Sport & Exercise

Sport & Exercise

I bought the mooncup a few weeks ago. I’ve known about it for some time but only finally decided to purchase one after problems with my coil and being advices by my doctor that tampons weren’t ideal for someone with a coil.

After spending a couple of hours at the weekends, period free, trying out the mooncup, I was still a little dubious as to whether it was reliable whilst I was at work all day or at training and kept the stock of tampons on hand.

A few days ago, I thought I was coming on my period so popped the mooncup in as a ‘just in case’ and went to my crossfit training… I was amazing to find I had indeed come on my period and it had captured every drop and I hadn’t even felt it during the intense workout. Following a shower when I washed it and reinserted, I headed for a long day at work, where I spend most of the day presenting to delegates: pacing, moving around and generally being quite active. I kept checking for leaks and was delighted that there weren’t any. And again I wasn’t really aware it was there! I arrived home and jumped in the shower, and emptied the mooncup, amazed yet again that it captured everything and was so easy to use! After reinserting (easier each time) I headed to the swimming pool and was now confident that it would be fine! Following a long night sleep without any issues again I now am a full convert and wish I’d started using the mooncup years ago. Gone are the soggy tampon stings and dryness and hello to feeling fresh and confident!

Bravo!! I applaud what you’ve done and will be telling every woman I know!

Emily

Emily – 23rd March 2018

I’ll admit I was a little skeptical when I first started using the Mooncup. As someone who’s always suffered with heavy periods I was worried this little cup simply couldn’t cope with what my body had to throw at it, so much so I used precautionary sanitary pads alongside it, such was my confidence. I need not bother! Not once have I leaked whilst using the Mooncup, even when i’ve gone running and swimming, it’s never let me down. It’s such a relief going to sleep and knowing I’ll wake up clean – I have far more restful nights now, which no doubt helps with the PMS!
I’ve saved money and worry on not having to buy a range of different products to get me through my period – this one cup covers me throughout! And it’s great that you can use it before you’ve actually started, unlike tampons, so you’re never caught short!
I would recommend anyone try the Mooncup if you’re looking to take control of your periods.

Alys – 1st March 2018

I’ve been contemplating using a menstrual cup for a long time… And it was only when my sister told me that she’s been using one for about a year that I finally took the plunge and bought a mooncup for myself. Oh my lord, why did I not do this sooner?? I was really quite nervous about using one… “what if I can’t get it out!!” was the main thing that ran through my head… But reading all the testimonials and the information leaflet that comes with it… I did it! I did a couple of “dry runs” before leaving it in for the day so that I could practice removing the cup and I scared myself – I couldn’t reach it!! Absolute nigthmare and exactly what I was worried about! But, I relaxed, and gently pushed the cup down like the information leaflet says to and… Hey Presto, it was easy as that!! So I did it again to make sure, and it was fine! All that worrying and wasting sanitary products for nothing!
Ladies, this is immense… The environmental impact alone is worth doing this! I’m an adventurous person, and going camping/on holiday/long kayak trips/everything, is made so much easier and simpler by this one little cup. No more over packing sanitary products and wondering what to do with the used ones whilst you’re out in the middle of nowhere! Genius! People need to spread this, not just on these testimonials, but EVERYWHERE! It shouldn’t be a taboo topic to talk about – I’ve shared it with my other sister and friends now and they’re trying it also!!
No reports of leakage so far… But I’m willing to accept small leakages and take a reusable pantyliner just in case.
If you didn’t guess… I’m so happy with this product! 😀

Molly – 1st March 2018

I received my Mooncup today and I’m in my last two days of my period, ok initially I was a little nervous bet yet so excited to try it out. I’ve researched so much about the product and how it has changed peoples lives… I can definitely see why!! I LOVE IT! I am so surprised that I seem to have mastered it from the 1st time and I cannot fault it. Had no leaks, although I am still wearing pads just in case as it’s my first cycle using it and I’m also using them up. So far so good and I’m amazed that I can’t even feel it. I’m a fairly active person and been to the gym today, not felt it once! It’s amazing that I will never have to buy those expensive tampons or those gastly pads ever again!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE, thank you Mooncup 💕

Nel – 8th February 2018

I am 16 years old and I started using the Mooncup on my 13th birthday. I thought it would be difficult but it was very easy to use and did not hurt a bit.
My favourite way of emptying is in the shower. I empty it down the plughole and wash it in warm water with Dettol soap or just a little anti-dandruff shampoo which keeps it sweet. Being wet, it is very easy to put back in.
A friend tried a cheap one from China. Because the silicone was soft it collapsed inside her and leaked. Also the sizes can be different and the cup may not fit as well. There really is no substitute for the UKs own Mooncup!
The Mooncup is always a perfect fit and I cannot even tell if it is there, it is just as if it is a natural part of my body.
Ideal for sport, no string to show in changing rooms or communal showers! And long-lasting and leak-free, it lasts me all day whatever I am doing!.
Now my 10-yr-old sister wants one but Mum is not so keen on that idea!

