happier with it. I showed him the moon cup and dared to really talk about my period with him, I kinda lost a lot of my shame.

I think this product is simply genius. There’s only pros, all the way. Thank you, moon cup!! 😀

Anna – 4th March 2015

I’ve had my mooncup for 6 months now, I was going travelling, and forced myself to get used to it during the period before we left, because as I suspected it was absolutely brilliant. Day one of period, on a boat for 13 hours with no toilet, let alone running water – no worries with my Mooncup. I was talking to a young woman today, saying she must try one… she grimaced, too much bodily contact. On thinking back I’m sad that I’ve added so much to landfill over the years, and maybe when I was younger I wouldn’t have felt comfortable being so “in touch with myself” however being a Nanny I change millions of dirty nappies/diapers I now recognise a period is just the same, it’s just a bodily function and there’s nothing dirty about it, it’s just life. Mooncups are so environmentally friendly, no nasty (real or imagined) smell and you never need period pants again, in fact I can continue to sleep in the buff for the whole month now, it’s brilliant. I’m definitely spreading the word.

Maria – 26th February 2015

I heard about mooncups just a few years ago, and wish I’d known about them even sooner than that. I couldn’t be happier- it doesn’t have a revolting odor, no more expensive bleached cottons products, and it’s no messier than my tampons ever were. All of my worry about carrying enough sanitary products at any given time are gone because all I need is my one mooncup. This thing is incredibly freeing and I love it for so many reasons, I recommend it every chance I get.

Joyce – 25th February 2015

A life changing & completely genius invention! I feel grateful that I have found this product in my early twenties and have not had to endure years of bother with tampons and sanitary towels. You save money, look after the environment, feel clean and fresh during your period and it’s so easy to use. Believe every testimonial on here because it is the best thing that has ever happened to me regarding my period! You would be a fool not to buy one immediately!!

Chloe – 24th February 2015

Menstrual cups are not as commonly used in the US yet – so I hadn’t heard of them until recently. I did some research and decided on the MoonCup UK (MCUK). I can’t believe no one shared menstrual cups with before now. My period, for the first time ever wasn’t a huge inconvenience. The MCUK was easy to use – easier than I expected. I never felt comfortable in tampons and I was delightfully shocked when the MCUK was totally comfortable – couldn’t feel it at all, no matter how I ran, jumped, sat, rolled, slept – it was like it wasn’t there. There were no leaks, no smell, no issues.
I have already told many of my girlfriends to look into getting their own menstrual cup – of course recommending MCUK.
Thank you for making such a great product with the support needed to make sure your customers are successful!

Amanda – 15th February 2015

The best product ever! I started using mooncup because I wanted to cut down on waste, but I couldn’t even handle tampons. Its taken me 3 periods to get to a point where its all I use! And I only used 4 pads on my last one. You can sleep, pee, run, skip, you really don’t feel it at all. I don’t need any stem to get it out either, it did take me a while of fishing around but then I found out I was going in at the wrong angle. My vagina and I have never been closer and I think she’s pretty grateful not to have rashes and smell gross every month! I can sit with my legs open on the tube and not get blasted by iffy wafts…

Jaz – 22nd January 2015

When I tell people I use a mooncup one of the most common reactions is …ew. I have been happily using my mooncup for a good few years. It’s comfortable to wear and insert, unlike conventional raspy scratchy tampons. It doesn’t develop a putrid smell like sanitary towels. I recently misplaced my mooncup and reverted back to sanitary towels for 2 days. I forgot how dirty, fidgety and irritating they are! I had to rush out and buy a new mooncup immediately! I have found a way to not let my monthly cycle interfere with life and I had to get it back.What it doesn’t say on the tin is that mooncup is sensational at saving your sheets from dreaded stains, I also get far better nights sleep with a mooncup over disposable methods. Having discussed with a few friends we have discovered that mooncup seems to ease cramps, whether this is accurate or not it seems to be the only common denominator.
Practice makes perfect, inserting is easy but you will have the odd mishap. TIP: don’t ever whisk it out quickly not matter how much of a rush you are in!

Amy – 19th January 2015

I had been meaning to buy one of these for ages! Sick of tampons and smelly pads, I went out today and bought myself one from Boots. I have to say, it has revolutionised the way I have my period. Saying goodbye and farewell to those cottony friends was the best thing I ever did! I have my mooncup in now for the first time and after a couple of inserts, I’m now pretty confident with my purchase! I want to do my part to help keep this planet clean and tidy for generations to come and the more women buy this product, the world will be less full of sanitary waste! I am so happy that I purchased the MoonCup, I already have friends talking about it and thinking of getting one for themselves! Whoever created this idea is a genius! I feel a lot cleaner ‘down there’, more hygienic and environmentally friendly already. Thank you MoonCup!

Chloe – 25th November 2014

I heard of the Mooncup a few years ago but at that time I was even too scared to use tampons. When I started using tampons, I was getting sick of all the waste and smelly rubbish bins in the bathroom. When I got my contraceptive implant and I knew irregular bleedings could occur I was looking for a new solution. I have used the mooncup for 6 months now and I’m super happy with it. I couldn’t get it in first and it took me a day of practice but it all went well and I would NEVER go back to tampons or pads.

Anna – 17th September 2014

I purchased the mooncup after reading the reviews online over a few months, as a fibroid and heavy period sufferer(I’ve taken various medication and numerous operations but refuse an hysterectomy) I decided as I’d tried every other form of sanitary protection I had nothing to lose! The best decision I have made, I have just had the most easiest, convenient and stress free period for over 10 years! The mooncup is amazing, I couldn’t praise it enough, inserting it is easy( but I have used a diaphragm for contraception for years) it kept me clean and fresh, no leakage, no stomach cramps and no embarrassing moments where I would suddenly pass blood clots and find myself covered! Emptying it was easy and I also found the measurements inside the cup very useful as it is a way for me to monitor blood loss( I am anemic). For some reason I didn’t experience as much pain, or bleeding and it didn’t last as long( 5 days instead of the usual 10 plus) I can not recommend this product enough, I wish I had discovered it years ago! For the firat time in over 10 years I actually had a life during my period. I almost don’t dread my next period! Highly recommended

Michelle – 26th August 2014

I have never written a review or testimonial on anything before, but I am so delighted with my mooncup that I had to let you know! It has been an absolute revelation! By following the extensive and very clear instructions, I found it very easy to use right off the bat and I love it how clean and comfortable it is. I was worried it would be messy before I tried it, but it’s the cleanest sanitary protection I have ever used. I can’t imagine going back to towels again. I have always found tampons difficult to get on with, but the mooncup is totally different. I can’t feel it at all. It’s as if I’m not even having a period when I’m wearing it. I live in a hot, humid country and often get yeast infections after my period because of using towels. The heat can make towels smell very quickly, and damp towels plus sweat feel revolting. No such problems with the mooncup. I can swim spontaneously, roll around on the floor with my baby, sleep without underwear on… It’s changed my life! Thank you! I wish I’d got one years ago.

Helen – 16th August 2014

I bought my Mooncup on a whim a year ago before I went travelling. I had never liked tampons because I found them too dry and uncomfortable (even the light flow ones) and found pads bulky and often messy because the flow of my periods can be a little unpredictable. Mooncups are amazing, especially for someone travelling without regular access to decent toilets and not much luggage space. You can pop it in in the morning and take it out when you get home from your day out if your periods aren’t too heavy. I got the hang of inserting the cup straight off the bat so I was quite lucky, and quite often I forget it’s even there! I’ve only once had a problem with my Mooncup overflowing and that was because it is so unobtrusive that I actually forgot I was on my period! I also find the Mooncup seems to help with my period cramps. However, the biggest advantage of the Mooncup for me is the smell. At times with pads I found that I would sometimes get an odd smell(disgusting, I know!) which made me self conscious and meant I changed pads even more frequently creating even more rubbish. But with the Mooncup I don’t get anything like this, the blood that collects in the cup doesn’t give off a smell at all, which is fantastic. I used to find periods so annoying, but now they are so easy to deal with. All of this makes Mooncup the best choice for me and I know I’ll never go back to other methods of sanitary protection.

Lynn – 31st July 2014

I LOVE my mooncup! I have recently changed career from shop work to gardening. The lack of toilets and bins therefore prompted my purchase. I will never look back. I find it very easy to use and a lot cleaner than having to carry used sanitary products around in the van and it’s nice not to carry pads and tampons in every handbag. It copes with the varied physical parts of my job; running, bending, climbing, hanging, kneeling ect. When I get hot and sweat from digging I don’t have to worry about gross odours and I feel cleaner knowing that I’m not sat sweating in my blood all day. In terms of comfort nappy rash from thick pads is eliminated and I don’t have to worry about wearing pants at night. It also means (like tampons) I can fill my pee bottle without making it obvious to my colleagues (all men) that I’m on. It has reduced my cramps to almost nothing, though they weren’t awful to start with and I’m finding that my period is over much faster. I am also finding that, oddly, I am really enjoying learning about and monitoring my period. This was something I wasn’t expecting. 🙂 Basically ladies; great idea, well made, economically advantageous, ecologically friendly and easy to use!

Laura – 12th July 2014

I have been using my mooncup for about a year now and have not regretted the decision. It’s really easy to use and and not unhygienic when you follow the instructions on washing it.I always used to worry when I went away that I wouldn’t have enough tampons but now I no longer have to think of this! 🙂
I have convinced some of my friends to try it and a couple have do so and not looked back!
I always felt like there was a weird smell when I used tampons and felt really self-conscious about it. But now I don’t notice anything! 🙂
Best £20 I have spent!! 😀

Nessie – 1st July 2014

I have previously had a lot of difficulty when using sanitary towels and tampons. I have found sanitary towels to be uncomfortable, and tampons to leave me in a lot of pain as they would always seem to soak EVERYTHING up, leaving me sore and extremely uncomfortable. I was therefore over the moon to find out about mooncups, but I was very hesitant, concerned that I might not be able to remove the cup easily and may be left in pain. However, I cannot stress how grateful I am that I had the guts to just give it a go. The first time you use the cup can be daunting, but once inserted I couldn’t believe how comfortable it was! Compared to using tampons and constantly being able to feel them, I was really shocked to discover that I couldn’t feel the mooncup at all! The removal was also daunting, but I found that squating and using my inner muscles to (excuse the reference) but squeeze it out of me to be the most successful method. I have seen reviews that state that the mooncup leaves a really horrible smell, but as long as you read the instructions and boil the cup before you use it, there are no horrible smells at all. I would really recommend this product, it really will make that time of the month ever so easy!

Amy – 19th June 2014

Oh my god. The mooncup has changed my life. I have never felt cleaner during my period – no nasty smell, no leaking, no horrid waste filling up our landfills, just give it a wash and it is ready to reuse! I LOVE IT. If you don’t have one, get one! It will change your life too.

Amy – 17th June 2014

I bought my Mooncup after months of wondering whether I should give it ago. I was a bit taken aback by the size of it but managed to get it in successfully first time. As I was keen to try it out and get used to it, I didn’t leave it in too long before attempting my first removal! I found this bit a lot harder than getting it in, but still, managed it without much issue. However, the second time I used my cup, I struggled to get it in and have since realised it will take me a while before I’m a dab hand. I haven’t used my cup every day of my period, each period, but have used it when I’m at my heaviest. I have to really make myself relax and squat down to remove it but if I can’t do it first time, I leave it a bit longer, clear my head and attempt again. I find the knack is not to rely on the stem, as I tend to do, just pull on it far enough that you can comfortably ‘pinch’ the base of the cup then pull on that. I’ve not yet managed to get my fingers far enough round the base that I can squeeze it to remove, so it does feel a bit odd (but not painful) to remove it.One thing I do find unpleasant is the smell. I know other people have said there is no smell, but I find it quite strong. On this note, I have not yet used my Mooncup out and about long enough to have to empty it in public toilets, but at home, I’ve found it takes a lot more than a quick swish of cold water to rinse out. I need the hot tap and at least 2 rinses, so not sure how I’d find having to rinse it in a public loo using a bottle of water? I can smell that distinctive, slightly metallic, slightly ‘meaty’ menstrual blood. Maybe mine is more strongly scented than others and I guess I don’t actually have to sniff my cup! Also, I noticed that the smell lingers after I have sterilised it (using boiling water in a pan), even if I boil it once or twice. This really put me off the first time, but the smell had disappeared by the next month.

One more thing: At first, I found it difficult to know when to remove the cup. Once, I think I left it in slightly too long and when I removed it, the contents spilt out. Today though, day one of what is going to be a heavy period, I kinda of felt heavy down below, as if the cup was literally weighted. When I did remove it, it was indeed pretty full. It’s just trial and error, I guess.
Ive not experienced any leaks with my moon cup, but have noticed some blood once or twice when I’ve wiped – this is down to me not inserting my cup properly – you can tell when you haven’t!
All in all, I really love my Mooncup and can easily see me using it as my sole sanitary product, once I’ve got a bit more used to it.

Helen – 06th February 2013

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter