Testimonials

Below are just some of the thousands of testimonials we have received from Mooncup
and MCUK users.

You can search for testimonials about a specific issue using the filter option on the right.
Please note testimonials are personal accounts of the experiences of individual Mooncup users, and may not be valid for everyone. They should not be substituted for professional advice (please see our FAQ section)

Results matching economical

I brought the mooncup after a recommendation from a friend and wish I had done it sooner! The mooncup is comfortable- you can't feel it when it is inside and holds much more than a tampon. It's great, I don't even feel like i'm on my period when using it. It took a couple of tries to use it properly but now I have no problems. It's extremely reasonable price wise and super eco-friendly! One of my best purchases this year.

Ruby - 29th December 2015

i bought my moon cup back in march this year as i was going to be on exchange in japan for a year where they are a pad based society ( :/ ) and thought id give it a try and i finally got my chance to use it today (December i have a unpredictable period and am on the implanon) and I'm was amazed at how easy it was to insert and how i didn't even notice it was in after 5 minutes this is fantastic a great price and eco friendly I'm completely sold ill definitely be telling my girl friends ^_^

Brittiney - 19th December 2015

My older sister told me about it, and once I had brought and started using my menstrual cup I was shocked that I had not heard about it before. The moon cup is a very reasonable price and wonderfully economical compared to tampons and pads. The moon cup actually made me feel happy with my menstrual cycle, as it does not alter natural bodily fluids and healthy function and is easy to use. Being in touch with my menstrual cycle also gave me the confidence to talk openly about menstruation. I have been telling every one about it!

Josie - 17th December 2015

I love my mooncup! I hate using tampons, they always feel uncomfortable, and they shift and leave me feeling dry. With pads I get rashes and eczema popping up after only 2 days because of the materials and chemicals. With either I leak. For the first time since my periods started, I've had neither rashes, nor pain from my sanitary wear, nor leaks. Plus I don't feel guilty about adding to the landfill and it's much cheaper in the short run (after about 3 months I'll have worked out cheaper) - especially now since the tampon tax! Thanks!

Natalie - 2nd December 2015

Admittedly had a little bit of trouble inserting it at first as the size was a lil intimidating but once i got the hang of it i had no problems! i definitely won't got back to tampons ever again, much more convenient; i don't have to spend a fortune getting different sizes to suite my flow and don't need to change it every time i want to have a shower/bath or go swimming on my cycle,

Kim - 28th November 2015

I've been using Mooncup for over a year now, and it's fantastic. It took a bit of experimenting to get a hang of the process, and attempting it in a public restroom is still a thing I would do only in the direst of circumstances. Bus as for the downsides, that's it. I don't care much about the environmental message. Mooncup is just extremely convenient. This year I went to university, and it was such a liberating thing! I don't have to worry "Have I bought pads/tampons? Do I have enough? How many should I take with me?" I can study, go partying, stay over at friends, party, change my plans whenever I want. Mooncup is just there, in my bag, end of. And it saves A LOT of money, too. I estimated that one Mooncup costs about the same as a year's worth of pads. From now on it's saving my money! As a student I have to count my pennies, and not having the sanitary products on my monthly list means a great deal. Great!

Lynn - 27th November 2015

I've been using a Mooncup for over 10 years now and always loved it. When I went to get it out last night I discovered it was missing (very weird - I think I must have thrown it out by accident!)so had to use emergency sanitary pads I had hanging around. I've just spent a very uncomfortable night and morning until I could nip to Boots to buy another one. Now I'm restored, I feel so brilliant that I wanted to write and express my profound gratitude that I don't have to go around feeling so bad every month as people who usually wear pads must. I just find it's better in every single way. I never trusted or got on with tampons which used to leak, hurt and cause thrush if you were dry or pads which are so disgusting they just make you feel like you're wearing a wet nappy. It's saved me so much money over the years and the embarrassment of buying sanitary products and I don't feel bad about chucking things away. It's really a perfect solution so if you're considering it, please try it.

Claire - 26th November 2015

Best £20 I've ever spent! I recently bought the mooncup and have only been using it for 4 days. I have to say that this is the best decision I have ever made. It has changed my life. I'm a broke student so I'm already saving money(happy days) AND I've been wearing white panties and white trousers for 4 days without any leakage. Not even a drop. Not even at night. I wish I'd known about this earlier. EVERYBODY WOMAN NEEDS TO INVEST IN A MOONCUP! Don't hesitate ladies, just buy!

Ann - 22nd November 2015

I've used the Moon Cup overall for around three periods now and I can already say that this is the best decision I've made when it comes to periods and my health and financially. For me, once you've got a little used to it, it's much easier and cleaner than pads or tampons. You feel a lot more in tune with your body as you get to know it more and feel more comfortable with it. You save a lot of money also! It feels good to know that I'm not harming my body or the environment!

Georgi - 12th November 2015

Mooncup changed my life, years of thrush and BV, after changing to using a Mooncup 2 years ago, barely a problem, its so easy to use and my periods are certainly lighter and less painful. The added bonus is obviously the cost saving and the lack of impact on the environment unlike other sanitary items. I am shocked so few women I speak to have ever heard of the Mooncup and I wish I had known about it before I did, its a shame its not more widely available. Great product !!! Love It,

Nita - 31st October 2015

I've been using my Mooncup for about a year now and I would never, ever go back to using pads and tampons again. During this time I've found that my cramps aren't anywhere near as bad (they were often quite debilitating and I had to take a lot of time off work in the past), I don't spend any where near as much money, my pants are spot free (gross, yeah, but I haven't leaked once using a Mooncup), AND my periods are shorter and much less complicated. All this with the added bonus of knowing that some poor fish isn't going to end up with the contents of my uterus all over its face. Nice one Mooncup.

Laura - 27th October 2015

I never review stuff but I feel that, in this case, it's a necessity: I was very sceptical about the mooncup. I thought it was another one of those things that only ultra-hippies think is great but that the rest of the world is puzzled about. Well, now that I've bought one I feel like the dumbest woman on earth for thinking that. The mooncup is the most practical, ingenious invention of our time. In fact, if you opened the dictionary and looked under "Miracle", there should just be a picture of a mooncup. I don't understand why they aren't handed out in schools or by the NHS to EVERY SINGLE WOMAN alive. I thought it was going to be really gross. Instead, I feel like I've been given the chance, for the first time in 26 years, to actually learn about my body. As someone interested in waste reduction and ecological approaches to living, I know I've found a lifetime solution. But I think the Mooncup would change your life even if you're not eco-friendly and you hate the environment. Best £20 I EVER spent. EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

Zoe - 27th October 2015

I had never heard of mooncup, until I was browsing Boots website and was curious so had a look and decided to go for one. My periods have always been ok, suffering minor cramps and struggling with tampons on dryer days towards the end on my cycle. Initially I thought that there was no way the mooncup would fit, and once I had it in I thought no way is this going to come out!! It does take some practice on inserting and removing, but really do stick with it...it does get easier!! I remember the first time I used tampons and the mooncup is no where near as awkward to get the hang of. Now I don't use pads or tampons at all, it's so easy for using at work, I wear it when exercising and so far no leaks!!! Would defiantly recommend, not only is it cheaper but it also saves on waste. Give it a go!

Caitlin - 12th October 2015

This product is amazing. I wish I had found it years ago. I was worried that I would struggle with insertion and extraction so I ran myself a nice bath and relaxed a little before hand. The instructions were clear and I had no difficulty fitting the cup from the first try. It was easy to remove after a brief moment of panic! All I needed to do was to bear down and the cup dropped low enough for me tp pinch and release it. The tail was the only discomfort. I trimmed it twice then just cut it off. I can hardly feel the cup inside me and have had no leakage. Well worth the money, I will never buy another sanitary product ever again,

Jody - 9th October 2015

What a revelation mooncups are! I'd delayed going eco as I couldn't face washing blood covered pads, but after using washable nappys for my baby I had to take the plunge, instead finding mooncups. They are such a logical solution and, once you are used to them, are much better than either pads or tampons. How did I not know they existed before?!? I was initially scared of using the mooncup, even having panic attacks when I first tried it with a shortened stem due to fears about getting it out! If you are worried I recommend pushing it out with just your vaginal muscles before cutting the stem to discover how ridiculously easy it is to get out. Also they are actually simple to use even in public toilets with the bonus that you need to empty them less anyway. I did have initial leek issues (albeit less than I had with pads/tampons) and really didn't believe that it could work at night, but it was definitely worth persevering to determine the right position for me to be both leek free and comfortable 24/7. After childbirth my period became erratic but mooncups are perfect whatever my body is up to. Sometimes I have to empty it after just a few hours (which is still a lot longer than the alternatives lasted as mooncups hold more), but otherwise go 8hours only changing it to follow the recommendation. My only concern now is forgetting I'm using it. I tried Mooncups for environmental reasons, but am amazed how much more convenient, comfortable and cheaper they are compared to any alternative. Try it!

Caroline - 7th September 2015

I have been using mooncup for while now. I recently went on holiday without it and had to go back to using conventional products while I was away. Using them again reminded me how amazing the mooncup is and prompted me to write this. I live a very active life and have taken part in many activities whilst using mooncup. Such as running, swimming, climbing, surfing, bike riding, horse riding... you can not tell it is there and I have 100% confdence, infact I forget it is there. Its cheeper and easy and comfortable for any day heavy/light. The only shame is that more women do not know what they are missing! BUY ONE

alice - 30th August 2015

I've been using Mooncup since I first heard about them, about 10 years ago in my mid-20s. Only now am I buying my second one (they do last for a long long time if taken care of properly!). Now in my mid-30s, I feel I need to go for the larger size. When I think about how many disposal sanitary products I would have gone through in that time, the mind boggles... anybody who cares for the environment should consider going for a Mooncup :) They are easy to use, comfortable, and with experience, non-messy. Sometimes I do still use the odd pad, but only on the first day of a particularly heavy flow when I'm at work, just for extra protection. Other than that, it's Mooncup all the way. Cannot recommend it enough!

Charley - 29th August 2015

I'm on my third cycle using the mooncup and I am delighted with it. Feel all round more comfortable and in control with none of that fumbling in the bottom of bags for tampons and trying to hide them about my person on a trip to the loo. As others have said, I feel cleaner and there is none of the previous wastage. A product I will use for years to come. Thank you Mooncup!!

Jo - 18th July 2015

I heard about the moon cup and thought it was a horrible idea .. But as I was allergic to all my sanitary products I was willing to try anything .. And I'll never go back! It's so easy to use and you can't feel a thing! I highly recommend this product it's more Eco friendly and person friendly !! Moon cups will most definitely be the next best thing :) it sounds expensive at first but when your spending approx 4 pound each time on a box of tampons it costs next to nothing! Can re use over and over.. You most definitely need to buy one

Chloe - 18th July 2015

Having been plagued by heavy periods for a number of years, I was having to wear super plus tampons and pads together to stem the flow, my last period got heavier and I was having to change tampons every half an hour. I looked on the internet to see if there were any extra absorbent tampons, the next ones up were ultra. I then looked on stockists in my area and came across the mooncup, I remember seeing it in boots about two months ago and didn't really think it would work for me. I read the reviews and went and bought one the next day, as I could not go on the way I was. These things really should be advertised and possibly leaflets put in hospitals and GP surgeries, I was offered a procedure called an ablation to help with heavy periods, no need with the mooncup, yes it's a little fiddly and a bit messy, but that's nothing to some messes I found myself in and having to throw my pants away! Thank you, thank you mooncup.

Sharon - 13th July 2015

Saw adverts for the mooncup posted all over Glastonbury festival and as I am going travelling around Asia next year decided I may as well give it a try. I think its fantastic! its environmentally friendly and is so much cheaper. this first attempt was a little awkward but this was expected :) I would honestly recommend it to everyone.

Rachel - 13th July 2015

After reading a very scary article a girl who lost her leg to Toxic Shock Syndrome and already being the sufferer of continual urinary tract infections from a wide variety of weird and wonderful strains of bacteria, I decided I needed to stop using tampons and try the mooncup. I've seen it advertised a lot at festivals in the loos (for obvious reasons considering their issues with dealing with waste there!), but I had lots of stupid misconceptions. I think one things girls and young women automatically assume is that pre-childbirth, immature vaginas are just too small and that a menstrual cup will be HUGE and that if you struggle with super tampons it's just a no-go. So untrue. Having taken a while to come round to bigger tampons myself and still found them a bit uncomfortable sometimes, I couldn't believe how comfortable the Mooncup was on first use. I had to practice putting it in a couple of times and trimming the stem but after that it was fine! Having used it for a couple of days now, I've had no leaks, been super comfortable and just forgotten it's even there. I really like the fact I can see how much I'm bleeding, as I've been checked out for endometriosis before, so I like to keep an eye on it. LOVE the fact it's so eco-friendly, and that I'll be saving so much money (especially when everyone's been so enraged about the tax on tampons recently). Also that when I go away I won't have to think about packing loads of tampons and pads, just one little Mooncup. I really think you guys need to start promoting through schools and universities (students = small budgets!) because I feel like if they had been explained to me sooner and my misconceptions had been proved wrong, I would have converted long ago! I'm now raving to all my friends about it, so hopefully they'll be more young converts soon.

Lauren - 13th July 2015

Had my Cup for about a 4 days now, I managed to get it right the first time and then tried and tried again and couldn't get it right again for a day or so. left it for a day and tried again and I seem to be getting right now. no more leaks! I usually bleed for 2 weeks so this will save me loads of money in the long run! Always worth a buy and the practise!

Chelsey - 7th July 2015

Last week, June 2015, I lost my Mooncup. I'd had it for just over ten years!!! Nothing had gone wrong with it in all that time and if it hadn't been lost I would have continued using it. So thank you, what an amazing product! It went all the way around the world with me, on so many adventures. From my mid twenties to my mid thirties!! Losing it in a weird way, feels like I've lost a part of my body! Back in 2005 I saw a sticker promoting the Mooncup. I was amazed that such a healthy ecological solution existed and I'd never heard of it. I'd long grown tired of that nasty dried out feeling I was getting from tampons. I don't know exactly how much money I've saved since that time. I've certainly put a lot less into landfill. So it's time for another Mooncup. I must admit I'm a little sad to be parted from my original. (I'm sure no one is actually recommended to use it for ten years and more but still!). I have promoted the Mooncup to my friends and family, those that have tried it haven't looked back. Keep up the good work. You are making and supplying a wonderful necessary product, helping your fellow humans and our beautiful planet. Not many of us are able to say that about our jobs! I'm very grateful that you are and for all that you're done. Here ten years later you're still going strong and I'm able to buy another one! Many many thanks, Sincerely a faithful customer x

Katherine - 22nd June 2015

I am absolutely delighted with the mooncup as a replacement for tampons. They are also great for the environment and animal friendly. As soon as I started using it I saw the benefit. You dont feel it at all and you can clean it as often as you want or need to. Its great for sports too; I do a lot of running and it sits in place perfectly. The advice on the earthwisegirls site is great too. I did panic somewhat about removal of the mooncup, but the advice was perfect and relevant. You do have to get a bit more 'hands-on' with yourself, as its not the same as pulling out a piece of string, but you get over this very quickly. I wish we had these many tears ago, and Ive recommended to friends. Brilliant alternative to the mounting costs of tampons and their negative impact to the environment.

Jennifer - 19th June 2015

After suffering with increasingly heavy periods and pain that was getting worse year on year I was getting very tired of 'standard' sanitary products – a super plus tampon would only last 45 minutes at the most for the worst day of my period and I found myself getting yeast infections every couple of months. The bulk and sometimes weird smell that accompanies pads meant that they were also off-putting for me. After seeing a Mooncup sticker inside a toilet door at university and seeing on the website that its capacity was more than that of the most absorbent tampons, I decided to give it a try. I wish someone had told me about this years ago and it could have saved me a hundred periods of misery! It takes a little getting used to at first – I obviously wasn't getting the seal right during my first period with it and it kept creeping further and further up which lead to lots of leaks and trying to fish it out was a bit of a nightmare. As I had to do with tampons a decade ago, however, I persevered and eventually got it right! Making sure the holes aren't blocked, turning it, inserting it as low as possible and particularly giving the stem (which I shortened as much as possible) a little tug downwards once it's inserted and opened all seem to help with forming a seal and since then, I experience next to no leaks even with my nightmare periods overnight when I only have to wear a thin pantyliner in case I really exceed its capacity during a long sleep. I have found my cramps and pain to be much less severe than they were using tampons and I haven't had a single yeast infection in the year I've been using the Mooncup. Between these benefits for my health, for my wallet, the environment and the fact that you can't feel it when inserted properly (I used to hate it when my tampon slipped further down and it would irritate my nether regions!), the Mooncup has been a complete lifesaver. Something you don't realise as well until you experience it – I no longer have the panic of realising I have no sanitary products in my bag or jacket – I can pop into the loos with it in and not have to worry about taking things with me. No more running home from lectures to fill my bag with bulky super plus tampons, no more worrying on nights out that I'm going to be leaking within half an hour and don't have anything with me. It's been the best decision I have made for my health and sanity coping with my horrendous periods and I espouse its merits to anyone who will listen! It's about time we expand puberty and sex education in schools to let girls know that there are other options out there. It would have saved me so much money, time and distress over the years! Thank you Mooncup!

Meg - 18th June 2015

I have menorrhagia and I spent so much money to tampons and towels. One my Estonian friend told me about mooncup. I tried it even I was a little bit skeptical first. And I love mooncup! I had used it now three months and already saved money. I still need to use just in case towels if my period is extremely heavy, but no more horrible tampons which made me ill.Thank you to invent something so good and healthy to woman! I really hope that you will go viral in world wide and help more of us and help save environment.

Tulla - 8th June 2015

I'm coming to the end of my first period with my new mooncup. It is amazing! Took a little while to get the hang of it on the first day, but now it is totally fine. I used a little bit of a lubricant the first time I popped it in and that helped a lot :) It's extremely comfortable, I forget I am on my period, minus the bloating, cravings and mood swings lol. But downstairs I am so comfortable and fresh as a daisy. If you are considering getting one please don't hesitate, you won't regret it. I've had no leakage, no discomfort and healthy menses does not smell bad at all so it's not gross in anyway for me emptying my cup, once you've got the hang of it it's so easy. Not to mention how economical it is, think of that landfill pile you will help to reduce. Just so good, 5 stars for mooncup!!

Kate - 4th June 2015

I first heard about these cups on TV in my late 20s, but it wasn't until Feb this year that I took the plunge and bought one. Three cycles on and I'm converted - I've not bought a pack of tampons since the switch and although I still need a pad on my heaviest days (2nd night in particular is risky) I can get away with less than half a pack for an entire cycle! Okay, yes it took a while to get to grips with the thing, and I've had a few "can't reach to remove it" moments but at least now I can virtually ignore the fact I'm being visited by Aunt Flo once again. Well worth the initial cost and I'm already trying to convert my friends... well, those who aren't post-menopausal anyway! Only snag is... what to do with those tampons I've already wasted my hard-earned cash on?

Hazel - 31st May 2015

My cousin had spoken to me about the MoonCup five years ago. She had printed a little story explaining the use and the advantages of Mooncup and she put it in every women’s washroom she saw. At this time, the MoonCup disgusted me! So I understand the most skeptics girls… But I changed my mind and I want to try to change yours (if you aren’t convinced yet). Now I use the menstrual cup and I think it’s an amazing product!! You can sum up the advantages of this product in few words: it’s economically profitable, it’s more hygienic, it’s more ecological (no waste) and when you know using it it’s more practical. Believe me, your period will never be a problem anymore!

Matal - 26th May 2015

Showing 1 - 30 of 80 Articles | Page 1 of 3

Next >

Counter

Flash player missing

Get Adobe Flash playerGet Adobe Flash player

Read more »

Buy now

order online

Buy a Mooncup online or find your nearest stockist

Mooncup is available at Boots and independent shops everywhere

Promo Code 10% OFF!