Suzie- 20th December 2017

I have just my Mooncup about a year and it has genuinely revolutionised my period. Its so much easier than using tampons and pads which for one I always found horribly uncomfortable but also I had to change mine ever 2-3 hours but the mooncup lasts most of the day. I wear my cup at night too as I always used to find my flow quite light when sleeping meaning I would often be wasting a pad overnight and my period would resume in the morning. Not only this but I swim regularly and forgot I am on my period but a tampon used to be very soggy and start falling out. Thanks for being a life changing product that I can use for years to come! I only started using this at 16 and I am glad I didnt wait any longer.

Katie – 11th November 2017

Ever since reading about the Mooncup via a friend on Facebook, I’d been intrigued to try it. I made a promise to myself that as soon as my period returned after breastfeeding, I would take the plunge. Well, that time has come and yesterday I completed my first Mooncup experience! It took me a couple of days to master it, but by day 3 I felt like a pro, I even went for a swim with my cup in.
After three vaginal births I’m probably lacking a bit of the muscle tone down below that I once had, but I had no problems with inserting/keeping in/retrieving the cup whatsoever. Once I had my positioning sussed it was SO comfortable too.
Seriously wish I’d got on the bandwagon with these things a lot sooner!

Ruth – 6th November 2017

Like many others I was a little skeptical about using the Mooncup, but after reading so many rave reviews, I decided to give it a go. I have only been using it for three days but I am never going back to pads or tampons again!

The first couple of times inserting/removing it were a little awkward, but after a few goes I felt like a pro! The Mooncup is comfortable, so much so that I forget I’m wearing it! In the past few days I’ve worn it at the gym and whilst sleeping and have had absolutely no problems! No leaks, no discomfort!

It’s going to save me so much time and money in the long run, no more last minute dashes to the shop for tampons! I also love that is reusable and environmentally friendly. I highly recommend the Mooncup to anyone who has to deal with periods, I wish I’d started using it sooner!

Sophie – 5th July 2017

I’m only on day two of using my mooncup but i’m converted! I haven’t got on with tampons since having kids and my skin tends to react to towels so i needed an alternative.
It’s definitely been a couple of days of trial and error, but i got there in the end and tonight i bit the bullet and wore it to my karate training. This was the test for me. I was really worried at first and wore a panty liner as well just in case all the jumping around caused leaks but i needn’t have worried. I could have easily forgotten it was there….
I will not be going back to tampons/towels…ever!

Sarah – 28th February 2017

So I am 13 and I started my period in may. I used pads for the first month and felt so icky and gross about it that I decided to try the mooncup which I saw on the boots website. It had good reviews so I bought it and I absolutely love it!!! I do leak every now and then because I am yet to figure out the best ways to do things for my body but honestly I am glad I found this at such a young age and I will never use a pad again! I am a cheerleader and I can cheer and I love to swim and it’s so awesome I love it!

Tabitha- 28th September 2016

Just wanted to thank you for the great mooncups you make. I ordered today a new mooncup after using the old one over 15 years. Oh we have been together travelling, sailing, surfing, horse-riding & much much more and experienced so many amazing adventures! The only reason really why I decided to buy a new one is that the old one is already a little bit stained. Otherwise it is still in good condition.

Elina – 31st March 2016

Just thought I’d add some comments about using the Mooncup during sport as that was what I was a bit concerned about before buying mine, as I do a lot of running. Went out for a 2-hr run on the second day of my period and it was absolutely great, completely comfortable and I honestly forgot it was there, which wasn’t always the case with tampons! so go for it ladies, it really is a better option!

Caroline – 29th April 2010

I bought my moon cup over 3 years ago. I had heard of it but never really wanted to spend £20 on it. I really wish I was made to use this when I was younger. I truly believe that tampons made my periods worse and they are so bad for the environment. I will never ever use a tampon again ever!!!!!! I have washable pads for when I am sleeping which go in the washing machine and my moon cup. I have taken it abroad with me, its been running with me its been swimming with me, to parties and nights out with me and it has never let me down. I love it. I lost it once about a year ago and I was so upset my husband went out and got me another one 🙂 bless, if I had had daughters I would make sure they used these. I would love to be able to set up a charity so that women in third world impoverished contries have these, I cant imagine what they go through every month without proper sanitary conditions. I will work that out and hopefully let you all know. I have converted nearly every woman I know, and they are all raving about it. I have lighter less painful periods and my skin is even clearer after using it where as that time I would break out. I have less bloating and my cycle is shorter. Amazing!!! buy one today, dont wait just do it, you wont regret it 🙂

**** – 23rd December 2015

Absolutely love my Mooncup!!! I was a bit hesitant to begin with, but after attempting my “dry run” both at home and at the gym with no issues I found myself actually looking forward to my next period to test it out for real. It took about 2 days to find my own personal method and I was slightly nervous using it during my CrossFit sessions but it did not let me down despite being upside down, squatting and jumping off boxes! If only I had known about this product earlier.

Claire – 3rd December 2015

Dear Tampon There is no easy way to tell you this…it is over. I am breaking up with you. This can come as no surprise as I have been very distant for the last few months. You haven’t seen me for a while and probably miss me. I don’t miss you….At All.
You promised me horse back riding in white pants
You promised that I could run down the beach in a white bikini.
You promised me energetic games of volley ball in cute white shorts.
We never did any of that. Instead you gave me cramps, dryness and thrush. All these years I thought it was me. I thought that it was something I had to put up with. I was wrong.
I have met someone else. Her name is Mooncup and we are in love. Mooncup loves me and I love her.
Since I have started seeing Moon I have had no cramps, no dryness and no thrush. My periods, which used to last 5 to 6 days, now only last 2 and a half days.
I feel healthy. I feel clean. I feel good.
Now I must get going. I have a volley ball match to get to.
Kind regards
Vagina

Libby – 26th October 2015

I decided to try the Mooncup after getting a job working at a summer camp in America. I needed to save precious room in my bags, I needed to limit the amount of waste/rubbish I would produce, and I needed something I could do sports and swim with. I cannot express how happy I am to have found Mooncup! It doesn’t take up any room in my bag, it’s re-usable, and I feel so fresh and comfortable doing my sports or swimming with it in. My camp was pretty rural and using the Mooncup saved me from making long trips to the supermarket for more feminine products. I will admit it’s a little tricky to get in/out at first but you have to persevere because once you start using this you will never go back to pads or tampons, and the benefits are so worth it. I’ve recommended this to so many people since I started using it.
Thank you Mooncup!

em – 21st September 2015

the first time you have to insert it will be a little tricky, especially if you are nervous as I was! you don’t want to cut the stem the first 2 -3 times, or you’ll have a panic attack as I did when I “couldn’t find it” and just hurt yourself. Just take your time, the mooncup will find her way inside your body, and then all your periods will be a walk in the park. This has been my second month and I couldn’t be happier, you can’t feel it, you can exercise, work , do anything you like with that magical clean sensation and don’t have to worry about forgotten tampons, change the smelly things, always feeling wet and uncomfortable. Just forget about those days!!

Simona – 26th June 2015

I am absolutely delighted with the mooncup as a replacement for tampons. They are also great for the environment and animal friendly.As soon as I started using it I saw the benefit. You dont feel it at all and you can clean it as often as you want or need to.
Its great for sports too; I do a lot of running and it sits in place perfectly.
The advice on the earthwisegirls site is great too. I did panic somewhat about removal of the mooncup, but the advice was perfect and relevant.
You do have to get a bit more ‘hands-on’ with yourself, as its not the same as pulling out a piece of string, but you get over this very quickly.
I wish we had these many tears ago, and Ive recommended to friends.
Brilliant alternative to the mounting costs of tampons and their negative impact to the environment.

Jennifer – 19th June 2015

My periods finished approx 18 months ago and although I used a Menstrual cup for the last 3 years with complete confidence and comfort I just wish I had known about them when I really needed them because I had pains, cramps, clots and flooding for years. All my GP wanted to do was insert a Mirena coil (which I wasnt happy about). The cup was such a Godsend, the clots still occured but were less painful and my period which used to last around 11 days was over in around 5 days (from start to finish). I swam, danced, slept naked and confident, and had a spare in my purse at all times which wasn’t a problem. I holidayed in 3rd world countries and it was amazing. My girlfirend and I have even sponsored an African girls school and sent them 150 cups. This means they can go all the time and we need to give women power. They are completely hygenic, environmentally friendly and cost so much less.

Jasmine – 14th April 2015

I have been using a mooncup for 2 years now and love it. It stays in place through everyday activities including cycling, tennis and yoga. During my heaviest days it lasts around 6 hours, twice as long as super tampons. Inserting and removing did require practice and is not easy if your fingernails are very long. I also cut the entire stem off the mooncup because it is more comfortable, but it makes removal a bit more difficult. There is a tiny bit of leakage or spotting during heavy days so I now wear a slim cloth pad as backup. Since switching to the mooncup and cloth pads, I have very little discomfort and irritation during my period. No more disposable menstrual products for me!

Rachel – 28th March 2015

I just wanted to share my experience with the moon cup and encourage those of you reading the reviews to give it a try. I am not one to write reviews, but this is one product that all women should know more about. I realize it is not for everyone and you do need to be comfortable with your body to use it, but it is so much more superior to anything I have used. I think I had read about moon cup in an article and was intrigued and came to this website and read a bunch of reviews! I have been using a moon cup for about six months now and like everyone else will not go back! I was concerned it might not work for me since I have a history of vestibulitis and vaginismus (vaginal pain and uncontrollable vaginal contracting) that I needed pelvic floor physical therapy for. Although mostly resolved, I was still wary. This size kind of tripped me up too. I ordered size B- I am 31 and have no kiddos and it works great. There is a learning curve- read the directions and watch their little video- very helpful. Like everyone else said, don’t panic when you first go to take it out and can’t reach it very well! Took me a cycle or so to get really comfortable with insertion, etc.
Pros: you don’t have to deal with changing tampons every 2-4 hours.
A few months in, my husband and I went on a very extreme backpacking/camping trip in the Cascade Mountains. Of course I had my period the entire time. I climbed up mountains, slide down cliffs, and swam across a glacial lake without a leak. I even had to empty it on the side of a mountain ravine- if you can do it while balancing on a rock ledge, you can do it anywhere! and I didn’t have to pack tons of tampons in my pack!
You don’t have a string that gets wet or caught on anything
You don’t have uncomfortable vaginal dryness as your period is ending
I am very active- cross fit, P90X, hiking, etc. – I only had it leak once and it was during a hard cross fit workout that required a lot of jumping/weights. My period was heavier and I did not empty it for a few hours before the workout. Have had no problems since.
Cons: Occasionally a minute or so after insertion, the cup with “snap” or uncurl abruptly. doesn’t hurt per say, but feels a bit weird.
Although there were some reviews that said that it seemed to shorten their period or lessen their cramping, I have not noticed this in myself, but am just happy to have a great product that works so well. Really worth a try!

Nicole – 13th February 2015

I recently heard of moon cup through a woman’s group online. I was a little sceptical at first, but I went ahead and purchased one. When my period came I used it. I’m never, ever going back to bags or tampons again. The cup is extremely comfortable, unlike a pad or a tampon I can’t feel that it is there. I can’t feel my period either which I can with the other products.
The moon cup is easy to insert and remove and it’s NOT messy like I thought it would be! I feel super clean too. No dryness, no itchiness! Peeing is easier too as with tampons the strong gets in the way and with pads it’s messy.

At night I can sleep however I want, I can roll about like usual with out worrying about spillage.

I can horse ride in it too with no problems cause it’s so flexible, it just stays where my body wants it. I can’t recommend it this product enough, it’s revolutionised periods, and it’s a green alternative to the thousands of pads and tampons we go through! Ladies if you’re unsure, give it a go. The worst that’ll happen is you don’t like it, the best that’ll happen is you’ll have hassle free, cheap periods for the rest of time!

Yey moon cup!

Abby – 10th February 2015

The best product ever! I started using mooncup because I wanted to cut down on waste, but I couldn’t even handle tampons. Its taken me 3 periods to get to a point where its all I use! And I only used 4 pads on my last one. You can sleep, pee, run, skip, you really don’t feel it at all. I don’t need any stem to get it out either, it did take me a while of fishing around but then I found out I was going in at the wrong angle. My vagina and I have never been closer and I think she’s pretty grateful not to have rashes and smell gross every month! I can sit with my legs open on the tube and not get blasted by iffy wafts…

Jaz – 22nd January 2015

I had heard rave reviews from a friend and finally decided to bite the bullet- cannot thank my lucky stars I did. I always hated using tampons and other such products, finding them uncomfortable and stressful to use. Now that I have a Mooncup my period is quite literally a breeze. I feel clean, healthy, comfortable, not to mention richer! I go running, swimming, rock climbing with it in and I pretty much forget I have my period. No more running into Boots in a flap when I forget to stuff hundreds of tampons into my bag ‘just-in-case’, no more rustling, no more waste! If you are considering it, please, please do. You will not regret it! Thank you Mooncup!

Kitty – 19th January 2015

I’m not one for adding a testimonial but I can honestly say the mooncup has radically changed my periods. I didn’t have much problem with inserting, after one cycle I was absolutely fine with it, I did cut the stem right down though. No more bloating, I feel totally normal whilst on my period, so much so that once I’ve emptied it in the morning I can forget about it which is great as I work in the community visiting people in there own homes ( you don’t want to be worrying about changing tampons in clients house, yuck, or that you maybe leaking) no more embarrassment for me. All I need to do is empty it again the evening, easy.
It’s also shortened my periods by 2 days. I run with it in and play netball, jump around and I feel totally confident with it and no leaks what’s so ever. I must add here that I was previously having to use pad and tampon on my heavy days.
My one regret is that I didn’t change earlier and so I’m on a mission to convert my sisters and friends, why would I keep this gem to myself, tell the world

Kedwards – 21st September 2014

I have just bought my second mooncup after giving birth. I have used mooncup for ten years before having my son, and I have never looked back. I hated using pads as they felt like nappies and really didn’t get on with tampons as they were so uncomfortable. My first experience trying to remove the mooncup I was too tense and worried myself silly so didn’t find it easy, after a small amount of practice I now don’t even think about taking it out or putting it in.
I have found mooncup cleaner, easier, more comfortable and leak proof. I have been swimming and trampolining with it in and haven’t even been slightly worried about leakage. It’s discrete and much greener for the environment.

Mooncup has made something which was once rather inconvienient into something I don’t even notice.

Thank you mooncup, I am very grateful!

Hazel – 12th September 2014

Bought my Mooncup over a year ago and the condition is still as new. I use the bicarbonate of soda + damp flannel technique to rub off any staining and sanitise it for the next use. When I first purchased it in March 2013, it took about 2 or 3 cycles to get used to using it, mainly removing it. I wrote to the Mooncup Team and they were very helpful and speedily wrote me a reply with some advice, so I started partially folding the Mooncup when removing it. Now I don’t need to do that all and use the wiggle side-to-side technique. I’m also way more relaxed when removing it and have no issues at all. I exercise and go about my business without having to worry about any leaks or anything. I’m now like many women (and girls) who ‘love’ their Mooncup, although I haven’t named it anything as I think ‘Mooncup’ is the perfect name for it. Like so many others, I wish I’d known about this little gem when I had my first cycle. I reckon Mooncup / menstrual cups should be included on the sexual health curriculum. I think everyone should have the right information to make the right choices for themselves. Lisa E.
Aged 30

Lisa E. – 12th September 2014

I am 3 days in my first cycle with a mooncup and I wish I’d got one sooner! I stopped using tampons a few years ago because I hate the way they dry you out and are bad for PH balance among other things! (they’re just all out gross to me) but pads are bloody annoying, and I’ve recently started swimming and gymming a lot and pads are just not practical when getting a sweat on. Also I hate the way pretty much all pads these days are ‘scented’ with some floral bullshit that when mixed with period actually smells worse than with any unscented products! It’s just not necessary and I like to look after my vagina, I don’t want all this perfumed and bleached crap! ANYWAY, Mooncup is just completely liberating! I also feel less awkward at work – as our office is so small we have only one bathroom shared between males and females, but now I don’t have to worry about anyone noticing me take a pad into the bathroom, or leave the wrappers in the bin. Liberating I tell you, liberating!

Tannah – 4th August 2014

Just bought and used my first mooncup today. At age 40 and with 3 children I thought I knew it all – I was so very wrong! Today I’ve been on the beach in a wetsuit all day playing with kids, kayaking and swimming. No toilet facilities at all so normally impossible with a period. However, today was a total joy! (Quick dip in the sea when needed a wee!!) When I came home, I struggled a bit to get it out but read the leaflet again and managed ok. So pleased, this product will have so many benefits – just how did I not know about it before? My daughters certainly will when the time comes!!

Jo – 20th July 2014

I LOVE my mooncup! I have recently changed career from shop work to gardening. The lack of toilets and bins therefore prompted my purchase. I will never look back. I find it very easy to use and a lot cleaner than having to carry used sanitary products around in the van and it’s nice not to carry pads and tampons in every handbag. It copes with the varied physical parts of my job; running, bending, climbing, hanging, kneeling ect. When I get hot and sweat from digging I don’t have to worry about gross odours and I feel cleaner knowing that I’m not sat sweating in my blood all day. In terms of comfort nappy rash from thick pads is eliminated and I don’t have to worry about wearing pants at night. It also means (like tampons) I can fill my pee bottle without making it obvious to my colleagues (all men) that I’m on. It has reduced my cramps to almost nothing, though they weren’t awful to start with and I’m finding that my period is over much faster. I am also finding that, oddly, I am really enjoying learning about and monitoring my period. This was something I wasn’t expecting. 🙂 Basically ladies; great idea, well made, economically advantageous, ecologically friendly and easy to use!

Laura – 12th July 2014

I have just had my second period using my mooncup and I will never go back. Trimmed the stalk off and have got the knack of positioning it correctly. I have been running with iit and can honestly say a couple if times I have completely forgotten I’m on my period! I find removal is no issue if you bear down and use your inner muscles. I feel cheated that I’ve already had 15 years of periods without a mooncup!

Lisa – 20th June 2014

I love my Mooncup so much. I’m not exaggerating to say it has changed the way I live my life during my period. I began having my period when I was 10 years old, and I have always had terribly heavy flows. I have tried pads of all different absorbencies … with wings, without wings, extra long, overnight. I have tried all different varieties of tampons as well. It was fairly normal for me to change these every two hours. Nothing prevented the embarrassing leaks. On top of the absorbency issues, the pads and tampons were so uncomfortable to wear for six days in a row. A friend introduced me to the Mooncup on a camping trip almost three years ago, and I haven’t looked back. It’s so comfortable. I really can’t even feel that it’s there at all. There isn’t any awful drying or soreness, and best of all, NO LEAKS! I don’t have to worry about going on long hikes, camping trips, sitting through a whole day at work or a music concert. I can be as active as I want to without worrying about leaks. It’s so liberating. I’m so thankful for my local healthfood store for carrying Mooncups. I only wish I had known about them sooner so that I wouldn’t have had to use those other awful products for the first twenty years.

Anibelle – 18th June 2014

Hi, I just thought I would drop you a line as I have (FINALLY!) got around to buying and trying out my first mooncup. At the ripe age of 40 3/4!! I had transferred onto organic tampons ages ago, but when I went to buy some more last week I found the mooncup on the shelf next to them in the local health food store (Portland Road in Hove as it goes, I did not realise you guys were local either!) and I couldn’t resist getting it. I eventually had time to clean and try it out last night, which all went fine and then I refreshed it this morning. I had forgotten that I was due to go to the gym – got in, did a 2k speed row (warm up), still all good, then I did some handstand practise (still fine). Our workout today involved a couple of miles of running, sit ups and back extensions – all went really well. In fact, I beat my best ever time, and I couldn’t feel a thing. Am so chuffed I finally got around to it and just wanted to write to say thank you – I can’t believe it’s been so easy, why did I not do this before? Anyway, keep up the good work.

Emma – 16th June 2014

The mooncup has saved my life! From my first period I knew I was going to have a rough road ahead as heavy periods run in my family. I started using tampons but they made me feel ill and I almost fainted in a bathroom stall at school, that’s when I knew i had to find something else, so a couple of clicks on the internet and voila! I found the mooncup. I pestered my mum to get me one and almost cried when she said no but eventually she got me one and I have never looked back. Now I can concentrate at school and play sport like I used to, which helps even more since I’m starting acrobatics and its mainly guys participating. Thank you mooncup I`m not sure what I would of done without you 😀

Faith – 15th June 2014

I heard about Mooncup at a festival a couple of years ago and thought it would be gross. But since then I have become a lot greener and try and do everything I can to reduce waste etc. So I thought I would try Mooncup because I found that I was getting through a lot of tampons and getting quite bad cramps. I don’t get any pains now and generally feel better… think it’s due to now having a load of chemicals soaking into me every month! Not to mention I no longer worry about leaks when I’m at the gym, or asleep, or any other time… I can trust it to keep me clean and it is so easy to use… Never have to buy another sanitary product or throw anything away… AMAZING!

Jennifer K – 22nd February 2013

I have been using my mooncup for nearly 6 years now, so from about age 18, and wouldn’t go back to anything else.It does take a little while to get the hang of, but after not long becomes second nature.
I lead an active lifestyle doing all sorts from walking and swimming to caving and riding, and have found my mooncup much more comfortable and reliable in those situations than other methods.
For me, it is also important to know that I’m not contributing to sanitary waste streams either, and it’s a good money saver too.
I would definitely recommend trying a Mooncup, hopefully you’ll love it as much as I do.

Alison – 03rd February 2013

I just want to say one thing to the creators of mooncup. Thankyou!! I have always had a problem with heavy, painful, erratic periods. I would easily get through a pack of pain killers each month just to combat the pain, and dont get me started on the amount of sanitary products i had to buy each month. Ive only used it for the last week but im already a convert. The best thing for me is that i stayed with my sister for a few days recently, and didnt feel totally lost and embarassed. I didnt live in the toilet or have to try and hide used tampons from family members like i usually do. I even went cycling today, something i would normally find too painful whilst using a tampon and too uncomfortable with a pad, and only just now remembered im wearing my mooncup! The only negative i can think of is it took me ten years to find it, by chance, as i was in Boots and depressingly remembered i was due on and had only a few tampons left. I was wary at first but figured ive spent 20 pounds on less useful things so id try it. And i can honestly say this is the least painful period ive had in years! No more expensive, painful, smelly, itchy sanitary products. I feel almost free from the curse of periods 🙂 All women should try it, and i sincerely hope they feel a sense of freedom too. Thankyou mooncup!

Miss V – 28th December 2012

Mooncup is great! I cannot recommend it enough. I was totally grossed out by the idea of a cup, which you would see all of your own period in, but once you get over that initial month or so, it is fine, and I honestly don’t think about it any more.
I have a very low lying cervix, so always found tampons very uncomfortable, and I was totally 100% DONE with pads, and liners. They smell, they are just horrible, so I thought I would give the Mooncup a go…and it works! Even with the stem cut off totally, I can still slightly feel it if I cough, or sneeze, (my cervix only sits about 3cm up during my period!) but it is so totally worth it, and I will not be going back to towels any time soon. I have had no leaks, which I was paranoid about, I went to the gym on my second day of using it, and have been swimming, and it’s been great. It’s very easy to pop in and out, and as long as you make sure the seal has formed you won’t get any nasty surprises! 🙂

100% recommend this product to anyone who will listen! 😀

Louise – 29th October 2012

Hello! I just turned sixteen and used my mooncup for the first time yesterday. I had to struggle a bit to get it in properly but after some tries I had it in there and it felt fine! After that I took a two hour bicycleride and barely thought about my period. It was great! I never liked tampons because I could feel them and they were absolutely uncomfortable and pads were just a mess. The mooncup is hardere to ‘get in place’ but once there I barely feel it! And i think it’ll be easier the more I use it. But please if you’re considering getting a mooncup. Just give it a try!

Bianca – 04th August 2012

Hi!
I received my mooncup about a week ago, just in time for my period!!
I am so happy I decided to take the risk because it is so worth it!!! Today I gave to my sister all my tampons and told her I had quit 🙂 I LOVE MY MOONCUP SO MUCH!
I feel so much more confident and my vagina is so much happier…bye bye to the dryness or itchiness that even the 100% organic cotton products cause…Living in the tropics is not easy…it is very humid and hot and having to wear a pad is not comfortable, at all.
At first I was reluctant to buy because of the price and i was worried it wouldn’t work but, like I said, I took the chance and now i am very grateful. I even wore white pants today, I did yoga in the morning and everything went just perfect 🙂 I don’t have a really heavy flow so I only had to deal with it twice a day, 3 times on my heaviest day (only one day) and it was not even half way full! So next time it will be so much easier.
I am happy that this exists because I don’t have to worry about wearing a pad on my not so heavy days, when it is completely not worth it to wear a tampon because it will dry me out too much…
I am sorry if I am giving too much information but I will make sure I tell everyone about your product! It is something we, as women, deserve!

Much love and Blessings to all the Mooncup Team,

Pamela – 08th June 2012

I was doing a 5km swim, which I been training for four months. As it approached, I realised with a week to go it was going to be the heaviest day of my period. The swim was going to take me about two hours, I knew a tampon in the pool would only last an hour. I needed a solution and fast.I did some research on the web – and other swimmers recommended Mooncup. So I bought on on the Friday, used it for the first time on the Saturday, and swam on the Sunday. I was so happy – it was comfortable and didn’t leak…and I shaved five minutes off my swim time from the previous year.
I am still settling into using the Mooncup. It does seem to leak at night, but it’s amazing during the day. So convenient for work – I don’t have to walk the long way to the toilet with either my bag or a tampon in my hand. And to be able to swim without worrying about leaking is superb.
I’m sure I’ll sus it out at night, but even if I don’t, I’m one happy bunny!

Juliette – 30th April 2012

I bought the mooncup about 5 months ago and to start with it was a bit hit and miss. The largest issue for me was the sizing, I bought the recommended size for a woman of my age (42 and no children) but found it incredibly difficult and uncomfortable to remove. I spoke to a friend of mine who also bought at the same time and she suggested going for the smaller size. I am a horse rider and have ridden for 20 plus years so think having well toned pelvic floor muscles made all the difference!! Anyway to cut a long story short the small one is perfect and i am now using it with more confidence. So i guess the point is if you undertake exercise that prompts a strong pelvic floor don’t be afraid to buy the smaller one regardless of age!! Thanks Mooncup…

Lynne – 07th April 2012

I’ve always used tampons but never liked the smelly disposal. Plus, as an Ironman triathlete, I had the problem of l-o-n-g training sessions (7-8 hours on the bike, 3 hours running and 1-2 hours in the water). Obviously you need to change tampons more often than that and where do you dispose of them out in the country side or on the beach? It was getting ridiculous: running the South Downs Way relay race (14 hours with no access to a loo) with used tampons in my bag – yuk! Plus, when I swim the tampon soaks up so much water that I have to dash to the loo and change the soggy thing with blood and water running down my leg. Again, a nightmare when you’re trying to get a sea swim in before dashing to work. I’ve never yet had a period on an ironman race day but what can you use for 13 hours protection?!
I heard about the mooncup years ago when I was trying to be Eco and use washable nappies but I thought it was just for hippies and I didn’t know you could just reinsert if you didn’t have access to a tap. Anyway with all the above, when it caught
my eye in Boots, I decided to try it. Didn’t care if I wasted £20.

So far it’s been brilliant. Swam twice yesterday (pool and sea). No soggy tampon!!!!!

My daughter is 11 and I’m sure just about to start her periods. She is a competitive swimmer and swims 6 times a week. I’m going to tell her about it today 🙂

HJ – 05th April 2012

I bought my mooncup last week and am having my first period with it now…it’s absolutely fantastic! It’s very comfortable, I have had no leaks at all and I don’t have the ‘soreness’ that I used to get from tampons. I feel very confident with it…next thing to try is an exercise class with it. Best £20 I have ever spent, and it helps the environment too. What more could a girl want?!

Han – 28th February 2012

I’d been told about mooncup by a couple friends but was really nervous about trying it!Now i have i cant believe i didnt try it years ago! its brilliant – ive had no leaks, even at the gym Its really comfortable, can’t even feel it!Its also pretty easy to insert, removing takes a bit of getting used to but i got the hang of it. Now im he one trying to convince my friends to use it.

Megan – 24th February 2012

I have been using a Moon Cup for four years. It was recommended to me by my gym trainer, as i expressed my long suffering periods (I could bleed for upwards of 20 days). I love my Moon Cup it is comfortable easy to insert and remove and i actually forget that i am wearing it at times.

Emma – 09th January 2012

Hi – Have been using the Mooncup for almost 9 or 10 years now, and have just bought a second one. It’s been great, must have saved £££s over the years, travelling is easy, sports, swimming etc etc. All with the warm fuzzy feeling that you are not adding to landfill each month. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Helen – 16th November 2011

Want to hear from us? Sign up to our newsletter