Testimonials

Below are just some of the thousands of testimonials we have received from Mooncup
and MCUK users.

You can search for testimonials about a specific issue using the filter option on the right.
Please note testimonials are personal accounts of the experiences of individual Mooncup users, and may not be valid for everyone. They should not be substituted for professional advice (please see our FAQ section)

Results matching economical

I'm on my third cycle using the mooncup and I am delighted with it. Feel all round more comfortable and in control with none of that fumbling in the bottom of bags for tampons and trying to hide them about my person on a trip to the loo. As others have said, I feel cleaner and there is none of the previous wastage. A product I will use for years to come. Thank you Mooncup!!

Jo - 18th July 2015

I heard about the moon cup and thought it was a horrible idea .. But as I was allergic to all my sanitary products I was willing to try anything .. And I'll never go back! It's so easy to use and you can't feel a thing! I highly recommend this product it's more Eco friendly and person friendly !! Moon cups will most definitely be the next best thing :) it sounds expensive at first but when your spending approx 4 pound each time on a box of tampons it costs next to nothing! Can re use over and over.. You most definitely need to buy one

Chloe - 18th July 2015

Having been plagued by heavy periods for a number of years, I was having to wear super plus tampons and pads together to stem the flow, my last period got heavier and I was having to change tampons every half an hour. I looked on the internet to see if there were any extra absorbent tampons, the next ones up were ultra. I then looked on stockists in my area and came across the mooncup, I remember seeing it in boots about two months ago and didn't really think it would work for me. I read the reviews and went and bought one the next day, as I could not go on the way I was. These things really should be advertised and possibly leaflets put in hospitals and GP surgeries, I was offered a procedure called an ablation to help with heavy periods, no need with the mooncup, yes it's a little fiddly and a bit messy, but that's nothing to some messes I found myself in and having to throw my pants away! Thank you, thank you mooncup.

Sharon - 13th July 2015

Saw adverts for the mooncup posted all over Glastonbury festival and as I am going travelling around Asia next year decided I may as well give it a try. I think its fantastic! its environmentally friendly and is so much cheaper. this first attempt was a little awkward but this was expected :) I would honestly recommend it to everyone.

Rachel - 13th July 2015

After reading a very scary article a girl who lost her leg to Toxic Shock Syndrome and already being the sufferer of continual urinary tract infections from a wide variety of weird and wonderful strains of bacteria, I decided I needed to stop using tampons and try the mooncup. I've seen it advertised a lot at festivals in the loos (for obvious reasons considering their issues with dealing with waste there!), but I had lots of stupid misconceptions. I think one things girls and young women automatically assume is that pre-childbirth, immature vaginas are just too small and that a menstrual cup will be HUGE and that if you struggle with super tampons it's just a no-go. So untrue. Having taken a while to come round to bigger tampons myself and still found them a bit uncomfortable sometimes, I couldn't believe how comfortable the Mooncup was on first use. I had to practice putting it in a couple of times and trimming the stem but after that it was fine! Having used it for a couple of days now, I've had no leaks, been super comfortable and just forgotten it's even there. I really like the fact I can see how much I'm bleeding, as I've been checked out for endometriosis before, so I like to keep an eye on it. LOVE the fact it's so eco-friendly, and that I'll be saving so much money (especially when everyone's been so enraged about the tax on tampons recently). Also that when I go away I won't have to think about packing loads of tampons and pads, just one little Mooncup. I really think you guys need to start promoting through schools and universities (students = small budgets!) because I feel like if they had been explained to me sooner and my misconceptions had been proved wrong, I would have converted long ago! I'm now raving to all my friends about it, so hopefully they'll be more young converts soon.

Lauren - 13th July 2015

Had my Cup for about a 4 days now, I managed to get it right the first time and then tried and tried again and couldn't get it right again for a day or so. left it for a day and tried again and I seem to be getting right now. no more leaks! I usually bleed for 2 weeks so this will save me loads of money in the long run! Always worth a buy and the practise!

Chelsey - 7th July 2015

Last week, June 2015, I lost my Mooncup. I'd had it for just over ten years!!! Nothing had gone wrong with it in all that time and if it hadn't been lost I would have continued using it. So thank you, what an amazing product! It went all the way around the world with me, on so many adventures. From my mid twenties to my mid thirties!! Losing it in a weird way, feels like I've lost a part of my body! Back in 2005 I saw a sticker promoting the Mooncup. I was amazed that such a healthy ecological solution existed and I'd never heard of it. I'd long grown tired of that nasty dried out feeling I was getting from tampons. I don't know exactly how much money I've saved since that time. I've certainly put a lot less into landfill. So it's time for another Mooncup. I must admit I'm a little sad to be parted from my original. (I'm sure no one is actually recommended to use it for ten years and more but still!). I have promoted the Mooncup to my friends and family, those that have tried it haven't looked back. Keep up the good work. You are making and supplying a wonderful necessary product, helping your fellow humans and our beautiful planet. Not many of us are able to say that about our jobs! I'm very grateful that you are and for all that you're done. Here ten years later you're still going strong and I'm able to buy another one! Many many thanks, Sincerely a faithful customer x

Katherine - 22nd June 2015

I am absolutely delighted with the mooncup as a replacement for tampons. They are also great for the environment and animal friendly. As soon as I started using it I saw the benefit. You dont feel it at all and you can clean it as often as you want or need to. Its great for sports too; I do a lot of running and it sits in place perfectly. The advice on the earthwisegirls site is great too. I did panic somewhat about removal of the mooncup, but the advice was perfect and relevant. You do have to get a bit more 'hands-on' with yourself, as its not the same as pulling out a piece of string, but you get over this very quickly. I wish we had these many tears ago, and Ive recommended to friends. Brilliant alternative to the mounting costs of tampons and their negative impact to the environment.

Jennifer - 19th June 2015

After suffering with increasingly heavy periods and pain that was getting worse year on year I was getting very tired of 'standard' sanitary products – a super plus tampon would only last 45 minutes at the most for the worst day of my period and I found myself getting yeast infections every couple of months. The bulk and sometimes weird smell that accompanies pads meant that they were also off-putting for me. After seeing a Mooncup sticker inside a toilet door at university and seeing on the website that its capacity was more than that of the most absorbent tampons, I decided to give it a try. I wish someone had told me about this years ago and it could have saved me a hundred periods of misery! It takes a little getting used to at first – I obviously wasn't getting the seal right during my first period with it and it kept creeping further and further up which lead to lots of leaks and trying to fish it out was a bit of a nightmare. As I had to do with tampons a decade ago, however, I persevered and eventually got it right! Making sure the holes aren't blocked, turning it, inserting it as low as possible and particularly giving the stem (which I shortened as much as possible) a little tug downwards once it's inserted and opened all seem to help with forming a seal and since then, I experience next to no leaks even with my nightmare periods overnight when I only have to wear a thin pantyliner in case I really exceed its capacity during a long sleep. I have found my cramps and pain to be much less severe than they were using tampons and I haven't had a single yeast infection in the year I've been using the Mooncup. Between these benefits for my health, for my wallet, the environment and the fact that you can't feel it when inserted properly (I used to hate it when my tampon slipped further down and it would irritate my nether regions!), the Mooncup has been a complete lifesaver. Something you don't realise as well until you experience it – I no longer have the panic of realising I have no sanitary products in my bag or jacket – I can pop into the loos with it in and not have to worry about taking things with me. No more running home from lectures to fill my bag with bulky super plus tampons, no more worrying on nights out that I'm going to be leaking within half an hour and don't have anything with me. It's been the best decision I have made for my health and sanity coping with my horrendous periods and I espouse its merits to anyone who will listen! It's about time we expand puberty and sex education in schools to let girls know that there are other options out there. It would have saved me so much money, time and distress over the years! Thank you Mooncup!

Meg - 18th June 2015

I have menorrhagia and I spent so much money to tampons and towels. One my Estonian friend told me about mooncup. I tried it even I was a little bit skeptical first. And I love mooncup! I had used it now three months and already saved money. I still need to use just in case towels if my period is extremely heavy, but no more horrible tampons which made me ill.Thank you to invent something so good and healthy to woman! I really hope that you will go viral in world wide and help more of us and help save environment.

Tulla - 8th June 2015

I'm coming to the end of my first period with my new mooncup. It is amazing! Took a little while to get the hang of it on the first day, but now it is totally fine. I used a little bit of a lubricant the first time I popped it in and that helped a lot :) It's extremely comfortable, I forget I am on my period, minus the bloating, cravings and mood swings lol. But downstairs I am so comfortable and fresh as a daisy. If you are considering getting one please don't hesitate, you won't regret it. I've had no leakage, no discomfort and healthy menses does not smell bad at all so it's not gross in anyway for me emptying my cup, once you've got the hang of it it's so easy. Not to mention how economical it is, think of that landfill pile you will help to reduce. Just so good, 5 stars for mooncup!!

Kate - 4th June 2015

I first heard about these cups on TV in my late 20s, but it wasn't until Feb this year that I took the plunge and bought one. Three cycles on and I'm converted - I've not bought a pack of tampons since the switch and although I still need a pad on my heaviest days (2nd night in particular is risky) I can get away with less than half a pack for an entire cycle! Okay, yes it took a while to get to grips with the thing, and I've had a few "can't reach to remove it" moments but at least now I can virtually ignore the fact I'm being visited by Aunt Flo once again. Well worth the initial cost and I'm already trying to convert my friends... well, those who aren't post-menopausal anyway! Only snag is... what to do with those tampons I've already wasted my hard-earned cash on?

Hazel - 31st May 2015

My cousin had spoken to me about the MoonCup five years ago. She had printed a little story explaining the use and the advantages of Mooncup and she put it in every women’s washroom she saw. At this time, the MoonCup disgusted me! So I understand the most skeptics girls… But I changed my mind and I want to try to change yours (if you aren’t convinced yet). Now I use the menstrual cup and I think it’s an amazing product!! You can sum up the advantages of this product in few words: it’s economically profitable, it’s more hygienic, it’s more ecological (no waste) and when you know using it it’s more practical. Believe me, your period will never be a problem anymore!

Matal - 26th May 2015

I was a bit hesitant at first, but after doing a little bit of research, I decided to go for it--and I'm SO glad I did! I've saved a ton of money from using it, and I never feel like there's an odor or dryness left behind afterwards. I recommend it to all my friends now, and will NEVER go back to tampons!

Amanda - 26th May 2015

I bought the Mooncup a couple of weeks ago so I could try it out before I go backpacking in a few months. I used it for the first time last week and oh my goodness, it works like a charm. I have quite a heavy flow and I usually have to get up and change tampons twice during the night and again at 6AM or 7AM but I have slept through every night this period without any leaks. That's bloody brilliant, right?! I wish I'd known about this product in my early teens because it's what I'll be using from now on. The only difficulty I had was removing the Mooncup but all was well once I cut the stem. I am so happy with this product. I actually feel confident now that I won't have any disasters while on my period and that I won't have to spend any more money on tampons/pads! I can't feel it at all and I'm not constantly obsessing over the thought of whether I need to check for any blood or not. I can't stress enough how wonderful the Mooncup is! Definitely get this product, ladies. It's not messy at all once you get a hold of things. I promise you won't look back!

Laura - 26th May 2015

I have struggled with periods since first starting them, the mooncup has really changed this for me; when using tampons my menstral cramps were so bad I would faint, vomit and often be forced to call in sick to work due to these symptoms. After the initial teething problems with inserting and removing it, the mooncup has really helped me and I fell in control of my periods rather than the other way around. For anyone too nervous to try a mooncup for fear of trying to figure out how to put it in and take it out (I definitely was one of these people) think back to how alien a tampon was the first time you tried to use it. the small learning curve is worth it for the ease and naturalness the mooncup makes you feel. Not to mention the money I've saved on tampons! Yay mooncup!

Sara - 23rd May 2015

After reading an article about the benefits of menstrual cups I did rather a lot of research about them. I've suffered with ridiculously heavy, extremely painful, periods since a pretty young age. School was a nightmare for me and my agonising periods, that I was finding hard to manage at such a young age, meant I'd end up having days off every month. Even at 21 years of age, I've found myself missing nights out with friends and planning my life around my periods. Not much fun. I even had to be careful when using the highest absorbency tampons you can buy in the UK!! I know, right?! So, I went ahead and decided to try mooncup after reading nothing but glowing reviews. Even the initial cost of the cup was probably only equal to a couple of months supply of tampons so I figured it was worth a shot. I can't believe the difference it has made to my life already. It took a little getting used to but I didn't struggle inserting or removing the cup once. I found that for me it was best to cut the stem off entirely. I must admit I did wear pads for the duration of my first period using the cup but I didn't have a single leak! Hallelujah! I think I'd even feel comfortable enough to go swimming wearing the cup, something I could never have risked when using tampons. I feel like running around the streets telling every woman I encounter what a horrible mistake they're making by using tampons. ... And even better is that I'll never have to make a midnight dash to the supermarket when the little blighter has arrived a day or two early, and no more special trips to the loo... I was able to leave emptying the cup until I needed the loo anyway. Brilliant. I can't sing enough praises for this product.

Tami - 15th May 2015

I can't understand why the Mooncup hasn't been promoted but rather hidden behind the plethora of (un)sanitary products. It just goes to show, I guess, the power of big companies. What an amazing invention, and I am just sorry that I have missed out on years of using one. I came across this quite by accident. For years, tampons have done the job for me. However, heading towards menopause, I am suffering periods from hell, and needed something beyond the super mega plus tampon and accompanying pad to get me through the awful days.I read a recommendation for this, saying that it had a greater capacity. My initial thought, like many, was gross, but I was intrigued, and pretty desperate. It is early days, but wow, seriously, wow. For me at least, it has been very easy to use (I still need to trim the stem, though), and really comfortable. Yes, I like the money saving aspect (albeit a bit late in the day now), the being kinder to my body aspect - all good. But is has some great additional benefit beyond that. When I am at home, I no longer have to try and discreetly dispose of used tampons and pads (and we are talking bulk) - which I hate, especially when we have guests. And when I am on holiday, I really hate having to put all my used items in the small, usually open bathroom bin. A heavy flow day, and the bin is full. I might as well have a sign stuck to my head saying 'I am on my period and there are all my used rags if you want to have a look'. I am a really personal person, so this matters a lot to me. And then there is trying to swim with a tampon in, knowing that it will absorb water, and leak (only not just water!), and the string that I am praying doesn't peek out of the side of my swimming costume. All of this for me is real mortifying stuff - and just thinking about it makes me want to sink into the floor, so the prospect of getting rid of a lot of that is just fantastic. And for anyone who really thinks that this is gross, this really is a whole lot better than having to handle and dispose of the mounds of used pads every month. Now that is what I find really disgusting.

Jo - 14th May 2015

I have had my Mooncup for a few years now. It is probably the best purchase I have ever made. It is an adjustment and you might have some leakage in the beginning, but don't get discouraged. Once you get it, you'll never have to deal with the dryness of tampons or the gross wet feeling of pads ever again. Plus, I have saved so much money by not buying pads over the past few years! I wish everyone knew about this product. If you're on the fence about it like I was, just do it. You're be so happy you did. :)

Madeline - 14th May 2015

I've just purchased my second ever mooncup. My first was about 8 years old so it has done a wonderful job! I honestly thought I'd never get the hang of using it, I really worried that I wasn't doing it right but it's just a matter of trimming the stem(for me, removing almost completely) and practising.Now, I love it and I am never going to buy another tampon again. I donated my "sanitary supplies" (funny that they are called that when they are anything but sanitary!) to a hospital ward and a women's shelter. I have saved hundreds of pounds over the years and yes, the planet too. We need to start talking about this openly, I have plucked up the courage to discuss it with friends. my daughter is 10 and she has asked about her options period wise. school only ever mentioned pads or tampons but she really wants to use a mooncup and I will buy her one to try. I hope she gets on with it, but time will tell. I could buy some washable pads just in case but I want her to be comfortable with her body and not see it as a dirty process. If you're reading this and you're struggling with your mooncup: RELAX you will get the hang of it. REMEMBER how long it took you when you learnt how to use a tampon or anything else in life RING the lovely helpline ladies, they are wonderful REJOICE when you've mastered it, now you can help others!

Helen - 28th April 2015

Thought I'd let you know today I bought my second mooncup, after 7 years of service it was time to retire my first one. Considering how long it lasts it's a really cheap alternative, apart from the obvious environmental benefits. But what I as a young woman liked the best was that no matter how long a trip I was going for all I needed to bring for my periods were one cup. However I can still remember the first time I tried it, and the panic when I couldn't get it out. I tell it as a funny story now, and to show the importance of exercising your vaginal muscles, relax and work on that muscle control, and you'll figure it out in no time. Thank you for keeping both my consciousness and backpack light :)

Elice - 19th April 2015

I cannot recommend the mooncup highly enough! I've always had periods which are a little heavy, and I get a few days of bad cramps. Tampons always made my cramps worse, always leaked and I found I had to change them too often to be practical. This left me with pads, which were okay, but uncomfortable, especially in warm weather. I work at a busy restaurant, which means I may be on my feet, running around for 6/7 hours without a break - on my heavy days, using pads was so uncomfortable, I got rashes and just felt unclean. I was always paranoid about leaks, and usually had some overnight. The mooncup has changed all of that! It eases cramps for me, and it is so comfortable - I can't feel it at all, so much so that I forget I'm on my period sometimes! It's perfect for my job, as I can leave it in for the duration of a long shift without worrying, and I can tackle all the physical aspects of the job with no restrictions. During the first couple of uses, it can be difficult - my first two tries I had some leaks and could feel it a lot, but by my third period using the mooncup I mastered it. I found I had to fully remove the stem (don't be afraid to do this if the stem irritates you), and can empty and re-insert the cup in minutes. It's clean, fast, convenient and is great for the environment, so forget whatever is putting you off buying one - you NEED to try this!!!

Laura - 5th April 2015

I'm 21 years old and just heard about the mooncup. It's disappointing that tampax and other sanitary products seem to have more marketing material than cups. So, on discovering this product though an article on the internet,I was dubious. If this product is so hygienic, cheap and green; how have I never heard of it before? I did my research and I couldn't wait to order one. I've always had problems with other sanitary products. I found them very irritating, both physically on my skin and how unclean I felt while using them, not to mention the cost and how inconvenient it is having to buy them every month. However, since using the mooncup I have experienced none of these problems. I've felt like I can actually go out and enjoy myself without the worries of leaking etc. While using it I felt totally comfortable and was able to leave it in for the full eight hours without any mess. There is no odor at all, no cramping, and no mess of trying to dispose of stuff discreetly. The most beneficial aspect of the mooncup for me is that I can use it for my light flow without that awful, dry, scratchy feel of the tampon. The only downfall is that it can be tricky to insert, but I think that is more my problem than the mooncup's. It can also make some icky noises when removing it. However, cutting off the stem and removing the cup by squeezing it made no sound at all. I can't recommend this product enough, it's saved me money, time, and left my life that little bit less stressful. I no longer dread my period, result! Thank you so much.

Kay - 29th March 2015

I've had my mooncup for nearly 3 years, and I love it. I bought it for the reason that I felt there had to be something more comfortable than pads, and I always leaked with tampons. It had nothing to do with the added benefits of being cheaper in the long run, and adding nothing to landfills (though they're wonderful perks too!) I couldn't live without it now, and there is no way I would ever go back to something else. I often forget I'm even on my period, something which is impossible with pads / tampons, and my 7-8 day periods have become much shorter since using this too, something I'm convinced isn't a coincidence. I do need a pad for the first day of my period, but that is an incredibly heavy day, otherwise I just pop this in and I'm good to go. Also, it is fabulous to use in aeroplane bathrooms too. and there's no faff about rubbish and sanitary products cluttering up your bag either.

Hannah - 24th March 2015

I LOVE IT!! My periods before having children where just hideous. I could easily spend £20 and more on pads and tampons in one period. It was a real down moment. My bag just seemed to consist of sanitary products. In the end I stayed in. I then found the Mooncup through an online forum. I read about it and read all the benefits it could have for me. It hasnt let me down. I have two children since I got my first mooncup and I wouldnt live without it. No smells, no leaking, no fear of going out and no more sanitary hang bag. It has helped me so much. My flow is lighter, im in less pain and I feel so much more confident. Ill sing the praises of my Mooncup to all my lady friends. Thank you!!

Lucy - 12th March 2015

It doesn't smell. It doesn't leak. You can wear whatever underwear you want (or none at all!). It doesn't dry you out. It doesn't leave fibres inside you. You don't have to deal with it every time you go to the toilet. It can cope with clots. You don't have to buy more and more every month. There's no gross string hanging out of you. You don't have to throw it away and feel guilty about the waste. It doesn't feel like a nappy. You can measure your period so you know if something unusual happens. It doesn't come wrapped up in pointless, wasteful packaging. You don't have to carry loads of supplies around with you. I feel free. I did find insertion and removal a bit difficult to start with, but after sticking with it for a couple of days I soon got into the swing of it. It saves me money, it saves me hassle and it's comfortable. What more could I ask for?

liz - 9th March 2015

My mother had bought me a mooncup from another site and I fell in love with it. So I purchased one from here, and I will always love it! I love that I don't have to spend so much on pads or tampons and I love that using the mooncup is better for the environment. And it lasts longer than a tampon. I never have to worry about running out of it:) I defiantly recommend this to my friends and family!!

Kristine - 8th March 2015

I bought my m'cup almost 2 years ago and i love it! My periods are not always the same as far as light or heavy flow. Not to mention I am helping the environment and my wallet at the same time! I love my cup and I highly recommend it to anyone!

Reeva - 2nd March 2015

I heard about Mooncup at Glastonbury last year, visited the website and thought I'd try one for myself. Now I see why everyone felt the need to leave their comments! The Mooncup makes you feel SOOO much better about your period that you just want everyone to discover how great it is!! I have a contraceptive implant in my arm and, for me, a side effect of that is my periods often being lighter, but quite erratic. That meant that I was having to wear a thin liner nearly every day - just in case. With the Mooncup I can pop it in and not have to worry. It's so much more comfortable than having to sit wearing a pad (and/or tampon) all day and worrying about when you might need to change it. The Mooncup has absolutely changed my life when it comes to periods. I know it sounds like I'm exaggerating, but it's made me more open about periods, I'm not embarrassed about them, I'm not constantly worrying that I might leak, I'm SAVING SO MUCH MONEY and also saving the environment! Mooncup is just a win win win win win situation. Thanks a million. :)

Claire - 24th February 2015

A life changing & completely genius invention! I feel grateful that I have found this product in my early twenties and have not had to endure years of bother with tampons and sanitary towels. You save money, look after the environment, feel clean and fresh during your period and it's so easy to use. Believe every testimonial on here because it is the best thing that has ever happened to me regarding my period! You would be a fool not to buy one immediately!!

Chloe - 24th February 2015

I've had my mooncup for three years so I can say I've truly tried and tested it! It took me a good three months to get to grips with it, my main issue was trying to insert it too high (like a tampon) and the length of the stem. I've since removed the whole of the stem as I found that personally I don't need it. My advice for other women is to stick with it till you get used it, remember the difficulties you may have had first using a tampon and how they are second nature to insert now! The main benefits for me is that it really does reduce the amount of pain my period gives me, bizarre but true! During my period, I am often very dry "down there", and found that tampons made this worse. I prefer the mooncup as it does not absorb any moisture, but I find I need to use a little bit of lube (just once a day) to aid me inserting and removing it. As it holds so much more than a tampon I don't need to rush and change/empty it as often, in fact I often go to the loo and forget all about it as you really can't feel it! I've recommended it to all of my friends and family, a brilliant investment, saves money and the environment too.

Claire - 16th February 2015

I remember seeing the stickers for the mooncup in the ladies toilets when I was at University and thinking to myself, I should probably give that a go. Well, I graduated five years ago and have only just go round to actually doing it, and it was mostly the online reviews and testimonials that made me make that decision there and then. If only I had read the testimonials back then! I personally didn't find the whole concept of it weird or gross, I am quite in tune with my body. The only thing I had to overcome was getting used to insertion and removal. Trying different folding methods soon sorted the insertion, removal took a bit more practise but within a couple of days I felt confident and I knew that I would never go back. At first I used a liner because I wasn't convinced it wasn't going to leak but now I am totally confident in the mooncup. It makes you feel SO much better about your period, you feel more in tune with what your body is doing, cramps are reduced, it's cost effective, it's more hygienic and for me knowing I am not adding to landfill is a huge benefit. If you suffer with recurrent thrush or UTI's - this product will change your life!!! (I don't know why doctors don't advise women to get one).

Kym - 13th February 2015

I recently heard of moon cup through a woman's group online. I was a little sceptical at first, but I went ahead and purchased one. When my period came I used it. I'm never, ever going back to bags or tampons again. The cup is extremely comfortable, unlike a pad or a tampon I can't feel that it is there. I can't feel my period either which I can with the other products. The moon cup is easy to insert and remove and it's NOT messy like I thought it would be! I feel super clean too. No dryness, no itchiness! Peeing is easier too as with tampons the strong gets in the way and with pads it's messy. At night I can sleep however I want, I can roll about like usual with out worrying about spillage. I can horse ride in it too with no problems cause it's so flexible, it just stays where my body wants it. I can't recommend it this product enough, it's revolutionised periods, and it's a green alternative to the thousands of pads and tampons we go through! Ladies if you're unsure, give it a go. The worst that'll happen is you don't like it, the best that'll happen is you'll have hassle free, cheap periods for the rest of time! Yey moon cup!

Abby - 10th February 2015

I've had my Mooncup for a year now and love it. It has saved me tons of money on tampons and pads. I feel like my hygiene is even better when using the Mooncup. It works great on both my heavier period days and my lighter days. Some discoloration has appeared now that I've used it for a year, but it still works great. I make sure to clean mine after every period. I recommend this product to all females! It's way better than using tampons/pads and super comfortable. I don't even notice it.

Kimberly - 7th February 2015

This is the best £20 I have ever spent! Love my mooncup so much, no leaks, easy to use and so much more hygienic than tampons or pads. Would recommend to everyone!

Caroline - 31st January 2015

I would definitely recommend the moon cup to anyone. I bought one because I did not like the idea of using disposable products that then went into landfill and I also wanted to save money. The mooncup took a little getting used to, there is definitely a "knack" to it but once you've got it, it's amazing! It stands up to all activities, I've never had any trouble with leaking. It is so much more convenient when going away to be able to take my one mooncup instead of lots of pads and tampons. Everyone should have one!

Rachel - 25th January 2015

I had heard rave reviews from a friend and finally decided to bite the bullet- cannot thank my lucky stars I did. I always hated using tampons and other such products, finding them uncomfortable and stressful to use. Now that I have a Mooncup my period is quite literally a breeze. I feel clean, healthy, comfortable, not to mention richer! I go running, swimming, rock climbing with it in and I pretty much forget I have my period. No more running into Boots in a flap when I forget to stuff hundreds of tampons into my bag 'just-in-case', no more rustling, no more waste! If you are considering it, please, please do. You will not regret it! Thank you Mooncup!

Kitty - 19th January 2015

I'm 32, always struggled with tampons and found towels a bit stressful as my periods are short, but quite heavy. Since I started using the mooncup my periods are stress-free. I feel a lot more in control of my period because the mooncup is easy to use and so hygienic. You can also feel good about the fact that you're doing your bit for the environment. It's also cheaper! No brainer.

Kate - 6th January 2015

So, this is about the best thing ever. I first heard about the mooncup via some stickers around my university, looked it up, saw some testimonials and figured it was worth a shot. I've never tried tampons (the whole TSS thing was a bit worrying) but pads: feel horrible, get expensive after a while, inevitably result in mess on my clothes, irritate me or even give me thrush if I accidentally get the wrong type, and are *not easy* to dispose of discretely in university accommodation. Headed down to the local Boots and bought one - was slightly miffed that it cost a couple pounds more than advertised on the website, but still way cheaper in the long run and didn't have time to faff around with delivery times, so I got it. It's amazing. It takes a little practice to get in and out the few few times, and if you have problems with poking around inside or seeing a small cup of blood, you may have to steel yourself. However, I can't feel it at *all*, there's no leaking, it needs emptying about twice a day (so much more convenient than pads) and you don't need to worry about packing enough spares. Also, there was far less actual contact with blood than if I'd been using pads and having to remove/change them. With the exception of cramps on the first day, which I always get, and literally a minute a day of emptying it, I could not tell that I was on my period at all. Incredible. Plus, saving money in the long run. Having used it, I honestly cannot tell why anyone would go for anything else instead. Spread the word to university students particularly - we're moving away from home, starting to buy these things for ourselves, and it makes life so much easier.

Lauren - 6th January 2015

I brought my mooncup and looking for a more practical solution to dealing with my period. (Where I work I'd have to go to my locker to get things to use and so many other things having a period was almost impossible). But now I am in and out the loo in 3 minuets!! So easy to insert, reading the what you should do and then adapting it to you is best. And you just need to get used to taking it out then you've got it sorted. I have a heavy flow for three days then the other three I'm pretty light. I can leave the cup upto 3 hours before I need ro change it on my heavy days. Honestly a life saver. I've been singing it's praises since the first moment I used it. Saved so much money to. 900/10 would certainly recommend.

Hayley - 28th December 2014

I bought the Mooncup 6 months ago after getting fed up with pads and looking for an alternative. I am a young backpacker and have to say it is brilliant! Although it took a bit of practice to insert (I'd never used tampons) I quickly got the hang of it and it is so easy to use. Great for travelling as takes up no space at all in your backpack and there's no guilt about the environment either. I only wish I'd discovered this fantastic product earlier as they are an absolute godsend and every woman needs one. They are so comfortable that you forget you're on your period and the money saved is fantastic. No mess, no hassle, I cannot thank Mooncup enough for this great product -I'm never going back to anything else!! Give it a try and you won't regret it!

Sara - 20th December 2014

I found out about Mooncup a few years ago from my mum but initially dismissed it as being weird and difficult. But when I spent a year studying abroad in a country where tampons aren't widely available I decided to give it a try. The first few times using the cup were a bit difficult but I soon got used to it and I began to like it much more than tampons which were drying, expensive and had to be changed often. I only have to change my mooncup twice a day and I am never 'caught short' at the start of my period when before I might not have had any tampons in the house. I am so glad I switched to the mooncup, I have saved myself so much money and hassle and I hardly even notice I'm on my period anymore. It's an added bonus that it's good for the planet too!

Happy! - 5th November 2014

I chose the menstrual cup for environmental reasons, and I chose mooncup in particular because of how accessible they made the switch from tampons seem. Yes, I was dubious, I had my doubts if it was 'for me', but now - like many women seem to suggest - the idea of going back to any other method seems unthinkable. I had resort to tampons for one day during my last period, and the difference was huge - I had forgotten the discomfort (that 'dragging' feeling) of tampons, and by the end of the day I was relieved to get home and switch back to mooncup. I wore a pantyliner for the first couple of cycles until I was comfortable with the cup, but now I am confident in my own insertion technique and never use one. 9 months on, I can hand-on-heart say I would never go back! I've saved about £30 on tampons already, so the mooncup has more than paid of itself, too. Bonus!

Jessie - 1st January 2013

After two years and a half I'm still using it as happy as the first time, even more! I was so happy when I discovered such a thing! I don't use any other things like towels or tampons. I used to have problems with them like drying and irritation, but not anymore with Mooncup: it is always better than any other alternative product: it is comfortable, easy to use (just a little practice the first two days may be, but it worth it) and so cheap! I recommend it to all women when I have the chance! Go girls, let's use Mooncup!

Irene - 3rd September 2012

I've been a supporter and user of the Mooncup for almost 5 years now and I've never looked back! It was the best £20 investment EVER. Pretty good going as I've saved nearly £450 within that time, not to mention saving the landfill space that no longer houses my icky disposables :-) Thank you Mooncup!

Alexys B - 21st February 2012

A few months ago I was out shopping and unexpectedly got my period. I went to use a tampon vending machine and it was out of order and someone had written "ha ha!" use a mooncup! I've been meaning to try it for a while so I went and bought one. I was a bit unsure at first but now I can't believe I ever used tampons. It's so clean and easy to use, I feel virtuous every month for not creating lots of polluting waste and don't have to spend money on tampons ever again. It's brilliant! If only every woman used them it would make sure an positive impact on the environment.

Jo - 15th September 2010

I have known about the Mooncup for many years but I have to admit to being incredibly grossed out by the idea of it. But then a friend of mine, I thought the least likely person to use such a thing, started telling me about it so enthusiastically that I decided to try it. And it is AMAZING! it's only a little messy on removal, reduces the smell, is amazingly comfortable and easy to insert and remove (took me a day or two to get used to this). And the best thing about it other than all the money it will save over time? The waste reduction. Every month I feel so guilty about the amount that goes into landfill or down the toilet and now I can stop! Although I do feel a bit bad about not having bought one years ago.

pinkhippy - 2nd September 2010

I've been using the mooncup for a year now. What I like best about it is that you don't feel like you're having your periods. Like some of the other posters on this board, the first couple of days of my period are really heavy - it's good being able to (1) have something that can stay in for a few hours without having to be changed every hour - especially since I'm a teacher, and can't keep running out of the classroom, and (2) know exactly how much I bleed every period - I always doubted that it was just a couple of spoonfuls, now I know! The mooncup has now been to several countries with me, and all over Europe and Asia on holidays - and has saved me a LOT of money and packing space!

maya - 28th August 2010

Loving your work- Mooncup is an absolute revelation- it has totally enhanced my life and having a period is no longer a big deal, which is how it should be! I really would advocate it to all women, especially those who care about the environment and our oceans- it's a massive positive change all women could do! And think of the bonus of saving all that money to spend on far more interesting things! Be sustainable and smart ladies- don't knock it until you've tried it! It would be great if they were more accessible here in New Zealand to spread the word more!

Laura - 6th July 2010

I have been using the mooncup now for 2 years and have to be honest I was sceptical at first but now think its the best invention for women yet. It have saved me money, time and even eased my cramps. I only wished I would have used it earlier in my life. I am a very active person and find that I do not have to worry about anything when I am using my mooncup. Its easy and envronmentally friendly which is a big must nowadays.

Lee - 20th May 2010

I wasn't sure about the mooncup at all before I tried it. I have very bad period pains and have never been able to use tampons. I decided to try it when I went to Kenya for three months (where disposal of waste is an issue). It took a month or two to get used to it but now I LOVE my mooncup. It reduces the severity of the pain and works out so much cheaper. also, I can go swimming now, whatever time of the month it is! Great! One pointer. Skinny fit jeans are a bit restrictive around the legs when trying to get a good angle to 'empty'.

Louise - 14th May 2010

I've been using a Mooncup for 2.5 years and love it, love it, love it. So comfortable and easy to use, excellent on trips, and totally a money saver. I actually tried another menstrual cup prior to Mooncup and didn't like how stiff it was (uncomfortable and hard to get correctly situated inside). So then I got a Mooncup, because I had read that it was more "squishy" and it's perfect. I can't say enough nice things about it. Thanks for making such a high-quality, healthy product.

Emily - 5th April 2010

I had hesitated for some time before i bought the mooncup, i've used tampons from age 14 and it seemed a big change to try something new and so different. I am concerned about our impact on the environment and the amount of sanitary products we dispose of, so that was my main reason for trying the mooncup. On that point alone i feel so much better for switching but all the other benefits that come with it that i never even considered have really impressed me. The money i am saving each month for instance, not having to carry around a make up bag full of tampons, not feeling plugged up, it feels so much more natural and comfortable to wear the mooncup than a tampon. If you are hesitating over the mooncup as i was, just try it. It's actually very soft, pliable and comfortable to use and you just empty it into the loo, rinse under a tap or wipe and re-fit. I won't go back to tampons, ever.

June - 4th April 2010

I can't praise the mooncup enough. I switched about 2 years ago. I would shout about it to every woman. I walk happily past the sanitary items shelves in shops because I never have to buy those again and I feel sorry for the women that still do. I will never again be responsible for the use of bleach, the addition to landfill, and above all the 5% VAT payable to the taxman - what's that about?! Luxury items? Hardly! It's easy to use and perfectly secure, never any embarrassment, and I'm proud to be a Mooncup user.

jm77 - 19th March 2010

I have been using the Mooncup for over a year now. My sister, in South Africa, was actually the one to promote it to me. I haven't looked back since! I used to have terrible thrush EVERY period from using tampons and a sanitry pad can be uncomfortable and not always practical. I have also saved so much money since buying the Mooncup. I certainly haven't looked back and I am so grateful for the introduction!

Christie - 13th March 2010

Great, great, great and while I got a bit of stick from friends for thinking about using it.........I am determined to convert them!! It is a little messy but way less messy than towels where the blood is sitting on the pad and letting germs get to it! .........and how much money have I saved this month!! ;-)

Sarah - 7th February 2010

Read about the mooncup in Cosmo, and was interested, checked out this website, bought one, used it and hey presto! Took 2 or 3 attempts to get position right, but once you get the hang ot it, so easy to use & so much more comfortable than a tampon! no leaks, no dryness. easy to use, cheaper, (I was spending the same amount as a mooncup every other month!!) Wished I'd heard about them years ago!!

Sally - 31st January 2010

What a revalation! Having developed an allergy to tampons I thought I would give it a go - that was 3 years ago and I have never looked back. There is no soreness or dryness at the end of your period, you dont have to change it as much as you would a tampon and after 3 periods it has paid for itself. every girl should have one - advertise more - don't keep it a secret - it saves the environment too.

Laura - 28th January 2010

Ive been using a Mooncup now for 2 years and I honestly would never ever turn back! The first 2 months took a little getting used to, wearing a panty liner on heavier days just in case I hadn't placed the cup right, but having sussed it now I am completely convinced it was a good purchase! The best part is that as the cup doesn't absorb fluid, so I am not "dry" (excuse the expression but super tampon users will know what I mean) during or for a day or so afterwards- much more comfortable! That and I cant feel the cup at all... I might as well not be on my period. Its great not to spend money on Tampons every month, be a little better for the environment and feel comfortable during those girly days!

Emma - 5th January 2010

Today is my first day with the Mooncup! I'm 19 and just figured I'd give it a go. I was pretty taken with its economical and ecological benefits. I'm really liking it so far. Took me a while to get it in properly (about half an hour) but once in it was fine. I was worried about it somehow getting back out, so I danced and cartwheeled around my room and it's stayed in, so I'm confident about it now. :) It's really comfortable, which is always a plus, so I'm happy with it. Definitely worth the money, especially when I think of the money I'll save in the long run. Ahh. Now all I have to do is recommend it to as many people as possible! Thank you, Mooncup! :D

Jazzmynne - 5th December 2009

I have had my mooncup since 2004 and haven't spent money on tampons (the thought of having to use a tampon again makes me cringe) or pads since I clicked the "order" button on this website. I can't imagine how much money and hassle it has saved me. I've never had a leak or any kind of problem, I love the fact that I can put it in when I'm anticipating my period and not bleed onto my clothes and - call me gross - I love the fact that you can see what comes out of you!

Eleanor - 27th November 2009

I've used my mooncup for about 18 months now. I have very heavy periods and used to spend a fortune on tampons, used to dread "that time of the month" as it used to be very messy, time consuming and spent the whole time terrified for little 'accidents'! Mooncup has changed my life. Its so effective, comfortable and now I am so much more relaxed that I never need to worry. Plus I've saved a fortune! Thank you!

Emily - 15th November 2009

What can I say?! I've been using my mooncup for 18 months now, and if I were to choose the single greatest investment in my health, my savings, and my womanhood I've ever made - this is it. I love my mooncup! I still go shouting from the rooftops about it (Ok, not literally...). I'm willing to try most things, so when I heard about it I thought 'Oh yeah, why not?'. At first it was a bit tricky to use, and it took a couple of periods to get the hang of it, but after that it became second nature. I've been swimming in the sea, swimming at pools, to karate class in a white dogi/uniform, spent 8 days with the heaviest period I've ever had in a filthy music festival... no leaks, no spills, no cramps, no problems. It's so interesting being able to see what your body's doing too, as weird as that may sound - I'm a naturopath so I suppose I have that bias - but it makes things so much more useful, especially for things like fertility watching and monitoring, or if you're ever at the gynae. I can't believe how much money I've saved already, and how easy it is to use. You could almost forget it's there - no smelly tampons to deal with or nasty pads sitting in your knickers, no sneaking off with a tampon in your hand at work, no cramps, no dryness, no infections, no problems, and nothing polluting this beautiful planet. It's perfect! See how I go on and on?! Once again - Thank You!! x

Erin - 5th November 2009

How to use the Mooncup

Counter

Flash player missing

Get Adobe Flash playerGet Adobe Flash player

Read more »

Buy now

order online

Buy a Mooncup online or find your nearest stockist

Mooncup is available at Boots and independent shops everywhere