Swimming

Swimming

I bought a mooncup about a year ago after deliberating whether to try it or not for the previous 6 months.
I have struggled with very heavy periods since I was a teenager. Since having my two children things became worse and trying to manage a heavy period alongside a very busy work life and family life was becoming harder to manage. I wish I had discovered the mooncup earlier in life as it truly has had a massive impact on how I now experience a period. I would be happy to recommend this product to anyone! I have now had one years experience in using the mooncup and feel confident in using it. I no longer worry about leaking everywhere whilst at work and can look forward to a holiday (and swimming!) without worrying about my period. I definitely will be encouraging my own daughter to use a mooncup from the get go. An added plus that can’t be overlooked is the positive environmental impact too. Please try the mooncup – you honestly and truly won’t look back!!

Becca – 19th April 2018

I bought the mooncup a few weeks ago. I’ve known about it for some time but only finally decided to purchase one after problems with my coil and being advices by my doctor that tampons weren’t ideal for someone with a coil.

After spending a couple of hours at the weekends, period free, trying out the mooncup, I was still a little dubious as to whether it was reliable whilst I was at work all day or at training and kept the stock of tampons on hand.

A few days ago, I thought I was coming on my period so popped the mooncup in as a ‘just in case’ and went to my crossfit training… I was amazing to find I had indeed come on my period and it had captured every drop and I hadn’t even felt it during the intense workout. Following a shower when I washed it and reinserted, I headed for a long day at work, where I spend most of the day presenting to delegates: pacing, moving around and generally being quite active. I kept checking for leaks and was delighted that there weren’t any. And again I wasn’t really aware it was there! I arrived home and jumped in the shower, and emptied the mooncup, amazed yet again that it captured everything and was so easy to use! After reinserting (easier each time) I headed to the swimming pool and was now confident that it would be fine! Following a long night sleep without any issues again I now am a full convert and wish I’d started using the mooncup years ago. Gone are the soggy tampon stings and dryness and hello to feeling fresh and confident!

Bravo!! I applaud what you’ve done and will be telling every woman I know!

Emily

Emily – 23rd March 2018

I have just my Mooncup about a year and it has genuinely revolutionised my period. Its so much easier than using tampons and pads which for one I always found horribly uncomfortable but also I had to change mine ever 2-3 hours but the mooncup lasts most of the day. I wear my cup at night too as I always used to find my flow quite light when sleeping meaning I would often be wasting a pad overnight and my period would resume in the morning. Not only this but I swim regularly and forgot I am on my period but a tampon used to be very soggy and start falling out. Thanks for being a life changing product that I can use for years to come! I only started using this at 16 and I am glad I didnt wait any longer.

Katie – 11th November 2017

Ever since reading about the Mooncup via a friend on Facebook, I’d been intrigued to try it. I made a promise to myself that as soon as my period returned after breastfeeding, I would take the plunge. Well, that time has come and yesterday I completed my first Mooncup experience! It took me a couple of days to master it, but by day 3 I felt like a pro, I even went for a swim with my cup in.
After three vaginal births I’m probably lacking a bit of the muscle tone down below that I once had, but I had no problems with inserting/keeping in/retrieving the cup whatsoever. Once I had my positioning sussed it was SO comfortable too.
Seriously wish I’d got on the bandwagon with these things a lot sooner!

Ruth – 6th November 2017

Why have I not tried this sooner!? I’ve seen the signs advertised on toilet doors since I first started my periods back in secondary school, and then when I moved to Uni. I always thought was going to be as bad as tampons (I’ve been a pad user all my period life after some stressful tampon moments).
But I’ve been getting into being green and reducing our household waste and decided to give it a go, thinking it’d end like the tampon problem and I wouldn’t use it. I’ll admit my first few tries didn’t go so well, I had a lot of discomfort. Then I reread the part about trimming the stem so gradually over a couple of periods doing different levels of exercise and movement I’ve got the stem to the perfect length and I’m truly amazed.
Now I don’t know its even there! Its fantastic. I had my first night’s sleep where I didn’t wake up feeling disgusting and it has made my period feel so much better! I’m no longer dreading a week of every month! The best thing for me though has been related to swimming. I always had to take a week or so off swimming because I just wouldn’t wear tampons, but the cup has changed all that – swimming all year round is now possible thanks to my MoonCup!
I love it – I wish I’d had the guts to try this sooner! Its a learning curve, but I think everyone who menstruates should try one!

Stephanie – 4th June 2017

So I am 13 and I started my period in may. I used pads for the first month and felt so icky and gross about it that I decided to try the mooncup which I saw on the boots website. It had good reviews so I bought it and I absolutely love it!!! I do leak every now and then because I am yet to figure out the best ways to do things for my body but honestly I am glad I found this at such a young age and I will never use a pad again! I am a cheerleader and I can cheer and I love to swim and it’s so awesome I love it!

Tabitha- 28th September 2016

I came across the Mooncup when looking online for an alternative to tampons. So glad I found it and will never go back! When I bought it I practiced with it before getting my period and found the punch down fold the easiest and definitely running it under cold water helps. Have used it for four periods now and having no problems. Used it swimming last week and was great. Would highly recommend it

Martina – 26th September 2016

I bought my moon cup over 3 years ago. I had heard of it but never really wanted to spend £20 on it. I really wish I was made to use this when I was younger. I truly believe that tampons made my periods worse and they are so bad for the environment. I will never ever use a tampon again ever!!!!!! I have washable pads for when I am sleeping which go in the washing machine and my moon cup. I have taken it abroad with me, its been running with me its been swimming with me, to parties and nights out with me and it has never let me down. I love it. I lost it once about a year ago and I was so upset my husband went out and got me another one 🙂 bless, if I had had daughters I would make sure they used these. I would love to be able to set up a charity so that women in third world impoverished contries have these, I cant imagine what they go through every month without proper sanitary conditions. I will work that out and hopefully let you all know. I have converted nearly every woman I know, and they are all raving about it. I have lighter less painful periods and my skin is even clearer after using it where as that time I would break out. I have less bloating and my cycle is shorter. Amazing!!! buy one today, dont wait just do it, you wont regret it 🙂

**** – 23rd December 2015

I’ve been using a mooncup for 10 years now, since after the birth of my first son (I was using washable nappies, and saw the mooncup on the nappy webpage and thought I would give it a go). I have used it since then. I thought at times it was a bit messy and perhaps a bit inconvenient, but cheaper in the long run than tampons and towels and better for the environment so I kept going and kind of got to appreciate it.

THEN this period, I could not find my mooncup; but no worries, thought I, there’s a handful of tampons in the cupboard going spare, it’ll be an easy period. How wrong I was. Mooncups are far more easy than tampons, now I know that for sure!

1)I think have had more leaks in the last 7 days than in the last 10 years. I have been constantly worried about leaks all week!
2)It’s inconvenient to have to remember to take a tampon into the toilet at work every time, just in case, and to ferret in the cupboard at home before going there, and to remember to put enough into my bag for whilst I am out for the day, no such worries with a mooncup, it’s there, you take it out, empty it, clean it put it back, there is nothing to forget;
3)Using a tampon is really no less messy than using a mooncup, (probably much more so, if you consider the frequency of leaks)
4)Tampons do not absorb clotty bits (that’s something I don’t remember from previous tampon use, perhaps it’s a sign of getting old….
5)It’s really great to go swimming with a mooncup – tampons tend to get all bulked up with pool water, but mooncups don’t
6)Period end tends to be a bit uncomfortable because the tampon absorbs vaginal fluids so can be sore to insert/remove

Previously I was a mooncup user. Now I am an EVANGELICAL mooncup user. I cannot believe that anyone would be daft enough to want to use tampons or towels when such a great alternative exists.

I have already been out and bought a brand new mooncup in case my old one doesn’t turn up before my next period. (After 10 years, it is probably not a bad investment!)

P.s. for any long term mooncup users, I really recommend a one period mooncup holiday – you will never want to go back to tampons ever ever again!

Sarah – 14th December 2015

Admittedly had a little bit of trouble inserting it at first as the size was a lil intimidating but once i got the hang of it i had no problems! i definitely won’t got back to tampons ever again, much more convenient; i don’t have to spend a fortune getting different sizes to suite my flow and don’t need to change it every time i want to have a shower/bath or go swimming on my cycle,

Kim – 28th November 2015

I used the mooncup for the first time the other day, I have always had problems with tampons as I could never get them to be comfortable and I had to change them very regularly, also with sanitary towels other than feeling like I was wearing a nappy they would give me a rash so I decided to try out the mooncup. I was very weary at first because it is new to me but wow it is amazing! I find it a little difficult to put in because I am new to using it but it is so comfortable, I can’t feel it at all and I don’t need to worry about taking it out for baths showers and swimming, I also find that I can wait the whole 8 hours between emptying without overfilling it and there are no leaks. I will definitely be recommending this to everyone I know best money I have spent in a long time!!

Charlotte – 18th October 2015

I decided to try the Mooncup after getting a job working at a summer camp in America. I needed to save precious room in my bags, I needed to limit the amount of waste/rubbish I would produce, and I needed something I could do sports and swim with. I cannot express how happy I am to have found Mooncup! It doesn’t take up any room in my bag, it’s re-usable, and I feel so fresh and comfortable doing my sports or swimming with it in. My camp was pretty rural and using the Mooncup saved me from making long trips to the supermarket for more feminine products. I will admit it’s a little tricky to get in/out at first but you have to persevere because once you start using this you will never go back to pads or tampons, and the benefits are so worth it. I’ve recommended this to so many people since I started using it.
Thank you Mooncup!

em – 21st September 2015

Don’t give up on the Cup! First time I used it, I couldn’t get on with it at all. It sat in my cupboard for 2 cycles. But of course my latest period showed up on a day I planned to go swimming, so I gave the Mooncup another chance. After a couple practises, taking it in and out is as easy (and clean) as a tampon. It doesn’t leak which means swimming (and sleeping naked) are stress free again.
It’s so comfortable that I often forget it’s there at all – except that I actually look forward to taking it out and seeing how much blood I’ve collected. Which leads me to the best thing about the Mooncup – it’s helped me feel connected to and respectful of my body again. Periods used to be a pain, now I rather look forward to them!

Jen – 7th July 2015

My periods finished approx 18 months ago and although I used a Menstrual cup for the last 3 years with complete confidence and comfort I just wish I had known about them when I really needed them because I had pains, cramps, clots and flooding for years. All my GP wanted to do was insert a Mirena coil (which I wasnt happy about). The cup was such a Godsend, the clots still occured but were less painful and my period which used to last around 11 days was over in around 5 days (from start to finish). I swam, danced, slept naked and confident, and had a spare in my purse at all times which wasn’t a problem. I holidayed in 3rd world countries and it was amazing. My girlfirend and I have even sponsored an African girls school and sent them 150 cups. This means they can go all the time and we need to give women power. They are completely hygenic, environmentally friendly and cost so much less.

Jasmine – 14th April 2015

Wow!! At age 42 and having had 3 C-sections, I have grumbled for several years about having to have periods. My mom went in menopause at age 58 so I’m probably destined for a late one as well BUT this moon cup has changed my outlook! I have always hated pads. I couldn’t wear tampons because they hurt too much. So- I’ve spent my life abstaining from swimming and doing lots of fun things while on my heavier period days, wistfully watching everyone else have a great time. No more! This is the greatest thing ever!!
I am 42 with three kids but no vaginal births- I’ve always been kind of “small” down there so I tried the B size and it’s worked perfectly. How could this have not been invented 30 years ago??????? So liberating!!

Michelle – 7th April 2015

I started using my moon cup this week. Ladies, if you don’t know this product and are still using tampons and pads, I beg you to check it out! It is unbelievably fantastic!!
I never felt so comfortable during my period. No itchiness, no dryness, no leakage, no odour, no waste!! I feel much safer and healthier and in touch with myself. I can move around, I can go into the water for a bath or a swim, I enjoy being close with my boyfriend. And even the pain wasn’t as bad as usual this month.

It took me some time to give it a try because it was unfamiliar to me. I learned about it online and didn’t know anybody in person who was using a menstrual cup. I usually dread my period because I have very bad menstrual cramps and mood swings and the disposable sanitary products dry me out. I’m used to feeling just awful for several days and suffering from itches after each period.

I absolutely hate tampons, they always gave me pain. The fact that the moon cup is inserted into the vagina as is the tampon put me off for some time. I imagined inserting it as painful because of my experience with tampons and the size of the moon cup looked intimidating.

With finally mustering up the courage and giving the moon cup a try, I got the hang of it much quicker than I had expected. It doesn’t feel like a tampon at all, in fact, I find it much easier to insert despite the bigger size. Once it’s in, I barely feel it at all. There’s no burning sensation or uncomfortable itching, it smoothly slides in and sits comfortably low. It doesn’t feel like an intruding object at all.

I can officially state that I’m never going back!! I feel so ridiculously more comfortable and happy, I already lost a bit of my fear regarding my period after using it for only 4 days! Even my boyfriend is fond of it and notices that I’m much happier with it. I showed him the moon cup and dared to really talk about my period with him, I kinda lost a lot of my shame.

I think this product is simply genius. There’s only pros, all the way. Thank you, moon cup!! 😀

Anna – 4th March 2015

I just wanted to share my experience with the moon cup and encourage those of you reading the reviews to give it a try. I am not one to write reviews, but this is one product that all women should know more about. I realize it is not for everyone and you do need to be comfortable with your body to use it, but it is so much more superior to anything I have used. I think I had read about moon cup in an article and was intrigued and came to this website and read a bunch of reviews! I have been using a moon cup for about six months now and like everyone else will not go back! I was concerned it might not work for me since I have a history of vestibulitis and vaginismus (vaginal pain and uncontrollable vaginal contracting) that I needed pelvic floor physical therapy for. Although mostly resolved, I was still wary. This size kind of tripped me up too. I ordered size B- I am 31 and have no kiddos and it works great. There is a learning curve- read the directions and watch their little video- very helpful. Like everyone else said, don’t panic when you first go to take it out and can’t reach it very well! Took me a cycle or so to get really comfortable with insertion, etc.
Pros: you don’t have to deal with changing tampons every 2-4 hours.
A few months in, my husband and I went on a very extreme backpacking/camping trip in the Cascade Mountains. Of course I had my period the entire time. I climbed up mountains, slide down cliffs, and swam across a glacial lake without a leak. I even had to empty it on the side of a mountain ravine- if you can do it while balancing on a rock ledge, you can do it anywhere! and I didn’t have to pack tons of tampons in my pack!
You don’t have a string that gets wet or caught on anything
You don’t have uncomfortable vaginal dryness as your period is ending
I am very active- cross fit, P90X, hiking, etc. – I only had it leak once and it was during a hard cross fit workout that required a lot of jumping/weights. My period was heavier and I did not empty it for a few hours before the workout. Have had no problems since.
Cons: Occasionally a minute or so after insertion, the cup with “snap” or uncurl abruptly. doesn’t hurt per say, but feels a bit weird.
Although there were some reviews that said that it seemed to shorten their period or lessen their cramping, I have not noticed this in myself, but am just happy to have a great product that works so well. Really worth a try!

Nicole – 13th February 2015

I had heard rave reviews from a friend and finally decided to bite the bullet- cannot thank my lucky stars I did. I always hated using tampons and other such products, finding them uncomfortable and stressful to use. Now that I have a Mooncup my period is quite literally a breeze. I feel clean, healthy, comfortable, not to mention richer! I go running, swimming, rock climbing with it in and I pretty much forget I have my period. No more running into Boots in a flap when I forget to stuff hundreds of tampons into my bag ‘just-in-case’, no more rustling, no more waste! If you are considering it, please, please do. You will not regret it! Thank you Mooncup!

Kitty – 19th January 2015

I’ve been a satisfied user of mooncup for about 3 years now! I’m 23 (started periods at 10), and had been wanting to try mooncup for environmental reasons for several years but hadn’t plucked up the courage to give it a go. The last straw for me though was missing a martial arts tournament because I was on my period: I would regularly overwhelm my tampax super-duper-extra-plus-plus-plus and the thought of that happening in the ring (while wearing a white gi!) was unbearable. When I thought about it some more, the idea of having to miss things I wanted to do as well as the endless round of dashes to the bathroom to change tampons and clean up leaks for potentially the next 40 years just didn’t fly (personally I’m not comfortable with using contraceptives to reduce my periods – better out than in, right? that’s my opinion, anyway). Admittedly when I first opened the box I was pretty intimidated by the size of the thing, but after getting used to it gradually (using just once per period at first, then for one day, and so on), I am now a competent user and would definitely not go back to tampons! It’s just a matter of working out which technique suits you best and making it a habit. Standing in the kitchen, casually boiling your mooncup on the stove can feel bizarre at first but actually, it’s a lot easier than emergency dashes to the 24hr petrol station for supplies! For anyone who wants to use mooncup but is not sure/already using it but struggling, my advice is persevere at your own pace. It’s not a race, and if you want to go back to tampons/pads for a while it’s not a problem – mooncup will still be there when you’re ready for another go. Eventually you’ll get the hang of it, and you will have saved money, the environment, and improved your health and convenience. For me, I knew I was a proper, paid-up member of the mooncup club when I successfully went swimming on my period – before mooncup, there was no way in HELL I would even have CONSIDERED that!!! So that shows it works! Now I preach the mooncup gospel whenever the opportunity arises. The only objection (and a half-hearted one at that) was from my mum, who worried about TSS – but I pointed out to her that tampons are not exactly sterile when they come out of their cardboards boxes after spending weeks on a supermarket shelf (whereas mooncup can be sterilised easily), AND they leave potentially harmful residue which mooncup doesn’t! I think she had no choice but to yield to the logic of the situation after that 😀

Elinoir – 29th November 2014

I have just bought my second mooncup after giving birth. I have used mooncup for ten years before having my son, and I have never looked back. I hated using pads as they felt like nappies and really didn’t get on with tampons as they were so uncomfortable. My first experience trying to remove the mooncup I was too tense and worried myself silly so didn’t find it easy, after a small amount of practice I now don’t even think about taking it out or putting it in.
I have found mooncup cleaner, easier, more comfortable and leak proof. I have been swimming and trampolining with it in and haven’t even been slightly worried about leakage. It’s discrete and much greener for the environment.

Mooncup has made something which was once rather inconvienient into something I don’t even notice.

Thank you mooncup, I am very grateful!

Hazel – 12th September 2014

I have never written a review or testimonial on anything before, but I am so delighted with my mooncup that I had to let you know! It has been an absolute revelation! By following the extensive and very clear instructions, I found it very easy to use right off the bat and I love it how clean and comfortable it is. I was worried it would be messy before I tried it, but it’s the cleanest sanitary protection I have ever used. I can’t imagine going back to towels again. I have always found tampons difficult to get on with, but the mooncup is totally different. I can’t feel it at all. It’s as if I’m not even having a period when I’m wearing it. I live in a hot, humid country and often get yeast infections after my period because of using towels. The heat can make towels smell very quickly, and damp towels plus sweat feel revolting. No such problems with the mooncup. I can swim spontaneously, roll around on the floor with my baby, sleep without underwear on… It’s changed my life! Thank you! I wish I’d got one years ago.

Helen – 16th August 2014

I am 3 days in my first cycle with a mooncup and I wish I’d got one sooner! I stopped using tampons a few years ago because I hate the way they dry you out and are bad for PH balance among other things! (they’re just all out gross to me) but pads are bloody annoying, and I’ve recently started swimming and gymming a lot and pads are just not practical when getting a sweat on. Also I hate the way pretty much all pads these days are ‘scented’ with some floral bullshit that when mixed with period actually smells worse than with any unscented products! It’s just not necessary and I like to look after my vagina, I don’t want all this perfumed and bleached crap! ANYWAY, Mooncup is just completely liberating! I also feel less awkward at work – as our office is so small we have only one bathroom shared between males and females, but now I don’t have to worry about anyone noticing me take a pad into the bathroom, or leave the wrappers in the bin. Liberating I tell you, liberating!

Tannah – 4th August 2014

Just bought and used my first mooncup today. At age 40 and with 3 children I thought I knew it all – I was so very wrong! Today I’ve been on the beach in a wetsuit all day playing with kids, kayaking and swimming. No toilet facilities at all so normally impossible with a period. However, today was a total joy! (Quick dip in the sea when needed a wee!!) When I came home, I struggled a bit to get it out but read the leaflet again and managed ok. So pleased, this product will have so many benefits – just how did I not know about it before? My daughters certainly will when the time comes!!

Jo – 20th July 2014

I’m from Australia and a friend’s sister told me about mooncups when we were about 14 -tho her terminology was somewhat cruder! I had a few hippyish friends and many of them had heard about them, but none of us really knew where to get them from back in the dark ages BI (before the internet)! FF a few years until after I’d moved to the UK, I finally discovered them on the internet… when I was pregnant!! Ah the irony!
Then, thanks to lactational amhenorrea I didn’t get a period for nearly 2 years, but after that, I was browsing through Boots one freezing morning and came across a moon cup! YAY! I was trepidatious -£20 is a lot to shell out for something that you’re not sure about (I think it must’ve been in the first release), but I bought it and have never used a tampon since -sometimes I have resorted to pads, especially as after 7years, during my last pregnancy my Mooncup was thrown away, and now, 2 years on I have to get organised and order a new one from OS, which seems like effort, but I’ll be oh so happy when it gets here and I can swim etc.
I find that showering twice/day and inserting it then solves any dramas with mess & public loos, tho’ it’s not too bad when the toilet is in the bathroom and you can use a flannel (never felt too comfy with the idea of flush water).
The cup is sooo comfy (or more to the point unnoticable)! and less dangerous than 2 tampons!!! (which I saw recommended elsewhere for heavy flow) My daughter is getting one for her menstruation onset celebration, whenever that be!
And I recommend them to anyone who brings up tampon discomfort -tho it’s tricky to know who will give you the blank “crazy loon” look!
It did take a couple of months to get used to it and ocasionally there were issues when I mis-inserted it, but nothing more than when tampons were new, and it’s sooooooo much comfier & more convenient (especially when camping/travelling) when it is right!
& to the teen girls reading this, don’t have sex when it’s up your vagina, but you shouldn’t be doing that with tampons either!! (from a mum)

Isa – 14th February 2013

I have been using my mooncup for nearly 6 years now, so from about age 18, and wouldn’t go back to anything else.It does take a little while to get the hang of, but after not long becomes second nature.
I lead an active lifestyle doing all sorts from walking and swimming to caving and riding, and have found my mooncup much more comfortable and reliable in those situations than other methods.
For me, it is also important to know that I’m not contributing to sanitary waste streams either, and it’s a good money saver too.
I would definitely recommend trying a Mooncup, hopefully you’ll love it as much as I do.

Alison – 03rd February 2013

At 16, after being amenorrhoeic for a year with an eating disorder, my period came back as as pretty nasty surprise. I used pads and tampons for a day before remembering some research I did on the mooncup before. I persuaded my mum and bought it straight away 😀 Got home and was slightly scared at how huge it looked! But inserted it pretty easily and painlessly straight away with the ‘c’ fold. Getting it out took…a little more practice. Given that I am probably pretty ‘narrow’, tugging it and pulling it straight out probably wasn’t the best idea…ouch. But after 3 or 4 different tries, that got easier and I can do that easily now too 🙂
But ohhhh my gosh, when it’s in! You can’t feel it, it doesn’t leak at all, you can leave it in waaay longer than tampons and forget about your period, I plan to go swimming tomorrow, I won’t have to pack half a suitcase full of pads and tampons when I travel, will save money and be healthier and greener it’s so so good! It is kind of gross (but at the same time weirdly fascinating) seeing the contents but it’s worth it! In short: converted

Sarah – 09th January 2013

Mooncup is great! I cannot recommend it enough. I was totally grossed out by the idea of a cup, which you would see all of your own period in, but once you get over that initial month or so, it is fine, and I honestly don’t think about it any more.
I have a very low lying cervix, so always found tampons very uncomfortable, and I was totally 100% DONE with pads, and liners. They smell, they are just horrible, so I thought I would give the Mooncup a go…and it works! Even with the stem cut off totally, I can still slightly feel it if I cough, or sneeze, (my cervix only sits about 3cm up during my period!) but it is so totally worth it, and I will not be going back to towels any time soon. I have had no leaks, which I was paranoid about, I went to the gym on my second day of using it, and have been swimming, and it’s been great. It’s very easy to pop in and out, and as long as you make sure the seal has formed you won’t get any nasty surprises! 🙂

100% recommend this product to anyone who will listen! 😀

Louise – 29th October 2012

I waited a year to comment to see how it really worked out for me.
It has been a great success and solved some problems for me. One is that I work in a factory with mainly men, and very poor facilities for women. It is a great relief not to have to retrieve sanitary products from a locker room miles from the only ladies loo.

Now I don’t give it a thought at work as I can do everything at home. The 8 hour shift is no problem.

I spend the rest of the year sailing. Not having a disposal problem has been wonderful. washing and occasional boiling was easy.

There are unexpected bonuses too. When sailing I am swimming several times a day which was not great with tampons. Soggy string seemed to cause constant low level infections. Horrid but true, especially in hot climates.

I have not had any problems at all once I got the hang of it.

Jean – 14th July 2012

I was doing a 5km swim, which I been training for four months. As it approached, I realised with a week to go it was going to be the heaviest day of my period. The swim was going to take me about two hours, I knew a tampon in the pool would only last an hour. I needed a solution and fast.I did some research on the web – and other swimmers recommended Mooncup. So I bought on on the Friday, used it for the first time on the Saturday, and swam on the Sunday. I was so happy – it was comfortable and didn’t leak…and I shaved five minutes off my swim time from the previous year.
I am still settling into using the Mooncup. It does seem to leak at night, but it’s amazing during the day. So convenient for work – I don’t have to walk the long way to the toilet with either my bag or a tampon in my hand. And to be able to swim without worrying about leaking is superb.
I’m sure I’ll sus it out at night, but even if I don’t, I’m one happy bunny!

Juliette – 30th April 2012

I’ve always used tampons but never liked the smelly disposal. Plus, as an Ironman triathlete, I had the problem of l-o-n-g training sessions (7-8 hours on the bike, 3 hours running and 1-2 hours in the water). Obviously you need to change tampons more often than that and where do you dispose of them out in the country side or on the beach? It was getting ridiculous: running the South Downs Way relay race (14 hours with no access to a loo) with used tampons in my bag – yuk! Plus, when I swim the tampon soaks up so much water that I have to dash to the loo and change the soggy thing with blood and water running down my leg. Again, a nightmare when you’re trying to get a sea swim in before dashing to work. I’ve never yet had a period on an ironman race day but what can you use for 13 hours protection?!
I heard about the mooncup years ago when I was trying to be Eco and use washable nappies but I thought it was just for hippies and I didn’t know you could just reinsert if you didn’t have access to a tap. Anyway with all the above, when it caught
my eye in Boots, I decided to try it. Didn’t care if I wasted £20.

So far it’s been brilliant. Swam twice yesterday (pool and sea). No soggy tampon!!!!!

My daughter is 11 and I’m sure just about to start her periods. She is a competitive swimmer and swims 6 times a week. I’m going to tell her about it today 🙂

HJ – 05th April 2012

After searching ‘alternative to tampons and pads’ on google, Mooncup came up in all the searches so I decided to be open-minded have a look, I only bought one this afternoon while in the middle of my period and already I am seeing and feeling a difference. I have been diagnosed with a ovary problem which as a result meant I can no longer use tampons without extreme pain in my ovary occurring on insertion. So I have to make do with pads throughout my very heavy periods, which as you can imagine isn’t ideal (especially during the night) And just to top things off, I have become very allergic to all brands of pads and get painful rashes down there, which was the point where I couldn’t take it any more which is why I took to google for alternatives! Now I have all the freedom of a tampon i.e. swimming etc without the pain and dryness that tampons give. Already there’s all those benefits just for me alone before you even take into consideration how eco-friendly it is. How many times have you put a high absorbency night pad in expecting more just to find in the morning that hardly anything has come out during the night and now you have to throw away a virtually unused pad to go on landfill. I could go on all day about it, but all in all, even only after a few hours of owning one and reading all the brilliant reviews and the facts, it comes out on top every time. I really don’t understand why this method isn’t as well known as tampons in this day and age of everything being eco! I can see me using this for years and years to come, and definitely encouraging my future daughters to use it as well. I will recommend to all the women I know. Thank you xxx

Hannah – 23rd March 2012

As a user of a few years now, I thought it was high time to put in my two pence worth and sing the Mooncup’s praises.
Since I got the hang of it, which I’d say took a few periods, I haven’t used anything else. There are so many good points to it that I’ve never been able to find any downsides. It’s especially good for swimming in; yes, the first time did feel experimental, but I had nothing to worry about. I just couldn’t return to conventional protection now: I like the Mooncup too much!

Lucy – 13th February 2012

I have been using a mooncup for 2 years now and totally love it, wish that I’d known about them years ago. My 13 year old daughter is a competitive swimmer and I bought her one in readiness for her periods to start…which they did yesterday, and she managed it no problem. She’s there saying “I don’t know what all the fuss is about” – as her friends make a big thing. She’s delighted too!

Dawn – 30th January 2012

I cannot stress enough how great the mooncup is. The only things that took a little getting used to were a)remembering to take water into public toilet cubicles (to rinse when changing) and b) insertion and removal. However, once you get used to these things, there’s no looking back. I took my mooncup for 9 months travelling around Asia and I’m SOO glad I discovered it for that trip. It’s hard to get hold of tampons in Asia and using precious backpack space for towels / tampons would’ve been impossible. With the mooncup I always had an effective sanitary product with me that was water-resistant (and no danger of that embarrasing tampon-string-poking-out-the-swimsuit thing!). Thank you mooncup, you are marvellous! I’m trying to convert all my friends! 🙂

Emma – 04th January 2012

Hi – Have been using the Mooncup for almost 9 or 10 years now, and have just bought a second one. It’s been great, must have saved £££s over the years, travelling is easy, sports, swimming etc etc. All with the warm fuzzy feeling that you are not adding to landfill each month. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Helen – 16th November 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter